Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Danny Ward - Is this right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

It's assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

Spotted this on the oul news feed this evening. Apparantly it took place in Dún Laoghaire Garda station?

Loved the 'hard man' act which left him on the floor... Dope!

Do you think it's right?

https://www.facebook.com/adriankandjeremyd/videos/vb.454739867973243/787027431411150/?type=2&theater

He's a paedophile and an obvious danger to children, but I don't think anyone should be bullied and assaulted like that. He's a disgusting pervert and they're brain-dead thugs. No-ones a winner, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Ward was convicted of raping a child wasn't he? He deserves everything he gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,948 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Those phone in shows are vile. Nothing short of the trash that be on jerry springer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

eviltwin wrote: »

We don't live in country where random skangers get to decide what people deserve and to dole out beatings on a whim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

We don't live in country where random skangers get to decide what people deserve and to dole out beatings on a whim.

No, we live in a country where convicted child rapists are set free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Don't get me wrong, I don't condone this and I wouldn't support vigilantes but I don't have any sympathy for the bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mightydrumming

eviltwin wrote: »

But why should he get the brunt of it? There were 479 rape cases in Ireland in 2010 alone. I can't find a number of child rape cases but I'm sure there are more than a few.

I'm not sticking up for him in any way, shape or form but I don't see the fairness in singling one person out?

First dig was a cracker in fairness. I'd say the bloke is raging he couldn't edit the slip out of his video. A funny sound effect would've made it better. All in all, I give it a good 7/10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

That slip lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Punching somebody and recording it whilst being in a Garda station. Ireland's dumbest criminals right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I bet the same hero is already or will be some day beating his own child just because... There are people who enjoy beating others, some deck the first person they meet and others like to pretend there is actually some reason behind it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Gimmie a few minutes to talk to the other mods

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Mod

OK, gonna open it up.

Please keep the charter in mind when posting.

Report any posts you feel breach the charter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Unfortunately it has been my experience that we do. We shouldn't. But the reality is a bit different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Howyanow50

2 scumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Alright I'll say it. Where the flip were the guards in all of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taco Chips

The Guards have your man in custody. Who the hell does that other knacker think he is to follow him into the station and assault him like that? One is a paedo, the other is a mindless thug. Society is the loser here and no one to be admired. What if that video was used as part of a clemency appeal for Ward?

syklops wrote: »
    Alright I'll say it. Where the flip were the guards in all of this?

They're the ones filming it.

One is a paedophile scumbag. The other is a violent scumbag. Both scumbags, no matter how you cut it.

Also - you have to wonder about how stupid these people are -

1: You assault someone in a Garda Station
    2: You record said assault, with face in full view, and put said video up online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Firstly, there's nothing big about assaulting somebody who clearly won't fight back. I don't care if it's Danny Ward or Hitler on the receiving end of the punch. It's cowardice. End of.

Secondly, this is absolutely not about justice, or taking the law into your own hands. It's a knacker acting in the knowledge that a) there's a camera on him and b) the subsequent footage will catapult him to 'legendary' status in his community and Facebook. That's what it is, and I'm cringing at the thought of how much praise he's most likely received since this footage has emerged.

In a nutshell, if camera phones and Facebook didn't exist then neither would this incident. Never in a million f*cking years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

I'm not defending Danny Ward, but we should probably remember the other character also appears to be in custody in a Garda Station.

I presume he wasn't there to have his passport form stamped.

A certain degree of social stigma is part of the criminal process, but I'd draw the line at assault and battery.

Vigilante justice is the polar opposite of law and order. We have a well trained police force in this country and a regulated justice system. I don't see a role for criminals in that system, they're surplus to requirements in every way. That includes Danny Ward, and Truck Turner there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

The guy punching is obviously stupid but there's no sympathy from me for the paedophile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,819 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

One is a paedophile scumbag. The other is a violent scumbag. Both scumbags, no matter how you cut it.

yeah but one scumbag is way worse than the other , no matter how you cut it - raping a child , lowest of the lows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

conorh91 wrote: »
    I'm not defending Danny Ward, but we should probably remember the other character also appears to be in custody in a Garda Station.

