Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And they wonder why it's difficult to recruit young members.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

WattyWoo wrote: »
    Everything said about this officious git is correct
    Waiting for someone to play and dquing them is just all wrong.
    Op I would like to refer you to Dec 7-1b/1 in the decisions book(can't embed too few posts).Easiest place to find it is on the USGA website or Randa.

That decision shows your actions if only one shot from on the course is not a dq issue but should have been modified by the Commitee to 2 strokes.

Know-alls don't always know all!
    Write a letter of complaint re his attitude and actions!

That rule is all I need to hear, I would make a point of seeing him again (ideally with all his buddies around) and inform him that it was not instant disqualification and he should learn the rules before dedicating them to others, or just mind his own business, and walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

I certainly wouldn't have been as patient with that guy, I'd have played behind him and every shot followed by a fore just to annoy him. (Don't mean landing balls down on his group just mean shouting fore in general). I'd write in a letter, I wouldn't mention anything negative towards him but more just suggest they mark off the practice area due to a recent "misfortunate" event, which meant 4 of ye couldn't / didn't agree with playing competition. I wouldn't go into too much detail but I'm sure people / committee will follow up and be curious about the misfortunate event to which you can let them know without it being in writing ( who knows, if it's in writing then he may see it), keeping your dignity and sincerity intact. You may be sure that guy has a reputation that precedes him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,804 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Senna wrote: »
    That rule is all I need to hear, I would make a point of seeing him again (ideally with all his buddies around) and inform him that it was not instant disqualification and he should learn the rules before dedicating them to others, or just mind his own business, and walk away.

Better still, write a formal letter of complaint to the club secretary. You paid to enter a competition and were bounced out by that assh0le. Better that the committee member are aware of his actions than you try to confront him face to face. It may very well be the case that the committee would be delighted to have some ammunition to rein him in because I'm sure he throws his weight around like that all the time, probably to the embarrassment of other members.

Complaining to him in person 'with all his buddies around' will get you nowhere, he's no doubt convinced that he knows the rulebook inside out and chances are that his buddies are of the same mind, otherwise why would they be hanging out with him? He has probably surrounded himself with sycophants whom he helped to become members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Here is decision 7-1b/1 for those who are interested:

PRACTICE BEFORE OR BETWEEN ROUNDS IN STROKE PLAY

7-1b/1

One Practice Stroke Played on Course Before Stroke-Play Round

Q. On the day of a stroke-play competition, a competitor, before starting his round, played one practice stroke from a forward tee at the first hole into an out-of-bounds area. What is the ruling?

A. The competitor infringed Rule 7-1b and was subject to disqualification. However, the Committee would be justified, in the circumstances, in modifying the penalty to two strokes under Rule 33-7. If the competitor played more than one such stroke, modification of the disqualification penalty would not be appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Yeah, I like the idea of writing with a suggestion to improve the marking around the practice area with a drop in about the dq - it's a bit more constructive than just complaining.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,903 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

As a slight aside, did he have the authority to DQ the OP?

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Lord Riverside

For some reason, golf in particular seems to attract a sizable number of people like this.

You are entitled to appeal any decision especially such a borderline one. I'd put in a simple appeal regarding the dq decision (not the actual technical rule breach), it should be very interesting, and will give you a good guide as to whether this club is worth staying with or not.

slave1 wrote: »
    As a slight aside, did he have the authority to DQ the OP?

I didn't question his credentials, but I think strictly speaking I dq'ed myself.

He was right in that I was 'on the course' and I knew that meant disqualification. If I doubted that I was on the course I'd have played and told him to report me at which point I'd have taken my chance with the competition committee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,932 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I came across one of these dudes when I was 14/15.

It put me off joining a club for 20 years. 20 years, what a waste.

So - there is a valid point about the real impact these people can have on the game.

The rules are the rules - but I like a bit of creative ambiguity at times. I know some people are absolutely against that. But jesus, life is too short for some of the stuff people get wrapped up in. It is only golf.

Even if you want to tell someone they are wrong about something. There is a way of communicating it that doesn't make the other person feel like ****.

Golf clubs are still a bit funny to me - All the codes - written and unwritten.

I remember I was at an AGM and some dude was giving out about everything and everyone , a past captain could see my face screw up and said in my ear "Don't worry, he is the resident arsehole" - It was a great thing to say to me , sort of educating me that - it is not as bad as your man giving out.

