Dawggone wrote: » Slurry quotas to become law in Holland from Jan1 next year. This is to massively reduce the dairy herd by 4-8%. Probably will make the Dutch produce more milk per cow... German dairy farmers Union are backing a return to restrictions/quota. That just leaves those pesky Irish...says French press. Quoting that Irish dairy farmers have invested €1.5 billion on expansion. Is that correct?
keep going wrote: » Are deep and greengrass gone too
RightTurnClyde wrote: » Anyone with cows out today. In here for the last 24 hrs and in today and tonight aswell. A lot of rain last night and still horsing down today.
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » Gg is too busy crossing the shannon and he's on Twitter mostly I'd say.
Brown Podzol wrote: » If you count what's invested on farm and in processing probably more. Even back as far as 07 farmers were using the farm improvement scheme to add facilities and "future proof". The abolition of quotas was announced as far back as 2006 and dairy farmers have been moving around the chess pieces since, breeding and facilities. It was well flagged that Ireland were targeting an increase of 50% by 2020.
Dawggone wrote: » Catherine Lascurettes of the IFA gave the report of the Irish situation. The Dutch and the French are now saying that if you increase the herd by 50% you also increase environmental pollution by 50%... Holland, France and Germany are saying that the 50% increase is at the expense of all EU dairy farmers and if Ireland isn't willing to cut supply other solutions will have to be found. The sooner a government is formed the better. Ireland may need a strong Ag minister... Don't shoot the messenger!
rangler1 wrote: » Why is rubbish prices for milk such a problem when they seem to ignore rubbish prices in all the other sectors. Is the EU manipulation going to feck it up for drystock farmers again Will we return to the scenario where one sector will dominate land purchasing/renting.......even our local glanbia had no interest in selling sheep rations due to the time spent licking up to Dairy farmers
Buford T. Justice V wrote: » The Dutch are gas men altogether. Perhaps they might want to have a look at the phosphate levels in their own soils first before giving out about pollution here:rolleyes:. And they increased production by more than us last year. As for our increase coming at the expense of their farmers, perhaps they can find other ways of subsidising their farmers like the high feed in tariffs for energy production like the Germans are currently using. It's the world market, Dawg, they might be better served looking at the high cost production they currently espouse rather than castigating the low cost producer putting pressure on their systems. Rant over/.
Dawggone wrote: » The squeaky wheel gets the grease Rangler... 'Cos I'm worth it...
keep going wrote: » Ah we are jilted for something prettier no doubt.pity I miss his youthfull enthusiasm, that auld love ill wear off after a while and he ll be back to us
pedigree 6 wrote: » Not again.:rolleyes:
Greengrass1 wrote: » I'm still pottering around KP A young Galway women has me caught by the toe Mother and father had the flu for the last 2 wks so was on my own for all that. Milking 20 extra cows this yr over last. Supplied more in march thsn what we did in peak month last yr and won't be much better off. But we're not going backwards which is what ye want 2nd round started on 28th. Feeding hard. 4 meal 2 hulls and 4 maize. Hopefully that won't have to continue for too much longer. Yielding well 25l 3.57p 4.7 bf, and getting 3/4 bulling most days. We're in much better position than 09 and still planning on milking more again next yr.
Dawggone wrote: » Which toe Gg??
Greengrass1 wrote: » The little one It's the sorest 😂
Muckit wrote: » So have you lost your heart to a Galway girl? ☺
Dawggone wrote: » Jeez Muckit. Chill. Nothing is EVER as bad as it seems. Spring will come and all will be dandy when the sun shines...as always.
pedigree 6 wrote: » Surely the European countries were more developed and had larger herds already before quotas came in compared to Ireland. We're only catching up with where they were in 1984.
Greengrass1 wrote: » I'll soon be milking cows in Galway also. 5 yr plan
Dawggone wrote: » I don't think the French had come anywhere near to full capacity. France is a large country with lots of fertile land, and if it produced 50% extra milk...that would be a lot of milk! I think it's more a mindset of why produce more milk to make the same money. The last thing I want is quota coming back. I've increased production by 180%...imagine the superlevy fine!
pedigree 6 wrote: » Quotas didn't do me any good. I'll be paying back the superlevy fine for 2015 this year and next year as well.:(
Greengrass1 wrote: I'll soon be milking cows in Galway also.
Greengrass1 wrote: 5 yr plan