I presume he wasn't there to have his passport form stamped.

A certain degree of social stigma is part of the criminal process, but I'd draw the line at assault and battery.

Vigilante justice is the polar opposite of law and order. We have a well trained police force in this country and a regulated justice system. I don't see a role for criminals in that system, they're surplus to requirements in every way. That includes Danny Ward, and Truck Turner there too.

I have a 6 yr old daughter. If I met your man and knew he raped a child, there's not a Garda in the country would stop me giving him a good boot in the teeth. Fair play to that chap. I hope if he's prosecuted that the judge goes easy on him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Can't find anything online about what this chap Ward did, or how long he served (appreciate that there is a good reason for that) but it kinda makes it hard to have an opinion on the whole thing, or at least an informed one.

I would have thought in this day and age courts could call for these people to be electronically tagged for the rest of their life. I know that wouldn't guarantee that they would not commit a similar crime but at least convicting them and giving them a longer sentence would be a mere formality if evidence of their whereabouts at the time could so easily be verified.

As for these vigilantes. They are almost always scumbags themselves just trying to get a little attention for themselves.

Omackeral wrote: »
    They're the ones filming it.

Meanwhile Paudge eats his wagon wheel.

thebaz wrote: »
    yeah but one scumbag is way worse than the other , no matter how you cut it - raping a child , lowest of the lows

Which one is more likely to violently kick the sh1t out of you or me while we are wandering down the sea front in Dun Laoighre? Both should be behind bars for a long time.

pablo128 wrote: »
    I have a 6 yr old daughter. If I met your man and knew he raped a child, there's not a Garda in the country would stop me giving him a good boot in the teeth. Fair play to that chap. I hope if he's prosecuted that the judge goes easy on him.
    The same man might easily be the subject of an AH thread next week for being given a lenient sentence for some other offence with a stack of convictions behind him.

Someone will inevitably say "I can't believe you can go to prison for importing garlic and this lad gets off… wha…."

Not being a child abuser doesn't turn a garden variety criminal into the hero.
    Not being a common thug or thief doesn't turn a tax evader into the hero.

etc etc etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

The same man might easily be the subject of an AH thread next week for being given a lenient sentence for some other offence with a stack of convictions behind him.

Someone will inevitably say "I can't believe you can go to prison for importing garlic and this lad gets off… wha…."

Not being a child abuser doesn't turn a garden variety criminal into the hero.
    Not being a common thug or thief doesn't turn a tax evader into the hero.

etc etc etc etc

I'm not a garden variety criminal, common thug or thief, nor do I regard myself as a hero. Yet I would do the same or more as that chap did.

There are times when you have to make a stand, if for nothing else to dissuade others from doing the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

There are times when you have to make a stand, if for nothing else to dissuade others from doing the same thing.

If fear of prison doesn't dissuade someone from raping a child, the thought they might get a few slaps is hardly going to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

I'm not a garden variety criminal, common thug or thief, nor do I regard myself as a hero. Yet I would do the same or more as that chap did.

If the justice system worked, then we wouldn't need people to take matters into their own hands. Rape a child, die in jail. Thats how it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭tastyt

See the problem here is the Scumbag that's hitting him. That dope is probably in the station for robbing some old persons house or for assault ( quite likely watching this video )

That ward prick is scum of the earth and deserved a few digs at least. It's just I'd prefer if it was a couple of decent cops dishing it out instead of this scrote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

If Adrian Kennedy and Jeremy Dixon gave a ****e about the poor little girl that was raped then they wouldn't be asking everyone who comments a connection on the facebook link to ring them. This form of social media justice is the lowest of the low imo. The Ward chap doesn't look to be playing with a full deck anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I don't approve of vigilantism, BUT, it's an absolute inevitability when the courts don't do their job.

