If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Hi TFGR. I would recommend that you introduce 'effort' into your strategy too. I agree with the 'ease into it' recovery pace approach but keep that to 3-4 miles. Then ease into your easy/medium pace and you can go to either end of that range (upper or lower) as effort levels and terrain dictate. Try and keep your overall pace even throughout (after the first 3-4 miles).

Come 20 miles, you won't be entering 'hard pace' zone, you'll have been gradually digging deeper into the 'effort level' zone in order to maintain the same pace. This is normal and what most other runners will be doing too.

Would you consider fuelling every hour, five miles might be a bit long. You could take a 3-5 min walk break here too. What were you doing on your lsrs?

I see what you mean and understand. An easy pace will become harder as it goes on? Shona has advised to be flexible about my pace too. I suppose I was being a little ambitious! :o

Re fuel: All the advice I was given was to practice and find what works for me. But, I noticed some mentors on the thread were saying we shouldn't be using fuel at all during long runs, so i tried to do a combo of both. I've never had more than two gels and sometimes I'd have part of a Clif bar. I tried to hold out to 7 or 8 miles before taking my first gel. But on my 15 miler I thought to heck with that, I wanted a good run and wanted to give myself the advantage so I took a gel and a sliver of Clif bar at 5 and 10 miles and it seemed to work.

I'm not sure about taking fuel every hour (and one ultramarathoner I know thinks I should take it every 45 minutes) because that's a lot of hours (5, maybe 6) and I'm not sure would that be too much? Especially as the only thing I've practiced with are gels and Clif bar. Not too sure about all the jelly beans and stuff that might be handed out on the route (if people still have things to hand out by the time I pass! :P) I've seen that some people feel the more gels/fuel they take the more prone to an upset stomach they are? I don't know if suddenly taking on loads of gels would do the same to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Maybe try taking gels this weekend on a run and see how you find them, obviously it's much shorter distances but it should give you an idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭MacSwifty

Get the Gels or Cliff Bars Blocks, Shots .................... etc in to you from the beginning even before you start , the trick is not to run out of fuel. What you may take in last miles may not be any good to you as their effect may kick in after you are finished - small amount and often don't wait till half way to start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Re fuel: All the advice I was given was to practice and find what works for me. But, I noticed some mentors on the thread were saying we shouldn't be using fuel at all during long runs, so i tried to do a combo of both. I've never had more than two gels and sometimes I'd have part of a Clif bar. I tried to hold out to 7 or 8 miles before taking my first gel. But on my 15 miler I thought to heck with that, I wanted a good run and wanted to give myself the advantage so I took a gel and a sliver of Clif bar at 5 and 10 miles and it seemed to work.

I'm not sure about taking fuel every hour (and one ultramarathoner I know thinks I should take it every 45 minutes) because that's a lot of hours (5, maybe 6) and I'm not sure would that be too much? Especially as the only thing I've practiced with are gels and Clif bar. Not too sure about all the jelly beans and stuff that might be handed out on the route (if people still have things to hand out by the time I pass! :P) I've seen that some people feel the more gels/fuel they take the more prone to an upset stomach they are? I don't know if suddenly taking on loads of gels would do the same to me?

Any discussions with respect to not fueling during long runs would be about developing your bodies ability to efficiently use fat as a fuel. The marathon itself isn't the place to do that. For the race you want to do whatever will help you run best. I know that all the talk is of simple carbs but if you're going to be out there for 5 - 6 hours you might want to think of bringing something salty along like peanuts or pretzels - there's still time to test it out on one of your runs before the marathon.
    healy1835 wrote: »
    Anyone else started to check the weather forecast for the Monday yet? Been having a little nose at Accuweather :) 9*C and Cloudy at the moment! Subject to change ;)....haven't checked a forecast like this since my Oxegen camping days :)

In before Dubgal here - there should be no weather talk until at least the Wednesday before. It's absolutely pointless and a waste of time and mental energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭runnerholic

BIRDCAGE1 wrote: »
    How are folks planning on getting to the start line on the 26th, with it being a bank Holiday and no public transport that early in the day?

