Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trying to fit it all in.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,768 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    Thankfully we're both forwards, she inherited her father's aversion to tackling as well as his general stroll-around-picking-out-the-odd-fancy-pass demeanour :cool:

Hopefully she didn't inherit your aversion to training :D

ninamc wrote: »
    Crossfit DSC. My brother is in Crossfit 15, but that's just too far out for me. My 6 y/o son is in Crossfit Kids in DSC and I thought the lads were sound. I know you do classes in your place, are they only for people who want to compete and stuff? Or could it suit somebody just looking to improve technique and stuff for a short-term?

Seems to be a mixture in the classes!
    I can highly recommend them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭ninamc

Ah thanks Blue-y, forgot you did your classes there. Do you go on a Saturday?
    bluewolf wrote: »
    Seems to be a mixture in the classes!
    I can highly recommend them :D

That made me lol....

Hopefully she didn't inherit your aversion to training :D

Ah thanks Blue-y, forgot you did your classes there. Do you go on a Saturday?

Monday and saturday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

Crossfit DSC. My brother is in Crossfit 15, but that's just too far out for me. My 6 y/o son is in Crossfit Kids in DSC and I thought the lads were sound. I know you do classes in your place, are they only for people who want to compete and stuff? Or could it suit somebody just looking to improve technique and stuff for a short-term?

I know the lads in DSC, they're lovely, we'd be quite friendly with them. We played against them in our last lifting league match.

Yeh, our classes are an absolute mix. We've two female coaches so one takes beginners and the other intermediates...but i think most of the girls actually come for the craic more so than the weightlifting:pac::pac::pac:

Thursday 3rd September

Camogie Training
    Followed by an hour in the gym.
    Conditioning
    20 metre Prowler Push
    60, 90, 120, x 2 of each
    Each of these Superset with 50kg Deaflift x 5

10 metre Prowler Push
    120 x 5
    150 x 1
    180 x 1
    210 x 1
    240 x 1
    250 x 1

Finished off with 70kg Deadlift 3 sets of 3.

Friday 4th September
    2nd Crossfit Session
    Push Press
    Stayed with 20kg bar, 5 sets x 5.

Realised I'd have feck all experience really of any overhead pressing. 20kg felt really heavy!!!

Did some accessory work:
    Modified Muscle Ups, feet didn't leave the ground. Just trying to get the range of motion.
    Sled Drags
    Z Dumbell Press (sitting on floor, legs straight out)

The WOD was 3 rounds for time
    400m run
    21 KB Swings
    12 TRX Rows (everybody else was doing pull-ups)
    Think I did it 12.20 something. Most definitely would have done it in around 11 minutes pre-pregnancy, but was just happy to complete it.

Everybody is so encouraging, it's great.

Saturday 5th September
    So realised the lads do their own separate weightlifting class on Wednesdays and Saturdays. I'm going to try hop in on at least one a week just to learn technique.

Did some cleans this morning. And finished with some jerks. This whole wrist, elbow action will drive me demented. But will just keep plugging away.

Nutrition is on point, meeting my protein goals every day. Bought a tepinyaki grill, best buy ever.

Monday 7th September

3rd Crossfit Session

Turned up for 8 o'clock class, only me and another girl there. Result :) Got lots of coaching tips.

10 minutes mobility.

Practised snatch pulls. Finding the whole shoulder shruggy thing really hard to get.

Worked up to 1RM Deadlift. Hadn't lifted heavier than 100 in the gym since going back training. 125 is my PB.
    Got 120 handy enough, definitely felt I could have at least matched the 125, but decided to leave it at 120. Something to work on. One of my goals pre pregnancy was to get a double body weight Deaflift. So hopefully, I can lose 10kg off the body and put it on the deadlift. Here's hoping.

Did 2 rounds of
    45 secs skipping. Practising double unders. Was able to skip 5 single skips, 1 DU, repeated by 3. Thrilled with that.
    5 Overhead Squats with empty bar.
    Snatch Grip RDLs 35kg x 5

He changed the WOD for us as the other girl had a bit of a dodgy back, and I have my first Camogie match tomorrow since having Séimí.

It was 21, 15, 9 calorie row and ring rows.
    3 rounds in 6.23 I think.
    Then at 8 minutes 400 skips. Took me well over 5 minutes for the skipping.

Overall, a great workout. Feckin' knackered after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Darrenon91

Did 2 rounds of
    45 secs skipping. Practising double unders. Was able to skip 5 single skips, 1 DU, repeated by 3. Thrilled with that.

