Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Faced with the possibility of chemo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Leogirl

Starting my chemo next week. I thought I would have a few more weeks normal time with my baby but oncologist said we have to move fast :-( I'll get 6 sessions, once every 3 weeks. It's the type of chemo that might not make me lose my hair- really hoping it doesn't. Cnf or something like that. If anyone has experience with it I'd love to hear how it was.

So this time next week I'll have done my first session + only 5 left. Hoping it's not too tough!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,419 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Leogirl wrote: »
    Starting my chemo next week. I thought I would have a few more weeks normal time with my baby but oncologist said we have to move fast :-( I'll get 6 sessions, once every 3 weeks. It's the type of chemo that might not make me lose my hair- really hoping it doesn't. Cnf or something like that. If anyone has experience with it I'd love to hear how it was.

So this time next week I'll have done my first session + only 5 left. Hoping it's not too tough!!

Best of luck with the treatment. It wasn't long ago that I was sitting thinking 'oh god, chemo starts next week'. It's certainly daunting but it will fly by and you'll be finished and healthy and happy again. And that's the most important thing.

You'll get there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭dreamstar

Leogirl wrote:

Oh leogirl it must be strange with an actual start date. Good news you may not lose your hair. I know you were worried about that. Do you know what day you start?

Was your first consultation today? I have mine on Monday. Were the doctors etc nice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭now online

Hi dreams tar and Leo girl

I've been following this thread since its started. My husband finished his treatment for hodgkins lymphoma today 8 sessions of chemo followed by 10 of radiotherapy. It's only now I can post here.

Firstly I'd suggest staying away from Google , get all the info you need from your team.

Lean on people if you need help ask for it. Put all your energy into getting better and don't sweat the small stuff if at all possible.

We both found ARC house to be amazing, very supportive and loads of helpful practical information.

If you don't have a medical card apply for one asap, regardless of health insurance meds are very expensive. While your waiting for your application to be processed make sure to get a drugs payment card from your local chemist.

Listen to your body if you feel like sleeping sleep, eating, then eat etc. Be selfish create your network of support and surround yourself with positivity.

Wishing you both the best and believe there is light at the end of the tunnel.

The doctors and health care staff my husband seen are truly amazing put your trust in them.

Thinking of you both

So I had my appointment in Vincents today. Doctor seems very confident that as my cancer is stage 1 and there was really minute amounts that my prognosis is really excellent. Given that I'm so young too. He said the chemo is just precaution.

So the type of chemo I'm getting seems the same as you leogirl. Once every three weeks and I shouldn't lose my hair. He said because I'm young and healthy that I should experience few side effects and will have a very normal life during treatment.

I'm so over the moon and really relieved. It will still be a rough few months no doubt but his confidence just put me so much at ease. I'm over the moon. Will get a call and should be starting in a week or so.

That's brilliant. I feel the same, I'm not so scared or upset about it now. I believe it will make me very tired+ won't be easy with a small baby but tiredness is an ok price to pay to get this sorted.

When do you start? I start at 9 on Friday in tallaght as its closer to home. I just want to start now+ count down the 6 sessions!!!

It's hard to believe I was delighted when told this will be my treatment! It was so much easier than what I was originally told to expect :-) my whole maternity leave will be taken up with all this though - it's already spoiled our first 2.5 weeks. I should be snuggling up with my baby not meeting oncologists+ going for scans + tests. I wish I could put cancer on hold for a month :-(

Leogirl wrote:
    It's hard to believe I was delighted when told this will be my treatment! It was so much easier than what I was originally told to expect :-) my whole maternity leave will be taken up with all this though - it's already spoiled our first 2.5 weeks. I should be snuggling up with my baby not meeting oncologists+ going for scans + tests. I wish I could put cancer on hold for a month :-(

Aw I know. Its so unfair. But the way I look at it is the sooner I start the sooner I finish. A few months and it will all be behind us. So stay positive and think ahead to next summer. :)

I'm just waiting for a call from the nurse to say when I start. He reckoned a week or so. So I'll be dying to hear how you get on.

Do you know what the name of your chemo is? Mine is carboplatin I think. I'm just ready to start now. But I'll enjoy my 30th birthday this weekend first. :)

How are you leogirl? Been thinking of you. Xxx

Thanks Dreamstar! Well I had first session on Friday+ I'm now in what is supposed to be my worst days- it's not so bad. I'm being honest here, I've had much worse hangovers!! I'm very very tired+ it comes+ goes but I haven't been sick, haven't felt too bad at all really.

