Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Dawggone wrote: »
    Slurry quotas to become law in Holland from Jan1 next year. This is to massively reduce the dairy herd by 4-8%.
    Probably will make the Dutch produce more milk per cow...

German dairy farmers Union are backing a return to restrictions/quota.

That just leaves those pesky Irish...says French press. Quoting that Irish dairy farmers have invested €1.5 billion on expansion. Is that correct?

With a fifty percent expansion in milk output slated nationally Id say it's understated. The cows alone assuming no increase in av yield will run almost half that before any bit of roadway is laid or a metre of concrete poured. When you sat down and did the figures the €180 million glanbia spent on belview was only "walking around money" compared to the on farm investment needed to put the stock in place to supply it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

keep going wrote: »
    Are deep and greengrass gone too

Gg is too busy crossing the shannon and he's on Twitter mostly I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Anyone with cows out today.
    In here for the last 24 hrs and in today and tonight aswell. A lot of rain last night and still horsing down today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭arctic8dave

In here for the last 24 hrs and in today and tonight aswell. A lot of rain last night and still horsing down today.

Yeah out last night& out today rain here during the night but little damage done. A lotmore damage done yesterday morning even though friday night was dry friday itself was a bitch of a day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Gg is too busy crossing the shannon and he's on Twitter mostly I'd say.

Ah we are jilted for something prettier no doubt.pity I miss his youthfull enthusiasm, that auld love ill wear off after a while and he ll be back to us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,789 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

out today, still in at night.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

If you count what's invested on farm and in processing probably more. Even back as far as 07 farmers were using the farm improvement scheme to add facilities and "future proof". The abolition of quotas was announced as far back as 2006 and dairy farmers have been moving around the chess pieces since, breeding and facilities. It was well flagged that Ireland were targeting an increase of 50% by 2020.

Catherine Lascurettes of the IFA gave the report of the Irish situation.

The Dutch and the French are now saying that if you increase the herd by 50% you also increase environmental pollution by 50%...
    Holland, France and Germany are saying that the 50% increase is at the expense of all EU dairy farmers and if Ireland isn't willing to cut supply other solutions will have to be found.

The sooner a government is formed the better. Ireland may need a strong Ag minister...

Don't shoot the messenger! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Cows are not coming back in here full time anymore, drys are all on the home yard now. I lock the drys in the cubicles during and after milking and stand off the milkers on the feed passage for afew hours. The ground is saturated but still firm mostly, I'm just avoiding letting the cows cross the same patch too often, had to leave them across a week of regrowth this morning to get into a dry paddock, but worthwhile to avoid damage. Anyone feeding soyahulls at the feed passage to cows? Will they be palatable enough or will afew cows eat the lot? Only 5 full rows in the parlour so I could give feed there manually either before they go out to grass at 11am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

The Dutch and the French are now saying that if you increase the herd by 50% you also increase environmental pollution by 50%...
    Holland, France and Germany are saying that the 50% increase is at the expense of all EU dairy farmers and if Ireland isn't willing to cut supply other solutions will have to be found.

The sooner a government is formed the better. Ireland may need a strong Ag minister...

Why is rubbish prices for milk such a problem when they seem to ignore rubbish prices in all the other sectors. Is the EU manipulation going to feck it up for drystock farmers again
    Will we return to the scenario where one sector will dominate land purchasing/renting.......even our local glanbia had no interest in selling sheep rations due to the time spent licking up to Dairy farmers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

The Dutch are gas men altogether. Perhaps they might want to have a look at the phosphate levels in their own soils first before giving out about pollution here:rolleyes:. And they increased production by more than us last year.

As for our increase coming at the expense of their farmers, perhaps they can find other ways of subsidising their farmers like the high feed in tariffs for energy production like the Germans are currently using.

It's the world market, Dawg, they might be better served looking at the high cost production they currently espouse rather than castigating the low cost producer putting pressure on their systems.

Rant over/.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

rangler1 wrote: »
    Why is rubbish prices for milk such a problem when they seem to ignore rubbish prices in all the other sectors. Is the EU manipulation going to feck it up for drystock farmers again
    Will we return to the scenario where one sector will dominate land purchasing/renting.......even our local glanbia had no interest in selling sheep rations due to the time spent licking up to Dairy farmers

I'm struggling to make sense of that post. Ok, when milk price is on the floor there is a lot of noise about it, mainly due to French dairy farmer antics but I fail to see how EU manipulation on dairy will effect dry stock. I feel it's incumbent on the EU to help sort milk price as the Russian embargo is one of the causes of the present problem. There's a whiff of "dog in the manger" around your second paragraph

rangler1 wrote: »

The squeaky wheel gets the grease Rangler...

