A Country funeral... what do I wear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

lulu1 wrote: »
    Wear anything I'm sure the family will have more on their minds than to notice what your wearing.

This is true, but I just wondered if for instance trousers or something kind of casual (but nice) i.e. not formal would seem disrespectful.

I would hate to turn up for the Wake and see everyone dressed to the nines, and me not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,620 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Snuff.

You can't have a good country funeral without snuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

This is true, but I just wondered if for instance trousers or something kind of casual (but nice) i.e. not formal would seem disrespectful.

I would hate to turn up for the Wake and see everyone dressed to the nines, and me not.

You had better hurry up and decide because it will soon be time for the funeral

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Also if its a farming funeral a peg may come in handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Can't imagine there being any difference between a city funeral and a country funeral in terms of what the prevailing attire is? Would have thought you'd always wear just black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

I am very sorry for the loss even if it's not someone you knew terribly well. Very sorry.

I would wear dark colors, flat shoes and a skirt of an appropriate length or pants. People will not be paying to much attention to what you wear they will be too upset.

Once it's not too wild I don't think it matters too much. Just be respectful.

A black dress once not to revealing on top or at the bottom is fine.

Bring tissues or hankies.

Once again very sorry. xx

Can't imagine there being any difference between a city funeral and a country funeral in terms of what the prevailing attire is? Would have thought you'd always wear just black.

Black is largely gone in Dublin TBH. Anything goes, as long as it's not dayglo lol.

Anyway, I wasn't looking for fashion advice, just protocol, and thanks anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭q2ice

Samsgirl wrote: »
    What part of down the country are you visiting?
    North West.

What does Nort West of down the country even mean?
    Clare?

A nice tweed skirt, twin set, pearls and sensible brogues. Don't forget to bring a raincoat and headscarf (Not one of those plastic thingys)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

North West.
    The people up there will be so amazed to see a proper dub they won't even notice what you're wearing. You can regal them with tales of the big city all day and night. Tell them of the wonders of the luas and junkies.

No doubt they'll already have heard tell of coppers, since Sean Og went and done a year in UCD back in 2008, so you can talk about that if you're stuck. Or Croke Park. That's basically a cathedral for country people.

I'm jealous of the people of down the country in the North West. What a day for them. An actual proper Dub.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    The people up there will be so amazed to see a proper dub they won't even notice what you're wearing. You can regal them with tales of the big city all day and night. Tell them of the wonders of the luas and junkies.

No doubt they'll already have heard tell of coppers, since Sean Og went and done a year in UCD back in 2008, so you can talk about that if you're stuck. Or Croke Park. That's basically a cathedral for country people.

I'm jealous of the people of down the country in the North West. What a day for them. An actual proper Dub.

Feck sake, lol.

They will probably be telling me about the lambing and the calves or something, and I will nod and say "that's great".

So much for worrying about my attire!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

North West.

Hollldddddd on. You said down the country and all the great advice you got was based on that. Now its in the North West!? Everyone is gonna have to repost with different suggestions, its a whole different funeral up there.

Black is largely gone in Dublin TBH. Anything goes, as long as it's not dayglo lol.
    Wow Dublin is really leading the way. Such an amazing progressive place that is clearly totally culturally removed from all those places that are a two hour drive away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

North-West, eh? You'll need an Aran jumper, tweed flat cap and stout brogues. Obviously you'll be rowing out the M3 in a curraichin. Practise the local dialect by speaking Japanese while very drunk indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭lachin

This op is painfully senseless..... It's like Dublin is a country within itself and the rest of the country is some backwards Neanderthal region.

Feck sake, lol.

They will probably be telling me about the lambing and the calves or something, and I will nod and say "that's great".

So much for worrying about my attire!
    You think they're going to tell you all their farming secrets? So you can take it back to the city and sell it to the Brits? Not a chance love.

Just learn to talk about the GAA instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Up here, the most important thing when attending a funeral is not what you are wearing, but that you are 'seen'. Please note this does not mean you wear garish bright clothing, but that you continually position yourself in such fashion that you are in full view of the chief mourners, and be the first to dive on them as soon as the coffin hits the clay.

lachin wrote: »
    This op is painfully senseless..... It's like Dublin is a country within itself and the rest of the country is some backwards Neanderthal region.

Exactly..its clearly Dublin that is the Neanderthal region :pac:

Axwell wrote: »
    Hollldddddd on. You said down the country and all the great advice you got was based on that. Now its in the North West!? Everyone is gonna have to repost with different suggestions, its a whole different funeral up there.

Sorry, but no one EVER says "up the country". Strange that, now that you mention it!

I knew it, there is a secret code!

What is the code in the NW so?

Sorry, but no one EVER says "up the country". Strange that, now that you mention it!

Over Yonder

lachin wrote: »

Please, I did not denigrate anyone.

I just wanted to be respectful in accordance with Regional traditions!

Up der in "insert county name"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭silverfeather

People at funerals are going to be distracted by grief. So long as you don't dress disrespectfully and are there to support those in grief what you were is secondary to how you behave.

Sorry again Op.

Just be kind understanding and supportive.

Dress respectfully that's more or less it.

Exactly..its clearly Dublin that is the Neanderthal region :pac:

I think you are jealous of our sophistication, and in my case a caring attitude to the traditions of my country cousins. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,905 ✭✭✭Bullocks

When I die, I do not want an open coffin. Except for immediate family, the rest IMO are just nosey feckers.

I would hate anyone to say "she looks gorgeous" How can you look gorgeous when you are dead, it is vile the way people look at the body and pass comment.

Local funeral here the last day and one of my mates commented that "there was no loss on yer man in the coffin "!
    Keep your ears open for good one liners like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

A mini skirt and a pair of red hooker boots would be grand.

Up der in "insert county name"

Cannot agree, sorry.

It is either "down the country", or Dublin.

Yikes, I will await the cowpats now!

Bullocks wrote: »
    Local funeral here the last day and one of my mates commented that "there was no loss on yer man in the coffin "!
    Keep your ears open for good one liners like that

Well, you know that kind of thing is what I am looking forward to. You know, the country way of saying things and all that.

I have not been to a country funeral before, so it will be an experience, with the 24 hour wake and all..

Although grief is the same the world over. And I will not be disrespectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,433 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Please, I did not denigrate anyone.

I just wanted to be respectful in accordance with Regional traditions!

You would swear its a muslim country your going to!

Just turn your head a few degrees sideways and nod if you don't understand the language :D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

You would swear its a muslim country your going to!

Just turn your head a few degrees sideways and nod if you don't understand the language :D

LOL.

But really, things are done a bit differently "down the country" than in a godforsaken place like Dublin.

I just want to hear what the differences are, and do the right thing!