Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How safe do you feel?

• 16-11-2015 9:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭

Seemingly 91% of Irish people don't feel like the State is properly prepared to react to a terrorist attack.

So how safe do you feel?

I live in Limerick and have to say I've never felt unsafe here, despite maybe one or two times walking through the dodgier areas. Nothing in relation to terrorism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Is this another dole thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Safe.

If anything did happen we would be fcuked though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

Compared to where you are I'm perfectly safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Sure we have our iodine tablets. Be grand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

safe n snug as a bug in a rug.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Absolutely, perfectly safe. Or more precisely, that's how I personally feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Dont think the State is properly prepared to react to a terrorist attack
    but i dont think we need to worry about a attack here, i think isis have bigger fish to fry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I feel safe right now because we aren't a threat to anyone. However if anything were to happen in this country I have absolutely no faith in our leaders whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

Yes I feel safe right now. There again those out in Paris Friday night also felt safe. It looks like we are as safe as Isis currently want us to be right now. Being a neutral country doesn't do us any harm right now. France declaring war makes me feel unsettled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

I'd say we'd be woefully prepared to deal with something like Paris. Sure the Army Rangers & ERU are well thought of but could our hospitals deal with that sort of carnage? Are the Guards adequately resourced to bring those responsible to justice? On the other hand the reality is that we're not prestigious a target enough to be high on ISIS's list, although that doesn't rule out the possibility of a self-radicalised Irish "lone-wolf" going on a solo run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

We live in one of the safest times in history. Our chances of being raped, murdered, beaten, robbed are very low compared to the past.

Fear is what makes you buy more, watch more, consume more. Be proactive, learn and watch and be aware.

If you buy into the idea that you are a prince on this earth and that your body and mind are capable of dealing with whatever life brings, that terrorists are nothing more than the same matter as you or me and can be reduced quite easily to base matter again by whatever means, then you will be a man, my son.

What was the question again?

smash wrote: »
    Sure we have our iodine tablets. Be grand...

I thought they were viagra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,586 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Doesn't really matter.It was all over in Paris before the authorities got there,so prepared is kinda irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭mattP

I feel safe because there's no immediate threat to us.
    If there was I wouldn't feel protected, I mean the guards are well and good but we wouldn't have any way to combat "terrorism" as such.

mattP wrote: »
    If there was I wouldn't feel protected, I mean the guards are well and good but we wouldn't have any way to combat "terrorism" as such.

Bribe them with donuts maybe

mattP wrote: »
    I feel safe because there's no immediate threat to us.

Of course there is. Citizen militias for example. The fact that we give control of our safety to the army and the police forces doesn't mean that if they fail or are overwhelmed, that something else won't take their place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I feel 100% safe. But properly prepared? It's impossible to be properly prepared for an attack. All it requires is a simple home made bomb in a public area or a gun. The only way to prepare is to have a clean up operation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

We live in one of the safest times in history. Our chances of being raped, murdered, beaten, robbed are very low compared to the past.

Fear is what makes you buy more, watch more, consume more. Be proactive, learn and watch and be aware.

If you buy into the idea that you are a prince on this earth and that your body and mind are capable of dealing with whatever life brings, that terrorists are nothing more than the same matter as you or me and can be reduced quite easily to base matter again by whatever means, then you will be a man, my son.

What was the question again?

The question was does air conditioning discriminate against men. Would ya listen like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭cork guitar player

We got nothing to worry about, they haven't gone away you know ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

100% Safe

Isis have no beef with us

100% Safe

What about 'merica using Shannon on the way to the ME?

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

feel safe

at the same time planning on getting some weapons training and a couple of good revolvers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

France was attacked because it is a liberal democratic republic ,therefore we are also a target for the nut jobs. But in all likelihood there's numerous other things more likely to kill me, so I'm not too bothered.

"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." Benjamin Franklin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sonny.knowles

A non event.

As long as we're not bombing them we'll be grand.

Would the RA be up for getting involved over there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

A non event.

Dunno, if these nut jobs are looking for a spectacular I would have thought Shannon is wide open - taking down a plane load of returning gi's I would have thought would be easily carried out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

100% Safe

Maybe because it wouldn't be Halal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Safe, but only because I think a terrorist attack wont occur here in the near future. Not because of the government making me feel safe.

100% Safe

ISIS has a beef with anyone who they don't regard as being Islamic enough. They are sectarian murderers with an ambition to create an empire, not aggrieved victims of imperialism but rather happy beneficiaries of its results. However, we are unlikely to be considered worth the effort compared to other larger targets.