That feeling of getting the Double Under is great. :) Looked like a great session.

Tuesday 8th September

Camogie Match.
    First match post-baby. Went with the intention of just playing the first half. We had the bare 15, so had to play it all. Wasn't as bad as I expected, could keep up physically. First touch needs a bit of work, but that will come.

Did nothing Wednesday 9th, body was so weary after the game. Bad bruise on knee, but nothing major.

Thursday 10th
    4th Crossfit Session

Back Squat
    5 x 5 worked up to 55kg

10 x Single Leg box Deep Squats L&R
    10 x Front Rack Sots Press
    5 x Alternating Pistols L&R
    20 x Weighted Back Extensions

Partner Wod
    For Time - One person working at a time. Workload was shared.
    20 Squat Clean Thrusters 25kg
    40 Box Jumpovers
    60 Back Squats 30kg
    80 Russian Swings
    At the top of every minute perform 3 burpees.
    I worked with another new girl on this, think we did it in 14.23. Really enjoyed it as we got to take a breath as the other partner was working.

Friday 11th
    5th Crossfit Session

A1)1RM Bench Press - Got 42.5kg which I was delighted with as that's my PR before baby. Didn't think Id be able to lift it.
    A2)1 set of max reps @ 85% of A1 5 Reps.

B)Handstand Work - surprised myself by being able to manage a couple of handstands against the wall and hold them for a few seconds.

C)2 Sets short rest between sets
    Weighted Rope Drags 40m
    Modified MU's x 5
    Bar rollouts 4 x 8-12

WOD
    3 Rounds for Time (20 min time cap)
    40 KB Swings

30 Burpee Box Jumps - SERIOUSLY WTF?? WHO INVENTS THIS SHI*T?

20 C2B Pull-Ups (I did ring rows)

400m Run

Managed 2 full rounds and 10 KB Swings

Saturday 12th
    Weightlifting Class.
    No idea what we were doing. But the words, clean, jerk, hang pull, power, press, split jerk etc were mentioned a lot. I know I managed to "split jerk" 25kg over my head repeatedly. That felt good.

Husband gone fishing for a week. Have no idea as of yet, how I'm going to get any training in. That was a full-on week :)

Only managed to get 1 Crossfit session in this week, and 1 gym session as the husband is away. Better than nothing. The worst of weeks food wise. Have to get back on track big time, had been doing so well.

Monday 14th September
    Crossfit
    Worked on Snatch movement.

Front Squat 1RM - 45kg.
    max reps at 85% - 5
    Never did these, don't particularly like them :)

2 sets no rest
    20-40 x Double Unders
    5 x OH Squats
    12 Snatch Grip RDL
    20 x Hollow Rocks

Thrusters with a 15kg bar. (5 rounds.) 30secs.
    11/12/11/12/13. Will be able for 25kg next time.

1mile run.

Friday 18th September
    Gym.

60/60 low bar/high bar prowler push
    20kg bar thruster x 5
    30metre farmers walk w/25kg sandbag each hand
    5 box jumps

90/90 low bar/high bar prowler push
    20kg bar thruster x 5
    5 box jumps

120/150 low bar/high bar prowler push
    20kg bar thruster x 5
    5 box jumps

120/200 low bar/high bar prowler push
    20kg bar thruster x 5
    5 box jumps

120/230 low bar/high bar prowler push
    20kg bar thruster x 5
    5 box jumps

Back Squats
    20kg bar x 5
    30kg x 5
    40kg x 5
    45kg x 3
    50kg x 3
    55kg x 3
    60kg x 4 sets 5
    60kg x 10 AMRAP (surprised myself!)

Best session in a while. Added a bit to the conditioning element. Sweated buckets.
    Squats went great also, hope to get 80kg by Halloween. Was just one of those perfect sessions.

Sunday 20th

Gym

Had an hour to myself so went to do some deadlifts.

40kg x 10
    50kg x 8
    60kg x 5
    70kg x 5 sets 5
    80kg x 1
    90kg x 1
    100kg x 1
    110kg x 1
    120kg x 1
    125kg x 1
    Worked up to my previous pr. Delighted with myself, 3 months post pregnancy and I've equalled my prs' on the 3 major lifts. Now to just try smash them before the new year :)

Monday 21st

Crossfit

Im not gonna post the full Crossfit sessions anymore, just a brief synopsis. Presume the coach puts a lot of time and effort into his programming, probably not fair of me to just whack it up on the Interweb.

