Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International cricket thread

• Registered Users Posts: 24,846 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Aussies under the pump, 89/3 after 41. Edges being beaten repeatedly and shots going arial just avoiding fielders…. NZ unlucky not to have at least 1 more wicket. As I type they have that 1 more, 89/4… Head gone. 😅

• Registered Users Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭MFPM

Green's century really got Australia out of jail there. Interesting to see how NZ go in their innings.

At 156/5 you’d have thought 300 and a par total was unlikely but Australia are close to that. Green indeed to thank…

Australia 267/9 —> 332-9 and still batting…. NZ with 1 slip, no close catchers… why ? What logic is that ? The Andrew Balbernie school of captaincy….

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Could see it happening OK, they are afraid of their life of Australia, never play well against them. Beat them in the world cup game by 1 wicket in a thriller, but lost the final in the first hour, and have been battered by Australia for years. Funny lot that New Zealand, a lot of people's 2nd favourite team, and a lot to like about them, but they are average every time the Aussies turn up. They are afraid of them despite all the bullshit talk

This bowling is the worst I’ve seen from an international team in a single session for an age. Hazlewood charging the quicks now…. He’s a number 11 batsman ffs….this session and a bit has killed NZ, impressive from Australia though, so many rank bad short deliveries…this partnership only a couple of runs from entering the top 20, 10th wicket partnership of all time.

Still on the go at 377/9. That silly rule where they extend the session if the batting team is 9 down has been enforced.

All out 383… jeez…NZ need a very good rest of day two…. Can’t really afford to end the day 3 or 4 wickets down…. From the get go Starc has it swinging and seaming, be interesting this session… Aussie bowlers looking to have a lot more spice, pace and vigour…the edge is being beaten….a couple of times.

Latham gone early, mega late on that shot, poor batting…

now Williamson, runs himself and maybe gets run out as both batsmen collide trying to scamper a single, Jesus, talk about self destruction. Going by the replay both to blame.

Lost 3 wickets with the score on 12. Williamson run out 0 and Ravindra 0. Crazy considering Australia made 104/1 in the morning session starting on 279/9

Nuts, now 29/5.

some of these shots, 😵‍💫🤌🏻

New Zealand 179, Trail by 204, Australia batted again and lost Smith in the 1st over, 0-1, but well in front. Phillips 71 for New Zealand and Henry 42. Scored quickly but not enough

Labuschagne out now 4/2. Scored 3 runs in the match off 40 balls for twice out.

Bad collapse for NZ, Williamson has been in such good form. NZ really do struggle against Australia...

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭InsideEdge

Feeling a bit stupid now? You can't even spell Andrew's name properly and he has just created history, although you probably missed that the Ireland cricket team were actually playing a Test match this week.

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Debub

Ireland win the Test match - yay

Decent fight back with the ball by NZ Philips taking 5 wickets. They need 258 with 7 wickets in hand. Williamson out cheaply again. Big ask for NZ and I suspect it'll be beyond them but it'd be great to see them win.

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Debub

Surprising stats

Hardly, :)

He ‘created’ history ? The other 10 just might have something to say about that, 😅. A bizarre post, created history right, and thanks for the spelling criticism, jeez

In other news NZ collapsing. It was a challenging total to chase but losing 6 wickets for 128 runs… not good.

Lyon as he has done so often has made a big impact in this innings with 5 wickets. All over for NZ, they need 175 with only 2 wickets remaining.

6 now, Lyon deserves the credit certainly but some of the shots the NZ batsmen got out trying to play to him, jaysus… 😬

Horrible performance from New Zealand. Failed to pass 200 in both innings and Cam Green got 208 for once out. Lyon controlled the 4th innings and Australia were way too good

Green innings was superb.

Lyon scored 41 in one Australian innings. So not too tough out there.

NZ Will really feel the defeat on home soil and the nature of it.

Big win for Australia, capitulation in the end by NZ, Lyon brilliant once again. It's some record by Australia in NZ, they haven't lost a test there since 1993.

I think around 8 of that NZ team are over 30…..that could be a problem now….

their U-19’s haven’t been too good in the fixtures they’ve played the past couple of years, our lads even hammered them in one game.

yes limited overs but their up and coming talent pool isn’t that great if results alone are to be interpreted…

Southee & Williamson have been two of the greatest players in this sport of the last 11 or so years… never mind just New Zealand but of cricket, they are 35 & 33 now and have played a lot of cricket… international, domestic and franchise.

Ravindra looks decent prospect and has a test hundred and an average a fraction under 40 in only a handful of tests….he is quite possibly a great find but they’ll need a few more.

Yes, he created history as the first captain of an Irish Men's cricket team to win a Test match. How is that not history? You've abused him for being a crap captain and a crap player, and consistently spelt his name wrong. Not much of a cricket fan, are you? And not much of an Irish cricket fan as you don't seem bothered to even watch this Test match but spent your time slagging off the NZ cricket players instead. You come across as a really bitter person.

No. He was part of history, he didn’t create it, jeeez 🙂

I didn’t rate him as a captain. His tactics are far too negative and have been shown up and cost Ireland previously.

his stats as a player are average yes, he doesn’t score enough runs or occasionally when he bowls he doesn’t take enough wickets.

I can comment on whatever cricket fixture or team or players here as I see fit, it’s a discussion forum, nothing said here has to suit your way out there inaccurate narrative , sorry :) … and the fact you can’t differentiate between a sportsman being ‘abused’ which is your accusation and being criticised tells me everything…. Disingenuous posting on your behalf, sorry. :)

Anyway, wonder if the English will make a change or two for this weeks test ? It’s a dead rubber in terms of the series being already lost.

But…… It would make sense for Stokes and McCullum to just want to try something different….make a change or two ?

Ollie Pope scored 196 in Hyderabad, and literally done nothing of significance in any of the other tests..even the first Hyderabad innings he was not able to contribute meaningfully…

1 & 196…23 & 23…39 & 3…0 & 0

In the past you’d say a captain was either brave or nuts to continue to select a player who over his last six innings only amassed a total of 88 runs…

English cricket is stacked high with the carcasses of cricketers who defied the hype and impressive and consistent county performances only not to step up when they were given international opportunities early up the order for England …

With the over prevalence of T20 cricket and quick runs, have too many batsmen occupying 1,2,3 in the batting order, lost the ability to drop anchor when conditions and or match situation demand ?

Nothing disingenuous at all, you have a history of slagging off players and in a very personal way. And as for Balbirnie, he did create history as the first Irish man to captain a Test winning cricket team, it's the very definition of creating history. It's curious you're now slagging off his bowling when he is not a bowler. And it's interesting that, as an Irish cricket 'fan', you haven't even given any congratulations or positive comments to this superb win but you probably didn't even see it, what with being so busy slagging off Ben Stokes. Are you even going to bother to attend any Irish internationals this summer or will you just remain on your soapbox and slag them off from there? I'd like to see you make those sort of comments at a game and to their faces and see what reaction you get.

Comment on what you like but I'll call you out for being an idiot when it is so obvious that you are.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 dav45

England needs to change their approach if they want to make an impact.