Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Instagram have banned #curvy hastag

• 17-07-2015 4:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭

http://www.thejournal.ie/instagram-ban-curvy-2221574-Jul2015/

What think ye? Is it a positive step in tackling obesity? Or is it a way of shaming women who want to celebrate their natural curves?

Personally, I can't stand anyone who would take a picture of themselves, upload it to social media, and use #curvy to describe it. "here's a photo of myself, I don't think I'm fat but I don't think I'm thin, so look at this picture and please love me".

I wouldn't mind but in nearly all of the related pictures to the article, the women look to be borderline obese. It's not even "curvy", it's just unhealthy. Jaysus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I'm not sure anyone actually gives a damn. I'm not trying to be funny either. I'm being 100% sincere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Yeah in fairness the majority of people who call themselves curvy and such are just overweight and don't want to face it. being an unhealthy weight and having an unhealthy diet and lifestyle are not things anyone should be trying to normalise or get people to accept.

I don't agree with making people feel bad about themselves but the vast majority of the time they're overweight because of eating too much of the wrong stuff and being too lazy to exercise. So no this is not something the human race needs to accept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Gongoozler wrote: »
    being an unhealthy weight and having an unhealthy diet and lifestyle are not things anyone should be trying to normalise or get people to accept.

Spot on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

Tombi! wrote: »
    I'm not sure anyone actually gives a damn. I'm not trying to be funny either. I'm being 100% sincere.

Enough people gave a damn for it to be a "news story".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I like a woman with a bit of meat on her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

jungleman wrote: »
    Enough people gave a damn for it to be a "news story".

You mean enough people on the internet who want attention and want to feel like a special snowflake.

This is just more usual American rubbish glorifying obesity and completely missing the idea of what body acceptance should be.

But as for the new story, I read it. All I'm seeing is the Journal being desperate for something so they decided that since Instagram is very popular, writing about how a much of idiots are upset that they can't be "proud" of being obese and encourage people to see it as good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Sites that glorify or encourage anorexia and undereating are rightfully lambasted. Don't see why it should be any different for those that glorify or encourage overeating and being a lazy slob.

Being fat isn't the same as being 'curvy'. The people in those pics are obese. It shouldn't be made out to be something that society needs to embrace or accept.

'love your body' all you want, but don't try and tell others that they should put up with your anti-scientific bull**** just to make you feel better.

Tombi! wrote: »
    You mean enough people on the internet who want attention and want to feel like a special snowflake.

This is just more usual American rubbish glorifying obesity and completely missing the idea of what body acceptance should be.

But as for the new story, I read it. All I'm seeing is the Journal being desperate for something so they decided that since Instagram is very popular, writing about how a much of idiots are upset that they can't be "proud" of being obese and encourage people to see it as good.

Yeah, pretty much agree with everything you've said to be honest.

I don't know whether to laugh or cry when I read these stories. Just as worrying as the number of deluded obese people out there is the sheer number of self indulgent gob****es who actually take selfies and become outraged when they can't attach a hashtag to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Gongoozler wrote: »
    I don't agree with making people feel bad about themselves but the vast majority of the time they're overweight because of eating too much of the wrong stuff and being too lazy to exercise. So no this is not something the human race needs to accept.

I eat too much of 'the wrong' stuff all the time and I never exercise (haven't done any proper physical exercise since the mid-90s, when I finally mastered the art of forging my parents' signatures to get out of PE classes), but I'm not overweight. Skinniness seems to run in my family.

I don't understand why people (especially on After Hours, for some reason) get so angry at those who have a predisposition towards gaining weight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Muckracker

Women who describe themselves as 'curvy' are almost always obese landwhales.

Muckracker wrote: »
    Women who describe themselves as 'curvy' are almost always obese landwhales.

Why do you need to use such unpleasant terminology to describe them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

What if they are looking for curves like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I see Fat is the next minority hot button group... Oh wait they are not a minority.

