Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I sorted out the heifers and calves today. I had to keep 4 because of pneumonia, 2 are fair and 2 fairly bad. All the heifers seem ok but I reckon 1 or 2 of the calves were bulling or close to it. Still bloody angry.

On a positive note, we scanned the sheep today.
    31 doubles
    5 singles
    1 single(dead)
    1 empty.

The ewe lambs were dire, 2 lambs out of 12.

The ram is still with them so most will lamb later but disappointed the inlamb rates were so poor in a good grass year with all at 45kgs+ at tupping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,436 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I sorted out the heifers and calves today. I had to keep 4 because of pneumonia, 2 are fair and 2 fairly bad. All the heifers seem ok but I reckon 1 or 2 of the calves were bulling or close to it. Still bloody angry.

On a positive note, we scanned the sheep today.
    31 doubles
    5 singles
    1 single(dead)
    1 empty.

The ewe lambs were dire, 2 lambs out of 12.

The ram is still with them so most will lamb later but disappointed the inlamb rates were so poor in a good grass year with all at 45kgs+ at tupping.
    No triplets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Farrell wrote: »
    Stop at the scrap yard on the way home so & get the parts

Ah I'll scrounge them somehow :D

whelan2 wrote: »
    No triplets
    There were a few suspects (3 I think) but were too heavy inlamb to be sure so I put them in as twins.

I should be finished lambing the sheep by christmas, hopefully:)

There were a few suspects (3 I think) but were too heavy inlamb to be sure so I put them in as twins.

I should be lambed by christmas, hopefully:)
    good man yourself, I can see the headlines now :D

You're wide awake today:)

When Mary had a little lamb, the doctor was surprised.
    When Old McDonald had a farm, the doctor nearly died.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Stop at the scrap yard on the way home so & get the parts

You are beside Gannons breakers yard. Doogarry. 087 6071666

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Naw, I'm long back in Leitrim :D

I get the feeling you heave a sigh of relief when ya cross the "border" :D

was in local scrapyard last week, loads of northern people there getting parts with the cheaper exchange rate

Hahaha, it's the fecking roads I hate. Why do ye need so many bends? Is there going to be a shortage of them some day hah?

Kovu wrote: »
    Hahaha, it's the fecking roads I hate. Why do ye need so many bends? Is there going to be a shortage of them some day hah?

Naw, but when God made Cavan, he had so much land to work with, he had to pile it up to fit it all in.
    So obviously we need more road length to get around it all.........
    S' true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

was pulled at a Ga*** checkpoint earlier

G: "your back nearside tyre needs replacing"
    Me: "really ? jeep passed test last week & the tester didn't mention it"
    he then checks mileage on clock & checks CVT cert.
    G : "a lot can happen in 400 kms"
    Me : "true G I better change it so"
    G :" agh! good man yourself off you go so"

F£$%ing A HOLE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,495 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

orm0nd wrote: »
    was pulled at a Ga*** checkpoint earlier

G: "your back nearside tyre needs replacing"
    Me: "really ? jeep passed test last week & the tester didn't mention it"
    he then checks mileage on clock & checks CVT cert.
    G : "a lot can happen in 400 kms"
    Me : "true G I better change it so"
    G :" agh! good man yourself off you go so"

F£$%ing A HOLE

Eh what exactly are you giving out about? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,702 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Naw, but when God made Cavan, he had so much land to work with, he had to pile it up to fit it all in.
    S' true.

He used all the off cuts left over from the other counties ya mean :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

All, thanks for the replies. Long story short we broke it too him that Santa believes he is too young to get one and that he needs to think of something else. To be fair to him he took it well.

On the way to school this morning he asked the OH did she really love him, thinking that this was rounding back on the quad conversation she said she did, well prove it says he, how says she, let me have the day off school, its such a beautiful day, think of all the farming I could get done with granda !!!!!!!!

Breeding is brilliant!

S' true.

It's a bit like a feed you'd get at a mart.......just because there's lots of it, doesn't mean it's good :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

S' true.

I wonder if ya got the dept to come out and measure hilly ground for sfp etc how would they accept the actual surface area of land or would they just 'computer says no'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

ganmo wrote: »
    I wonder if ya got the dept to come out and measure hilly ground for sfp etc how would they accept the actual surface area of land or would they just 'computer says no'

Was all chain measured back in the day..

Gunter's Chain method takes into account the profile of the land rather than just a boundary measurement..

http://www.rushdenheritage.co.uk/land/gunterchain.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Any of ye off the beer for November?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,832 ✭✭✭✭Base price

naughto wrote: »
    I was yesterday but not this evening. Since I started taking the steroids for the cough I cannot get a decent sleep at night. 2 to 3 hours at best so I am having a glass or two of wine tonight to see will it help me to sleep.
    I hope the wine doesn't affect the antibiotics too much but I am going live on the wild side and risk it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

I don't drink enough of it to go off it.
    I'd be like a cow that hadn't drank for a day or two over the Christmas if I did

naughto wrote: »
    am off the wine. Any of ye growing a beard for movember?

Yes.

conchita.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

That's who has it now, hard to keep track

Yes.

conchita.gif

There's your November photo competition sorted so. "Weird Beard";)

Not as bad as it was.
    Road from Ballyconnell to Mohill via Aughavas is 1 hell of a windy road, especially the bad bends around Cloone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

God no.
    Herself would kick me outta the bed.

_Brian wrote: »
    God no.
    Herself would kick me outta the bed.

Never know, she may think you're more attractive

Not as bad as it was.
    Road from Ballyconnell to Mohill via Aughavas is 1 hell of a windy road, especially the bad bends around Cloone

Went through Ballinamore today, there's a really huge shed system set up just around where the old railway line ran, must be dairy is it? When coming from Ballyconnell it was on the left after what could have been a sawmill.

Aye Aughavas is full of bends, they couldn't find their way out of it quick enough :D