Weights wise we worked on Snatch and overhead squats. For the love of God, who invented these? Think I only managed 30kg on the OH Squat, found even pressing it off my shoulders to be a mother-fu*cker.

The WOD was power cleans, box jumps and rows. Was decent enough.

Tuesday- Had to get antibiotic for a gum infection due to wisdom tooth. Missed camogie training Tues night and Weights class on Wednesday.

Thursday 24th

Crossfit

Decided to Crossfit rather than camogie training as the cold air was really bothering my mouth.

Weights - worked on full clean. Think my max was 37.5. I like these. Also did some light back squats. 3 sets 3 @ 45kg.

The WOD was 50kg deadlifts, pistols, and burpees over the barbell. Had another "what the hell are you thinking" moment during these. So tough. Nearly collapsed after it. But I wasn't the only one :)

Took Friday and Saturday off, antibiotic wasn't agreeing with me 100%, making me a bit queasy. And also losing lots of sleep because of the toothache.

Played a Camogie match on Sunday, got through it fine and injury free.

Monday 28th September

Crossfit

Worked on Snatch using 3 different lifts. Power Snatch, Hang Snatch and Snatch Balance.

Then did a 3 rep max on back squats. Went up to 67.5. Probably could have gone a little heavier. Next time.

3 sets of 3 back squats at 60kg.

Accessory work: 1 leg stiff leg deadlift & side lunges with 10kg db.

The WOD once again was a killer.

21 - 15 - 9 (8 min time cap.)
    Clean & Press 25kg (the RX for women on this is 40kg, Jeebus!)
    6kg Wallball

8 Min Amrap
    8 Air Squat
    8 Burpees.

Fleeting yet persistent thoughts of "Am I too old for this ****" :confused:

You know you're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭pemtca

If I'm not you're definitely not :)

You know you're not.

Thanks Alf, I think in a year I'll be flying it. Just hard to see the wood for the trees.

pemtca wrote: »
    If I'm not you're definitely not :)

Thanks 😀

Thanks Alf, I think in a year I'll be flying it. Just hard to see the wood for the trees.

You've already matched your PRs within 3 months! Give yourself some credit.

You just can't see the PRs for the PRs.

Tuesday 29th September

Camogie Training. Great evening for it, that Autumnal crispness in the air and a lot of good training and good craic.

Wednesday 30th

Got a tooth out. Was in an absolute kicker til Saturday. Give me childbirth any day.

Saturday 3rd

Between kids basketball, gymnastics and hurling there wasn't a hope of me making the 11 o'clock weight-lifting class. Claimed an hour to myself late afternoon and headed the gym.

50kg Deadlift x 5
    5 box jumps

50kg Deadlift x 5
    5 box jumps

120/120 low bar/high bar prowler push
    50kg Deadlift x 5
    5 box jumps

50kg Deadlift x 5
    5 box jumps

120/180 low bar/high bar prowler push
    50kg Deadlift x 5
    5 box jumps

120/210 low bar/high bar prowler push
    50kg Deadlift x 5
    5 box jumps

Deadlifts
    70kg x 3
    80kg x 3
    90kg x 3 sets 3

Bench
    Bar x 10
    25kg x 8
    27.5kg x 6
    30kg x 3 sets 5

Sunday 4th

Camogie match this morn. We lost to a better team. Still puts me in the height of it though. Til I get home at least, then I get over it :)

Back to Crossfit tomorrow. He posted the workout earlier, 3RM deadlifts involved. Should get the 100kg for 3.

Nutrition is muck. Afraid to log on my fitness pal, in case I break it. Not just my profile, the whole damn app. PMT and the associated sugar cravings can kick my ass.

Monday 5th Sept

Crossfit

Some snatch, snatch balance work. No weight on bar.

3RM Deadlift 105kg. Don't know if it's a PB or not, but felt great.

3 sets of 3 @ 92.5kg

Some single leg RDLs and some very deep side lunges.

The WOD was a crucifying partner one.

4 Rounds of YES 4 ROUNDS
    40 Wall Balls 40 Burpees (20 each) with a 6kg ball.
    200 metre run with ball. She carried it 100m, then me.

Typing this from the bath as I speak with no intention of getting out for the next hour. Would say with 99% certainty I will be in bits tomorrow :)

yow :eek:

bluewolf wrote: »
    yow :eek:

You said it sister :D

Tuesday 6th September

Camogie Training. Great session.