I know I'm on a good chemo that's very well tolerated+ so far it's really been ok. I'm delighted to have my first one over+ I'm almost anxious to do the 2nd so I'll be closer to the halfway point!! I've been told it will get harder as it goes on but I think I can do this+ be ok with it.

I really hope it's similar for you. It's so scary but once you're started,you're closer to finishing. I'm trying to think like that - I might not feel so upbeat every day but so far so good. When do you start?

Oh sorry, I'm on cmf2 or something similar. Plus herceptin.

Leogirl wrote:
    I really hope it's similar for you. It's so scary but once you're started,you're closer to finishing. I'm trying to think like that - I might not feel so upbeat every day but so far so good. When do you start?

Oh that's really really great news Leogirl! I was thinking of you on Friday. No doubt there will be hard days but your positive attitude will definitely get you through.

How long did your session take? And did they still say your hair will be ok?

The type I'm on is called carboplatin which sounds similar in that the side effects are less severe than most chemo. Like he said my hair SHOULD be fine - although I'm still worried about this. I am meeting one of the nurses on Wednesday to go through everything and she will let me know when I'm starting. Just want to get in and start now to be honest. So your post has definitely made me feel more at ease about it all.

Glad to hear you're doing so well. Can't be easy with a newborn too. That little baby will get you through! Xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭XplaygirlX

I'm sorry to hear about that dreamstar hope you are doing OK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I've no advice to offer, but wanted to say I'm truly humbled by the bravery and wonderful attitude you ladies are showing. I wish you both the absolute best with your recoveries x

It took from 9-2/2.30 altogether but I was getting herceptin too which took an hour+ half. Also had to get ecg done. I'd say the chemo alone took about 1.5/2 hours.

They have told me over+ over I won't lose my hair but that it will most likely thin out a lot. They said I might be the only one who notices that. My body hair will probably thin or go- saves me on waxing etc :-) but eyelashes+ eyebrows thinning, not so good. Lots of skincare changes- they told me what creams etc to use + mouth care products to get. It's really not too bad though.

I will be honest, its very tiring. I wouldn't be fit for work the past couple of days but I'm tired after the baby+ night feeds etc- it's probably easier if you didn't have a baby 3 weeks before starting chemo :-)

Leogirl wrote:
    I will be honest, its very tiring. I wouldn't be fit for work the past couple of days but I'm tired after the baby+ night feeds etc- it's probably easier if you didn't have a baby 3 weeks before starting chemo :-)

Yeah its no wonder you're so tired leogirl. You've had a baby and started chemo within a month. Plus add to that the emotional drain of dealing with cancer. Just saying the word is awful and scary!

Im so glad you're finding things manageable. I'm meeting the nurse tomorrow. Really hope I start soon. I really get comfort from the fact we're starting together. Its like having a friend with you or something. Xxx

Its good to know there's someone to moan or be grateful with!! Plus we can share tips if needed :-)

This is my day 5 so the 2nd of the expected "bad days"+ I actually feel better than other days. Granted he took baby overnight+ I slept in my mums- I got a good lie in til 8.30am, woohoo!!

If its allowed I would exchange emails if you like? Probably need a mod to say its ok?

I know it's only my first cycle but I've gotten past the worst days+ honestly feel grand. I wish I'd known it was like this before I started. I know it could get worse as each session goes on but now I've only 5 left+ if they aren't as good, at least all 6 weren't. Now my big hope is that these type of chemo works+ I can stay on it!

Don't be too nervous. It's fine getting the chemo+ you have heard a few positive stories now- it's not always as bad as the movies!! Seriously I've had much worse colds + hangovers :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

I've actually nothing to offer to this conversation other than I'm humbled by the strength of both of ye. Really puts things into perspective. Sometimes we are in our own little bubble and think only of ourselves and it can take threads like this to jolt us back. I'll be thinking of you both. Best of luck to you both and congratulations on your baby bundle leo girl

Leogirl wrote:
    I know it's only my first cycle but I've gotten past the worst days+ honestly feel grand. I wish I'd known it was like this before I started. I know it could get worse as each session goes on but now I've only 5 left+ if they aren't as good, at least all 6 weren't. Now my big hope is that these type of chemo works+ I can stay on it!

That's it hun. No matter what happens you have one down! Take it day by day. I'm hopefully right behind you. Will find out tomorrow. Although I have a bit of a cold. Hope it doesn't delay things too much.

