If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Electric Picnic 2016 // **Discussion Only / NO Ticket Sales / Requests** //

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

We got down late on Friday and camped in Joplin. It was great. Walked through Wilde every day and it looked awful.

I know two people who had their belongings robbed in Chaplin while they were sleeping. Scumbag behaviour.

Highlights:

Joey Bada$$ - incredible gig and I was over the moon when he was announced for Other Voices along with Rejjie Snow later that night. Skipped Noel Galagher for it.
    Nas
    David O'Doherty - incredibly funny
    Abandoman - we saw the last 10 minutes and I laughed more in that than when I went to see Tommy Tiernan last year.
    Super Furry Animals
    Glass Animals
    Rusangano Family - incredible live performance in the Little Big Tent.

Lowlights:
    The price of food and drink (to be expected).
    Having to go home.
    My poor feet after wearing the wellies (hiking boots next year).

It was our first time going. It far exceeded my expectations and I've come away with a lot of new bands on my "must listen to" list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

More re kids:

I don't get the glass collecting thing! I wouldn't touch a plastic cup where some strangers mouth has been, or pick a glass up off the ground where thousands of people have trampled in shoes that have walked in and out of portaloos, or even worse, fish glasses out of bins. Why in the name of God would I encourage my child to do it? It's disgusting!

Add to that, why would I go to the bother of giving my child an enriching experience only to have them obsess over glass collecting for the weekend?

Also, to give some insight into the 13-16 year old demographic. A large proportion (if not most) of those teenagers are coming in with their parents through family camping. The 12 or under rule is in no way enforced, the attitude seeming to be that if you are going for years with your family, you are still welcome.

There are dozens upon dozens of teenagers in the family campsite, and this year more than ever I noticed groups of them who got up to their own thing once in the arena (as I recognised them from family camping). I can't say whether these teens are drinking or not, but their avenue in is not through the main gates on a general ticket.

I personally looked forward to my son still being able to come, but I completely changed my mind once he turned 11, and knew we would comply with the 12 and under rule. I think it should be enforced far more strictly, and it would give other families a chance to attend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,918 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

EoineyM wrote: »
    The amount of outrage about people bringing kids is a joke. Its just weird that it bothers some people so much. Its not like they are sitting there watching someone knock back 10 cans and vomit in a welly. These people that get so enraged by the presence of kids need to cop on

A lot of people have very fragile buzzes going on (for whatever reason...) and it's pretty hilarious how far they'll go to make you feel bad for their own issues.

sadie06 wrote: »
    More re kids:

I don't get the glass collecting thing! I wouldn't touch a plastic cup where some strangers mouth has been, or pick a glass up off the ground where thousands of people have trampled in shoes that have walked in and out of portaloos, or even worse, fish glasses out of bins. Why in the name of God would I encourage my child to do it? It's disgusting!

Add to that, why would I go to the bother of giving my child an enriching experience only to have them obsess over glass collecting for the weekend?

Also, to give some insight into the 13-16 year old demographic. A large proportion (if not most) of those teenagers are coming in with their parents through family camping. The 12 or under rule is in no way enforced, the attitude seeming to be that if you are going for years with your family, you are still welcome.

There are dozens upon dozens of teenagers in the family campsite, and this year more than ever I noticed groups of them who got up to their own thing once in the arena (as I recognised them from family camping). I can't say whether these teens are drinking or not, but their avenue in is not through the main gates on a general ticket.

I personally looked forward to my son still being able to come, but I completely changed my mind once he turned 11, and knew we would comply with the 12 and under rule. I think it should be enforced far more strictly, and it would give other families a chance to attend.

Heh, I love the cleanup kids, but I certainly wouldn't let my kid at it without several pairs of surgical gloves! Most of the kids I've seen carrying a big stack of them seem to be really enjoying it, I guess it's kind of a game or treasure hunt in a way, and I'm sure they earn a few weeks pocket money out of it!

Speaking of which, there really needs to be some kind of can recycling thing going on. Not a financial incentive or anything, but just make a big visible show out of how many cans have been recycled and what that means for good. I'm thinking of one of those Blue Peter Totaliser thingies!

