Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Exhaust cutouts FTW.

Best of both worlds. ;)

It just needs a resonator

Sounds exact same as this, same mods i think to exhaust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I've been getting the Celica ready for the enciti the last few days and part of that meant a good feed of fuel treatment seeing as I kept getting all kinds of emissions fault codes.

So I filled the tank Monday morning, added dipetane to the correct ratio, drove my usual commute and filled the tank again today and done 48.5mpg! Maaaad, I was sure it was snake oil but thats a big difference, generally I get 41-42mpg and my best ever tank was 45, there must actually be something in it. Still cheaper to take a 6+mpg hit than actually buy dipetane though.

Also this morning the car sounded like ****. Usually on cold start it sounds like a bag of spanners at the best of times but today was awful, it was a whining/ groaning kind of like a slipping belt, never heard the car do it before, drove it on anyway and turned up the radio and the noise went away pretty quick and hasn't came back :) don't think it was dipetane related, just annoying how this car won't just stay un-broken for any length of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

So with the year nearly over I was looking on my account again :)

Fuel €5,700
    Parts/Maintenance 2,900

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

YbFocus wrote: »
    So with the year nearly over I was looking on my account again :)

Fuel €5,700
    Parts/Maintenance 2,900

Sometimes it's all about smiles per gallon.

(thank christ my fuel bill is about half that :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

I've been getting the Celica ready for the enciti the last few days and part of that meant a good feed of fuel treatment seeing as I kept getting all kinds of emissions fault codes.

So I filled the tank Monday morning, added dipetane to the correct ratio, drove my usual commute and filled the tank again today and done 48.5mpg! Maaaad, I was sure it was snake oil but thats a big difference, generally I get 41-42mpg and my best ever tank was 45, there must actually be something in it. Still cheaper to take a 6+mpg hit than actually buy dipetane though.

Also this morning the car sounded like ****. Usually on cold start it sounds like a bag of spanners at the best of times but today was awful, it was a whining/ groaning kind of like a slipping belt, never heard the car do it before, drove it on anyway and turned up the radio and the noise went away pretty quick and hasn't came back :) don't think it was dipetane related, just annoying how this car won't just stay un-broken for any length of time.

Enciti haha that one is gonna run and run.
    Where did ya get the petrol? Scooby was making awful noises on startup but was making way better mpg from a particular station. Totally weird...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

This post is absolutely hilarious!!! Just love your attitude :D

This particular tank was from Topaz but i'd fill there fairly often so I don't think i'd relate it to that. I frequently fill at Tesco and Applegreen and never notice any differences between any of them except that Topaz is always the most expensive and Tesco has the nicest forecourts :pac:

Lol cheers DZ, "less stress, more success" and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

This particular tank was from Topaz but i'd fill there fairly often so I don't think i'd relate it to that. I frequently fill at Tesco and Applegreen and never notice any differences between any of them except that Topaz is always the most expensive and Tesco has the nicest forecourts :pac:

Jaysus you should see the Tesco station at Clarehall. Nightmare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

E46 320Ci (12 months)
    Fuel: €3,852.02
    Parts etc.: €3,821.55
    Motor Tax: €1,072

E38 750i (9 months)
    Fuel: €9,377.63 :eek:
    Parts etc.: €1,025.45
    Motor Tax: €1,022

E39 520i (3 months)
    Fuel: €1,004.42
    Parts etc.: €796.55
    Motor Tax: €268

MK4 Golf 1.6 SR (1 month)
    Fuel: €168.01 :D
    Parts etc.: €0.00 :D
    Motor Tax: €0.00 :D

I do find that the less I worry about cars the more I enjoy them. That's why I enjoyed the Primera so much, and the 166.

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I do find that the less I worry about cars the more I enjoy them. That's why I enjoyed the Primera so much, and the 166.