“I thought you people were supposed to be jolly ?” – Stewie Griffin.

RayM wrote: »
    Why do you need to use such unpleasant terminology to describe them?

So whats the correct term. 'Plus sized'? 'real woman'?

Don't worry about it - I've just seen your posts in the thread about trans people. I know better than to engage with pitiful trolls.

Except I'm not trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

I don't understand why people (especially on After Hours, for some reason) get so angry at those who have a predisposition towards gaining weight.

There's no such thing as a "pre-disposition". People get fat because they eat too much. Calling obesity "curvy" and the like is unhealthy.

Real women are not obese. Size 16 should not be considered the average size. Just the same as being skinny does not make you a real woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

I like a woman with a bit of meat on her

Lady Gaga fan eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

Saw this on some site earlier, every single one of the women in the pics that were attached to the story were obese. To call them "curvy" is like calling an alcoholic "fun". It's extremely unhealthy and a tad disgusting tbh.

Because for the most part, diet and exercise stop weight gain. Shouting from the roof tops that it's great to be obese is just so stupid that it beggars belief.

I'm not sure if social media is the cause, or if it's American attitudes creeping in over here, but being overweight or obese isn't good for anyone. And to glorify it under the pretense of being "curvy" is just very sad.

This is a picture of one of the women apparently fighting back against Instagram. The picture is included in the original article, so I presume it's open source and okay to use here. I should also say however, that I'm not providing it for the woman to be made fun of, in fairness.

Calling a spade a spade though, she is fairly obese. That is not a healthy BMI. By calling herself curvy, she is obviously not awake to the fact that she is probably at risk of diabetes and heart problems.

Because for the most part, diet and exercise stop weight gain. Shouting from the roof tops that it's great to be obese is just so stupid that it beggars belief.

I'm not sure if social media is the cause, or if it's American attitudes creeping in over here, but being overweight or obese isn't good for anyone. And to glorify it under the pretense of being "curvy" is just very sad.

Lots of things aren't 'good for people' (recommended alcohol intake, for example, is a hell of a lot lower than what the average Irish drinker would consume), but people seem to reserve a special level of hatred for those who are overweight. I just don't understand why other people being overweight is so annoying. If a person is happy with their size, surely it's their own business. They aren't doing you any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,512 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Lots of things aren't 'good for people' (recommended alcohol intake, for example, is a hell of a lot lower than what the average Irish drinker would consume), but people seem to reserve a special level of hatred for those who are overweight. I just don't understand why other people being overweight is so annoying. If a person is happy with their size, surely it's their own business. They aren't doing you any harm.

They arent being lambasted for being overweight, they are being lambasted for being obese and pretending they are grand.

People bitch about people on the dole spending their money, I bitch about Fat people clogging up the health system. Being Fat is not grand, Ireland is the fastest country in the EU we are going to see an explosion of type 2 diabetes. Does one think size 16 for women is a normal size for average hight ? No it's not it's obese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

Fat people are revolting. How anyone stuffs enough food into their pig mouth to be a landwhale is beyond me.

Mod: Banned

It's not like it's a victim-less crime, in fairness. It will put huge pressure on the health system if something's not done about it.

So it's all about concern for the health system, is it? I'll believe that when those having a go at overweight people start spouting the same kind of vitriol towards those who drink more than the recommended level of alcohol units.
    They arent being lambasted for being overweight, they are being lambasted for being obese and pretending they are grand.

They're being lambasted because it's easy to slag people for being overweight. I'd rather be overweight than the sort of person who comes out with ignorant crap like this:
    Fat people are revolting. How anyone stuffs enough food into their pig mouth to be a landwhale is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Dave0301

It is the fact that they are trying to glorfiy obesity by describing it as being "curvy." When they aren't, they are obese.

Would you have the same viewpoint if it was anorexic girls putting up pictures with #slim?

It is promoting an unhealthy lifestyle choice in both cases.

