Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Country funeral... what do I wear?

• 11-05-2015 10:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,099 ✭✭✭✭

OK, laugh away, and have a go at the question, but it is genuine.

I am a true Dub. I am going to a funeral down the country where there is a wake in the house the day and night before the funeral. Dublin Funerals anything goes, as long as it's not a micro mini and belly showing. A bit of respect, but colours don't matter IME.

I am a gurrrlll. So, does anyone know what is the clothing protocol in the country, is it different to the cities?

I have asked my OH, and he doesn't give a shoot apart from dark colours, but not all black... men :D

I was thinking of a dark red long top and black trousers for the wake.

Then a nice black dress with a white and black bolero (short jacket) type of thing for the funeral. Black tights and shoes.

I don't know anyone going other than OH, so can't get any advice elsewhere!

Thaaaaaanks!!

At the end of the day, as long as I am comfortable, and dressed respectably, I'm sure I'll be ok, but I don't want to offend anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Wellingtons and a small calf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Are you really looking for funeral fashion advice from the Internet?

Really? For real like? Really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Wear a pig on your head. A small one obviously, you don't want to come over all lar-de-dar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

You'll need a guna and a shawl. Pack of woodbine, and I hope you can sing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,198 ✭✭✭dee_mc

You won't offend anyone in those outfits. Wear comfy shoes as there's no guarantee you'll have a seat any or all of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Chickentown

Your in for a culture shock OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭JoannieG

Are you serious? What would you wear to a 'big city' funeral? The protocol is the same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

Dublin Jersey and skinny jeans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Imagine the funeral was in Dublin and then wear what you think would be appropriate for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

We wear more or less the same clothes in the country as you high falluting notion filled city folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,099 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Your in for a culture shock OP

I am lol at the other posts. Great craic.

I hope, sad and all as the day is for the family, that a country funeral will be an education and a bit of fun (sorry) for me.

But I am bracing myself for a culture shock for sure, in a nice way!

Just don't want to offend anyone, don't know the drill!

Imagine the funeral was in Dublin and then wear what you think would be appropriate for that.
    Shellsuit and them runners that flash when you walk on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Dont wear underwear...all culchies go commando and they'll know if you're wearing some...would be a grave insult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Black trousers, a white shirt, polished shoes and carry a small tray in case anyone needs a drink..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Fcuk it OP!

Go as a Thunder, Thunder, Thunder, Thunder Cat!

The culchies won't know what hit 'em

Best of luck

This is like one of them conversations you have when you're stoned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Chijj

Don't be alarmed when you see the barbed wire around the coffin, it's so the locals don't try to eat the corpse.

Feck it, in Dublin anyway you wear what you like colour wise lol.

Heard tonight from a pal that it's all black clothes down the country at a funeral. Jays I don't want to be a Goth.

Chijj wrote: »
    Don't be alarmed when you see the barbed wire around the coffin, it's so the locals don't try to eat the corpse.

I am looking forward to this country funeral for your description alone. You devil you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Not sure if it is as common in the big smoke but the wake will likely be open casket one assuming the person didn't die in a dynamite fishing accident or something similar so be prepared for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,168 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

If you bring a tomato box full of hum sandgwitches a battenburg and bottle of Jameson nobody will mind what you wear

Not sure if it is as common in the big smoke but the wake will likely be open casket one assuming the person didn't die in a dynamite fishing accident or something similar so be prepared for that.

When I die, I do not want an open coffin. Except for immediate family, the rest IMO are just nosey feckers.

I would hate anyone to say "she looks gorgeous" How can you look gorgeous when you are dead, it is vile the way people look at the body and pass comment. Whistling past the feckin graveyard IMO.

Anyway, the open coffin in the house in Dublin is becoming more popular now. No removal, next day to the church and all that.

I think it is good. More intimate than a funeral home, but each to their own.

If you bring a tomato box full of hum sandgwitches a battenburg and bottle of Jameson nobody will mind what you wear

That is sorted, but no battenburg, hate the squares and the colours and the rest of it. A good fruit cake is yer only man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Bikini (black) and heels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Burlap sack, with a rope tied around it and bread bags for shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

What part of down the country are you visiting?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

OK, laugh away, and have a go at the question, but it is genuine.

I am a true Dub. I am going to a funeral down the country where there is a wake in the house the day and night before the funeral. Dublin Funerals anything goes, as long as it's not a micro mini and belly showing. A bit of respect, but colours don't matter IME.

I am a gurrrlll. So, does anyone know what is the clothing protocol in the country, is it different to the cities?

I have asked my OH, and he doesn't give a shoot apart from dark colours, but not all black... men :D

I was thinking of a dark red long top and black trousers for the wake.

Then a nice black dress with a white and black bolero (short jacket) type of thing for the funeral. Black tights and shoes.

I don't know anyone going other than OH, so can't get any advice elsewhere!

Thaaaaaanks!!

At the end of the day, as long as I am comfortable, and dressed respectably, I'm sure I'll be ok, but I don't want to offend anyone.

