Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What games have you been playing lately?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

Deadrising 3.

Was game that I actually thought was going to be ott and wasn't going to like it, but it's not too bad and some of the weapon combos in the game are funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Arma 3 exile mod with 3 lads. Enough said. :)

I got arma ages ago, but never properly played it. I sow in latest frankiepc video that there is arma3 loader which sorts outs mods by itself, you just join server. Freaking amazing.
    Now we pretty much just play exile mod and it's stupidly good. Pretty much what I wanted from dayZ standalone mod, but with no zombies and arma 3 engine.
    Few days ago had one of those "gaming goose bumps" in exile. Haven't had those since bad company 2 on 360!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭TetraxShard

Fallout 4: starting a new playthrough soon, my current one is FUBARed.

The Walking Dead Season 1: replay, played on 360 but want to carry over choices to Season 2 and get ready for the Michonne spin-off.

Hearthstone: just doing daily quests and playing through The League of Explorers as it comes out. Haven't done any of the LoE Heroic fights yet.

Hand of Fate: Loving this, got it in a Humble Weekly while it was still in Early Access, old laptop couldn't really play it well. On my current rig it sings. Arkham combat, deckbuilding gameplay and the great narrator are what elevate it for me.

Just Cause 2: because Just Cause 3 costs money.

Star Wars The Old Republic: because Star Wars Battlefront also costs money, and I just got done with the Darth Bane books so I'm in the mood for Old Republic stuff. I'm just playing the Jedi Knight story as if it were a normal RPG, ignoring MMO-ish stuff wherever possible.

Middle-Earth Shadow of Mordor: So close to the end, but can't find the will to go on. Great game, just a bit repetitive. There's only so many ways to kill an orc!

Need for Speed: Most Wanted 2012: The last great Criterion arcade racer, never got around to it at launch. Have yet to actually beat a Most Wanted car.

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel: These are a lot less fun without friends, it must be said. I started after finishing Tales from the Borderlands, this may have been a mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

Lost Planet 2 with the mumble lads. Absolutely class... great fun. Game still looks great, plays great and performs like a dream (1600x900 windowed @120fps streaming 720p @ 60fps...MT FRAMEWORK!).
    The game was a fecking nightmare to setup, though. GFWL...

Still getting through System Shock 2 bit by bit. I have long sessions on that game (over an hour) which is rare for me. Just love the audio work. VAs can be a bit feck but the rest is really atmospheric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

I played a lot of Rome 2 over the weekend.

I played my first siege at the end of the Prologue which was great fun! I greatly outnumbered the enemy which took away from it a bit, so I might tinker with the difficulty a bit. Early on I had to drop down to easy because I kept getting my ass handed to me.

I found myself stacking up my armies, waiting, then auto resolve most battles.
    I wanted to progress the Prologue as quick as possible.
    I think I'll take my time with the next campaign and try to fight most battles. Otherwise it's just Civ without the hexes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I dropped Assassins Creed Rogue, as the voice acting of the Oirish guy was very off putting. I jumped into Assassins Creed Syndicate instead. I'm at about sequence 4 and I'm really enjoying it so far. Good story, great characters, and a fantastic city (thus far).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,520 ✭✭✭✭Varik

I played a lot of Rome 2 over the weekend.

I played my first siege at the end of the Prologue which was great fun! I greatly outnumbered the enemy which took away from it a bit, so I might tinker with the difficulty a bit. Early on I had to drop down to easy because I kept getting my ass handed to me.

I found myself stacking up my armies, waiting, then auto resolve most battles.
    I wanted to progress the Prologue as quick as possible.
    I think I'll take my time with the next campaign and try to fight most battles. Otherwise it's just Civ without the hexes.

Went back to play Shogun 2 on legendary with one of the (to me) more difficult factions, got to turn 90 and had to call it a few times.

Current run I'm a God due to luck and a bit of planning I got my early trade fuelled growth (town growth and markets) to the point where near the end where everyone is at war with me and I've 0 trade I can still finance my armies and considerable navy and still repair and add new markets/farms as I expand. Only worry is if I expand too far and those one of those 3 full AI armies slips by and I lose as I spend the rest of the game trying to stop them and undo the damage.

Generally only auto resolve if I'm either at 99% advantage or guaranteed to lose, if it's anywhere in between I tend to play my self as I'm 1000 times better than the AI generally. Only issue is decisive victories count toward you realm divided score which is what kicks off the total war everyone against me part of Shogun 2.

If you're upping the difficulty check some guides as the full armies of the best troops isn't really what you want, cheap and useful have their place. Not the same game but I still have at least 3 cheap peasant spear men (yari ashigaru starting troops) in each army as they are replaced cheaply and quickly and their spear wall ability decimates Calvary charges and negates infantry charge bonuses, and before they route I've my own higher end troops charge from behind/flanks or replace the weaker troops.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,414 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Starcraft: LotV and Fallout 4 at the moment, though i'm getting bored of Fallout 4.

