Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From Couch 25k To Where Ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Just s an c today. Finding it difficult enough too . Limited in range for some of the stretches butdong my best at them.

Decided not to run today . Feeling I need a rest day .

Day 16 of the 30 day challenge today. Still at it and happy with how it went today . Was feeling it where I was supposed to be.

Running wise tonight was the start of week 3 of base training on the graduates plan . 60 minutes at 11.50 very easy .

Day 17 of s and c , no moaning about it tonight so it must be working.

Running the plan was 60 minutes progression from easy 11.45 to pmp 9.30 . I planned to run the first mile was 11.45 and 11.15 for mile 2 , 10.45 for mile 3 , 10.15 for mile 4 abd 9.30 for mile 5 leaving a few minutes for cool down.

This went pretty much to plan, I was a few seconds too quick on mile 4 but other than that it was as intended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

The Muppet wrote: »
    Does any of his friend do similar? Fair play to him for being himself. .

No, not that I'm aware of. The first time he did it I though he just got mixed up, as he has Dyspraxia and sometimes he forgets to do the simple things we don't even think about.

The second time I pointed it out and he told me he knew and wanted to, so I left him be. Now he does it an odd time but he's a very witty & funny guy so its just something he likes to do and sure what harm is it!!!

I am very surprised by it as he doesn't like to draw attention to himself so this is doing quite the opposite, assuming people notice!!!:D

I think it's brilliant that he has the confidence to be do something out of the norm like that and be comfortable with it, You can be sure his friend notice , fashion wise teenagers miss very little , or at least that's how they were when mine were at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

I think it's brilliant that he has the confidence to be do something out of the norm like that and be comfortable with it, You can be sure his friend notice , fashion wise teenagers miss very little , or at least that's how they were when mine were at that stage.

Hes 11 so just finding his way in the world!! and yes I agree its great for his confidence and that he is comfortable with being different.

Slept it out this morning , never heard alarm, I'm usually awake well before it goes off so not time for the s and c plan this morning :mad:

I decided to take a rest day today and do my 60 minute very easy run tomorrow instead unless I go out later tonight .

I didn't go to pilates either, I did this mornings missed s and c session instead. That's day 18 and the end of the third group so I'm onto the next group which is another 6 days of resistance band exercises. I finally get the a reason to take the resistance bands I bought 2 years ago out of their box,:D

Day 19 of the 30 day challenge using the resistance bands really enjoyed it . I also got a 60 minute very easy run in this afternoon 5.25 miles @ 11.34 pace.

I'm entered for the Raheny 5 on Sunday . Not sure what to do tomorrow or how I'm going to run the race on Sunday, the plan says easy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Day 19 of the 30 day challenge using the resistance bands really enjoyed it . I also got a 60 minute very easy run in this afternoon 5.25 miles @ 11.34 pace.

I'm entered for the Raheny 5 on Sunday . Not sure what to do tomorrow or how I'm going to run the race on Sunday, the plan says easy .

Run as hard as you can on the day. Best of Luck Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck in Raheny tomorrow TM, hope it goes well for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Have a great race, T! Run fast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭FIFA2004

Good luck for tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Best of luck T. Give it everything! All that S & C is bound to pay off.

Thanks For the good wishes all,

I'm not expecting much on the racing front TBH ,I've been helping someone move house yesterday and this morning, not ideal prep. Cosidered pulling out but as it's a run day I may as well do it, I'll see how I feel when I start running and take it from there.

Happy I went ahead and ran the Raheny 5 .

Mile 1 just after the start annapr went past me and I stuck with her for the first mile. Pace 8.59

Second mile I knew I couldnt jeep that pace up for 5 miles today so eased off. Pace 9.49

Third mile I started to struggle mentally and gave in and walked for a few minutes. Was going to jack in but persuaded my self to run again pace 11.32

Fourth into St annes and I was feeling ok I started to pass a few runners which I took as a positive pace 10.21

Mile 5 I picked up the pace again and finished strongly pace 8.41

Thoughts . Not surprised really but im not going to make excuses .

If i'd ran the whole race at the pace of mile 1 or 5 I'd be happy . The fact I could run @8.41 in mile 5 indicates I should have done better in miles 2, 3 and 4 .

.on the plus I enjoyed the run irespective of my performance . Met lots of bodies after for a cuppa and a chat and denis b most Welcome flapjacks .

It was a very well organised event . Really enjoyed the kids races before my race . The goodie bag was excellent my 3 grandkids had a chocolate overload this evening , their parents can deal with the afters of that.:D Reception after was brilliant too.. a great event. I'll be back to try improve on today .