Getting a lift in myself BC1.
    I am wondering what would be the optimal time to arrive in the city for the 9.00 wave start to allow for bag drop and getting into position for the starting gun. I am planning to arrive at 8.30am atm. Is this enough time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

Getting a lift in myself BC1.
    I am wondering what would be the optimal time to arrive in the city for the 9.00 wave start to allow for bag drop and getting into position for the starting gun. I am planning to arrive at 8.30am atm. Is this enough time?

No I wouldn't have thought so. You need time to queue, pee, queue, fret, bag drop. Time passes quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

you don't want any additional stress on the morning. So you don't want to be on your way in and checking your watch every two minutes worrying if you'll have enough time. Give yourself loads of time so if you run into a delay you know you still have a cushion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭frash

Just checked the DART & bus schedule for me and assuming it's the Sunday schedule it looks like I'll be driving in.

Anyone coming from the southside care to recommend a handy place to park from experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

BIRDCAGE1 wrote: »
    How are folks planning on getting to the start line on the 26th, with it being a bank Holiday and no public transport that early in the day?

Hi Birdcage, are you near a Luas stop? That'll get you in on time. The southside one starts pretty early, got us in last year in plenty of time.

Really?
    I've just checked the schedule & the first one from Dun Laoghaire doesn't leave until after 9am

(sorry - you said LUAS - I meant DART - ignore me!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

frash wrote: »
    Just checked the DART & bus schedule for me and assuming it's the Sunday schedule it looks like I'll be driving in.

Anyone coming from the southside care to recommend a handy place to park from experience?

last year I parked on Albert Place East just off Grand Canal St lower, there are a few roads like that around that area on either side, the likes of Percy Place etc which are nice & close to the finish.

Plus 1 to getting in early, in this instance its better to be too early than too late.

Firedance wrote: »
    absolutely :P I find it helpful to write down the things your worrying about in your dreams (little checklist) so you know you won't forget them on day :)
    What a brilliant idea :)
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Did anyone see that amazing sky this morning was out running at 7.30 on Clontarf Coast it was orange and red absolutely amazing ....had one of those ..... It's good to be alive runs..... Loving this tapering not feeling as tired this week and feel the legs starting to enjoy the reduced miles too. 4 miles easy this morning 6 easy last night (nearly fell on an uneven path in the dark ... Phew!) and 4 miles easy tues. Rest day tomorrow and family wedding so off to the beautician now:). A few days off too to catch up on sleep and get the runs done.
    Aw love those runs! Phew on the stumble..... And enjoy the pampering, (and wedding) well earned!
    Clearlier wrote: »
    Any discussions with respect to not fueling during long runs would be about developing your bodies ability to efficiently use fat as a fuel. The marathon itself isn't the place to do that. For the race you want to do whatever will help you run best. I know that all the talk is of simple carbs but if you're going to be out there for 5 - 6 hours you might want to think of bringing something salty along like peanuts or pretzels - there's still time to test it out on one of your runs before the marathon.

+1, 6 hours is a long time to go without food and you're going to be working your body hard. I'd go with little and often. Salty is a great idea too.
    In before Dubgal here - there should be no weather talk until at least the Wednesday before. It's absolutely pointless and a waste of time and mental energy.
    Heehee thanks!
    aquinn wrote: »
    No I wouldn't have thought so. You need time to queue, pee, queue, fret, back drop. Time passes quickly.
    Absolutely! Running late would cause me to totally stress = nervous energy used up! :eek:
    frash wrote: »

^^^ Luas for you guys? Vvvv
    Peter D61 wrote: »
    I was thinking a taxi is probably my best bet.
    Think I lost a post last night....about the post race bag. +100 to the change of clothes tip - everything, including your smalls.

I am not known for travelling light. On a trip to Charleville recently I brought a rucksack (containing valuable flap jacks), a running holdall and a wheelie suitcase....for one night :o
    Last year I brought, yes you guessed, the kitchen sink :D and most importantly, a bottle of Prosecco :D

^^^ Luas for you guys? Vvvv

Nah I'd have to drive to a LUAS stop.
    Will drive in.

