Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jan and Klodi's Party Bus - part II **off topic discussion**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

Britain's Olympic cyclists have written to their prime minister saying the best honour would be investment in cycling for ordinary people

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2016/sep/01/team-gbs-cycling-heroes-call-for-legacy-of-everyday-cycling

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,127 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Rapha Sale now on.
    Some good knockdowns.
    Winter Hat purchased :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,910 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Planet X wrote: »
    Rapha Sale now on.
    Some good knockdowns.
    Winter Hat purchased :)

A few too many brown boxes coming in the door at the moment, better avoid.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

smacl wrote: »
    A few too many brown boxes coming in the door at the moment, better avoid.

Another one on the way to you now ;)

Saw a fellow yesterday cycling one of those delivery bakfietsen. He'd hit a small patch of oil and came down with a terrible crack - grazes on his knee and his neck and face. They seem most unstable, looking at what tipped him over and the resulting painful grazes.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Police in Ipswich yesterday morning used a Taser on a man who was brandishing a sword while cycling in the Suffolk county town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

Chuchote wrote: »
    Saw a fellow yesterday cycling one of those delivery bakfietsen. He'd hit a small patch of oil and came down with a terrible crack - grazes on his knee and his neck and face. They seem most unstable, looking at what tipped him over and the resulting painful grazes.

They're not.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Police in Ipswich yesterday morning used a Taser on a man who was brandishing a sword while cycling in the Suffolk county town.
    Just like to point out I'm in Leeds today and was in Manchester yesterday. Not been in Ipswich for yonks. Will be in Swords tomorrow mind ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,285 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Beasty wrote: »
    Just like to point out I'm in Leeds today and was in Manchester yesterday. Not been in Ipswich for yonks. Will be in Swords tomorrow mind ...
    Living the dream! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭padyjoe

Just watching the Skoda Kodiaq premiere and guess who's there? Cycling, Tour...
    Yes, our Stephen Roche as he was the one of first ones driving the new SUV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,244 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Got my bike back on the road today. Encountered an absolute lunatic on the roads tonight who ran into me on purpose. Back wheel is bent now the fun and games with insurance begins.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,512 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

plus the gardai, i hope?
    did you sustain any injury?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,912 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

I've been using one for a few months now. They're very stable with the very long wheel base. Well, that's my experience so far. Normal bikes seem very twitchy afterwards.

plus the gardai, i hope?
    did you sustain any injury?

Yep Guards came. I'm not injured, even managed to stay upright.

How far can a wheel bend before its scrap? My wheel was touching the frame

tomasrojo wrote: »
    I've been using one for a few months now. They're very stable with the very long wheel base. Well, that's my experience so far. Normal bikes seem very twitchy afterwards.

Not twitchy. More responsive? Bullits need a lot more lean for tight corners as the steering works for?

Not twitchy. More responsive?

Yeah, I suppose so. It didn't feel like a positive at first, with the front wheel on the normal bike being far more "mobile" than I'd remembered (from a few days previously!) even when I wasn't conscious of moving the handlebars. The strange feeling transitioning between the bikes has left me now anyway.

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Yeah, I suppose so. It didn't feel like a positive at first, with the front wheel on the normal bike being far more "mobile" than I'd remembered (from a few days previously!) even when I wasn't conscious of moving the handlebars. The strange feeling transitioning between the bikes has left me now anyway.

To me the Bullitt is like driving a large truck. When empty, the gearing feels off and the steering needs constant "readjustment" but once you carry any weight the gearing makes sense again (for the older internal) and it feels more planted and settled. Always seems to feel better loaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,666 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Latest posts lead me to a thread on motors, about motorists giving out about average speed cameras and having to obey the posted limit, and generally giving out about enforcement. Just thought I'd leave it here for the next time gobdaw motorist comes to the cycling forum about cyclists not obeying the law, and how everything is rosey with motorised vehicles as they have a licence and reg plate...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057634965

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,512 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

How far can a wheel bend before its scrap? My wheel was touching the frame
    scrap it and claim a new one on the insurance.

Macy0161 wrote: »
    Latest posts lead me to a thread on motors, about motorists giving out about average speed cameras and having to obey the posted limit, and generally giving out about enforcement.

Doesn't take long for the old canard about motorists staring fixedly at speedometers is more dangerous than speeding, as if those are the only two possibilities.

And, while I'm always impressed by how our doughty citizens can "walk faster than 30km/h", I take my hat off to this fellow:
    ABC101 wrote: »
    Felt a bit of an idiot as 60kph feels like walking would be faster.

Weepsie wrote: »
    I'd bin that too. If it could be trued maybe can be kept as a turbo wheel.

You could out together some short stories about your cycling misfortune:, accidents, punctures, injuries, Dublin bike woes. I applaud your persistence to get back on the saddle

One of my buddies reckon my bike is trying to kill me. In fairness, I do a lot of mileage and most of which is in or around Dublin so it's bound to be dramatic. My commute takes me along the canal and through Ranelagh and I've still got a lot to learn when it comes to avoiding these things.
    Last night was a pure rear end though while I was stopped so not much avoiding that

British estate agents are saying that houses near popular cycling routes are now selling at a premium http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/news/latest-news/living-near-popular-cycling-routes-add-value-home-280901?utm_source=Twitter&utm_medium=Social

Roll on Dublin protected cycle paths ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,571 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Apologies if posted already. Just saw this on Twitter today.

https://twitter.com/CyclingHubTV/status/771800797139066880

Good piece on city cycling and safety, lots of statistics https://ig.ft.com/sites/urban-cycling/

Incidentally, it might be nice to have a sticky for things like this, and cycling infrastructure like this piece on a New York study that found a 49% rise in retail sales along the streets abutting on a cycle lane, and a survey in Oregon that showed cycletourists spending $400 million last year https://www.fastcoexist.com/1682022/want-to-make-money-build-a-business-on-a-bike-lane and securing 4,600 jobs.

Cyclists are particularly liable to osteoporosis. Some preventatives: http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/fitness/cyclists-bone-health-281573

The driver that hit me is accepting liability and has offered to pay cash for a new wheel and tyre for me.
    I had a new tyre anyway so I've told him the wheel is ruined, which it is and not to worry about the tyre. I've also said I'll try find a replacement as cheap as I can. Hopefully he'll work out his own anger issues and will learn a lesson.

Get yourself checked out before accepting any such offer, honestly, Lols.

I actually stayed upright and had one foot on the ground, no jolt through the body or anything, I'm happy enough that I've no injuries

Poll in TheJournal about whether kids should be taught cycling in school. Comments are priceless ;)

http://www.thejournal.ie/poll-about-cycling-in-primary-schools-2964418-Sep2016/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Cyclists are particularly liable to osteoporosis. Some preventatives: http://www.cyclingweekly.co.uk/fitness/cyclists-bone-health-281573

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LkXwfTsqQgQ

UCD lecture on importance of maintaining muscle