Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some Gardai were present at a murder

• 16-04-2015 9:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭

and their superiors told them to keep stum.

Gardaí helped cover up the murder of a civilian by a member of the force, it has been claimed.

Using Dáil privilege, independent TD Clare Daly said that an officer witnessed a colleague shooting a member of the public but was told by senior officers to say he was not present during the incident

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/daly-garda-carried-out-murder-but-force-helped-cover-it-up-31147049.html

Is the darker side of the GS going to be uncovered? Forget speeding tickets; this is where it's going down.

Would you cover for a colleague if he'd done same in your work place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭rocky911

bjork wrote: »
    and their superiors told them to keep stum.

Gardaí helped cover up the murder of a civilian by a member of the force, it has been claimed.

Using Dáil privilege, independent TD Clare Daly said that an officer witnessed a colleague shooting a member of the public but was told by senior officers to say he was not present during the incident

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/daly-garda-carried-out-murder-but-force-helped-cover-it-up-31147049.html

Is the darker side of the GS going to be uncovered? Forget speeding tickets; this is where it's going down.

Would you cover for a colleague if he'd done same in your work place?

I call bull**** on anything that woman comes out with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Why did she use Dail privilege?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

rocky911 wrote: »

Apparently it's been passed on to the "independent review committee" and they have it on file>in a filing cabinet

Valetta wrote: »
    Why did she use Dail privilege?

Isn't that what they do when even the dogs on the streets know about it, but no action is taken?

or she just wants to score points

Either way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Isn't that what they do when even the dogs on the streets know about it, but no action is taken?

Either way

It's what you do when you want to stir sh1t, but have nothing to back up your claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Either way

Must be getting ideas from another female Dail member.

A bit more info wouldn't go astray. Is this a murder that no one knows about? Id the body buried somewhere? Is it one thats put down to a legit Garda shooting? Cant be many of those so couldn't be hard to figure out what one it is?

Seems like just enough information to cause a stir without actually having to accuse anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Was it Nidges ??? I knew it all along.

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Was it Nidges ??? I knew it all along.

Only if two of Patrick, Warren and Trish are Gards.:)

Publicity stunt at its finest to further discredit a force she has a personal vendetta against. Dont get me wrong AGS have a lot to answer for but this aint the way to go about about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

A bit more info wouldn't go astray. Is this a murder that no one knows about? Id the body buried somewhere? Is it one thats out down to a legit Garda shooting? Cant be many of those so couldn't be hard to figure out what one it is?

Seems like just enough information to cause a stir without actually having to accuse anyone.
    This.

It's pretty hard to fart in Ireland without someone finding out about it.

Someone being murdered, let alone by a Garda, but by a Garda weapon, doesn't seem like something that could disappear overnight.

Is this going to be something as moronic as a Garda who was present at a shooting was told to say he wasn't because he was in breach of overtime rules or something?

Must be getting ideas from another female Dail member.

A bit more info wouldn't go astray. Is this a murder that no one knows about? Id the body buried somewhere? Is it one thats out down to a legit Garda shooting? Cant be many of those so couldn't be hard to figure out what one it is?

Something this explosive will have to have an outcome one way or another and we will heard about it. The decision the committee for Fr.Molly has me concerned that even if it is true, they'll say he had a heart attack or something. Maybe he shot himself twice in the back? Who knows? Yes, I wish more detail would come out.

Nobody has answered my final question in the OP. Are ye hiding something? :D

Sure if she gets convicted of trespass in Shannon its because theres a vendetta out for her..Im all for independents in the Dail, but when you have the likes of Daly and Wallace I question the motives of people electing the,..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

Valetta wrote: »
    It's what you do when you want to stir sh1t, but have nothing to back up your claims.

Enda Kenny clearly acknowledged the existence of the claim
    theIndo wrote:
    The Taoiseach responded that it was not for him to say why individuals had not been contacted.
    He said the review panel had not concluded its work.

He was caught out denying a recent contact by another garda whistleblower recently, so his non-denial of the allegation seem to accede that the allegation exists as Daly suggests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

seamus wrote: »
    Is this going to be something as moronic as a Garda who was present at a shooting was told to say he wasn't because he was in breach of overtime rules or something?
    Are Paddy Power offering odds on this yet? Put me down for a tenner if so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Publicity stunt at its finest to further discredit a force she has a personal vendetta against. Dont get me wrong AGS have a lot to answer for but this aint the way to go about about it.
    You forgot to also mention a force that has a personal vendetta against her and if AGS have a lot to answer for why shouldn't she go about it that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Another mld wannabe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

i think the reporting of dail privilege is a red herring - no names were mentioned.

