Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you part 8191.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭saralou2011

Wrapping presents!:( I bite the sellotape and rip the skin off my lips. Oww! :mad:
    But I don't learn from it and keep on doing it.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Wrapping presents!:( I bite the sellotape and rip the skin off my lips. Oww! :mad:
    But I don't learn from it and keep on doing it.:rolleyes:

Now you are after reminding me I need to do mine.

Why can you never find the sellotape when you need it. I think I have a poltergeist or something hiding rolls of it. Can never find one when you want one & then 2 weeks later find 7 rolls all in random places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

Will somebody cheer me up and make me instagram famous please? PLEASE? I get about 5 likes on my posts :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Ninjini

My biscuit just broke off in to my tea :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

everlast75 wrote: »
    The phrase "millennial"..

Somebody put me out of my misery....wtf is this millennial thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,977 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Ahhh me Hob Nobs are all gone soft

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Ahhh me Hob Nobs are all gone soft

I hate that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭rosie16

The chip on my bank card has stopped working. I knew I should have ordered one a few weeks ago when it wasn't working in shops but I thought: 'ah it's grand it still works in atms'. It'll be after christmas before I get a new card. I'll have to physically go into the bank with photo id to get money out. I'm working the next two days and all I have is 7 euro (which I probably won't spend but still).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Why don't people understand the concept of "Christmas goodies"?

My Mam spent an absolute fortune last week in Dunnes; stocking up on tins of sweets, biscuits, chocolates, crisps, etc etc, and she stashed them all away.

My Dad and sister have already cracked into the crisps and tins of sweets with my mother telling them: "They're for Christmas!" and my Dad replying: "Sure it's Christmas now!".

Mam says she has to go back out and replace what's been eaten "cos there'll be nothing left for guests!"

I've no problem stashing food away and not touching it til Christmas...why can't others?

A box of biscuits were opened in my house by my other half. He got the head bitten off him.
    I, of course, accidentally had two myself, but that wasn't on purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Went shopping and went for 2 drinks afterwards but it went straight to my head :( In my head I think Im on hols but Im not and I should keep away from the drink especially when it gives me loose tongue syndrome and Im with someone who doesnt drink..all my secrets blabbed out and it only cost him 10e..cop on Colser! And I know I will be icky in the morn,I want to be on hols FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I've had something in my eye all day.

No amount of rubbing my eye, lifting my eyelid up and over, smudging my make-up in the process, sniffing, wiggling etc will dislodge it.
    The suffering only subsided once I'd taken my make-up off and as a result of all the poking and prodding, my eyes are all tired and gritty :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭nicki11

Just finished traveling to see the relatives and am meeting my granny for shopping tomorrow thats fine. However we are now meeting in the morning which means I won't get to lie in and recover before going to visit my other side for Christmas 4-5 hrs away. So tired but if I go to bed early I won't sleep and once I meet up with my parents, after shopping I will be expected to get up everyday (for the nearly 2 weeks I'm off) at 7:30 as they do even at the weekend :( I only have a chance of a lie in if we're up late which defeats the point a little :( .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,854 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

nicki11 wrote: »
    Just finished traveling to see the relatives and am meeting my granny for shopping tomorrow thats fine. However we are now meeting in the morning which means I won't get to lie in and recover before going to visit my other side for Christmas 4-5 hrs away. So tired but if I go to bed early I won't sleep and once I meet up with my parents, after shopping I will be expected to get up everyday (for the nearly 2 weeks I'm off) at 7:30 as they do even at the weekend :( I only have a chance of a lie in if we're up late which defeats the point a little :( .

Take power naps in the afternoon, normally after dinner is a good time, as everyone after a feed can get sleepy.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

- The fact that I have to disable my adblocker to view the RTE Player to watch a few seconds of a show discussed on AH

- The ads on the RTE Player always play but I have to refresh the page a few times to get the actual program to play

- The fact that Irish people continually mispronounce the word 'perfect' as 'purrrfect'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Went to sleep too early and I'm now wide awake at 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

One of me sets of Christmas lights are dead, not on a week. #sake

SNAP! Got the brand new ones out and plugged them in and nothing happened. Well OK. all I would have to do i drive 50 miles there and back for a E3 set of lights! Maybe as well as the new rescue cat is wrecking things..There are spare bulbs so later may play the replacing bulb game.,,not going out in this weather for anything but getting coal in..from the front of the house