I see myself doing a Mass Effect playthrough at some stage soon. Plus, i want to do a NG+ Witcher 3 playthrough, and try the DLC. Also, Dying Light.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Just Cause 3 for me, it's been tremendously silly and enjoyable. As with all open world games, it's difficult to get the balance of "progress storyline vs dick about with capturing enemy 'whatsits' around the map" but with 1000+ km2 to play in, it's hard to get bored :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

I've been a bit stuck with what I can play as my machine is on last legs. Just started Fallout 3 despite having it for years... I know, I know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Kiith wrote: »
    Starcraft: LotV and Fallout 4 at the moment, though i'm getting bored of Fallout 4.

I see myself doing a Mass Effect playthrough at some stage soon. Plus, i want to do a NG+ Witcher 3 playthrough, and try the DLC. Also, Dying Light.

You are me.

I finally put two hours into fallout 4. I am not impressed at all.

Varik wrote:
    Generally only auto resolve if I'm either at 99% advantage or guaranteed to lose, if it's anywhere in between I tend to play my self as I'm 1000 times better than the AI generally. Only issue is decisive victories count toward you realm divided score which is what kicks off the total war everyone against me part of Shogun 2.

I started the Britania campaign last night. This time I really took my time. I second guessed every move and every purchase. I really enjoyed playing this way.
    I made a silly mistake in a siege and the AI wasn't smart enough to tear me to pieces. I turned it around despite having half the men.

Now I can see how people are sinking hundreds of hours into this game.

Can't wait to get home from work to go again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I finally put two hours into fallout 4. I am not impressed at all.

It does get a bit better, but I didn't find it amazing. It was Fallout 3 with better graphics, but a bit repetitive. It's still worth playing though as there are some great environments and some decent missions.

chrislad wrote: »
    It does get a bit better, but I didn't find it amazing. It was Fallout 3 with better graphics, but a bit repetitive. It's still worth playing though as there are some great environments and some decent missions.
    I'm going to have to come back to it in a few months. I keep comparing it Witcher 3 which is head and shoulders above it right now.

I've had a knee jerk reaction of how its basically an fps now. VATS is entirely useless. Its moving further and further away from the originals. It's very buggy. I kept ending a conversation by accident. The conversation text stayed floating there from another conversation. A gun was stuck going off inside the minutemen base. The first mission is terribly convoluted (all missions I came across seemed convoluted). You find the power armour, minigun and death claw at the very start...? And the simplified conversation choices... wtf! The FOV is a mess. First person is like looking through a magnifying glass, changing it via console means you cannot view the pipboy properly. The pip boy itself is a pain to navigate; how do I know which guns I have ammo for? Skills have been removed entirely. Locking picking and hacking hasn't changed. I'll come back when there is a patch and I have more patience.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,805 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Playing some older games:
    Rome Total War 2 as one can never tire of the tramp of legions as they civilise the Med. and Killing Floor I, which on multiplayer is fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Paul Daly

chrislad wrote: »

Well it was fallout 3 with better graphics and greatly improved gun play but yeah the brotherhood quest-line in particular seems to deliberately mirror the major events in Fallout 3's main quest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Been playing Banished a lot recently, it's just a really chilled out game, nice when I just want something seriously relaxing. But back onto The Witcher again today, and I've started Chapter V.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Manach wrote: »
    Playing some older games:
    Rome Total War 2 as one can never tire of the tramp of legions as they civilise the Med. and Killing Floor I, which on multiplayer is fun.

Been trying Rome 2 as one of the eastern kingdoms - Parthia. It makes a refreshing change to be conquering the east before heading West rather than the usual Rome/Greece/Carthage wars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭sirboby

I'v been sinking alot of hours into Civ V recently, got 290 hours on it according to steam :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

sirboby wrote: »
    I'v been sinking alot of hours into Civ V recently, got 290 hours on it according to steam :)

1569 :o

This chapter of the Witcher is kinda, well... I am up to here with fecking swamps already! :o

Gbear wrote:

Christ!

Links234 wrote: »
    This chapter of the Witcher is kinda, well... I am up to here with fecking swamps already! :o

Which one? 2?

New csgo patch introduced a crazy imbalanced pistol. Its great craic.

Which one? 2?

First one. Had started 2 ages back, but decided to play the first one first, then start over 2 before moving onto 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Dont worry 2 and 3, have their share of swamps too.

I do remember some swampiness from 2, but nothing anywhere near as tedious as 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Gbear wrote: »
    1569 :o

You need an intervention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

You need an intervention.

He'll stop soon enough.

Right after the next turn...