People mightn't like clare Daly - I don't blame them - but she is talking about an allegation that was reported to the authorities and querying the progress on this.
    Now this allegation was either made or not.

If it was made - then how can people claim she was talking rubbish?
    if there was no allegation, then she is a lunatic .
    She says the garda made the allegation - it might be under wraps now but it will be pretty clear if the claims were reported or not.
    that is all she was asking.

So let's wait and see before judging her.

are people seriously saying she made up this whistleblower?

He was caught out denying a recent contact by another garda whistleblower recently, so his non-denial of the allegation seem to accede that the allegation exists as Daly suggests.

Not saying the allegation doesn't exist, its just the extent of the allegation or the actually grounds.. ii.e was it an operational shooting or was it some mule with his own shot gun. Thats the thing, I am not disputing that something may have happened but Daly could be using this to spin a web for her own benefit. Things tend to get altered

The thread title is wrong.

She has alleged that Gardai were present when someone was shot. She has not alleged murder at all, even using Dáil privilege.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Thank god for political people the ilk of Daly. What a cesspit the Gardaí have become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Including all the stuff that she was right about, clever boy.

arayess wrote: »
    i think the reporting of dail privilege is a red herring - no names were mentioned.

People mightn't like clare Daly - I don't blame them - but she is talking about an allegation that was reported to the authorities and querying the progress on this.
    Now this allegation was either made or not.

If it was made - then how can people claim she was talking rubbish?
    if there was no allegation, then she is a lunatic .
    She says the garda made the allegation - it might be under wraps now but it will be pretty clear if the claims were reported or not.
    that is all she was asking.

So let's wait and see before judging her.

If the allegation was made, she's asking for details of an ongoing investigation (which she has no entitlement to) in a display of attention seeking worthy of a petulant teenager.

The woman's an embarrassment to the constituency who elected her. Hopefully they'll learn from their mistake at the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

Only if two of Patrick, Warren and Trish are Gards.:)

Your-wan going around with a shaved head..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

arayess wrote: »
    No, I don't think anyone is claiming that the allegation that a Garda who was present during a shooting was asked to say they weren't, hasn't been made.

What people are questioning is her claim that Gardai murdered someone and were told to cover it up.

That seems to be Clare putting her own spin on what happened.

job seeker wrote: »
    Your-wan going around with a shaved head..

She was well dead by the time Nidge was shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Sleepy wrote: »
    If the allegation was made, she's asking for details of an ongoing investigation (which she has entitlement to) in a display of attention seeking worthy of a petulant teenager.

The woman's an embarrassment to the constituency who elected her. Hopefully they'll learn from their mistake at the next election.

she is in my constituency , I didn't vote for her but i'm not embarrassed either. She has done a lot of good work with mick wallace with the garda stuff.
    Without her it wouldn't have come to the fore and those two garda whistle-blowers would have been hounded forever.
    seamus wrote: »
    No, I don't think anyone is claiming that the allegation that a Garda who was present during a shooting was asked to say they weren't, hasn't been made.

What people are questioning is her claim that Gardai murdered someone and were told to cover it up.

That seems to be Clare putting her own spin on what happened.

It may be - or maybe the full allegation is that it was murder.

The full allegation hasn't been read out in the dail so we don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

She was well dead by the time Nidge was shot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

the world is full of complete and total nut bags , why shouldnt there be a few in the dail , keeps them off the streets sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Floppybits

If the allegation was made, she's asking for details of an ongoing investigation (which she has entitlement to) in a display of attention seeking worthy of a petulant teenager.

I don't she is an embarrassment, the work she did exposing the cover ups going in AGS in regards to speeding tickets being written off and the treatment of Garda whistleblowers by the force deserves to be commended by any right minded person.

She has done a lot more in the dail than alot other government TD's who remember all backed a Garda commissioner and Justice Minister who were doing their level best to destroy the whistle blower.

So fair play to Clare Daly for bringing the behavior of the Gardai out into the open and hopefully the force gets cleaned up because of it. Shame on all those TD's who backed a disgraceful Garda Commissioner and an unfit minister for Justice. I will be remembering that when those TD's who voted confidence in the Justice minister come knocking on my door come the next election. Maybe if other people actually took of their Party blinkers we might get some proper reforms in this country.