But 1 person can sadly spoil a party.

The walls of a golf course create a little world - I was playing with a gent about 60 one day - play was shockingly slow , so moronically he started blaming the 1 ball in front. He then started hitting balls at him .. I ripped him apart. I know certain courses in Dublin that if he did that - the lads in front would actually floor him.

Anyway - I think you should have played the round anyway - but dq yourself. You should have enjoyed it all the more him having to look at you enjoying yourself.

.. I ripped him apart

You what ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,932 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

You what ?

As in verbally.

Was so dangerous.

As in verbally.

Was so dangerous.

Are you sure you didn't 'blow him away' as well ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

You work all week and look forward to your game on a Saturday morning and at 7am this is the bellend you meet... Sad sad man.

To be pitied.

ForeRight wrote: »
    You work all week and look forward to your game on a Saturday morning and at 7am this is the bellend you meet... Sad sad man.

To be pitied.

True, it's a pity golf is so rarely about golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

Jawgap wrote: »
    Preparing for a final bunch of chip shots I throw the balls on the ground and they scatter, as they do.

"No you're not" says he, "That last ball you hit was on the course. You are disqualified for practising on the course."

Anyway, my playing partners took some humour from it. My Dad assured me it would never happen at his club and my son pointed out that something like it would never happen in rugby! And he's probably right.

Sounds like this guy has a problem and a big chip on his shoulder... why else would he make such a call on a fellow member. Either way, I would have ignored him and simply claimed I was retieving my ball if he made an issue out of it .... how could he stop you from playing ? you should have just laughed at him and went ahead with your round. He has no right to stop you from playing, he could of had disqualified post event at best, but that would have had to be a committee ruling. I think you should complain to club in writing and state your case, surely Mr Grumpy is guilty of entrapment as he failed to warn or stop you :pac:

Ps
    As for your quote about Rugby .... I can never understand how any sport where a player used fake blood can be seen as a paragon of virtue :P all sports have a dark side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

coylemj wrote: »
    Better still, write a formal letter of complaint to the club secretary. You paid to enter a competition and were bounced out by that assh0le. Better that the committee member are aware of his actions than you try to confront him face to face. It may very well be the case that the committee would be delighted to have some ammunition to rein him in because I'm sure he throws his weight around like that all the time, probably to the embarrassment of other members.

Complaining to him in person 'with all his buddies around' will get you nowhere, he's no doubt convinced that he knows the rulebook inside out and chances are that his buddies are of the same mind, otherwise why would they be hanging out with him? He has probably surrounded himself with sycophants whom he helped to become members.

That's the thing, I would prefer to say it to his face and make sure everyone else hears that he doesn't know what he's talking about when it comes to the rules and he should mind his own business, I'd shame him and it works, I deal with these kind of people all the time, all you have to is not give him chance to react.
    Yes the letter to the committee is the right thing to do, but I'm petty and I hold grudges:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

The rule has an exception that allows you practise on or near practise areas. You were practising near one. You're ok to do so in my book. I would have ignored him.

Assuming the practice area is on or near the first teeing ground; most of them usually are.

Exception: Practice putting or chipping on or near the first teeing ground or any practice area before starting a round or play-off is permitted.

Yeah, I like the idea of writing with a suggestion to improve the marking around the practice area with a drop in about the dq - it's a bit more constructive than just complaining.
    Definitely,because I wonder too if you are the first he's done that to or if makes a habit of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

OP, sorry to hear about your experience! Every course has one of those guys, and despite what they believe, they are not well liked.

As soon as I read your post I was reminded of this clip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,751 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I love Golf, its a bloody great game, sadly last 4-5 years only play about dozen times each summer and not joined to club.

(Going be bit of rant so sorry in advance)
    I remember being in a great 9 hole course in Cork that had every Tom, Dick and Harry in it.98% of people were great, but you always get few, but thankfully they appreciated younger lads in general.

But about 2 years ago I played a game in Kanturk GC. Nice course and lot of friendly people when we played few games there. Was with my brother. Anyway on Par 3 16th we saw 2 young kids look at us and they thought "right let's play 17th". By time we finished 16 they were on fairway looking back at us seeing if they were holding up play. They held us up by no more then 30 seconds. I or my brother did not mind one bit. They were basically running to every shot. The 18th is going opposite of 17th and as the kids were going up 18th, the 2 ball behind us, coming down the 17th, started roaring and shouting at the 2 kids, saying it was after 5 O clock (it was 5.17 by my watch, in August) and they will be reported.

