Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Gym Behaviour - Mk2(?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 fox42

Not so much annoying, but I thought it was strange anyway - guy clasping a
    15kg plate between his palms and doing presses with it?! So his hands would be in a 'prayer' position as he presses the weight.

Looked so awkward. Is it even an exercise people do? It seems most inefficient.

But he seems to do a lot of unnecessary things. Another example is moving the bench to the squat rack to do a seated overhead press...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,424 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

...Treadmill...

Auto correct changed it to treadmill and I 'fixed it', shows what I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,763 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

fox42 wrote: »
    Not so much annoying, but I thought it was strange anyway - guy clasping a
    15kg plate between his palms and doing presses with it?! So his hands would be in a 'prayer' position as he presses the weight.

Looked so awkward. Is it even an exercise people do? It seems most inefficient.

But he seems to do a lot of unnecessary things. Another example is moving the bench to the squat rack to do a seated overhead press...

It's a Svend press. Often done with metal plates so you have to press the plates together.

Wjat's the problem with doing a seated OHP in a rack?

It's a Svend press. Often done with metal plates so you have to press the plates together.

Wjat's the problem with doing a seated OHP in a rack?

Just seems like it's an exercise you could do many variations of that don't require a full rack.

Looked up Svend Press. Still looks pointless to me.

Just seems like it's an exercise you could do many variations of that don't require a full rack.

There are. But sometimes a programme prescribes a seated barbell OHP so you do it. It means using a rack if you're doing anything remotely heavy.

Fair enough I suppose, but it definitly wasn't heavy which I guess lead me to beg the question i in the first place.

It's relative though and no one wants to be cleaning a bar they find relatively heavy.

I guess I should apologies to my gym-going brother :(

Profusely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

Was waiting on a machine yesterday and some yoke was sitting at it chatting away on her phone for a few minutes.

I went to use another machine in the hope she'd be finished then but she was still on her phone 5 minutes later...pure selfishness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭Squiggle

Not at all. It's what you find annoying about gym behaviour that goes in here. Completely ignore the jaw dropping arrogance of those on here that think you should be justifying what you find annoying about gym behaviour.

Guy in my gym walks around scratching his hole between sets. Annoys me. That OK with you Alf ? :rolleyes:

Squiggle wrote: »
    Not at all. It's what you find annoying about gym behaviour that goes in here. Completely ignore the jaw dropping arrogance of those on here that think you should be justifying what you find annoying about gym behaviour.

Guy in my gym walks around scratching his hole between sets. Annoys me. That OK with you Alf ? :rolleyes:

Is it ok that he scratches his hole? Maybe he has worms so I could understand it but I'd rather he washed his hands before using machines.

I didn't say I was arbiter of what people should be annoyed at. I just said that the person using the rack to do barbell OHP was valid because context...not that the poster had no right to feel annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭brownej

Is it ok that he scratches his hole? Maybe he has worms so I could understand it but I'd rather he washed his hands before using machines.

I didn't say I was arbiter of what people should be annoyed at. I just said that the person using the rack to do barbell OHP was valid because context...not that the poster had no right to feel annoyed.

Unless he was wearing a hat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Bar hogger. Bar on the squat rack for your squats and then another one for your hip extensions don't mind the rest of us we'll just use the 15 bars that's if you don't want that one as well. :mad:

I use 2 bars at a time sometimes for supersets. Wouldn't really see it as hogging. If there's spare bars there (there's almost always quite a few in my flyefit) then it's fair game. Also if there was no 20 bars available at all I don't mind using a 15 and adjusting weight accordingly. Certainly wouldn't look around to see if there's any "bar hoggers" I could begrudge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Guy walks in huffing and puffing, clearly wanted us to know he was there, gets two 25 plates brings them over to a bench at the side. Sits down puts the plates in his lap shouts out 'Come on'! and starts doing calf raises ?! and fails as it's difficult to balance he tries with both legs then one leg then promptly gets up leaving the plates just lying there and walks out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

People swinging their arms all over the shop in a weird warmup/stretching routine in the free weights area where space is scarce: if you hit me with your arms I'll :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,068 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

fatbhoy wrote: »
    People swinging their arms all over the shop in a weird warmup/stretching routine in the free weights area where space is scarce: if you hit me with your arms I'll :mad:

people who stand directly infront of the weights in the free weight section. Back off somewhere else and let people actually get at the weights.

Smelly dirty dirt-birds: always the same guy.

Also, people taking a manky super-smelly dump in the jacks while I'm shaving me mush in the mirror. Google fecal plume. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

people who shave in the gym.

Squatman wrote: »
    people who shave in the gym.

Hmmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭shannonman81

There is a youngish fella in my gym who is setting himself up as a PT seems like a nice guy very outgoing and chatty and in good shape best of luck to him.
    Anyway he takes a lot of pictures of himself in the mirror or videos of himself posing (I think he intends in competing at some stage) so I was Instagram and searched my gym, he has tagged himself there a lot, but what I have noticed is I'm in the background of one of his videos benching. And this really bothers me I never have any permission to be filmed and I know it'll only be seen by a handful of people but it still angers me.

*My form was amazing 😊

I saw a free machine and went over to start using it and then a fella appears and says 'Oh sorry I'm using that'.

Leave a towel down on it then!

I saw a free machine and went over to start using it and then a fella appears and says 'Oh sorry I'm using that'.

Leave a towel down on it then!

If I see a towel left on a machine I just think "Bloody Germans" and throw it off.

I initially read that as 'Bloody germs'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Heisenbug

Guy in the gym this morning doing rack pulls. Fine.

Then he strips the bar and leaves a small bit of weight on it to do curls. Turns out, he's not able to curl the weight. Then goes into some weird exercise he's made up on the spot because he can't curl the weight.

Then he decides to go into an overhead press from his makey-up exercise.

Just pay a bloody PT to show you what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I probably looked like a weirdo yesterday. I've a small wrist injury that's taking a couple of days to get over. I did some deadlifts no problem, pulling is comfortable, it's any kind of pressing or twisting that hurts, it turns out. I ended up going around doing a handful of reps of different exercises to see what I could or could not do. Eventually walked out having done half a set of ten different exercises.

Left dozens of scattered dumbbells in my wake.

(just kidding)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Reps4jesus

Zillah wrote: »
    I probably looked like a weirdo yesterday. I've a small wrist injury that's taking a couple of days to get over. I did some deadlifts no problem, pulling is comfortable, it's any kind of pressing or twisting that hurts, it turns out. I ended up going around doing a handful of reps of different exercises to see what I could or could not do. Eventually walked out having done half a set of ten different exercises.

Left dozens of scattered dumbbells in my wake.

(just kidding)

I have a forearm/ Bicep issue at the moment and did almost the exact same thing on Wednesday after some deadlifts. tried a few different exercises, weird reps/sets then decided feck this and left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Reps4jesus wrote: »
    I have a forearm/ Bicep issue at the moment and did almost the exact same thing on Wednesday after some deadlifts. tried a few different exercises, weird reps/sets then decided feck this and left

That's uncanny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Heisenbug

I know what you're saying but it's obvious when someone hasn't a clue what they're at.

People leaving the showers on after they leave. Why even. Had to go around turning off showers this evening. Well i didnt have to but i hate hate water wastage