The only embarrassments I see in the Dail are those TD's who blindly support their party no matter who right or wrong they are and their party supporters who do their level best to describe anyone who speaks out against their beloved party or their leader as a crank, lunatic or Sinn Feiner. It is them that should be embarrassed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

What Clare Daly is saying under Dail privilege may well be very true and if so, as grave an over-stepping of the power of one wing of the state's power as I have heard in some time. But don't let that stop your misogynistic hissing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

this is a huge story

Floppybits wrote: »
    I don't she is an embarrassment, the work she did exposing the cover ups going in AGS in regards to speeding tickets being written off and the treatment of Garda whistleblowers by the force deserves to be commended by any right minded person.

She has done a lot more in the dail than alot other government TD's who remember all backed a Garda commissioner and Justice Minister who were doing their level best to destroy the whistle blower.

So fair play to Clare Daly for bringing the behavior of the Gardai out into the open and hopefully the force gets cleaned up because of it. Shame on all those TD's who backed a disgraceful Garda Commissioner and an unfit minister for Justice. I will be remembering that when those TD's who voted confidence in the Justice minister come knocking on my door come the next election. Maybe if other people actually took of their Party blinkers we might get some proper reforms in this country.

The only embarrassments I see in the Dail are those TD's who blindly support their party no matter who right or wrong they are and their party supporters who do their level best to describe anyone who speaks out against their beloved party or their leader as a crank, lunatic or Sinn Feiner. It is them that should be embarrassed.

Hear hear!

And let's not forget that for her troubles Ms Daly was pulled over and arrested (despite passing a breath test), information that mysteriously made its way immediately to the useful idiots in the Irish media who had a field day of course - before she was confirmed to be completely innocent of all charges.

But yeah - anyone claiming that AGS might just be ever so slightly corrupt is obviously just an attention seeker...

No wonder this country is so f**ked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

What Clare Daly is saying under Dail privilege may well be very true and if so, as grave an over-stepping of the power of one wing of the state's power as I have heard in some time. But don't let that stop your misogynistic hissing.

gardai accused of murder and cover-up, boards right-wingers jump to their defence.

protesters accused of not letting joan out of her car for an hour, boards right-wingers think less of them than the gardai accused of murder.

the right wing, a great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Thank god for political people the ilk of Daly. What a cesspit the Gardaí have become.

Bit unfair to tar them all with the same brush - there's good and bad Guards, just as there are good and bad politicians.

It was, after all, the Guards who nailed Graham Dwyer with a ton of good old fashioned police work.

.....and if an offence was committed by a Guard surely it should be reported to GSOC?

As for Daly, I thought she handled the Fatal Foetal Abnormalities legislation with great compassion (possibly her finest moment in the Dail so far) but this just reminds me what a harpie she is when she's at her worst.

Jawgap wrote: »
    Bit unfair to tar them all with the same brush - there's good and bad Guards, just as there are good and bad politicians.

It was, after all, the Guards who nailed Graham Dwyer with a ton of good old fashioned police work.

.....and if an offence was committed by a Guard surely it should be reported to GSOC?

As for Daly, I thought she handled the Fatal Foetal Abnormalities legislation with great compassion (possibly her finest moment in the Dail so far) but this just reminds me what a harpie she is when she's at her worst.

The problem is that the way these things are brought to light is that it may have happened in the last few weeks, a lot of this stuff happened years ago not in the present day and then everyone believes that every guard is guilty of hiding someone.

I dont care what anyone says, what happened in Jobstown is still a disgrace..if it was any other Democratic country in the EU for example people would have been dragged out of it. But thats a different topic.

The problem is that the way these things are brought to light is that it may have happened in the last few weeks, a lot of this stuff happened years ago not in the present day and then everyone believes that every guard is guilty of hiding someone.

I dont care what anyone says, what happened in Jobstown is still a disgrace..if it was any other Democratic country in the EU for example people would have been dragged out of it. But thats a different topic.

Regarding Joan Burton?

On a general note, I think the Guards have policed the water protests with great restraint in face of some utter muppetry.

I'd love to see some of the people hurling the insults at the Guards go to France and try it on with the CRS or the Bereitschaftspolizei in Germany :D

I think the problem is that these things aren't brought to light, isn't it?

Claire Daly is being a 'harpie' by asking why the key witness / whistleblower in a case is being ignored by the supposed investigation. It's not like this didn't happen before. It's almost as if there's a pattern.

Thank God we have people in the Dail willing to ask difficult questions about things that actually matter rather than shuffling around funerals and getting planning applications passed.

She's not my TD but I wish she was.

I think the problem is that these things aren't brought to light, isn't it?

