Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

kowtow wrote: »
    Same here, dismal cold despite some sunshine.

All cows quieter than usual and fed up with bales in a mudddy sacrifice paddock. You have me paranoid now - What are the early signs of tetany?

Like my lady yesterday, if you see a cow walking backwards and eating imaginary grass off the farm roadway.... Grab the bottle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭stanflt

Lads had this on general chit chat but folk on here seem way more educated!!

Sent away 4 soil samples
    Sample 1
    Ph 7.2
    N lndex low 2
    P index high 4
    K index low 2

Sample 2
    ph 7.68
    N index low 1
    P index high 4
    K index high 4

Sample 3
    Ph 6.72
    N low 2
    P High 4
    K very low 1

Sample 4
    Ph 6.36
    N very low 1
    P Low 2
    K Low 2

Got recommend a whole lot of 0-7-30 and 27% Can+S
    Advisor was saying a bag of CAN to the acre on ground with clover would do no harm? I thought any N on clover after March would stunt its growth? What ye reckon?

My ground with clover will get up to 10 bags an acre a year- no issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Sick looking ,droopy head turned to one side ,sunk eyes grinding teeth ,and shivering would be the obvious one .be careful with them as it affects the brain and if they have any strength they'll try and do you .cruical to act early with magnesium under skin and call the vet

Just to add to that sometimes they are staring at walls or roof and look a bit out of it and often happens in the parlour.
    Stress is a major factor and makes it worse fast
    So after putting a bottle under the skin needle and syringe will work too whatever is fastest
    Then leave her out in yard or shed with other
    cows.
    Putting her in a crush or isolating her will add more stress and could kill her.
    I have got away without calling vet doing this as they can recover just as quickly as it comes on once it's caught on time and managed right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

interesting programme on rte 1 now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

cash in at the peak

When things go wallop nobody will want a diet feeder!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,399 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Whelan, that Boucher Hayes programme was very good, balanced and educational. Really enjoyed it.

Shot 2020 and then put up the Minister's interview extolling it.
    Executed, without blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Water John wrote: »
    Whelan, that Boucher Hayes programme was very good, balanced and educational. Really enjoyed it.

Shot 2020 and then put up the Minister's interview extolling it.
    Executed, without blood.

Found the segment questioning how all these extra cows where ment to be feed very Intresting some very valid points about wetter winters/climate change...
    Then simply Simon comes in tagging the teagasc line about growing more grass/cows staying out for longer, was at a walk yesterday 180 cows on 56 hectare block, was out of silage, and buying in to keep going....
    Of course the farm was powering ahead to 240 cows within the next few years on existing block, was madness in my view considering current farm position and investment needed to get to that number but their wasn't anyone in the group that questioned it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭degetme

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Found the segment questioning how all these extra cows where ment to be feed very Intresting some very valid points about wetter winters/climate change...
    Then simply Simon comes in tagging the teagasc line about growing more grass/cows staying out for longer, was at a walk yesterday 180 cows on 56 hectare block, was out of silage, and buying in to keep going....
    Of course the farm was powering ahead to 240 cows within the next few years on existing block, was madness in my view considering current farm position and investment needed to get to that number but their wasn't anyone in the group that questioned it

Looking at agriland there and an article on a farmer expanding. Guessing it's the same farm as you mentioned. They have up on the article 13k cashflow. Would you know what this means? Is it 13k in bank acc at this minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Teagasc are pushing extra cows and output because of the dairy research levy put on every litre of milk. Get rid of that levy and see how fast both Teagasc and Simon changes his find. Another example of people getting richer off farmers backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

why didnt you question it?? see another lad down your way... similar age profile to yourself hopes to be milking 400 in 2 yrs up from 180 a year or 2 ago.... having only taken over the farm 18 mths ago... thats madness.. hardly you is it?

I questioned alot of figures put up, standout one was 40,000 euro was ment to cover meal for 180 cows plus 140 youngstock for 2016 with the farm being winter milk aswell with 40 autumn calvers.....
    Not a member of teagasc so was fobbed off, would easily say their was 30,000 thousand plus missing of estimates for expenditure this year, alot of figures where messaged to say the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

There's nothing in particular wrong with buying in feed. In fact at current prices it probably makes a lot more sense than renting ground and chasing your tail around the country with cattle scattered to tell and gone loads of fert and slurry going one way and extra trailers on contractors outfits going the other for little or no gain. What's wrong is chancing it and ending up with very expensive product of dubious quality now. He'd have been far better off to do an accurate assessment last Jul /Aug and make proper provision then. Worst case scenario he has a few extra tonnes in the back of his silage pit after an early spring compared to the mess he's in now.
    We're trying to line up a couple of hundred bales for next winter with the contractor atm. He'll be in a far better position to find a bit on the stem over the season than we will. He could well have a customer happy to pay a bit in kind rather than cash with the way this year is going.

Thankfully not, have no intention of going past 120 here one man operation so don't need the hassle of a few hundred cows

degetme wrote: »
    Looking at agriland there and an article on a farmer expanding. Guessing it's the same farm as you mentioned. They have up on the article 13k cashflow. Would you know what this means? Is it 13k in bank acc at this minute

13k was what was left last year after all farm expenses/drawings/tax/ and bank repayments had been made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

When everyone's offloading cows my farm owner has just bought 50 more and 30 young stock. Can just here the stock agent on the phone 'It's a great deal!'

