Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BAMMA 22 - 3Arena - Sept 19

• Registered Users Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

Absoulte brilliant night of mma

Shame about the fields and Catherine silly stuff cost them

Thank god for McGregor or this would of only been a couple of 100, hard to find any real mma fans

So many came in groups of 10 or more for there fighter and left! Leaves lots of empty seats

• Registered Users Posts: 12,734 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Never mind, figured out how to add spike to my sky box, main card starts at 10 on Spike.

https://ukfree.tv/article/1107052255/How_can_I_get_Channel_5_on_Sky_in_Ireland_

Worked great thanks for that

• Registered Users Posts: 4,126 ✭✭✭shanec1928

What a joke!

Big group of English throwing anything they can into the ring! Disagree make us look bad!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,734 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

but1er wrote: »
    Big group of English throwing anything they can into the ring! Disagree make us look bad!!

Anybody watching on TV will think it's a drunken Irish crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Stuff like this is another reason why a UFC event in Croke Park will never happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Beersmith

I was questioning their decision to let bottles into the area, seemed like danger. Only agro groups i saw tonight were the ones following the English fighters.

Beersmith wrote: »
    I was questioning their decision to let bottles into the area, seemed like danger. Only agro groups i saw tonight were the ones following the English fighters.

There were bottles in the arena? That's just stupidly.

All plastic!!

That's not an issue so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Anyone at the event see Mlambo/O'Gorman or Tuke/Caffrey?

Sounds like they were impressive pro debuts. Shame there's no video of them anywhere yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Sounds like they were impressive pro debuts. Shame there's no video of them anywhere yet.

My brother saw a bad quality video of the Mlambo one, he dropped him with a left hook I think, I've yet to see it myself. The video was a poor quality recording of the big screen or some such, might be floating around facebook somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Gumbi wrote: »
    My brother saw a bad quality video of the Mlambo one, he dropped him with a left hook I think, I've yet to see it myself. The video was a poor quality recording of the big screen or some such, might be floating around facebook somewhere.

Cheers, will have a look.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Just in the door after the long drive home. Great night of fights. Some big names for the future made their mark tonight.

Well done BAMMA. Cant wait for BAMMA 24 now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

So much scumbags at this last night it was like being at an aslan concert. Fights and everything in the corridors near the toilets.I shudder to think what the crowd would be like at croke park if ufc fights there. Drunken idiots spoiling a great event

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭paska

Paid €200 for two tickets. Had great seats beside the stage. Everything was going great until 4 drunk yobs arrived and started dancing when the music came on, spilling drink all over the place and my mate.
    Kinda ruined the night because they should have been removed as it went on for hours.

Apart from that it was a great night.

For anyone that thinks that the 'real mma' fans at these events are much better than the crowd at ufc events are much better then they are definitely wrong. I saw much worse behaviour at this event than the previous 3 ufc events ive been at combined.

Terrible article on rte about it:http://www.rte.ie/sport/mma/2015/0920/729061-alan-philpott/
    Used the picture from the last ufc event and said philpott won the title even though he didn't!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Had a guy a few seats down from me (complete with obligatory TapOut shirt) that was explaining every single strike, takedown, submission attempt and reversal in great detail as loudly as he could to his bored/oblivious/uninterested girlfriend just so everyone around him knew that he trained MMA.

Highlight of the night for me was when the guy in front of him (Nose smashed flat across his face from years of getting punched and two of the worst cauliflower ears I've ever seen) turned around at one stage, looked him up and down and just laughed out loud.

Tapout guy, didn't say a word for the rest of the night!!

Good craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

They were the two most impressive performances of the night I thought. Those lads have very bright futures. Tuke in particular looked special. Rhys McKee also looked fantastic.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭weemcd

Reading this thread has really put me off attending an MMA event in this country, because it confirmed my fears that it would draw a really scummy crowd. Same probably goes for UK.

Will get to one eventually, maybe European or American event, though I'd imagine an American crowd would be full of complete doucebags too.