Claire Daly is being a 'harpie' by asking why the key witness / whistleblower in a case is being ignored by the supposed investigation. It's not like this didn't happen before. It's almost as if there's a pattern.

Thank God we have people in the Dail willing to ask difficult questions about things that actually matter rather than shuffling around funerals and getting planning applications passed.

She's not my TD but I wish she was.

Who says the witness is a 'key' witness?

It seems to me that Misery Lou and Clare are engaged in the female equivalent of a pi$$ing contest in the Dail.

Who says the witness is a 'key' witness?

It seems to me that Misery Lou and Clare are engaged in the female equivalent of a pi$$ing contest in the Dail.

"This is a question regarding a person who contacted you [Mr Kenny] last year and told you he had information on gardaí being present in a room when a civilian was shot by gardaí and of being ordered by his superiors to say he wasn't present," Ms Daly said. "I ask you to consider the fact that, in the past number of months, not one person from that review panel has contacted this person to ask him what murder this was, who was murdered and who was there.
    "How in God's name can a review panel recommend anything if this is the type of shoddy investigation that is going on?"

At the very least - shouldn't this be followed up? Would you agree? Or do you think a claim like that is best ignored for a while?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

It would appear she's been at the Jameson again...

Yes, disliking a politician because of her refusal to pay her taxes, support for Mick Wallace when his tax affairs would have lead any moral person to resign his position, her fraudulent expenses claims, her complete disregard for the safety of passengers at Shannon Airport and the laws enforced to protect same... not to mention her utter lack of economics or reality.

Yup, that's misogynism at it's finest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The best little country in the world to be present at a murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

You would think the embarrassment she made of herself running at aeroplanes in Shannon with that other homeless looking tramp Wallace would have humbled her. No, here we go again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dog of Tears

Outlandish claim from thick-as-sh;t politician using Dail privilege.

Yeah, sounds believable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Yes, disliking a politician because of her refusal to pay her taxes, support for Mick Wallace when his tax affairs would have lead any moral person to resign his position, her fraudulent expenses claims, her complete disregard for the safety of passengers at Shannon Airport and the laws enforced to protect same... not to mention her utter lack of economics or reality.

Yup, that's misogynism at it's finest.
    Oh,you mean a politician in the Dail with principles and not afraid to stand up against corrupt members of AGS,the bitch.
    There will probably be more pillow talk between the Garda commissioner going through her files and the minister for justice to try and smear her after this.

Wish I could vote for her.

"This is a question regarding a person who contacted you [Mr Kenny] last year and told you he had information on gardaí being present in a room when a civilian was shot by gardaí and of being ordered by his superiors to say he wasn't present," Ms Daly said. "I ask you to consider the fact that, in the past number of months, not one person from that review panel has contacted this person to ask him what murder this was, who was murdered and who was there.
    "How in God's name can a review panel recommend anything if this is the type of shoddy investigation that is going on?"

At the very least - shouldn't this be followed up? Would you agree? Or do you think a claim like that is best ignored for a while?

Do you know it wasn't?

She's saying the 'witness' wasn't contacted - that doesn't mean it wasn't followed up.

Also is she saying this was an unsolved murder or a miscarriage of justice (as in someone was 'fitted up' for it and unjustly convicted)?

I think she made just enough of fuss to get a headline, but skimped on the detail that would allow the matter to be given proper consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭golfball37

There's actually something wrong with a country that relies on someone like Clare Daly with all her faults to bring something of this magnitude into the public domain.

The fact no FF, FG or Lab td would be approached by the Gard asked to stay quiet for me is the real tragedy here. We have a culture of cover up and cronyism and no matter how its spun this place is a dump.

Outlandish claim from thick-as-sh;t politician using Dail privilege.

Yeah, sounds believable.

The claim is clearly not outlandish as Enda Kenny wasn't able or willing to contradict it, but rather mutter something about the investigation taking time.

Can you explain why you believe the claim to be outlandish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭golfball37

Do you know it wasn't?

She's saying the 'witness' wasn't contacted - that doesn't mean it wasn't followed up.

Also is she saying this was an unsolved murder or a miscarriage of justice (as in someone was 'fitted up' for it and unjustly convicted)?

I think she made just enough of fuss to get a headline, but skimped on the detail that would allow the matter to be given proper consideration.

Like the clean report into the penalty points scandal that failed to interview McCabe or Wilson... That was followed up too, just not properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I'm God. You have to acknowledge the existence of that claim as you just read it.

I didn't realise that acknowledging the existence of the claim made said claim valid.