Mrs Frash coming in with the kids so she can drive home (not sure I'll be able!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I'm staying just off O'Connell St, so a nice warm up walk to the start line! :)

There will be a pacing Q & A tonight on the DM facebook page between 7-8pm. See here for more details.

Talking of Q&As, I have something else exciting in the pipeline but will let the pacing Q& A go first. Watch this space ;)

For the record, my plan for the marathon is to fuel at 5, 10, 15 and 20 miles.

I ran the LSR's with minimal fuel because it was what people were recommending. Certainly wouldn't do it for the marathon!

Just trying to decide on the strategy for the day itself. Fuel by mile count or by hour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭smashiner

Hi guys,
    I used the Red line Luas last year, the first Luas got me in to town in plenty of time no problems at all. You can park in the Red Cow depot/stop, plenty of car parking,also in Cheeverstown (Citywest) Luas Car Park, or lots of companies in Citywest have staff car parks nearby (a lot of people use them for the GAA matches). Also you can park for free in the car park in the Kingswood shopping centre and walk about 800m....erm... I mean 0.5 miles :p to the Kingswood stop.....I get on there, so best to avoid that stop so :D

The benefit of getting on early at Cheeverstown/Citywest/Kingswood is that you will more than likely get a seat, a fair few people get on at the Red Cow. Lots of checkers on the first Luas, so remember to get a ticket!!

A nice brisk walk from Abbey Street Luas Stop got me there in plenty of time. (good time to test your runners too)

BTW Frash, the bag drop area was quite secure last year, all cordoned off with helpers taking your bags and only handing them back if your tag matched your race number etc. So I would say it would be fine for car keys, phone and a bit of cash.....best of luck.;)
    Smash

I lost a post last night, I know, how careless :rolleyes: so if you've posted and haven't been replied to by any of the team, bump it up please and we'll get to you asap. This thread is moving hard and fast, good luck with finding it!

For the record, my plan for the marathon is to fuel at 5, 10, 15 and 20 miles.

I ran the LSR's with minimal fuel because it was what people were recommending. Certainly wouldn't do it for the marathon!

Just trying to decide on the strategy for the day itself. Fuel by mile count or by hour?

Only my opinion, but I'd go by the hour. Most of all, I'd listen to my body, you might need to top up every 45 mins with something small. The gel/sickly thing might be more stressful for those taking them every three miles (could be as frequent as every half hour) along with sugary drinks in the same period. That's why the salty suggestion could give you some much needed respite.

Hadn't thought about salty stuff so thanks. I'll add that to my list. I have a 10 mile run this Sunday so will take some with me then and give it a go.

Only my opinion, but I'd go by the hour. Most of all, I'd listen to my body, you might need to top up every 45 mins with something small. The gel/sickly thing might be more stressful for those taking them every three miles (could be as frequent as every half hour) along with sugary drinks in the same period. That's why the salty suggestion could give you some much needed respite.

Definitely will listen to the body. Maybe I could do 5, 10 miles and then every hour? For drinks I'm only planning on water, no sugary stuff.

I will try some different things on my run this Sunday. The salt suggestion is great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

There will be a pacing Q & A tonight on the DM facebook page between 7-8pm. See here for more details.

Or you can just ask the same questions in here ;)

No trolling on the FB thread btw :p

Re getting to the start. I only live a mile and a half away but coaches orders are to save the legs so I won't walk it. Buses don't start in time and taking the Luas would mean just as long a walk so I think it's a taxi for me!

Will of course warm up at the start though!

I'm a bit all over the shop when it comes to pacing for the day. I didn't do any of the race series. I missed a few lsr's in Sept due to an Achilles injury. During that time I slowly built up the distance to do my 20 mile lsr in 3hrs 26 mins averaging 6:19 mins per km a couple of weeks back.