To be honest, the more I think of it the more I think why do we see ourselves as not being a target? ISIS don't care that we are neutral, in fact it's probably to their benefit that we are. They can't match up to the big guys, Id imagine if it came down to it they're no match for military defence,therefore they go for the innocent defenceless ones. It's easy to kill an unarmed civilian, sure it doesn't take much, and that's just what they do, they go after unarmed, defenceless innocent people in order to prove a wider point. So maybe they are more of a threat to us than we think? Perhaps the fact that we think we aren't a target makes us a target

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

I live in the bogs. They'd get lost before they even got close. If they did get here, they'd be so sorry for our troubles, they'd head off elsewhere. If, by some miracle, they did decide to detonate their "blow me to heaven" belts here, feck all no one would notice. The boy-racer exhausts would drown them out and only the fitness fanatics ever venture out anyway. One fanatic versus the other..

What about when you have to go to "de big shmoke" to do the Christmas shopping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I feel safe, but I agree the state at least feels and looks like it would have a hopelessly inadequate response to anything like what Paris experienced on Friday.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I grew up in Portlaoise literally across from the prison in the seventies and eighties. We'd everything from gunshots at breakfast, to extradition protests, to bomb scares.

Our security forces dealt with them admirably, I'd have confidence in their ability to deal with a terrorist threat.

Of all the countries in the EU, Spain, the UK, and Ireland due to history are probably best poised to deal with the threat of terrorism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I don't. There are something like 30 Irish citizens fighting for IS, right now, getting trained in the art of Jihad. God knows how many more are here who are sympathetic. We are fools if we think that we are somehow immune to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Custardpi wrote: »

Thats what Amazon's for :)

ISIS has a beef with anyone who they don't regard as being Islamic enough. They are sectarian murderers with an ambition to create an empire, not aggrieved victims of imperialism but rather happy beneficiaries of its results. However, we are unlikely to be considered worth the effort compared to other larger targets.

We're only a fart of country compared to the rest in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

We aren't relevant enough to warrant any attention. A small neutral island in the corner of Europe. As far as the rest of the world are concerned we are part of the UK, and I am sure if IS were to orchestrate an attack it would be in their general direction.

We're only a fart of country compared to the rest in Europe.

Probably true enough which is as likely to be our protection as anything. While they'd no doubt have their pick of lads ready to blow themselves up at "crusader" targets like Buckingham Palace or the Washington Monument I'd imagine there'd be less of an appetite for martyring themselves at the Dáil - most of their 72 virgins would probably never have heard of it.

We aren't relevant enough to warrant any attention. A small neutral island in the corner of Europe. As far as the rest of the world are concerned we are part of the UK, and I am sure if IS were to orchestrate an attack it would be in their general direction.

We would be the perfect default attack though. I think the UK is safe for now, they are on high alert. We here however think we are invincible as attitudes on here attest to. This may be true, but ISIS make political points through smaller, strategic attacks. I'm not thinking they're going to bomb the Houses of Parliament or anything anytime soon. Bombing us would allow them to make a huge political point and it would be easy for them to do. That's just my way of thinking anyway, trying to think outside the box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

I send the missus. Not even Isis would dare feck with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Two possible reasons, I can think of.

1. US military planes at Shannon means we are sort of allies to the US.

2. We legalised gay marriage which made worldwide news.

I think either one of those reasons alone would be enough. All it takes is for a few if the thirty Irish citizens in IS to come back and start plotting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

How safe is a piece of string?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

Very safe. All of the European nations that have been attacked have been been going to war in the Middle East. Our policy of neutrality has served us well.

anna080 wrote: »
    We would be the perfect default attack though. I think the UK is safe for now, they are on high alert. We here however think we are invincible as attitudes on here attest to. This may be true, but ISIS make political points through smaller, strategic attacks. I'm not thinking they're going to bomb the Houses of Parliament or anything anytime soon. Bombing us would allow them to make a huge political point and it would be easy for them to do. That's just my way of thinking anyway, trying to think outside the box.

This is sensible thinking.

This 'we're perfectly safe, sur why would ISIS bother with little auwl Ireland ' thinking is seriously flawed.

We would be an easy, easy hit for them and it would outrage the world. Thats exactly what they want....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Is this another dole thread?

Lol

This is sensible thinking.

This 'we're perfectly safe, sur why would ISIS bother with little auwl Ireland ' thinking is seriously flawed.

We would be an easy, easy hit for them and it would outrage the world. Thats exactly what they want....

We still wouldn't be nearly as high a priority as other countries though due to the much lower propaganda value. Paris was undoubtedly aimed as much if not more at wavering ISIS & potential ISIS supporters. "We may be suffering some setbacks at Sinjar etc but we can strike the crusaders in their great cultural capital - we've still got it". Dublin, Cork etc simply don't have the same symbolic worth. A lone-wolf attack can't be ruled out of course.

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

the word on the street is the next attack could be a dirty bomb,

i propose citizens start to carry class 1 particle masks

rather have it than be looking for it

you can get a good grade 1 mask from a hardware store for $20 -25