Instagram have banned #curvy hastag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Candie wrote: »
    Go ahead and be as worried as you want. It does attract more vitriol than any other unhealthy behaviour, including excessive drinking which has a much greater impact on others.

It's the absolutely vile, bullying and spiteful terminology that I object to. There's no excuse of that kind of pure bitter nastiness. None.

Who is bullying ? the person trolling is gone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

some people absolutely should be mocked

if you have eaten yourself into a state where you need a motorised scooter to carry you around the supermarket to load more calorie rich/nutrient poor processed ****e into your gargantuan shopping trolley.. then you can just go to hell. these people display the maturity and self awareness of toddlers and they are growing in number. it's more than just depressing, it's pathetic.

Having to be lifted out of a house on a bed and transported to a hospital on the back of a truck does not raise any eyebrows anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Having to be lifted out of a house on a bed and transported to a hospital on the back of a truck does not raise any eyebrows anymore.
    Sure it doesn't.

Ffs.

Sure it doesn't.

Ffs.

The spectacle raises eyebrows not the reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

strelok wrote: »
    some people absolutely should be mocked

if you have eaten yourself into a state where you need a motorised scooter to carry you around the supermarket to load more calorie rich/nutrient poor processed ****e into your gargantuan shopping trolley.. then you can just go to hell. these people display the maturity and self awareness of toddlers and they are growing in number. it's more than just depressing, it's pathetic.

So is it all overweight people or just those who have become disabled as a result that deserve to be mocked?

RWCNT wrote: »
    So is it all overweight people or just those who have become disabled as a result that deser

Obese.

So is it all overweight people or just those who have become disabled as a result that deser

mainly just the ones who have eaten themselves into immobility. although a little slice of scorn is always set aside for anybody who posts under the 'effyourhealthstandards' hashtag on instagram and tumblr

just a little slice though, portion control is important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

strelok wrote: »
    mainly just the ones who have eaten themselves into immobility. although a little slice of scorn is always set aside for anybody who posts under the 'effyourhealthstandards' hashtag on instagram and tumblr

just a little slice though, portion control is important.

Apologies for the typo but you got what I was saying. I wholeheartedly agree with your idea of controlling the amount of scorn you have for people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭nokia69

the fatter people get, and we will continue to pile on the pounds, the more outraged and annoyed they will get with anyone who tells the truth about their condition

Apologies for the typo but you got what I was saying. I wholeheartedly agree with your idea of controlling the amount of scorn you have for people.

i don't want to spread myself too thin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Candie wrote: »
    Go ahead and be as worried as you want. It does attract more vitriol than any other unhealthy behaviour, including excessive drinking which has a much greater impact on others.

It's the absolutely vile, bullying and spiteful terminology that I object to. There's no excuse of that kind of pure bitter nastiness. None.

I'm not sure why people are equating curvy to obese. Two completely different body shapes. I agree that neither deserve scorn. Obesity is worrying and I don't buy the hereditary cop out.

Curvy on the other hand isn't unhealthy and more aligned to a natural body shape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭nokia69

Aidric wrote: »
    I'm not sure why people are equating curvy to obese. Two completely different body shapes. I agree that neither deserve scorn. Obesity is worrying and I don't buy the hereditary cop out.

Curvy on the other hand isn't unhealthy and more aligned to a natural body shape.

because almost every person who uses the word curvy is actually fat and in many cases obese

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

If #Curvy referred to Women like Tara here - https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/2c/0a/29/2c0a2946d33a26d61198612bb397f0d8.jpg

Then fair enough, I'd see an issue with it, but as allready said it's linking to extremely obese and unhealthy people, it's not responsible to be ultra PC and say this is healthy and normal - just like the girl in the left of the pic, her body shape is not promoted --- well actually it is but in a different way .... hmmmmm
    Best example on the thread was saying it's like calling an alcoholic "fun" - spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭Paarthurnax

What about "voluptuous"? I wonder has that the same connotations as curvy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Muckracker

What about "voluptuous"? I wonder has that the same connotations as curvy

Just a posh way of saying 'fat as ****' really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Muckracker wrote: »
    Just a posh way of saying 'fat as ****' really.