Your clothes sound fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Wear anything I'm sure the family will have more on their minds than to notice what your wearing.

Samsgirl wrote: »

North West.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Stop treating it as a fashion show and just wear a black dress and black shoes.

lulu1 wrote: »
    Wear anything I'm sure the family will have more on their minds than to notice what your wearing.

This is true, but I just wondered if for instance trousers or something kind of casual (but nice) i.e. not formal would seem disrespectful.

I would hate to turn up for the Wake and see everyone dressed to the nines, and me not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,865 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Snuff.

You can't have a good country funeral without snuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

This is true, but I just wondered if for instance trousers or something kind of casual (but nice) i.e. not formal would seem disrespectful.

I would hate to turn up for the Wake and see everyone dressed to the nines, and me not.

You had better hurry up and decide because it will soon be time for the funeral

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Also if its a farming funeral a peg may come in handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Can't imagine there being any difference between a city funeral and a country funeral in terms of what the prevailing attire is? Would have thought you'd always wear just black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

I am very sorry for the loss even if it's not someone you knew terribly well. Very sorry.

I would wear dark colors, flat shoes and a skirt of an appropriate length or pants. People will not be paying to much attention to what you wear they will be too upset.

Once it's not too wild I don't think it matters too much. Just be respectful.

A black dress once not to revealing on top or at the bottom is fine.

Bring tissues or hankies.

Once again very sorry. xx

Can't imagine there being any difference between a city funeral and a country funeral in terms of what the prevailing attire is? Would have thought you'd always wear just black.

Black is largely gone in Dublin TBH. Anything goes, as long as it's not dayglo lol.

Anyway, I wasn't looking for fashion advice, just protocol, and thanks anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭q2ice

Samsgirl wrote: »
    North West.

What does Nort West of down the country even mean?
    Clare?

A nice tweed skirt, twin set, pearls and sensible brogues. Don't forget to bring a raincoat and headscarf (Not one of those plastic thingys)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

North West.
    The people up there will be so amazed to see a proper dub they won't even notice what you're wearing. You can regal them with tales of the big city all day and night. Tell them of the wonders of the luas and junkies.

No doubt they'll already have heard tell of coppers, since Sean Og went and done a year in UCD back in 2008, so you can talk about that if you're stuck. Or Croke Park. That's basically a cathedral for country people.

I'm jealous of the people of down the country in the North West. What a day for them. An actual proper Dub.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    The people up there will be so amazed to see a proper dub they won't even notice what you're wearing. You can regal them with tales of the big city all day and night. Tell them of the wonders of the luas and junkies.

No doubt they'll already have heard tell of coppers, since Sean Og went and done a year in UCD back in 2008, so you can talk about that if you're stuck. Or Croke Park. That's basically a cathedral for country people.

I'm jealous of the people of down the country in the North West. What a day for them. An actual proper Dub.

Feck sake, lol.

They will probably be telling me about the lambing and the calves or something, and I will nod and say "that's great".

So much for worrying about my attire!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

North West.

Hollldddddd on. You said down the country and all the great advice you got was based on that. Now its in the North West!? Everyone is gonna have to repost with different suggestions, its a whole different funeral up there.

Black is largely gone in Dublin TBH. Anything goes, as long as it's not dayglo lol.
    Wow Dublin is really leading the way. Such an amazing progressive place that is clearly totally culturally removed from all those places that are a two hour drive away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

North-West, eh? You'll need an Aran jumper, tweed flat cap and stout brogues. Obviously you'll be rowing out the M3 in a curraichin. Practise the local dialect by speaking Japanese while very drunk indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭lachin

This op is painfully senseless..... It's like Dublin is a country within itself and the rest of the country is some backwards Neanderthal region.

Feck sake, lol.

They will probably be telling me about the lambing and the calves or something, and I will nod and say "that's great".

So much for worrying about my attire!
    You think they're going to tell you all their farming secrets? So you can take it back to the city and sell it to the Brits? Not a chance love.

Just learn to talk about the GAA instead.

Up here, the most important thing when attending a funeral is not what you are wearing, but that you are 'seen'. Please note this does not mean you wear garish bright clothing, but that you continually position yourself in such fashion that you are in full view of the chief mourners, and be the first to dive on them as soon as the coffin hits the clay.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

lachin wrote: »
    This op is painfully senseless..... It's like Dublin is a country within itself and the rest of the country is some backwards Neanderthal region.

Exactly..its clearly Dublin that is the Neanderthal region :pac:

Axwell wrote: »
    Hollldddddd on. You said down the country and all the great advice you got was based on that. Now its in the North West!? Everyone is gonna have to repost with different suggestions, its a whole different funeral up there.

Sorry, but no one EVER says "up the country". Strange that, now that you mention it!

I knew it, there is a secret code!

What is the code in the NW so?

Sorry, but no one EVER says "up the country". Strange that, now that you mention it!

I knew it, there is a secret code!

What is the code in the NW so?
    Over Yonder