The blood of anyone who is injured in a vigilante attack like this ultimately rests on the hands of whatever judge allowed them to be out in the streets when anyone with any shred of decency knows that they deserve to be serving more time than they do. Sentencing in Ireland is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Howyanow50

I sort of feel sorry for that Danny Ward fella, chances are he was probably abused as child himself like so many cases.

newmug wrote: »
    If the justice system worked, then we wouldn't need people to take matters into their own hands. Rape a child, die in jail. Thats how it should be.
    The very crux of your opinion flies in the face of the rule of law.

It's like saying "we can have elections so long as my chosen candidate wins"

In this case, who gets to decide if the justice system works? Vigilantes? No thanks.

The sentencing regime in Ireland is imperfect. Humans implementing any system will give rise to imperfect and inconsistent outcomes, which can hopefully be minimised.
    At the same time, criminology studies elsewhere have suggested that the gap between public attitudes to sentencing and judicial attitudes is more narrow than is suggested by sensational media headlines of extreme cases, or inaccurately-reported trials (which is very common).

Sentencing should be constantly reviewed through legislative amendments, sentencing guidelines, and practice and procedural changes in the office of the DPP. But it isn't up to you, or that guy in the video, to take it upon yourselves to correct what you see as the shortcomings of the justice system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The sentencing regime in Ireland is imperfect,

"Imperfect"? This has to be a joke, right? That's like describing a 12.0 earthquake as "a bit of a tremor". The sentencing regime in Ireland is completely f*cked.
    but criminology studies elsewhere have suggested that the gap between public attitudes to sentencing and judicial attitudes is more similar than is suggested by sensational media headlines of extreme cases, or badly explained cases.

Meaning?
    Sentencing should be constantly reviewed through legislative amendments, sentencing guidelines, and practice and procedural changes in the office of the DPP.

no, we need mandatory minimum sentencing for violent crimes, steadily increment img with each previous conviction in the same vein of offenses.
    But it isn't up to you, or that guy in the video, to take it upon yourselves to correct what you see as the shortcomings of the justice system.

It is if you feel your child's safety is in danger because our justice system fails to permanently eliminate threats from known scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I don't approve of vigilantism, BUT, it's an absolute inevitability when the courts don't do their job.

The blood of anyone who is injured in a vigilante attack like this ultimately rests on the hands of whatever judge allowed them to be out in the streets when anyone with any shred of decency knows that they deserve to be serving more time than they do. Sentencing in Ireland is a joke.

Yes. I think these situations are going to increase over the next few years with shoddy sentencing and social media. Then there is the likes of these Kennedy and Dixon fellows who know that reports on the likes of Ward and Murphy are gold for ratings.

Once Ward either dies or leaves the country, there will be a new bogeyman.

"Imperfect"? This has to be a joke, right? That's like describing a 12.0 earthquake as "a bit of a tremor". The sentencing regime in Ireland is completely f*cked.
    Based on a selective sample of sensational newspaper reports, right?

I can think of sentences I thought were too lenient or too harsh. We all can. But don't exaggerate based on, I presume, newspaper headlines that jumped out at you.
    Meaning?
    Meaning, obviously, that newspaper reports of sentencing only highlight the apparently egregious departures from public opinion, and, more often than not, will be a badly incomplete analysis of a trial.

For example, most people think rape sentencing is too lenient, even though 70% of sentences are for a minimum of about a decade. The shorter sentences tend to be in cases where the individual admitted guilt at an early stage, so as to cause minimal further damage and stress to victims.
    no, we need mandatory minimum sentencing for violent crimes, steadily increment img with each previous conviction in the same vein of offenses.
    Mandatory sentencing is a truly terrible idea in most cases. It encourages accused persons to plead Not Guilty, creating a greater burden on the DPP and AGS. It is also offensive to the Separation of Powers, and risks polluting the administration of justice with mass populism. It can also give rise to blatant injustices since all context goes out the window, and there's very weak data to support the application of MMSs.
    It is if you feel your child's safety is in danger because our justice system fails to permanently eliminate threats from known scumbags.
    No. No individual has the right to singlehandedly 'fix' what he thinks is wrong with criminal sentencing and the rule of law. I don't care how many children he has. Having children does not give anyone that right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Howyanow50 wrote: »
    I sort of feel sorry for that Danny Ward fella, chances are he was probably abused as child himself like so many cases.