5 miles in 49.22 watch time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Good to see you today, T... the fact that you said you couldn't keep up with me made my day... sorry :p

I'm sure that won't last long anyway!

annapr wrote: »
    Good to see you today, T... the fact that you said you couldn't keep up with me made my day... sorry :p

I'm sure that won't last long anyway!

No need to apologise A. It's the truth . I wouldn't be so sure but I'm certainly going to work on improving .

Great run today by yourself you were up and back the avenue when I was at the start of it that must be at least a half mile you made on me.

Rest day Monday, I didn't get out tonight either as I'm feeling tired , Off to Manchester in the morning so that'll be a write of too .

I didn't do the 30 day challenge Saturday or Sunday with the Raheny 5 in mind.

Back into it yesterday morning doing resistance band exercises and it went well I can really feel it around my hips though , sore . Will miss tomorrow but hope to get back to it on thursday 2 days left in this group and then its onto the final week of running drills.

Afraid to report I may be out for a while, My big toe nail is causing me some concern as its bleeding from the side, I think I'm going to lose it, Its been hanging in there since October . Being a diabetic feet problem are very serious and need to be looked after . It only started bleeding today so I am trying to sort it myself I wont be running on it and will go to docs early next week if it's not healed .

I only got back from the UK yesterday morning so I didn't get any runs in, I did go to my pilates last nigh though so it wasn't a total wash out. Will have to hold off on the final phase of the 30 day challenge until toe improves as its running drills .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Sorry to hear that T, best of luck with the recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Crikey! Hope you get it sorted but would it not be prudent to go straight to a podiatrist given the diabetes?

Have a nurse in the family AM so believe me I wont get away with not looking after it. Infection is the danger so it'll be docs for antibiotics first and I'll take it from there, Hopfully it's clear up in a day or so.

Ive been here before was actually on an operating table in Beaumont a few years ago for an ingrown toenail that had gone rogue and the surgeon noticed improvement so he gave me a stay of execution and it cleared with a does of what looked like horse tables.

I will look after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Sorry to hear that, hope you get it sorted soon!

tailgunner wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that, hope you get it sorted soon!

Thanks TG it seems to be improving.

I remebered I was doing push ups in pilates Thursday night and I think I may have just disturbed the nail which has been loose since the Marathon. I'll give it another day or so to settle and see where I am then.

Toe is healing well so was allowed run again yesterday 5.1 miles moderate 10.37 pace.

While I had not ran for the last week I finished section 4 of the 30 day challenge resistance band exercises, I'm into the last section now running drills , tried these in yesterdays run , I think they will make a difference if I can get used to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Toe is healing well so was allowed run again yesterday 5.1 miles moderate 10.37 pace.

While I had not ran for the last week I finished section 4 of the 30 day challenge resistance band exercises, I'm into the last section now running drills , tried these in yesterdays run , I think they will make a difference if I can get used to them.

Good news on the nail front. Have to admit that you have been my conscience as I see how your 30 Day Challenge is progressing. Think it has taken me 30 Days to get to Day 11 :eek:. If I never see another split squat!!!!! Great routine and keeps me honest with areas I ignore.

denis b wrote: »
    Good news on the nail front. Have to admit that you have been my conscience as I see how your 30 Day Challenge is progressing. Think it has taken me 30 Days to get to Day 11 :eek:. If I never see another split squat!!!!! Great routine and keeps me honest with areas I ignore.

Im laughing here D , delighted to see your comment on those split squats, I found them an absolute killer, I though it was just me being a wimp. I found Week 2 is the hardest week from a pain viewpoint , The balance one in week 3 is just difficult. Im into the home stretch with running drills this week , enjoying those atm.

55 minutes moderate on the cards for today , Moderate is 10.18 to 10.37 for me . I ran this a little to quick. (lack;s of discipline) 5.5 miles @9.59 pace . splits were consistent so that;s a positive.

Obtained a lovely blister on the toe beside my gammy big toe I assume it was rubbing off the dressing on the big toe. Compede will sort it.

Got some good news today too, I was lucky in the Great North Run Lottery which is the 10th of September so that's given me a goal race for this year. I used to watch it on telly when I was younger, never dreamed I would run in it one day but now I will all going well.

I'm really looking forward to that my Birthday is that week too so I'm going to make it a bit of a holiday too .

60 minutes very easy today . 5.25 miles@ 11.30 pace including the drills from the 30 day program.

Pilates Class tonight .

50 minutes easy with 5 @threshold 8.51

Ran this one by the book . Couldn't get warm until the threshold run, enjoyable run.

5.03 miles @11.30