My thoughts exactly. That's what the Celica taught me, if it's gonna go it's gonna go and no amount of pedantic maintenance or mechanical sympathy is going to stop it in 99% of cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

polan wrote: »
    E46 320Ci (12 months)
    Fuel: €3,852.02
    Parts etc.: €3,821.55
    Motor Tax: €1,072

E38 750i (9 months)
    Fuel: €9,377.63 :eek:
    Parts etc.: €1,025.45
    Motor Tax: €1,022

E39 520i (3 months)
    Fuel: €1,004.42
    Parts etc.: €796.55
    Motor Tax: €268

MK4 Golf 1.6 SR (1 month)
    Fuel: €168.01 :D
    Parts etc.: €0.00 :D
    Motor Tax: €0.00 :D

750i fuel 240 euro a week :eek: I'm sure it was a class car and all but Christ that's some money. Were you doing massive mileage in it ?

My thoughts exactly. That's what the Celica taught me, if it's gonna go it's gonna go and no amount of pedantic maintenance or mechanical sympathy is going to stop it in 99% of cases.

True! Though I do regret ragging the Primera so hard the diff exploded :o

It probably was going to go but it would have been nice to get home :pac:

I've seen good mpg from topaz recently, better than maxol. Neither station was the one I associate with the startup noise. Maybe something just working through the system after dipetane.

Never even saw 45mpg when I was driving reasonably sensible cars. 190 if ya want it and 40mpg + if you take it handy. Shur why would subject yourself to the tukka-tukka-choooo.

Shur why would subject yourself to the tukka-tukka-choooo.

Your right there I don't think a steam train would make a very sensible daily anyway :pac:

CIP4 wrote: »
    Your right there I don't think a steam train would make a very sensible daily anyway :pac:

Insert vw emissions meme here.

Sometimes it's all about smiles per gallon.

(thank christ my fuel bill is about half that :D)

Smiles per gallon, 1,000,000+

Head gaskets to date , 1 :o

Got bulbs replaced on Monday during a service...or so I thought. Told him to do both as N/S one went Sunday. O/S one gone today. I'm blaming Buttevant :mad:

Insert vw emissions meme here.

But Vw don't make every Diesel engine and haven't they been caught for fiddling the Petrols to get CO2 down also not sure if that one was proven but it was said.

Tbh straight up I don't see what the issue is with the sound of Diesel engines I think most a grand some even sound well. Are petrols quieter idling at the lights and in most cases more refined yes definitely. But I mean the 1.9tdi vag engine sounds very loud idling and agricultural like, 1.8tdci ford engine is also rattly enough possibly the 1.7 Opel engine which is gone now.

But after that most new ones are grand. 1.6tdi vag is fairly quiet idling Renault 1.5dci isn't too bad the new 1.6 opel engine is probably the most refined diesels I've ever been in seriously sweat engine. Most of the newer 2.0 Diesel engines are fine. I don't think any of them make the variable vane coo sound anymore my golf did as did all the vag of that era but it was nowhere near as loud as some are set up to be.

In saying all that 40mpg in any petrol is very good and even some of the newer ones are managing 45mpg which is meaning less and less people need diesels. I'd definitely move to a petrol next but the issue is most of the kind of cars I'd be interested in are almost non existent in petrols due to low new sales In them and seems the few new petrols that did sell in recent years are generally poverty spec low bhp versions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

20151209_212419.jpg

Tis fairly cold and miserable tonight thank God for creature comforts. .

.Never even saw 45mpg when I was driving reasonably sensible cars. 190 if ya want it and 40mpg + if you take it handy. Shur why would subject yourself to the tukka-tukka-choooo.

Exactly :) I could half my bhp to gain 6-7mpg... nah :pac:

But Vw don't make every Diesel engine and haven't they been caught for fiddling the Petrols to get CO2 down also not sure if that one was proven but it was said.