On your own there pal. A child rapist does not deserve any sympathy or excuses made for him. He's absolute filth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,264 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

As much as I'll not lose any sleep for the guy getting a slap or two, the increasing amount of people who would love to see us live in a world of vigilantes is worrying.

You either believe in the rule of law or you don't. Individuals cannot take the law into their own hands. No proper society will ever function like that.

I would also guess that the guy doing the slapping is not exactly an example of who we should all aspire to be. Just because he is slapping a convicted paedo doesn't in any way make him a hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Why the **** is he more or less 'outside "? That he can get the ****e kicked out of him if the storys are true?
    You do know that all of us are going to have to pay compensation because the cops did not do segregate him, it looks bad on whoever let it happen. Imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,264 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

deco nate wrote: »
    Why the **** is he more or less 'outside "? That he can get the ****e kicked out of him if the storys are true?
    You do know that all of us are going to have to pay compensation because the cops did not do segregate him, it looks bad on whoever let it happen. Imo

Only if the judge decides to give him compo.
    Judge could refuse on the grounds that if he hadn't have commited his crime then he wouldn't have attracted the slap surely?

Although I am no fan of vigilantes, I also don't agree with this 'compo for everyone' culture. A judge could take the stand and say "if you weren't a paedo, you wouldn't get hit".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

NIMAN wrote: »
    Only if the judge decides to give him compo.
    Judge could refuse on the grounds that if he hadn't have commited his crime then he wouldn't have attracted the slap surely?

Although I am no fan of vigilantes, I also don't agree with this 'compo for everyone' culture. A judge could take the stand and say "if you weren't a paedo, you wouldn't get hit".

Oh I agree, how ever. if this happened in a police ststation then it brings up way too many problems. Mostly by the police by letting it happen, however I don't know were this video was made. But it doesn't look good

(by law he has to be protected, in that video it looks like they didn't do there job) that's why I said we are gonna pay for a hard man Muppets actions. And yes he was being a big I am.
    Well sure he is just as much a scum bag, I have had dealings with scum wanting
    Money's but some forget they are just as bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

I know nothing of the Danny Ward situation, but he looks like there's a few screws loose in the head. Assume he's served his time? Don't condone the assault either way but it's certainly worse if the guy has served what he was sentenced. It's not his fault if you think it's too lenient, take that up with the courts, campaign for it.

I doubt there's anyone on this site that doesn't think what Ward did was disgusting, but society can't function if vigilantism is tolerated. The guy who hit him was a scumbag. Do I think he had the child in mind when he attacked him? No he was angry so he hit him. This kind of behaviour shouldn't be tolerated. Is the child going to feel any better about this? Like feck she is, the damage has been done to her and she needs to get psychological help, possibly for the rest of her life. She doesn't need people to beat up the guy that raped her. Fairly simple when you think about it.

How about instead of beating up that guy, that scumbag in the video decided to fundraise for the rape crisis centre? That to me would be much more heroic, but I suppose some of you bloodthirsty baboons would prefer to see more people get hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

our hero tries to land a kick at a stationary target and falls over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

No it is not right, just because the person he attacked is a paedophile does not make his assault justified.

He should be prosecuted for assault and dealt with as the court determines. It amazes me at times how casually people can defend assault, do you really think the ward chap is the first person he has attacked in that way, if he can do that then this guy is the same character who will hop on some innocent person as they go about their business. You have two criminals on that video not just one.

In my opinion both of these individuals have the capacity to destroy ordinary decent peoples lives and my preference would be to see both removed from society for as long as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

I dont have sympathy for the man, messing with kids is one thing I'll never have sympathy for, but I'm surprised this happened in a Garda Station of all places.

Where were the Gardai, why was he left in a room with 2 strangers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Howyanow50 wrote: »

Not in every case. There are psychotic, narcissistic individuals out there who just have sick minds.