Also the bins in the arena were really confusing - they all looked like General Waste, and had signs above them saying "General Waste? Think again about recycling" or similar, but there were NO labelled recycling bins around! It was really odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

great, even the EP thread being utterly ruined by parents never shutting up about their fcking kids.

Well according to Friends of the Earth, €31,000 was dished out at the cashing in point. The price is factored into the price of a pint.

Surely €31,000 would pay a lot of people to do the job properly equipped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭EoineyM

great, even the EP thread being utterly ruined by parents never shutting up about their fcking kids.

only coz theres a bunch of plonkers on here berating parents for bringing their kids

WTF?

Many people have mentioned the teenage demographic this year and wondered how they are getting in. I thought I'd offer some insight.

You don't see me moaning about the yearly 'Hendrix is hell and people are animals/it's always been that way' debate.

Different people have different sh*t to say in the shake down. What's your problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭keyboard_cat

MeatTwoVeg wrote: »
    I suspect my 9 year old enjoyed it more than the 20 something guy that was stretchered out of the main arena on Sunday afternoon.

I suspect your 9 year old would also enjoy Grand theft auto however that does not make it appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭EoineyM

I suspect your 9 year old would also enjoy Grand theft auto however that does not make it appropriate.

step aside supernanny, we've a new parenting guru in town

Didn't know David Quinn had a boards.ie account

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Loyalty codes are out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭bd2012

Just got my loyalty code too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Just got mine too! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

did yous all email looking for it or was it automatically sent out from your ticketmaster account history

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

D.Q wrote: »
    did yous all email looking for it or was it automatically sent out from your ticketmaster account history

Account history, auto sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Account history, auto sent

fack. No sign of mine. Although I have used two separate emails to order picnic tickets

Loyalty code also.

I did the form thing earlier, and emailed them my TM receipts for the last 3 years. But I'm not sure if that was the reason why I got it so quick or whether it was just because I was on record with TM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭bd2012

Got mine in an email from electric picnic, they had a record of my previous attendances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,941 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

How quickly do they they take to sell out tomorrow?

Snarky Snark Snark

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    How quickly do they they take to sell out tomorrow?

It'll be friday, we don't know the early bird/frequent flier number breakdowns so nobody really knows, I wouldn't worry about it too much, there were plenty of tickets at cost price available in the weeks leading up to the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Reggie noble

Got mine , i did the form today but I also emailed the lad that sent it to me last year and he wb within 3 hours with a code :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Just back in the house now after another brilliant weekend in Stradbally, the event has changed a lot in the last 10 years but it's still a fantastic weekend especially at early bird prices.

My rundown:

Friday:

Arrived just after 9am and had no trouble getting through the wristband exchange, then rocked up to the Eco campsite which was still practically empty at the time. Had a nice few chilled out cans waiting for the main arena to open after we got the tents up.

Have to say that again the Eco site got it spot on and i couldn't imagine camping in any other area. Spotlessly clean, full of sound people, completely calm and relaxed all weekend with even a 24 hour chill out tent showing movies like Labyrinth etc. Well done Steve & crew!

These Charming Men

After a stroll of the grounds we checked out these, quite a good crowd at the Salty Dog and a fun way to start the weekend.

Broken Social Scene

Only caught the end of these so didn't really have time to get into their set but the 3/4 songs i caught were enjoyable.

Jenny Greene/Todd Terje

Was at the back for Jenny Greene and the sound wasn't the greatest from where we were, couldn't really pick out the orchestra at all so we left and caught the 2nd half of Todd Terje who played some cracking tunes.

Super Furry Animals

Effortlessly brilliant, the only disappointment was that they didn't keep going for another 15/-20mins. Act of the weekend, by a margin.

Flexfab

Really enjoyed their set at Body & Soul. Another poster was saying how the set was 'dark' or some such but it was great for the shape i was in, sitting on the slope recovering from SFA!

Salty Dog NoStars play Bowie

This was a weird one. Was quite intoxicated at this point and some parts of it were very good but other parts were ruined by the annoying pirate on stage ranting and raving at length between songs!