I've actually nothing to offer to this conversation other than I'm humbled by the strength of both of ye. Really puts things into perspective. Sometimes we are in our own little bubble and think only of ourselves and it can take threads like this to jolt us back. I'll be thinking of you both. Best of luck to you both and congratulations on your baby bundle leo girl

Trust me I don't feel all that strong sometimes. Although I've learned a lot from the last few weeks. You never know what someone is going through. Everyone is fighting their own battle and I will definitely be less judgemental from now on.

Same here fatherted!! There are days I'm a mess+ my poor boyfriend must wonder who this nutter is in front of him crying her eyes out- baby blues could play a part too though. :-)

I've a double excuse for being grumpy- he has no hope of winning any rows for the next few months ;-) I should milk this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

dreamstar wrote: »
    Trust me I don't feel all that strong sometimes. Although I've learned a lot from the last few weeks. You never know what someone is going through. Everyone is fighting their own battle and I will definitely be less judgemental from now on.

I actually landed into this thread by accident. My wife was in a coma most of last week after brain surgery. All went well in op and it looks like she'll make a full recovery but you're dead right. Everyone is fighting a battle of their own and it sometimes can be easy to think you're the only one suffering. Best of luck to you both

It must have been terrifying+ if I'm honest, I'd rather my situation than watch my partner suffer or know he was in danger. As I'm sure you'd have switched places with your wife. Guess that's love!

Wishing your wife a full+ speedy recovery, hope you + your family are doing ok too. Take care of yourself so you're strong for her!

I actually landed into this thread by accident. My wife was in a coma most of last week after brain surgery. All went well in op and it looks like she'll make a full recovery but you're dead right. Everyone is fighting a battle of their own and it sometimes can be easy to think you're the only one suffering. Best of luck to you both

Oh my gosh hope you're doing ok. Wishing your wife a speedy recovery! Xx

So.... I got my date for chemo. Starting 4th November!!!
    They went through side effects etc. All seems fine but I'll be so paranoid about picking up infections. Especially over the Christmas and that. Will just have to be very careful. Is it common to pick up infections - has anyone else ever gotten anything???

• Subscribers Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭IRLConor

So.... I got my date for chemo. Starting 4th November!!!
    They went through side effects etc. All seems fine but I'll be so paranoid about picking up infections. Especially over the Christmas and that. Will just have to be very careful. Is it common to pick up infections - has anyone else ever gotten anything???

I just had colds and stuff a bit more frequently than I normally would. It was a bit of a pain in the ass, but nothing too crazy.

IRLConor wrote:
    I just had colds and stuff a bit more frequently than I normally would. It was a bit of a pain in the ass, but nothing too crazy.

Ok I could cope with that. The information letter said if you get a temperature to go straight to A&E - that worried me a bit. But I guess once I'm careful and mind myself I'll be ok.

The nurse did say if you get the bus try not to touch the handrails and if you do use sanatiser afterwards!! Made me think how many germs are there. Gross when you think of it!!!

Ok I could cope with that. The information letter said if you get a temperature to go straight to A&E - that worried me a bit. But I guess once I'm careful and mind myself I'll be ok.

The nurse did say if you get the bus try not to touch the handrails and if you do use sanatiser afterwards!! Made me think how many germs are there. Gross when you think of it!!!

Just be more careful than you normally are and you should be fine. If they advise you to go to A&E in you have a temperature then I'd follow their advice. Now is not the time for "sure feck it I'll be grand". Better to be overly cautious and have an easier time of it.

They tracked my various blood counts fairly well while I was having chemo and were able to say "you're doing fine" or "the white count is particularly low, mind yourself" so you might be able to get ongoing hints on quite how careful you need to be.

IRLConor wrote:
    They tracked my various blood counts fairly well while I was having chemo and were able to say "you're doing fine" or "the white count is particularly low, mind yourself" so you might be able to get ongoing hints on quite how careful you need to be.

That's great to know. Sometimes it feels like I'm entering a whole new world. Its mad. Just going to take it step by step! Great to be able to come here and know others get it and have been through it.

Well, don't take my word for anything! :) It's been almost 16 years for me and plenty of stuff will have changed. Do what your doctors/nurses advise and if you're not sure ask them loads of questions.

Apart from that, take every little advantage you can get. Sleep well, eat well, stay clear of sick people, mind your basic hygiene. It's only a small change from "ah, I'll be grand" to "I'll be grand, but I'm not taking any chances either" but it could save you a few days of misery here and there.

First chemo day today! Eeek! Just eager to start now.