There's nothing in particular wrong with buying in feed. In fact at current prices it probably makes a lot more sense than renting ground and chasing your tail around the country with cattle scattered to tell and gone loads of fert and slurry going one way and extra trailers on contractors outfits going the other for little or no gain. What's wrong is chancing it and ending up with very expensive product of dubious quality now. He'd have been far better off to do an accurate assessment last Jul /Aug and make proper provision then. Worst case scenario he has a few extra tonnes in the back of his silage pit after an early spring compared to the mess he's in now.
    We're trying to line up a couple of hundred bales for next winter with the contractor atm. He'll be in a far better position to find a bit on the stem over the season than we will. He could well have a customer happy to pay a bit in kind rather than cash with the way this year is going.

Bought all dry cow silage last year of neighbour 300 bales landed in yard for 21 euro, ment I was able to make a heap of top quality bales that have saved us this spring....
    Funny thing is the ground silage is being taken off is right beside and this guy is paying 200 a acre for it, he's losing a fortune but is a contractor with heavy metal disease so is happy out

That is a good recipe Jay, get in handy stuff for the dry period. Save your own good stuff for milk.

13k was what was left last year after all farm expenses/drawings/tax/ and bank repayments had been made

Think i spotted that article too. Go from 13tDM ha to 16, tighten calving and improve ms yields...easy as lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Bought all dry cow silage last year of neighbour 300 bales landed in yard for 21 euro, ment I was able to make a heap of top quality bales that have saved us this spring....
    Funny thing is the ground silage is being taken off is right beside and this guy is paying 200 a acre for it, he's losing a fortune but is a contractor with heavy metal disease so is happy out

Hope he dosnt post here....

Always wary of farm walks. Local one here had €300 per hectare for rented land. But all locals know it was €300 per acre.
    I suppose if it was questioned it would be a typo???

Mehaffey1 wrote: »
    Think i spotted that article too. Go from 13tDM ha to 16, tighten calving and improve ms yields...easy as lol

Reduce meal per cow on top of it all too, felt your man was missing a trick too , in his situation where he was culling cows fairly heavily for fertility....
    I would personally of been doing a 16 week period for the spring herd getting rid of autumn calvers altogether and filling liquid contract with April/may calvers, was only 1200 litre a day contract so 50-60 late calvers would fill it over winter months

40 grand for meal is rubbish.... More like 80 grand I'd say..... How long is this guy farming?

If figures are correct... I have to wonder how long more he'll be farming

Mehaffey1 wrote: »

The question I'd ask is will he constantly grow the 16 t of grass he aims for ???.years like last year yes as long as p k and lime indexes are right but on a poor weather year etc and he only grows 12/13 t that will skew things big time feed and financially wise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Reduce meal per cow on top of it all too, felt your man was missing a trick too , in his situation where he was culling cows fairly heavily for fertility....
    I would personally of been doing a 16 week period for the spring herd getting rid of autumn calvers altogether and filling liquid contract with April/may calvers, was only 1200 litre a day contract so 50-60 late calvers would fill it over winter months

How many autumn was he calving? Calving 31 here to supply on avg just shy of 1600L a day to grt max bonus with spring herd making the balance, minimum supply in any of the 4 months for me is 28k which I hope to be close to for Dec and Jan with Nov and Feb filling rest of winter quota. Lactose could catch him if he was to rely on late calvers or even a good season fertility wise with having less.of them. Also in his scenario having autumn calvers allows him to reduce stocking rate in late summer for spring herd. Either way he'll likely be buying in feed so doing it before its needed is something I'm guessing he'll come to realise

The question I'd ask is will he constantly grow the 16 t of grass he aims for ???.years like last year yes as long as p k and lime indexes are right but on a poor weather year etc and he only grows 12/13 t that will skew things big time feed and financially wise.

Just read article on Agriland..... No mention of yields being achieved by cows.... 800 kgs meal at 4cows/ha is enough to tell me this guy is in dreamland

Admire the guys ambition but what was outlined in the article was pie in the sky stuff to a large extent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

jaymla627 wrote:

Does that include any accrual for super levy I wonder?

From the sounds of this seasons weather so far 16tDM will be very very impressive. Looks like he's set a load of hard achieved primary targets, sometimes its the little victories I say cow health etc.

Milked out wrote: »
    How many autumn was he calving? Calving 31 here to supply on avg just shy of 1600L a day to grt max bonus with spring herd making the balance, minimum supply in any of the 4 months for me is 28k which I hope to be close to for Dec and Jan with Nov and Feb filling rest of winter quota. Lactose could catch him if he was to rely on late calvers or even a good season fertility wise with having less.of them. Also in his scenario having autumn calvers allows him to reduce stocking rate in late summer for spring herd. Either way he'll likely be buying in feed so doing it before its needed is something I'm guessing he'll come to realise

40 I think to supply 1200l a day, if diet is right lactose shouldn't be a issue milked through here this winter and lactose never went below 4.7

kowtow wrote: »
    Does that include any accrual for super levy I wonder?

No idea was ment to include everything, but I doubt outstanding debts/merchant credit was accounted for