Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

trump becomes president 1000 euro at 25/1 on betfair

• Registered Users Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

https://www.betfair.com/exchange/plus/#/politics/market/1.107373419

money flying in on betfair. it was 170million matched about 20 minutes ago.

crazy

did anyone actually Trump at long odds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

https://www.betfair.com/exchange/plus/#/politics/market/1.107373419

money flying in on betfair. it was 170million matched about 20 minutes ago.

crazy

did anyone actually Trump at long odds?

The early birds.
    Is 10.0 long odds? Was that couple of hours ago.

earliertoday.png

Suppose I'd better offset and back HC at 2.1(+)

ahhhh hiding your stake, no fun!

i was going to stick €100 on Hillary a few minutes ago until I saw NYT prediction had switched to Trump

i'm thinking of putting €5000 on hillary to win. i think it's an absolute lock.
    In that case between around Oct 1 - Oct 13th 2015 would have been the ideal time to have done that, when she was available at x2.5, now it's x1.9.

Your best plan would be to wait for x2.35 or higher to reappear during the year which is bound to happen at some stage, if even for a short while on the back of a media Exposé, poll results or maybe just a bad day at Q&A session.

Unless of course you have a few of the other main contenders already at double digits, then its a great time.

you'll be happy to know my father talked me out of that €5k bet...

i was going to stick €100 on Hillary a few minutes ago until I saw NYT prediction had switched to Trump

True, multiples as selection on accumulators, don't want to jinx all the other selections, karmic resonance and all that jazz. Some night so far...

3am odds, and great value for any HC fans out there:

3am.png

• Registered Users Posts: 39,092 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Where's that Walter Mitty fella wafflingabout 7 figure bets on Brexit and Hillary, lololol

moneymad wrote: »
    Can't wait to collect my winnings.

Great call

Mellor wrote: »
    Where's that Walter Mitty fella wafflingabout 7 figure bets on Brexit and Hillary, lololol

That was some carry on, driving around looking to dump monkeys and grand @1.2 with absolute sureness. In all seriousness, never back anything at 1.2 folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Enjoy

mansize wrote: »
    Enjoy

He never placed the bet, kicking himself obviously

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,065 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Well feck him anyway. I was coming on looking for a screenshot of the winnings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Well well well..........
    efb wrote: »
    Good luck with that...
    Arbitrary wrote: »
    Great if you took this bet as a lay, 1k just went up in smoke otherwise.
    Realist2 wrote: »
    was 100/1 a couple of weeks ago, do u not know by now that american presidents are selected not elected, you need to get informed, u were better off throwing your money into the shannon.
    Realist2 wrote: »
    , Hilary is in the group, she will be next president, wake up people please
    matthew8 wrote: »
    He has no chance whatsoever at the presidency. It would be an outstanding lay if it didn't take so long to come in (even if you waited for him to inevitably start to lose interest or say something even more stupid so you could back it at 1000 that could take a while). Polling well right now means very little, Herman Cain polled well for a time too in the last cycle, novelty candidates always drop out.
    Canadel wrote: »
    Of the USA?

Hilarious how underestimated Hillary is. Her biggest mistake was being born a woman.

.........Of course hindsight is a great thing
    duffman13 wrote: »
    Screenshot or gtfo

^ And that is the defining comment. We saw no screenshot or pic of the slip, so I doubt the bet was ever made.

Fair play for the call all the same.

Red Kev wrote: »
    ^ And that is the defining comment. We saw no screenshot or pic of the slip, so I doubt the bet was ever made.

Fair play for the call all the same.

I'm guessing you missed his second post
    Hi all i posted the bet of the year, however i didn't have the 1000 at the time to put it on.

Said after that he put 100 on, but no screenshot either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Would any bookies give odds on trump being assassinated while in office I wonder? Excuse my bad taste!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,839 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Charity10k wrote: »
    You seem to think that Americans always vote logically and elect the best person for the job.

so true :pac:

isn't it great though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

he's the king of photoshop (and aftertiming)

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Busyness1

Arbitrary wrote: »
    Great if you took this bet as a lay, 1k just went up in smoke otherwise.

Say what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭maximum12

they don't get burnt. Relatively little money is staked on these events and they get publicity from the early pay outs.

• Registered Users Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Arbitrary

Busyness1 wrote: »
    Say what?

I'll respond shortly, just let me finish my breakfast.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Never thought humble pie was that tasty :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I don't think he lost that much

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

What's the benefit to them for paying out early, even if they happened to be right?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭Allinall

Effects wrote: »
    What's the benefit to them for paying out early, even if they happened to be right?

Free publicity.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Some lad in a boyles shop had

10k at 7/2

12k at 3/1

maximum12 wrote: »

they don't get burnt. Relatively little money is staked on these events and they get publicity from the early pay outs.
    Relatively little?

$120m was matched on betfair. Probably the biggest market on all time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭tinpib

It was US$170mill when I went to bed at 2am Irish time, any idea what the final total was?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭maximum12

Relatively little?

The big money will be on the exchanges. What would anyone bet more than a tenner on Paddypower odds.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Fair play to you. What was he last night around 7-1. Had a feeling it was going to be brexit part 2