Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

From Couch 25k To Where Ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I didn't think that at all, it's a valid question when the pmp hr is just a little higher than my easy one.

I ran those pmp miles on the flat along the Howth road so no hills helped keep the hr down. I was surprised myself tbh.

Cheers

7.29 miles @ 129bpm 10:51 pace with 5x hill repeats

I ran this from the Main Gate of St. Anns Park, to Clontarf and along the coast towards sutton for 4 miles and turned around and ran back to the hill in the park at the bottom of mount prospect avenue for the hill repeats and back up the main avenue to finish.

It was quite a warm evening and I felt I was wilting from 3 to 4 mile mark on the way out to sutton, stats show a drop off in Pace for this mile. On the return journey I had the breeze in my face and I felt and ran much better.

6.09 miles @131 bpm 10:47 pace.

Feeling a little meh starting out but once I got into it i had a lovely run which pace wise turned into a bit of a progression run but I kept the heart rate within my easy target except starting out but that wa due to bad connectivity on the strap.

Off to my pilates class shortly.

mile splits
    1 @ 11:25 140 bpm
    2 @ 11:09 126 bpm
    3 @11:00 126 bpm
    4 @ 10:36 132 bpm
    5 @ 10:19 131 bpm
    6 @ 10:14 132 bpm

13.3 mile lsr today @130 bpm and 11:05 average pace.

Ran out to Malahide and up the back road into the castle to the parkrun (5 miles). Just to add a iittle variety to the long run I ran the parkrun at PMP , well a little quicker than pmp but still easy enough 9:45 pace. Then home along the estuary in a really nice breeze,

I know I should not be running parkruns as part of my lsr but i just felt like a little bit of a change today. Heart rate for the parkrun miles 132bpm 9:52 pace, 137bpm 9:40 pace,138bpm 9:43 pace , all the other miles were under my easy target.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

The Muppet wrote: »
    I know I should not be running parkruns as part of my lsr but i just felt like a little bit of a change today. .

I did this a lot during Rotterdam training, there's no harm at all doing it and you're right, it breaks up the run nicely. The trick is to stay towards the back and 'jog' it. Once you've mastered the art of enjoying it and keeping the pace slow it's probably quite beneficial actually :)

Well done getting your LR done in that heat!

Firedance wrote: »
    I know I should not be running parkruns as part of my lsr but i just felt like a little bit of a change today. .

I did this a lot during Rotterdam training, there's no harm at all doing it and you're right, it breaks up the run nicely. The trick is to stay towards the back and 'jog' it. Once you've mastered the art of enjoying it and keeping the pace slow it's probably quite beneficial actually :)

Well done getting your LR done in that heat!
    Thanks , I though I might be in trouble for doing it. I stared out right at the back and kept it easy enough.

The heat is quite draining these last few days ' the run back along the malahide estuary was really refresing.

3 miles recovery this morning @125 bpm 11:37 pace

Thats week 3 of marathon training completed only 15 to go.:eek:

The week ahead will be an easy week as I will be on the revised schedule for those of us racing next weekend.

Fingal 10 k this day week, the novices have been given permission to race it , I'm really looking forward to that as I've never raced anything over 5k.

3.2 miles @135 bpm 10.12 pace

Not so long ago I wouldn't have walked in that weather. We' re all insane .

3.2 miles @135 bpm 10.12 pace

Not so long ago I wouldn't have walked in that weather. We' re all insane .

Ha ha, wait till it snows and you're tutting and saying 'that better have melted before my planned run later' :D

Ah no I've ran in snow and driving sleet much prefer that to the heat. I'm one of those people that just can't handle warm weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Same, I'm like a snowman; I just turn into a puddle.

Got my 6 miles with 4 @ pmp in this evening. I didn't get out until after 7 and I still found the heat made the going tough. Well I hope it's the heat. Even though the heat rate is reasonably low for each mile I'm not confident I could gave gone much faster this evening though the latter miles felt easier than the first two.

Pmp miles

10.16. 133 bpm
    10,11 137 bpm
    10.07 134 bpm
    10.05 134bpm

Another session nearer the goal.

Yesterday was a rest day , I just went to my pilates class , couldn't miss that.

4 miles today @ 135 bmp 10.00 pace with 5 x 100 strides. Felt really good throughout afte a few meh runs earlier this week. A little quicker than plan but just went with it today.

That's it until the Fingal 10k os Sunday. My first 10k race . Im Pretty apprehensive about it . Haven't a clue how I should run it so who guess I'll just see what happens on the day.

Best of luck M, have you a goal time in mind? just take it easy for the first couple of KM's and don't go out too fast. 10K is long enough that proper pacing is important - the very best of luck to you!

Thanks fd . I don't really have a time in mind , somewhere between 50 and 60 minutes.

I hear you about going out easy . Thing is I know the course as I live on it and there is time to be had in the first 3 miles as its mostly down hill so if I were to go for it pacing that part properly could be an issue for me with my lack of experience at the distance .

Thanks fd . I don't really have a time in mind , somewhere between 50 and 60 minutes.

I hear you about going out easy . Thing is I know the course as I live on it and there is time to be had in the first 3 miles as its mostly down hill so if I were to go for it pacing that part properly could be an issue for me with my lack of experience at the distance .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Rururun

So the first 5km or so easy? Is the rest uphill? I really have to be sure I don't go out too fast but really want sub 60 too so have to be sure I do my best!
    Good luck with your first 10km! It's a great distance - I always feel great until about 7-8km in and then struggle - I'm determined to beat the wall this time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck tomorrow morning, run well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Best luck tomorrow, enjoy the day.

