Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you part 8191.1

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,026 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Graces7 wrote: »
    Have you ever lived with a litter of kittens? I used to breed Siamese and by the time they left home I was .... words fail. When I opened the door to whatever room they were in they had plotted.,. " when she comes in, you go that way, you go through the door and I will climb the curtains.. SCATTER!!"

Never a litter. We got a kitten at home this time last year though. She was petrified for the first few days and left little messes behind the couch and the book case and in several spots behind the Christmas tree. >_<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'm in a desserted office and I went out for a run before lunch. I never bring my swipe in card running so rely on the intercom or someone to let me in.
    I was waiting outside for ages for someone to appear.

Also, running into the wind. F*ck that.

I'll be there in a sec

I thought we'd be getting a double week's pay on Wednesday but apparently it's just a normal week :( I was planning a spree on Wednesday after work but now I'll have to be all sensible and pay my bills and hand over rent to my money-grabbing mother with most of it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

An File wrote: »
    Never a litter. We got a kitten at home this time last year though. She was petrified for the first few days and left little messes behind the couch and the book case and in several spots behind the Christmas tree. >_<

My last Siamese queen... they left her with me, the breeders. She was clearly freaked out but instead of hiding, she leaped onto the kitchen counter and laid the biggest whoopsie you ever saw,glaring at me the while to show me who was boss..That set the pace for our whole many years together. When she had kitten she would put them in my bed to look after.. wee soggy things.. Missed her...Summerdown Tigerlily you were a star

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Phone shops the last weekend before christmas:mad:.
    2 hours yesterday going from one to the other. Wont sell i phone 5' on pre pay!!
    Bill pay only. In stock but cannot sell pre pay:confused::confused:
    And to the man who spent half hour looking for new upgrade phone (samsung V iphone) only to discover he wasnt eligible for upgrade:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

The smiley head on the weather man /woman as they tell you the weather is going to be sh1t. Could they not have the decency to look p1ssed off about it, or maybe a little apology for being the bearer of bad news wouldn't go astray :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Graces7 wrote:
    Have you ever lived with a litter of kittens? I used to breed Siamese and by the time they left home I was .... words fail. When I opened the door to whatever room they were in they had plotted.,. " when she comes in, you go that way, you go through the door and I will climb the curtains.. SCATTER!!"

They definitely plot against us! We have 2 kittens and they work together against me when I'm trying to put them to bed. They beat each other up any other time. They drive me mad!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Phone shops the last weekend before christmas:mad:.
    2 hours yesterday going from one to the other. Wont sell i phone 5' on pre pay!!
    Bill pay only. In stock but cannot sell pre pay:confused::confused:
    And to the man who spent half hour looking for new upgrade phone (samsung V iphone) only to discover he wasnt eligible for upgrade:mad::mad::mad::mad:

Ha, I went in a while ago about an upgrade, amd me not being very tech savvy, the staff start to speak slowly, even directed some of the conversation to my daughter who was with me. One of those "and does he take sugar in his tea" moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Ha, I went in a while ago about an upgrade, amd me not being very tech savvy, the staff start to speak slowly, even directed some of the conversation to my daughter who was with me. One of those "and does he take sugar in his tea" moments.

I hate when they do that!!! Mind you I usually glaze over after the first 5 mins and turn to teens and ask the "what does that mean"
    Reminds me of day son shouted across the shop " hey ma, this one here has big buttons"!!. Like Im 49 not bloody 89 :(

had enuff.. To whoever sneezed or breathed at me when I was out, I honestly amd sincerely hope that you are not feeling as bad as I am as NO ONE deserves this. Bedwards via whatever meds I can find. .... I may be gone some while :rolleyes:

KatW4 wrote: »
    They definitely plot against us! We have 2 kittens and they work together against me when I'm trying to put them to bed. They beat each other up any other time. They drive me mad!!!

I had no crate etc.. go figure! Now I rescue older cats! Ready trained, well mostly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

I had an operation on my nose and I can breathe and smell a lot better now. Great you say! I just got on the bus and the stench of the great unwashed is overwhelming, please block up my nose again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,736 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'm in a desserted office and I went out for a run before lunch. I never bring my swipe in card running so rely on the intercom or someone to let me in.
    I was waiting outside for ages for someone to appear.