I felt good at the end of that and was actually able to push myself for the last couple of km. At the end of my other lsr's I never felt too bad and actually enjoyed them. I think I can maintain that pace, 6:19 min/km, for the duration of the marathon. That would bring me in around 4 hrs 25min. Or should I aim for something a bit higher?

Hi EK , this is one of the replies I lost last night, sorry! I musn't have hit submit :(
    You've had me on tenterhooks for the lasy two months with your niggles but you've made it this far! Yay :) Because of the gaps on the lsr progression, I'd recommend a conservative approach. Even a slightly too-fast first half will take its toll on your endurance. You could start just ahead of the 4:30 group and use them as a barometer. After 18-20 miles, assess how you're feeling and by the time you roll down Foster's Ave, you'll have a good idea what shape you're in for the last few miles. Best of luck to you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

I'm coming in from Swords. I was thinking of driving to Malahide DART station but they don't start until 9am or something, the first bus from Swords to town only leaves from the Airport. I'm kinda thinking now I'll either drive and park on the Northside [and have a nice walk to the start line] or just taxi it in ...feck the expense.

+1 to getting in there with plenty of time to spare. I'm planning on being in the start area definitely no later then 8 - 8.15am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I have been reading through this thread, not that I am running a marathon just yet. I have been taking note of anything that looked like it was particularly useful advice, and there will be lots, I will be coming back to reading again. I had a busy few weeks, working most of the way through the thread, before things fell a little by the wayside, but my god this thread has been a hive of activity since, I have been gone. Lots more catching up, to do and loads, more useful advice.

God luck to all this year whether it's your first or hundredth marathon give it socks out there on the 26th. (Hope I have the date right)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Hi EK , this is one of the replies I lost last night, sorry! I musn't have hit submit :(
    You've had me on tenterhooks for the lasy two months with your niggles but you've made it this far! Yay :) Because of the gaps on the lsr progression, I'd recommend a conservative approach. Even a slightly too-fast first half will take its toll on your endurance. You could start just ahead of the 4:30 group and use them as a barometer. After 18-20 miles, assess how you're feeling and by the time you roll down Foster's Ave, you'll have a good idea what shape you're in for the last few miles. Best of luck to you!

That sounds like a plan Dubgal. I think the conservative approach is probably best alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

4m completed this morning before work, early morning runs are the business!
    Avg pace was 9:11 with splits of 9:12, 8:57 (I was motoring!), 9:16, 9:15.
    Knee felt grandest throughout, it's always at it's best in the morning time so bodes well for Monday week, yes Monday week people!

I didn't get to use the exercise bike last night as I went into Tralee on short notice but did a puck load of food shopping that should have me well covered for the next week. Planning on doing ridiculously little next week if I can.
    Also saw Sicario in the cinema, would recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Lads, ever night since Saturday I have dreams about things going wrong during the marathon. Last night it was that I had no fuel with me, and had to stop at a shop but they had no jellies just fruit gums (those really hard ones that are impossible to chew!).

The night before was that by the time I got to the start line on the Monday morning, I hadn't slept in 48 hours and was like a zombie starting.

I had another where I couldn't find my race number. Things like wearing the wrong clothes. Having no water. Thinking I was halfway but had only run 3 miles!

I seem to be fairly calm when I'm awake, but enter panic mode in my sleep.

Is this normal enough??!!

I dreamt it was so foggy out that the whole thing was cancelled !!!

Lovely 6 miles yesterday afternoon, this is my favourite time of year to run. Woke up this morning with the start of a cold. Was at the chemist waiting on it to open this morning to get some Echinacea tablets u people rave about into me.

On the pacing thing I am proud to say I missed no runs and have really enjoyed the training. I have made up my mind to enjoy the experience.The half marathon made me realize endurance running is not my forte. I will set myself in between the 4.30 and 4.40 pacers and give it welly near the end if I have it in me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

Tried a 4 mile run this morning, aborted after 2 miles, my head was not right, was getting aches in places I never did before, horrible.
    Will try again this afternoon.