I was shocked as was my brother. They were only bloody kids!! Kids who just wanted to play 2 Holes of Golf before they went home. They were causing no harm to anybody, just enjoying the sun and the game they enjoy. I reported the grumpy men in Clubhouse. I got response from funny gentleman saying those grumpy ****ers were crap Golfers and think they own the club.

It's this type of stereotype that Golf has that the game needs to rid ASAP. Thankfully clubs are Very Green Fee friendly including Kanturk, but just left sour taste with me.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

Genuinely, what a pathetic human being.

It's this sort of craic that I hate about this great game

On reflection - and knowing what I know now - I probably should've just played and put it up to him to report me, then taken my chances.

The other thing I'm going to do is read the decisions book, rather than just the rules! I'd have loved to have come back with "Yes, well if you'd read decision 7-1b/1, you'd see the proper penalty is 2 strokes not disqualification" then reported myself for the penalty and his behaviour as serious breach of etiquette under 33-7! :D

I pinged off an email to the secretary and chair of the greens committee suggesting the area be better marked out and perhaps even enlarged to take in the dead ground I played from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭Green Peter

I'm a vindictive bastard but I would do my homework on him and find out if he's whiter than white, you'll find he isn't and I would put myself on the timesheet with him and nail him at any opportunity, if nothing else you would ruin his game of golf like he ruined yours, the only way to deal with these people is to stoop to their level. You might not enjoy it but I would relish it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

On reflection - and knowing what I know now - I probably should've just played and put it up to him to report me, then taken my chances.

The other thing I'm going to do is read the decisions book, rather than just the rules! I'd have loved to have come back with "Yes, well if you'd read decision 7-1b/1, you'd see the proper penalty is 2 strokes not disqualification" then reported myself for the penalty and his behaviour as serious breach of etiquette under 33-7! :D

I pinged off an email to the secretary and chair of the greens committee suggesting the area be better marked out and perhaps even enlarged to take in the dead ground I played from.

Did you include the behaviour of that member in the email? Please update when you get a reply from the club, I'd be interested to see if they back up that douche, or if they actually have any common sense themselves!

OK, I've had yet another read through Rule 7 and the more I read it the more I'm convinced even a 2 stroke penalty wouldn't apply......

.....the exception to rule 7 states
    Exception: Practice putting or chipping on or near the first teeing ground or any practice area before starting a round or play-off is permitted.

Given I was practice chipping and I was near the practice ground (despite being on the course) I'm feeling more aggrieved!

Somebody raised this earlier and I've read it a few times now and I'm 'not sure they're not wrong!' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

It was me that raised it and I still think there is no penalty.
    Practice putting or chipping on or near the first teeing ground or any practice area before starting a round or play-off is permitted.

can be reasonably be read as:

Practice putting or chipping on or near the first teeing ground before starting a round or play-off is permitted.
    and/or
    Practice putting or chipping on or near any practice area before starting a round or play-off is permitted.

You were doing the latter of the above.

We have our own fair share of people like the one you encountered in our club, but people regularly play pitch and chip shots behind the 9th and 18th greens, which is on the golf course, but also is close to the putting green. There has never been an issue with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

why can't we know which club this happened in ?

every club has one or two of these muppets so I can't see how it could be a problem disclosing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

I'm a vindictive bastard but I would do my homework on him and find out if he's whiter than white, you'll find he isn't and I would put myself on the timesheet with him and nail him at any opportunity, if nothing else you would ruin his game of golf like he ruined yours, the only way to deal with these people is to stoop to their level. You might not enjoy it but I would relish it!!!

Im not sure that is the best advice, but each to their own.

"An eye for an eye and the world would be blind"

why can't we know which club this happened in ?

every club has one or two of these muppets so I can't see how it could be a problem disclosing it.

To be fair to the club it's not their fault that a member acted the bellend regardless of his position in the club hierarchy.

If I was the op I would go the guy and point out that he was wrong and ruined a day's golf for no good reason. At least give him the chance to apologize if he wants to take it.