Also, running into the wind. F*ck that.
    I'll have a bowl of jelly and ice cream, pretty please!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,542 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

People who fumble around at the checkout/till in shops for change and hold everyone else up. Grrrrr!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Got a bit of food shopping this morning, wait in queue, 2 people ahead of me. First person had a good bit of stuff, packed it all up, paid, and went on their way, grand. Second fella was only getting a loaf of bread, girl scans it through, "1.85 please", yer man proceeds to now start rummaging around for his wallet. After checking 3 pockets, he then finds it, them he opens the wallet and open the little pouch part that you'd have change in. My blood was beginning to boil at this point. He counts out the change anyway, she promptly gave him the receipt, and he has to fold it up, put it in wallet, then put wallet back in pocket. All this without moving an inch. Fcuking prick, he was only in his 20's so no excuses.
    A transaction that should have taken 10-15 seconds took almost 2 minutes.
    How can someone be so oblivious to their surroundings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Being called childish for being offended when someone said something nasty about me and my friend. Pretty sure they're the childish ones making nasty comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

The sentence 'I'm sorry you felt that way'.

A complete non-apology. If you think anything is worth apologising for then apologise for your own actions or lack of, but don't apologise for my feelings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Fcuking prick, he was only in his 20's so no excuses.
    A transaction that should have taken 10-15 seconds took almost 2 minutes.
    How can someone be so oblivious to their surroundings?

Millennials don't realise that things/people exist if they aren't looking at them on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,385 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Millennials don't realise that things/people exist if they aren't looking at them on social media.

I'm a millennial and this would really annoy me.

One bad apple can't tarnish us all..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,035 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

The phrase "millennial"..

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Driving across a bridge over the M50 lookingdown at the traffic jam on the slip road heading to Dundrum, it wasn't moving at all, nose to tail waaaaay back around the corner, there must be another 2miles from there to the shopping centre....feck that, Not my TA, I was laughing..:cool:

selous wrote: »
    Driving across a bridge over the M50 lookingdown at the traffic jam on the slip road heading to Dundrum, it wasn't moving at all, nose to tail waaaaay back around the corner, there must be another 2miles from there to the shopping centre....feck that, Not my TA, I was laughing..:cool:

How much shopping can people actually do? And they'll be lining up again on the 26th to grab some more "bargains" that they "need".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

The things they "forgot"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I swear to Jaysus, if I paid €3 for these boxers then I must have spent the last hour walking around with €2's worth stuck up me hole :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,977 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

One of me sets of Christmas lights are dead, not on a week. #sake

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭miezekatze

selous wrote:
    Driving across a bridge over the M50 lookingdown at the traffic jam on the slip road heading to Dundrum, it wasn't moving at all, nose to tail waaaaay back around the corner, there must be another 2miles from there to the shopping centre....feck that, Not my TA, I was laughing..

I was planning on going over tomorrow evening to pick up some last minute things I remembered.. guess I'll leave it then. :/

My TA is rude people on the luas. I know it's busy, but there's no need to push people around like that.. maybe just get up from your seat when the train stops instead of waiting until just before the doors close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,754 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Out shopping with a frazzled woman at Christmas. Ye gods, why do you mock me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Had to pop into Boots in The Pavillions to get a last minute gift for my brother and I cannot believe the sheer audacity of people.
    I was in the Men's Gift aisle and dismayed to find that the shelves were almost bare of the item I was looking for.
    Then, I picked up the last of a toiletry set, not sure if I wanted to get or not. I put it down for 5 seconds on the shelf to look at something else, turned around and it was gone! D:
    Ended up grabbing a smaller, cheaper toiletry set and NOPING the feck out of there.

Also TAd: When I was in Boots, I attempted to call my mother on my mobile and kept getting "not registered on network" error messages. Nearly had a heart-attack thinking my phone was borked beyond all repair so I paid for my stuff and hotfooted it to the 3 shop. Lovely sales assistant managed to calm me by telling me it was simply due to the fact that the back of Boots is in essence the Bermuda Triangle when it comes to phone signals. Felt like a numpty for getting so worried over nothing. :P
    Anyways, I'm still mildly frazzled and to make it worse, I have to go back to The Pavillions AGAIN tomorrow on an errand. GIVE ME STRENGTH.

Lastly: I had a sizable feed in McDonald's about an hour ago but now I'm even hungrier than before and I don't know what I fancy! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

The amount of people who can't park inside the lines of a multi-storey car park is simply astonishing

I've been Xmas shopping and I think I never want to see a member of the public ever again...stuck in ques behind people who don't understand the concept that when your at head of the que your meant to go up and pay for stuff :confused:
    I could go on and on....but it's relaxing I need

I feel so bad for people working in retail everyday between now and Xmas :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Whitewinged

Went shopping today and OH and I were stuck in Christmas traffic for ages. Had a bit of humorous relief from being TA'd by it when a van that was in front of us had a message that someone used their finger to scribe on the film of filth on the back of it. It said "i wish my woman was this durty" :)