Wow you'd be no use as a wingman ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

jungleman wrote: »
    http://www.thejournal.ie/instagram-ban-curvy-2221574-Jul2015/

What think ye? Is it a positive step in tackling obesity? Or is it a way of shaming women who want to celebrate their natural curves?

Personally, I can't stand anyone who would take a picture of themselves, upload it to social media, and use #curvy to describe it. "here's a photo of myself, I don't think I'm fat but I don't think I'm thin, so look at this picture and please love me".

I wouldn't mind but in nearly all of the related pictures to the article, the women look to be borderline obese. It's not even "curvy", it's just unhealthy. Jaysus wept.
    Did you even read the article you posted? It's absolutely nothing to do with obesity, it's to do with instagrams ban on nudity.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,295 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

the_monkey wrote: »
    just like the girl in the left of the pic, her body shape is not promoted --- well actually it is but in a different way ....

The original wonderbra model?

Damn, what happened her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭magentis

From reading this thread i see that being a gym bunny is a prerequisite to join the master race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,595 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

magentis wrote: »
    From reading this thread i see that being a gym bunny is a prerequisite to join the master race.

that and the blue eyes and blonde hair

What master race ? You mean being none Obese ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

This thread seems to be either fat shaming or embrace your body.

Both don't work and are counter productive.

when did just being a normal sized human = gym bunny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

Cienciano wrote: »
    Did you even read the article you posted? It's absolutely nothing to do with obesity, it's to do with instagrams ban on nudity.

No, I completely forgot to read the article I created a thread about. Duh!! Stupid me!!

My OP was about the response to the ban, the reaction to it. And whether banning #curvy is right or wrong in terms of body health. The reaction to the ban was a bunch of "curvy" women hastagging #curvee instead. They seemed to think the #curvy ban was aimed at fat people.

Thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Lukker- wrote: »
    This thread seems to be either fat shaming or embrace your body.

Both don't work and are counter productive.

The easiest thing we could do it just not be a dick to other people.

If someone is obese to the point of disability, you can be damn sure there's a serious mental illness behind it.

If someone is underweight to the point of downy hair appearing on their bodies and periods stopping, they're also mentally ill.

Nobody WANTS to be obese or severely underweight. Nobody sets out to become either of the two extremes, at least not those in a healthy frame of mind.

Extremes in weight on either end are bad.

However, it doesn't actually affect the posters here who are giving out about it.

Yes, it costs the taxpayer money but so does bloody everything!
    "oh, but their health..." You don't care about their health, you just don't like to look at them.

Just live and let live. If it's not affecting you personally, leave people to it.

Except when people feed their children to obesity. That's abuse because those kids can't choose and cook their own meals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

The amount of f*cks I give is less than one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Oryx wrote: »
    Nonsense. Its the lie that obese is normal, ok, and healthy. Being rail thin attracts venom too, along with constant criticism along the lines of 'would you not eat something?'

Whether you find big or small figures sexually attractive is a personal thing. You sure youre not talkingabout your own personal bias here?

It's nothing to do with my personal preferences. It's everything to do with the fact that a discussion of women using the word "curvy" to describe their physiques devolved almost immediately into vicious, vituperative abuse. Landwhales. Hamplanets. And pretty much every single post or comment that was needlessly brutal and cruel was directed at women who were overweight, for daring not to be ashamed for being overweight. I was heavily overweight for a solid six or seven years until I started running and cycling, and even now I'm only just dropping under the ninety-kilo mark, but not once did anyone attempt to put me down based on my weight or based on whether people found me attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,299 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I remember when the F word used to be F**k.

I suppose now we will get hashtag#differently thin :D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.