Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

First grass tetany this afternoon. Got her in time.
    Feck, what was the weather like with you today, fantastic spring day here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

whelan2 wrote: »
    Feck, what was the weather like with you today, fantastic spring day here

This early for it alright. Not a bad day, but some cold showers earlier this morning. She was bulling coming in this morning, but considering the meal they're on, I got a bit of a land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

First grass tetany this afternoon. Got her in time.

What's your treatment? Lost one last year. Didn't get to her in time. Gave a bottle of cal with 50ml of mg in it iv. Half an hour earlier and I think I might have saved her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

This early for it alright. Not a bad day, but some cold showers earlier this morning. She was bulling coming in this morning, but considering the meal they're on, I got a bit of a land

I've found a few here when bulling may go off the meal for the 2 or 3 feeds from the height of it, no tetany cases thankfully here in a long time touch wood but still u never know with it

What's your treatment? Lost one last year. Didn't get to her in time. Gave a bottle of cal with 50ml of mg in it iv. Half an hour earlier and I think I might have saved her.

Just a bottle under the skin, and a bottle 50:50 cal:mag into the vein.
    It was pot luck I got her, all the cows had wandered home at 2 for silage so I went down early to change the tapes for the evening. Normally wouldn't be down there till 3:30-4.
    Hope it was just an odd case. The rest of the herd is very content showing no signs of lack of mag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Milked out wrote: »
    Do you find improved conception rates in fresh compared to frozen gg in yer own herd? U do diy?

Had 62% conception to 1st service in cows last yr and 71% in heifers.
    No difference Imo from those figs if you ask me. Cows would have got fresh heifers wouldn't have because there done in afternoon/evening when tech is on his way back.
    Target this yr is 70/80 for cows and heifers

Had 62% conception to 1st service in cows last yr and 71% in heifers.
    No difference Imo from those figs if you ask me. Cows would have got fresh heifers wouldn't have because there done in afternoon/evening when tech is on his way back.
    Target this yr is 70/80 for cows and heifers

Good going gg, good targets to have, the only way to reach it is to aim for it and drive on. back when we did Ai course Doreen said 90 was possible with heifers but in the 6 years of diy Ai I've only ever managed it with one group of heifers and they were an autumn group so consistent diet for breeding. Haven't gone above 70 for spring heifers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Just seen in Journal that Keenans are about to be sold. A bit surprising tbh.

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/keenan-s-looking-at-selling-reports-205208

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

cash in at the peak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

At last some proper spring weather. Finished nitrogen on cereals last night. Grass and crops taking off. First cut next week if the weather plays ball. We'll be chasing rain from now on...

Dawggone wrote: »
    At last some proper spring weather. Finished nitrogen on cereals last night. Grass and crops taking off. First cut next week if the weather plays ball. We'll be chasing rain from now on...

I hope some of that weather is coming this way, more rain today, and Friday coming is a washout aswell.
    Got 4 tonnes of Soya hulls and another load of bales delivered yesterday to stretch grass. Patience wearing thin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

I hope some of that weather is coming this way, more rain today, and Friday coming is a washout aswell.
    Got 4 tonnes of Soya hulls and another load of bales delivered yesterday to stretch grass. Patience wearing thin.

My whole crop ran out Monday so I'm on silage straw and I bought in crimp wheat at 165 a tonne. Cows seem responding very well to the crimp. It's 80% wheat 20% maize meal.

blackdog1 wrote: »
    My whole crop ran out Monday so I'm on silage straw and I bought in crimp wheat at 165 a tonne. Cows seem responding very well to the crimp. It's 80% wheat 20% maize meal.

Wheat crimp is a much underestimated feed for dairy cows. Much better than barley crimp. That mix you are feeding is a tank buster. Introduce the wheat gradually...

Give it a fortnight...we are usually that bit ahead of you.

Hope so, there is talk of things very much settling down from next Monday. Fingers crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Wheat crimp is a much underestimated feed for dairy cows. Much better than barley crimp. That mix you are feeding is a tank buster. Introduce the wheat gradually...

Put 3 kg in and dropped whole crop by half to stretch it out till Monday and cows went up nearly 2 litres a cow.now out of whole crop so I'm putting in 4kg a cow might raise it more depending on yield and solids results.don't mind feeding extra as long as it pays. Yesterday was the first day in a week cows were settled outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Jaysus I hate u ,smashing day yesterday .today biteing cold breeze ,hailstones and showers so far and it's only 10 o clock

Hope so, there is talk of things very much settling down from next Monday. Fingers crossed

Hope u didn't read mts forecast so this am ,let's just say no improvement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

mahoney_j wrote: »

Have stopped looking at the forecast. Only annoying myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭orm0nd

ditto.

look at the ground first thing the morning & then at the sky, work from there,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

last few days haven't been as bad as the forecast......TG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

i did, nearly rather if I didn't, talking about may might bring change, its the 6th of april :mad:

Trying to find ground for slurry again. Gonna try and keep cows out till 2morro they will have to come back in Fri by looks of things

Milked out wrote: »
    Trying to find ground for slurry again. Gonna try and keep cows out till 2morro they will have to come back in Fri by looks of things

Absolute pig of a day here ,hailstones ,heavy showers and biteing cold breeze .just threw out 2 wraps and off for cows .talking to vet few minutes ago and lots of cows treated for tetany this am .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

mahoney_j wrote:
    Absolute pig of a day here ,hailstones ,heavy showers and biteing cold breeze .just threw out 2 wraps and off for cows .talking to vet few minutes ago and lots of cows treated for tetany this am .

Same here, dismal cold despite some sunshine.

All cows quieter than usual and fed up with bales in a mudddy sacrifice paddock. You have me paranoid now - What are the early signs of tetany?

kowtow wrote: »
    Same here, dismal cold despite some sunshine.

All cows quieter than usual and fed up with bales in a mudddy sacrifice paddock. You have me paranoid now - What are the early signs of tetany?

Sick looking ,droopy head turned to one side ,sunk eyes grinding teeth ,and shivering would be the obvious one .be careful with them as it affects the brain and if they have any strength they'll try and do you .cruical to act early with magnesium under skin and call the vet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Latest from Greenfields...

http://www.greenfielddairy.ie/files/uploads/4-Apr-16%20week%20ending%20greenfield%20weekly%20notes.pdf

Interestingly, growth rates at present are just about normal from the 2010-2016 average growth rates.

So hold on in there, magic day is coming:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Think the weather is improving, the hailstones aren't all out as big as last week.

Cows here won't eat the rushes, in case they want them worse next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Lads had this on general chit chat but folk on here seem way more educated!!

Sent away 4 soil samples
    Sample 1
    Ph 7.2
    N lndex low 2
    P index high 4
    K index low 2

Sample 2
    ph 7.68
    N index low 1
    P index high 4
    K index high 4

Sample 3
    Ph 6.72
    N low 2
    P High 4
    K very low 1

Sample 4
    Ph 6.36
    N very low 1
    P Low 2
    K Low 2

Got recommend a whole lot of 0-7-30 and 27% Can+S
    Advisor was saying a bag of CAN to the acre on ground with clover would do no harm? I thought any N on clover after March would stunt its growth? What ye reckon?

Sick looking ,droopy head turned to one side ,sunk eyes grinding teeth ,and shivering would be the obvious one .be careful with them as it affects the brain and if they have any strength they'll try and do you .cruical to act early with magnesium under skin and call the vet

... And if there's a mag issue in the herd in the very early stages you'll see the herd acting a bit giddy or cross. For example acting startled if someone comes into the field, or herd bawling ( not from hunger) when they're being driven back to the Parlour. Restless in the herd