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Got a bit of food shopping this morning, wait in queue, 2 people ahead of me. First person had a good bit of stuff, packed it all up, paid, and went on their way, grand. Second fella was only getting a loaf of bread, girl scans it through, "1.85 please", yer man proceeds to now start rummaging around for his wallet. After checking 3 pockets, he then finds it, them he opens the wallet and open the little pouch part that you'd have change in. My blood was beginning to boil at this point. He counts out the change anyway, she promptly gave him the receipt, and he has to fold it up, put it in wallet, then put wallet back in pocket. All this without moving an inch. Fcuking prick, he was only in his 20's so no excuses.
    A transaction that should have taken 10-15 seconds took almost 2 minutes.
    How can someone be so oblivious to their surroundings?

Patience! I just dream when that happens.. Not worth getting upset over.. all of 2 MINUTES!

The key to the Cadburys Roses has vanished and i keep getting hard centres when I yearn for cremes.. Ah wait.. I have another big tub somewhere,,, later. These are NOT my Christmas stock but a tub I got reduced weeks ago as the lid was damaged so I can eat them now ;)

Being woken by an earthquake.. Ah the dratted cat has demolished a stack of boxes.. not much sleep anyways as there is a gale screaming and deluges. Ah well; can sleep later.. not going anywhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

Graces7 wrote: »
    The key to the Cadburys Roses has vanished and i keep getting hard centres when I yearn for cremes.. Ah wait.. I have another big tub somewhere,,, later. These are NOT my Christmas stock but a tub I got reduced weeks ago as the lid was damaged so I can eat them now ;)

Swap you all the hard ones for my cremes???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

I'm wide awake

Gaygooner wrote: »
    Swap you all the hard ones for my cremes???

Its a deal! WHEN I can identify them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭Eleysian

Gaygooner wrote: »
    I'm wide awake

I have taken in recent weeks to waking up at 4.00am. I feel like I have jetlag in recent days as a result. The OH is snoring his head off upstairs so although I should be doing some major Christmas preparations I am too tired... Maybe I will do a list for him today and then catch a nap - sounds like a plan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭Eleysian

Wide awake now. The boiler has gone and I have been standing out in the garden with a torch peering into the boiler unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭miezekatze

Graces7 wrote:
    The key to the Cadburys Roses has vanished and i keep getting hard centres when I yearn for cremes.. Ah wait.. I have another big tub somewhere,,, later. These are NOT my Christmas stock but a tub I got reduced weeks ago as the lid was damaged so I can eat them now

We have a tin in work too, but whoever opened it first threw the thing out. Never know which ones are nice now, and did they get rid of the coffee ones again? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

My poor little doggie was sick last night (just a cold but she has a weak trachea so anything like that affects her more). I more or less only dozed last night as I had her in the bed beside me and was checking on her every couple of minutes. This morning, she was much better thankfully but I was a little annoyed as she eye-balled me from my pillow, only her snout sticking out from under the duvet as I tried to get ready for work in my zombie state.

Also annoying is that at the weekend I hit the gin (bad news) and now my life is in tatters and nobody is talking to me. I left some nasty messages on my OH's phone and her best friend. Now, neither of them will talk to me until I apologise but I cant apologise because her friend is ignoring me. Then the OH is like "did you apologise yet?" and I tell her no because her friend is ignoring me and then she continues being angry with me. Like what the actual fúck am I supposed to do? Kneel outside her apartment and implore her mercy? Like fúck that shít...I'm sorry but I'm not gonna perform for you. (Also, I know what I said was bad but there's still a little voice in my head saying, "you know what ONW? She hasn't really been defamed. Truth IS a defence" :( Grr people and divas and head fúck girlfriends :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,211 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

€50 to see doctor last Thur. €30 for antib and ear drops. Back at Doc this morn as neither have worked. Charged €50 again!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Samsgirl wrote: »
    €50 to see doctor last Thur. €30 for antib and ear drops. Back at Doc this morn as neither have worked. Charged €50 again!!!

Have you tried putting in a drop of hot oil? That worked for me before. Some weird witchcraft thing the OH's mother in Brazil did (presumably they don't have penicillin there yet :p) but it worked. Plugged it with cotton for half an hour and it was fine after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

When people on Boards are talking about being on holidays and I have another day to go:(

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

SAMTALK wrote: »
    When people on Boards are talking about being on holidays and I have another day to go:(

I've another 2 days to go WWWAAAA!!!!