Japan maybe, at least they're quiet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Absoulte brilliant night of mma

Shame about the fields and Catherine silly stuff cost them

Thank god for McGregor or this would of only been a couple of 100, hard to find any real mma fans

So many came in groups of 10 or more for there fighter and left! Leaves lots of empty seats

You've just described the majority of Irish MMA events in the last 15 years.. Its always been difficult to get bums on seats.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭mark13

Best fans in the world..

Yeah I was there, have never seen so many scobies in my life. The guards came in at the end to talk to a fat guy in a white shirt who was lobbing pints of piss into the octagon, he didn't even have time to pull up his pants, lovely.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Very enjoyable night. Well done BAMMA and everyone involved, especially the fighters for putting on a great show.

I'll have to watch it back as I'd had more than a few pints at that stage, but the decision in the main event looked wrong to me at the time. I thought Loughnane deserved it.

Mlambo looked as good as advertised. McKee very impressive considering he's a 145lb'er and took the fight on a day's notice at 170 against a very experienced operator in John Redmond. There's too many too mention really but other highlights for me were Sinead Kavanagh's finish after Ozyurt's attempted spinning backfist, Marc Diakiese's KO and Paul Byrne's finish of Conor Cooke.

My only criticism would be with regards to the production. Screens weren't on for many fights, graphics came up for the wrong fighter a couple of times, camera angles on the screens weren't helpful at all for a few of the fights. Just a bit of constructive feedback anyway as it would be something that I feel would improve the experience next time.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,911 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

I've been saying for a LONG time that euro for euro Bamma is much better value than UFC, but at least with the high UFC prices it deters a lot of the scumbags

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Great night of fights. Didn't notice too many scumbags at it personally. Good crowd around us but a lot left very early doors and left a lot of seats empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭mmapk

Hmmm I stayed to the end. The crowd had thinned by the main card as most had come to support the Locals and not Firekid or Brendan.
    I did see water bottles (plastic) and plastic pint glasses (with beer) thrown from the crowd.

I DID NOT SEE Quotes "a fat guy in a white shirt who was lobbing pints of piss into the octagon, he didn't even have time to pull up his pants, lovely"

So you are trying to tell me people were queuing up to take a pint of piss each from a fat guy in a white shirt standing there with his pants down?
    Was the queue long, you mention pints - I haven't really tried but on tap i think i may struggle to produce one or 2 'pints of piss' let alone be a 'Pint of piss' production line......

I'd rather go with Joe.ie who's report is inline with what i saw.
    OPINION: HOW BAMMA 22 PEAKED, FELL AND WAS MARRED BY A FEW DRUNKEN IDIOTS
    http://www.sportsjoe.ie/mma/opinion-how-bamma-22-peaked-fell-and-was-marred-by-a-few-drunken-idiots/40511

BAMMA seem to be business people, maybe having 20 fights and 7 hours drinking time is too much and they will adjust the Feb card accordingly. Also i'd bet 50 they changed the Ireland Vs England stuff...

ALL IN ALL - I thought the night rocked.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

mark13 wrote: »

Yeah I was there, have never seen so many scobies in my life. The guards came in at the end to talk to a fat guy in a white shirt who was lobbing pints of piss into the octagon, he didn't even have time to pull up his pants, lovely.

Saw him being caught aswell, never been so happy to see someone get caught red handed like that! A stern talking to and escorted outside

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

only getting a chance to watch this now...few great fights very good night overall, gutted for chris fields though was very unlucky as he was doing really well in the fight, whats Jacquelins pedigree in grappling dont know much about him belt wise and that, looks to be quite adept!

• Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭ps3man

Was a great night overall, great pacing at the start with one fight ending and the next starting straight away.

When they had to slow it down for the TV it did drag the show out a lot. Far too many fights. Could have trimmed four or five of it at least.

I moved down the front for the last fight, the guys to the right of the cage who were there for Loughlane were the source of 90% of the trouble. I didn't agree with the decision but their carry on was awful. I am so annoyed that this was the main talking point after so many fantastic fights, some great fighters coming up, Rhys McKee, Patrick Wixted, and Dylan Tuke in particular. Those lads brought it.