Rururun wrote: »

So the first 5km or so easy? Is the rest uphill? I really have to be sure I don't go out too fast but really want sub 60 too so have to be sure I do my best!
    Good luck with your first 10km! It's a great distance - I always feel great until about 7-8km in and then struggle - I'm determined to beat the wall this time!!
    The first k is uphill to the roundabout then it's down hill for a few k . Read the post from singer in the link below . He's a local runner too and has ran the course a few times.

http://www.boards.ie/b/thread/2057623344

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

All the best for tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭FIFA2004

Good luck tomorrow! Looking forward to seeing how well you do!

FIFA2004 wrote: »
    Looking forward to seeing how well you do!

Me too.
    Your doing it yourself ? The novices are meeting up outside the airtricty tent afterwards . Make sure you say hi. Is your mam running it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭FIFA2004

Me too.
    Your doing it yourself ? The novices are meeting up outside the airtricty tent afterwards . Make sure you say hi. Is your mam running it?

Yeah I am, I'll definitely come say hi! No she isn't, although she's eyeing up parkruns for a sub 30 attempt and is thinking of another 10km in the Phoenix park in August so she's definitely caught the bug!

Brilliant . Fair play to her.

Good luck tomorrow . Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

Good luck tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Best of luck tomorrow. Enjoy!!

Up early this morning for a breakfast of porridge and banana. watch a bit of telly and read boards until 9.10 and then i jogged the 10 minutes to the start . Floated around for a bit to take everything in and had a chat with a few runners.

Looking at the setup I decided to start at the begining of wave 2 for 50 minute+ runners. My 5k time puts me slightly over 50 mins in the calcualtors but this being my first race over 5 k the last thing I wanted was to go out too quickly and blow up .

My strategy if you can call it that was to run by feel. I though I could run 9 minute miles without flogging myself and equated that to a 54 minute 10k.(rookie error I know).

I made my way to the pen for wave 2 and was suprised to see my family including my elderly mum rock up, with a "go go gadget grandad" poster they had made for the occasion. A family in joke as in another life I'm a bit of a geek. Overkill for a 10 k I suppose but they are very supportive since day 1 of this journey, and I loved that they did that.

Wave one set off and wave 2 was moved up to the startline, a few mexican waves and 6 minutes later and we were off.

I was in the front line of wave 2 and set off up main street at a comfortable pace, uphill to the rounabout and then back downhill towards the pavillions, we were all ready passing the backmarkers of wave 1 less than a mile in. Running easily here the pace for mile 1 was 8:35

Mile two , still down hill and comfortable pace 8:43, hear the alert and looked at the watch, I was happy enough and feling good.

Mile Three , The first water station , a few sips and a splash on the face and it was onto the country roads. I heard a hello Tom here and looked over to see Annapr of this parish running along side me, we talked of similar goals etc for a minute or so and parted company. (Fair play for remembering me Anna, I know it was only yesterday we met but I'm useless at remembering people so I was impressed you remembered me). Beep for mile 3 I checked the watch and it was a 9.16 mile my first over 9 minutes. Not too bothered, the water station took a few seconds and there were some slight drags so still happy enough.

Mile four starts with a hill up to a left turn towards the church, I was feeling the incline along here but still felt comfortable, with hindsight probably too comfortable as the split for this mile was 9.25.I wasn't happy when I saw that , I knew I had to up the effort if I wanted to be happy with my time.

Mile 5, I was actually feeling good along here and started to up the pace and go by a few people.Along here I knew I was good to finish well. Running past Swords Celtic fc I though of Singer also of this parish and that he was probabaly finished the lucky sod( cleaned that up a little). I'm always amused by the random stuff that I think of when running. I didn't check my time here as I knew I had upped the pace but the split was 8:55.

Mile 6, moving well, the last water station was very welcome,just after that I saw what I though was smoke drifting across the road but then remembered some mention of dublin fire bridgade providing a refreshing spray along here and very welcome it was too. This is my home turf, I knew every hollow and incline so I just pushed on into watery land and the hill, which in reality isnt much of a hill at all unless you've been pushing hard for a distance . I start most of my runs form home on this strecth so I know it really well and just kept it going, it didn't bother me. Mile 6 pace 9:08

3 lamposts from the end of the watery lane the hill flattens and its down hill to the finish , I have a little left in the tank and pass a few people on the run in cheered on by my family poster and all. pace for this section was 8:01 , Its over my first 10k race

The Finish timeclock says over an hour but Im in the second wave so I havent a clue of my time. I did stop my watch as I went over the line but I cant really see the small text in the run details without my glasses so I didnt know my time.

I made my way to the air tricity tent collecting goodie bag etc on the way, Singer greeted me there, again surprised he knew me , but he had been tracking some of the novices and had my number , clever lad. He told me my time of 55.41 . I was n't sure how I felt about that at the time as I had hoped to run @ 9 minute miles and though I was a good bit over that. A few other boardsies arived shortly after , it was nice to put faces to usernames .

What I learned:
    In reality I wasn't over, I ran 8:59 average splits which was spot on what and did so with relying on my watch , thats a plus.

My 5k PB gives me a calculator 10k pace of 50:12 , I know I could have ran better today but I dont think it would be 5 minutes better.

I learned a few other things too that I hope to implement between now and October.

I'm feeling grand this evening , this race provided the opportunity for a change in training, I used the week to step back my milage sticking rigedly to the revised plan Nop gave us .Its recovery plan for the next 2 days and the back to the Marathon plan by the book until M Day.

Summary ,

Really enjoyed the race, A little slump in the middle but overall I'm happy with how things went. Really looking forward to the FD10 mile now to see what that throws up for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Bravo to you, great running. Like yourself my little family come out to cheer me on at a few races, they always tend to be my better races.