Dave0301 wrote: »
    It is promoting an unhealthy lifestyle choice in both cases.

To me, it looks more like a response to the sort of ignorant vitriol you see on threads like this.

They're being lambasted because it's easy to slag people for being overweight. I'd rather be overweight than the sort of person who comes out with ignorant crap like this:

They're being lambasted because they're grotesque. All these social movements to glorify obesity on social media is ridiculous. The overwhelming majority of fatties are fat because they are lazy and stuff their faces

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭strelok

I'd rather be overweight than the sort of person who comes out with ignorant crap like this:

no you wouldn't. being overweight is quite horrible. there is literally only one downside to being normal sized, you get cold easier. that's it, the one and only. every other aspect of life is improved dramatically.

this is why people who try to promote obesity as an acceptable lifestyle choice are ****ing *****.

It's one thing getting angry at people who are overweight. I don't think many do tbh

It's quite another to get angry at this whole new phenomenon of normalising obesity, and the push to 'embrace' it within society.

The people with that agenda can go and fcuk themselves. They're promoting an extremely unhealthy lifestyle, which costs us all, and at the same time get annoyed and offended whenever they're called out for doing it.

strelok wrote: »
    no you wouldn't. being overweight is quite horrible.

No seriously, I would hate nothing more than to be that unpleasant and ignorant.

To me, it looks more like a response to the sort of ignorant vitriol you see on threads like this.

Are the Majority of Fat People Fat from an Illness or actual from over eating ? I will give one a clue its not the first one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Dave0301

To be fair, there is nothing ignorant about calling a spade a spade.

The vitriol I agree is unwarranted.

In this day and age, where anorexic images and promotion are censored, why shouldn't obesity?

Dave0301 wrote: »
    To be fair, there is nothing ignorant about calling a spade a spade.

The vitriol I agree is unwarranted.

In this day and age, where anorexic images and promotion are censored, why shouldn't obesity?

Because SJW's are Idi*ts.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,729 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

How so? Dying of a heart attack is quick and cheap compared to dying of cancer.

Slowly dying of overweight related illnesses are the highest cost.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,729 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Slowly dying of overweight related illnesses are the highest cost.

Is that something you know or something you think?

what about diabetes? heart disease that kills slowly? amputations? gastric surgery? nursing care for people too fat to wipe themselves? subsidised or state provided motorised scooters? the never ending doctors visits of people too stupid to realise they feel like **** because they have enough bodyfat to do 5 normal people?

and seriously, cancer is a weird one to pick. smokers get so much **** the government wont even let them practice indoors or even in their cars soon enough most likely

not to mention the fact that obesity is linked to ****ing shedloads of cancers (I totally mentioned it)

You can't blame someone for getting cancer (bar those related to smoking)

You can blame someone for being a fat fcuk

So IMO, cancer care and fat fcuk care are incomparable. If the state shelled out a million quid to attempt to cure someone of cancer, I dont see the problem. If they did the same for some fatties obesity related illness, that's a different story.

Obesity is one of the main causes of cancer. Let alone the array of other life-long illnesses like diabetes, osteoarthritis, high blood pressure, depression etc.

You can't blame someone for getting cancer (bar those related to smoking)

You can blame someone for being a fat fcuk

So IMO, cancer care and fat fcuk care are incomparable. If the state shelled out a million quid to attempt to cure someone of cancer, I dont see the problem. If they did the same for some fatties obesity related illness, that's a different story.

Why do you feel the need to use that kind of language when talking about overweight people?

Because every time I see one, I'm disgusted. I have no time for lazy, fat, greedy and self entitled slobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Because he can't fap to them and it makes him really angry :mad:

Because every time I see one, I'm disgusted. I have no time for lazy, fat, greedy and self entitled slobs.

You seem like a very sad and angry person.

when did gluttony stop being regarded as a personal failing?

augustus gloop isn't supposed to be an inspirational figure