Saturday:

Whitney

Caught about 25mins of these. Not bad, enjoyed a few of their songs and they did a good Dylan cover.

Engine Alley

Got half their set, and the highpoints(Machine) were good enough to compensate for the annoying guy introducing them and the noise bleed from Sound Atlas.

Avett Brothers

Another good set that got better as it went along, the last 15mins of which was excellent.

The Shins

One of the ones i was really looking forward to seeing beforehand and they were good for the 30mins i saw. Not mindblowing but some fantastic tunes.

DBFC

After what seemed like an eternity of a soundcheck these were great. Pretty small crowd there when i arrived but by the end they'd drawn in a very decent amount of people. Great tunes and loads of fun.

LCD Soundsystem

Excellent set by LCD. All my Friends wasn't as euphoric as i thought it might be but that might be due to sound where i was viewing from. Still, after SFA and along with New Order, the best set i saw all weekend. Someone Great was a highlight.

Plutonic Dust

Made this at the recommendation of a friend, and although i don't remember too much about it now i remember really digging it at the time!

Sunday:

Had a bath booked in B&S for the early afternoon so took it easy Sunday morning. Can't recommend the baths highly enough, you can drain and refill whenever you want and soak away the aches of the previous 2 days with a spliff. Felt better coming out than when i arrived Friday morning.

Local Natives

Seemed a bit lost on the big stage but i enjoyed some of the songs i was familiar with and also some of their new stuff. Rankins Wood would have been a better fit for them.

Savages

Typical energetic performance from Jehnny Beth & co but i thought they weren't as good as when i saw them in 2013 or at B&S. Possibly low energy levels at the end of their tour. Still good though.

Animal Collective

Caught the first & last 15 mins of their set. Not much from Merriweather PP but i really enjoyed what i heard from them.

New Order

Excellent. Can maybe be excused for phoning it in in parts, but they're so good that it doesn't really matter too much. Could possibly do with dropping Love Will Tear Us Apart, sounds a bit cabaret at this stage.

Ezra Furman

Caught some of his early show and thought it was good, especially Ordinary Life & Zero. Was really looking forward to his later show but he seemed like he wasn't enjoying it and it showed.

Overhead the Albatross

Last show of the weekend and there was still a few around. They were good but i wasn't blown away but that could just be exhaustion at the end of the 3 days.

Overall i thought it was really good this year, they did a good job on the scheduling and although there was noticeably more youngun's there i thought there was less agro than in 2013 or 2014 say. Agree with all those talking about noise bleed, especially in B&S.

And another thing, the kids make the festival. From the constant beaming faces to the little entrepreneurs running around scooping all the discarded glasses. I know there are some lost causes you can point to that shouldn't be out of their faces with kids around but by and large people will behave better when their are kids around. And for every kid i saw i also saw attentive & protective parents, so fair play. The sooner the kids leave the sooner the mess of the campsites will spill over into all other areas of the festival.

All in all not the chilled out super comfortable festival it used to be but still a brilliant weekend. Roll on 2017!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

fack. No sign of mine. Although I have used two separate emails to order picnic tickets

I got two emails for same reason but only the 2 or less ones which should add up to more.

I filled in their form and emailed in a photo of 3 wristbands this afternoon and got my code the same time as the others on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,874 ✭✭✭pah

Can I buy 2 tickets with my loyalty code?

pah wrote: »
    Can I buy 2 tickets with my loyalty code?

Yes.

everlast75 wrote: »
    wacotaco wrote: »
    Anyone get code yet?
    I send my proof yesterday but nothing yet.
    I bought my ticket in store so no booking reference or email reference which they asked for in the submission form
    I don't think I got my code till the day before last year, will see if I can find the e-mail

I'm heading into TM on friday at 9 with printouts of the last 3 sets of ticket emails recd from Ticketmaster and hope that's enough :confused:
    From feedback over the past few years the Ticketmaster outlets don't really ask for stuff and basically give the discounts to everybody. It's all anecdotal so I can't verify but it's pretty consistent info. I think they're just happy to get the sales.

I reckon this year they'll stop it being so easy to get the loyalty tickets, and I'd say they'll also reduce the amount of loyalty tickets available.