Wednesday 7th

3km run with eldest daughter. Had to stop 3 times. Scarleh :o Not going to beat meself up about it. Just make a small goal to be able to do it without stopping before the end of the month.

Thursday 8th

Camogie Training. Got a bad bang to the fore-arm. Had a swelling the size of a tennis ball.

Friday 9th

Crossfit

3RM Bench - 40kg

3 sets 3 @ 36kg.

Chest supported row 48kg x 3 sets 5.

WOD included a lot of box jumps, thrusters, push-ups and negative pull-ups.

Sunday 10th

Camogie Match. First game back where I felt I played pretty well. Played a full game, picked up a few bruises and an awful pull in my shoulder. The sprints are still sluggish, but one of the other girls told me it took her a full season to get back to her normal speed. Looking forward to the season ending at the end of the month, lashing the Crossfit out if it for the 3 months off season. And coming back better than before :)

Monday 11th
    Usually do Crossfit on a Monday evening, but shoulder is being particularly twingy and painful. No Camogie training tomorrow evening so if shoulder is somewhat better will fit in a Crossfit Session. Currently in bed with a glass of wine and a new book, how bad.

So ended up taking 3 days off. Used the shoulder as an excuse to myself, but really could have gone done some lower body work if I was in the mood. Was just definitely not in the mood. Can feel that Winter wanna-hibernate feeling coming on. Crap diet and crap sleep definitely not helping. So start logging back on MyFitnessPal yesterday, and got my ass to training last night. Camogie was cancelled so did a Crossfit session instead. Shoulder still niggly, but there was no overhead pressing involved.

Thursday 15th
    Weights were cleans from the floor and hang cleans.
    Did 3 sets of 5 front squats at 30kg, still trying to get the hang of these.

Finally, my kind of WOD.

3 rounds of

10 Deadlifts @ 65kg
    15 Goblet Squats using 12kg KB (it was 16 to RX)
    20 Jumping Lunges
    10 Deadlifts @ 65kg
    15 Goblet Squats using 12kg KB

With a 2 minute break between rounds 2&3. Did it 15.10 which I was quite happy with.

Crossfit again tonight, and will try fit a gym session in over the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,804 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Log needs vids of you beasting these weights around

JJayoo wrote: »
    Log needs vids of you beasting these weights around

What the internet does not need is videos of me beasting these weights around. I'm doing the Internet people a favour :)

Friday 16th October

Crossfit

Weights section was Klokov Press 3RM which I couldn't do as shoulder still not 100%. So I was shown lots of shoulder rehab exercises which I did for about 20 minutes.

The WOD was a 3 person team WOD and included lots of lateral Burpees, 35kg cleans, 50kg back squats, 25kg thrusters which I had to sub to front squats again due to shoulder. Really loving these team WODs, great adrenaline.

Didn't get to train Saturday as daughters U-16 Camogie team were in the Championship final in the Phoenix Park. They won, great excitement altogether.

Sunday, my 7 year olds birthday party. Was mentally wiped after it, give me physical exhaustion any day :)

Monday 19th

Crossfit

There was a 3RM OH Squat on the board. Shoulder still niggly so subbed for Front Squats. Did 3 for 50kg. Could prob have gone to 55, but left it there as still trying to get used to these. Was getting great depth which I was happy with.

Front Squat 45kg 3 x 3

Single Leg RDL 25kg 3 sets of 6 each leg.
    Side Lunges 12KB 3 sets of 6 each leg.

WOD was goblet squats, Burpees and skipping.

Shoulder feels better than it was, but not where I want it to be. Hopefully another couple days should do it.

Tuesday 20th

Camogie Training

Bit of running, but of skill work. Not enough to break a sweat, so went the gym for an hour.

Conditioning - Gym

50kg Deadlift x 5
    5 box jumps

50kg Deadlift x 5
    5 box jumps

50kg Deadlift x 5
    5 box jumps

120/180 low bar/high bar prowler push
    50kg Deadlift x 5
    5 box jumps

120/210 low bar/high bar prowler push
    50kg Deadlift x 5
    5 box jumps

120/240 low bar/high bar prowler push.

120/260 low bar/high bar prowler push.

Taking tomorrow off :)

http://youtu.be/MF3o1d8p8cs

260 Prowler Push - 10 metres on the high bar.

this video is private

also this is the "i am crazy" log