'Cos I'm worth it... :)

The Dutch are gas men altogether. Perhaps they might want to have a look at the phosphate levels in their own soils first before giving out about pollution here:rolleyes:. And they increased production by more than us last year.

As for our increase coming at the expense of their farmers, perhaps they can find other ways of subsidising their farmers like the high feed in tariffs for energy production like the Germans are currently using.

It's the world market, Dawg, they might be better served looking at the high cost production they currently espouse rather than castigating the low cost producer putting pressure on their systems.

Rant over/.

You're firing live rounds there Sheriff...

This fiasco is a good example of beggar thy neighbor.

Three things that spook shyte outa me;
    1. A major food scare.
    2. Politicians.

And to a lesser extent
    3. The weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

The squeaky wheel gets the grease Rangler...

'Cos I'm worth it... :)

Not again.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

keep going wrote: »
    Ah we are jilted for something prettier no doubt.pity I miss his youthfull enthusiasm, that auld love ill wear off after a while and he ll be back to us

I'm still pottering around KP ;)
    A young Galway women has me caught by the toe ;)

Mother and father had the flu for the last 2 wks so was on my own for all that.
    Milking 20 extra cows this yr over last. Supplied more in march thsn what we did in peak month last yr and won't be much better off. But we're not going backwards which is what ye want

2nd round started on 28th. Feeding hard. 4 meal 2 hulls and 4 maize. Hopefully that won't have to continue for too much longer. Yielding well 25l 3.57p 4.7 bf, and getting 3/4 bulling most days.

We're in much better position than 09 and still planning on milking more again next yr.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Not again.:rolleyes:

Lmao!

I'm still pottering around KP ;)
    A young Galway women has me caught by the toe ;)

Mother and father had the flu for the last 2 wks so was on my own for all that.
    Milking 20 extra cows this yr over last. Supplied more in march thsn what we did in peak month last yr and won't be much better off. But we're not going backwards which is what ye want

2nd round started on 28th. Feeding hard. 4 meal 2 hulls and 4 maize. Hopefully that won't have to continue for too much longer. Yielding well 25l 3.57p 4.7 bf, and getting 3/4 bulling most days.

We're in much better position than 09 and still planning on milking more again next yr.

Which toe Gg??

The little one ;)
    It's the sorest 😂

The little one ;)
    It's the sorest 😂

Your parents will feel much better in the knowledge that you're only innocently playing "this little piggy"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

So have you lost your heart to a Galway girl? ☺

Surely the European countries were more developed and had larger herds already before quotas came in compared to Ireland. We're only catching up with where they were in 1984.

Muckit wrote: »
    So have you lost your heart to a Galway girl? ☺

Not you as well.........The bloody song gets played by the lads when ever I walk into the local

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Jeez Muckit.

Chill.
    Nothing is EVER as bad as it seems.

Spring will come and all will be dandy when the sun shines...as always. :)

A few friends have me christened 'moaney hole!!' :D

You are right. I am predicting a roaster of a summer though!! ;)

Surely the European countries were more developed and had larger herds already before quotas came in compared to Ireland. We're only catching up with where they were in 1984.

I don't think the French had come anywhere near to full capacity.
    France is a large country with lots of fertile land, and if it produced 50% extra milk...that would be a lot of milk!
    I think it's more a mindset of why produce more milk to make the same money.

The last thing I want is quota coming back. I've increased production by 180%...imagine the superlevy fine!

Good luck greengrass.
    Welcome back.

I'll soon be milking cows in Galway also.

5 yr plan

Expansion the traditional way...marry it!

France is a large country with lots of fertile land, and if it produced 50% extra milk...that would be a lot of milk!

The last thing I want is quota coming back. I've increased production by 180%...imagine the superlevy fine!

Quotas didn't do me any good.
    I'll be paying back the superlevy fine for 2015 this year and next year as well.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

but if it comes in will it revert back to original quota or will 2015 be the base?. If 2015 was based I don't think a lot of people will be complaining.

Quotas didn't do me any good.
    I'll be paying back the superlevy fine for 2015 this year and next year as well.:(

Quotas did well by me.
    Cashed in on an 'asset' that I never earned. Lovely.

Edit. Got paid to get out of cows in '83, got paid to get back into cows in '88, and cashed the 'asset' in the '00s. How bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I'll soon be milking cows in Galway also.

5 yr plan

I know the feeling.

Once you start with these farm roadways it's difficult to stop.