Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Farrell wrote: »
    Never know, she may think you're more attractive

T'would take more than a beard :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Anyone know a good place to look for water troughs? I'm looking for a few difrent ones. Doubles for calving pens, strong steel for bull pen and a few others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

That's who has it now, hard to keep track
    A good contact from my homeland and a steady supply of vehicles ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Kovu wrote: »
    Failed :( Worn brake disc and loose suspension bolts. Arsebiscuits.
    Hard luck Kovu. What were you getting tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Base price wrote: »
    From my homeland and a steady supply of vehicles ;)
    Between there, Kennys & Tommy Shannon, they extended the life of many an auld yoke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Hard luck Kovu. What were you getting tested.

The farm van, it's what I learned to drive in so it's seen better days. Funnily enough the fella even put us down for a fail minor for having tinted windows. It was never mentioned any other year before this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Anyone watching Hugh's war on waste on bbc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

The farm van, it's what I learned to drive in so it's seen better days. Fullily enough the fella even put us down for a fail minor for having tinted windows. It was never mentioned any other year before this!!

Even number plates are being checked thoroughly now

Between there, Kennys & Tommy Shannon, they extended the life of many an auld yoke
    Was in Gannons last month getting a water hose pipe for my combo van - €10 happy days :D

The farm van, it's what I learned to drive in so it's seen better days. Fullily enough the fella even put us down for a fail minor for having tinted windows. It was never mentioned any other year before this!!
    Hard luck. Hopefully you can get the mechanical problems sorted cheaply.
    TBH I never heard of failing due to tinted windows.

Hard luck. Hopefully you can get the mechanical problems sorted cheaply.
    TBH I never heard of failing due to tinted windows.

Neither did I! Three fail minors on silly bits and one fail major on the brake disc that tipped us over to the big F. Ah well, next time! Mechanic already has the list and will be done next week.

Was just out for a long walk, lovely night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,436 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

tonights question is, what's a 12 sided shaped called?

Neither did I! Three fail minors on silly bits and one fail major on the brake disc that tipped us over to the big F. Ah well, next time! Mechanic already has the list and will be done next week.

The weather is fantastic considering the time of year. After hunting yesterday, OH and I stood out in the yards/driveway at dusk watching bats flying about the place. We got a good idea on where to place bat boxes if we get approval for the Glas scheme.
    I reckon that most of the time we are so busy paying bills and playing catch up that we cannot take the time and appreciate what is about us :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

whelan2 wrote: »

Dodecagon or something spelt like that

whelan2 wrote: »
    Thankfully my sons didn't get homework like that.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dodecagon
    TBH I would not have had a clue.

The weather is fantastic considering the time of year. After hunting yesterday, OH and I stood out in the yards/driveway at dusk watching bats flying about the place. We got a good idea on where to place bat boxes if we get approval for the Glas scheme.
    I reckon that most of the time we are so busy paying bills and playing catch up that we cannot take the time and appreciate what is about us :(

I can still hear bats funnily enough, love watching them swooping about over the hayshed and old house. I found one once in the middle of the kitchen floor of a locked house we rent out, no idea how it got in as the stove was closed and all windows/doors locked.

Hope it wasn't you and the OH in the lane to our cows with a dog yesterday, seen the tracks earlier and one of our pheasants was missing :(
    Oh! And we had a gallon feeder filled with wheat in the field with the sucklers. One of the feckers of cows learned how to lick the bottom bit to open it and had a feast for herself.

I can still hear bats funnily enough, love watching them swooping about over the hayshed and old house. I found one once in the middle of the kitchen floor of a locked house we rent out, no idea how it got in as the stove was closed and all windows/doors locked.

Hope it wasn't you and the OH in the lane to our cows with a dog yesterday, seen the tracks earlier and one of our pheasants was missing :(
    Oh! And we had a gallon feeder filled with wheat in the field with the sucklers. One of the feckers of cows learned how to lick the bottom bit to open it and had a feast for herself.
    Clever cow :)
    Naah wasn't us we have plenty of Longford land/neighbours to hunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Wouldn't be to worried bout the brake disc anyways, can get a new set of front discs and pads for well under €100 for most yokes now, not worth going gettin old rusty yokes of a scrapper that you won't know if there warped till ya drive on them anymore IMO, I know it was €68for pads and discs for a fiesta, was €110 for the golf alright but that was the bigger spec discs not the standard golf ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

fell asleep at the wheel of the jeep tonight. hit a wide piece of verge on opposite side and woke up. thank god i wasnt meeting any traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

fell asleep at the wheel of the jeep tonight. hit a wide piece of verge on opposite side and woke up. thank god i wasnt meeting any traffic.

Jaysus lad

Kiddo, no offence but you need to talk to a professional about your personal circumstances. I have been down that road so I think I am qualified to comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,054 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Reggie. wrote: »
    Jaysus lad

I've had several scary moments like that driving home after night shifts:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Done that when I worked nights, it's an awful feeling.

All I can say is I advise you to look at how your kivimg before you regret not doing so.

_Brian wrote: »
    Done that when I worked nights, it's an awful feeling.

All I can say is I advise you to look at how your kivimg before you regret not doing so.

just had a rough few days and couldnt sleep. i slept all if last night tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

just had a rough few days and couldnt sleep. i slept all if last night tho

Good that you got a full nights sleep. Be careful bud. Last thing we want to be asking each other on here that we haven't heard from ya in a while.

Off to the dentist now and have to round up the four batches of cattle when I get back for the stupid second herd test. If it's the cranky vet he'd better have a good memory as I won't be warning him of the cows that have perfected their head swing and snort timing for maximum vet scaring and bruising.

(Sorry greysides :pac::o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 vrrv

Is it much bother to get a herd number. Have just under 20 acres (10-13 acres of it is alright land) and would like to get into dry stock as a hobby as much as anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Fairly shook this am. Body only operating at 50% efficency today.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Fairly shook this am. Body only operating at 50% efficency today.

bug? i was up most of sunday night vomiting