Tbh straight up I don't see what the issue is with the sound of Diesel engines I think most a grand some even sound well. Are petrols quieter idling at the lights and in most cases more refined yes definitely. But I mean the 1.9tdi vag engine sounds very loud idling and agricultural like, 1.8tdci ford engine is also rattly enough possibly the 1.7 Opel engine which is gone now.

But after that most new ones are grand. 1.6tdi vag is fairly quiet idling Renault 1.5dci isn't too bad the new 1.6 opel engine is probably the most refined diesels I've ever been in seriously sweat engine. Most of the newer 2.0 Diesel engines are fine. I don't think any of them make the variable vane coo sound anymore my golf did as did all the vag of that era but it was nowhere near as loud as some are set up to be.

In saying all that 40mpg in any petrol is very good and even some of the newer ones are managing 45mpg which is meaning less and less people need diesels. I'd definitely move to a petrol next but the issue is most of the kind of cars I'd be interested in are almost non existent in petrols due to low new sales In them and seems the few new petrols that did sell in recent years are generally poverty spec low bhp versions.

I was just too lazy to get the actual vw steam train meme. As you had mentioned one like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

So I was heading northbound on the M7 Limerick ring road a little while ago and as I was approaching J29 I seen hazard lights on the opposite carriageway and what I taught were tail lights, I must be going mad I said to the missus. Then sure enough as I got closer to the junction there was a car facing northbound on the southbound carriageway. Scary stuff, it was very dark and vey wet. I called the Gardai and they already had a report and had "a car on the way". Hopefully everyone was safe afterwards. I think I might have it on my dashcam but not sure on angles. I will check in the morning.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

750i fuel 240 euro a week :eek: I'm sure it was a class car and all but Christ that's some money. Were you doing massive mileage in it ?

At one stage it was over 400 miles a week.

And tis not like I've driven it lightly :pac:

In stop start traffic it was hopeless. 6-8 mpg. I'm serious.

I averaged 13mpg most of the time.

Got bulbs replaced on Monday during a service...or so I thought. Told him to do both as N/S one went Sunday. O/S one gone today. I'm blaming Buttevant :mad:

I must just be lucky as honestly in 3.5 years of owning cars I have had one dip blow in the golf and even at that it was a nightbreaker and one number plate light in the golf I never changed a bulb in the Astra or focus and didn't in the Megane either other than putting in nightbreaker dips and whiter number plate lights. But I've never had a tail light, headlight, indicator brake light or parking light blow which I always thought was a bit weird when you get people replacing various bulbs several times a year. I would have my lights on most of the time too as I do a lot of night early morning driving.

But you've bought like 800 sets of nightbreakers CIP, at one stage you were buying them for sport :)

h3000 wrote: »
    So I was heading northbound on the M7 Limerick ring road a little while ago and as I was approaching J29 I seen hazard lights on the opposite carriageway and what I taught were tail lights, I must be going mad I said to the missus. Then sure enough as I got closer to the junction there was a car facing northbound on the southbound carriageway. Scary stuff, it was very dark and vey wet. I called the Gardai and they already had a report and had "a car on the way". Hopefully everyone was safe afterwards. I think I might have it on my dashcam but not sure on angles. I will check in the morning.
    J29 to j30 is where all the mad stuff happens alright!

But you've bought like 800 sets of nightbreakers CIP, at one stage you were buying them for sport :)

No I actually have bought a set for Astra sold them in it. And bought a set for focus again sold it set for the golf one blew couldn't get a replacement so bought a pair of ring equivalent ones and then bought a set of nightbreaker a for the Megane so 4 sets but only one bulb actually blew :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    You're an engineer too right?

Thought he was mechanical too. Believe it or not i've been wrong before! so it might happen again
    Mechanical/Renewable sir :)

engineer here too lads let me join the group!** :)

**not officially an engineer, feel like one sometimes tho!

@CIP you go mad for the nightbreakers! Do you have them in the bedside table as well!? :D

166man wrote: »
    Mechanical engineer here too lads let me join the group! :)

Wow genuinely did not realise that!