Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Machinery Photo/Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I was driving past a local pig farm here two weeks ago and a 120hp case was upside down in a drain next to the road while drawing slurry. No one hurt, thankfully. The cab was pretty banjaxed alright, the top was after moving to the left by about a foot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭9935452

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Lucky it came off the hitch.
    Better a 6 thousand euro tanker on its back than a 60 thousand tractor as well!

Another thing to think about is the tank looks to have turned over in a stream .
    What happens pollution wise of it leaks or os burst

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Shpud2

emaherx wrote: »
    Some lads just film everything these days. Possibly expected the driver to just get stuck?

I'd say that's the case. Deeps ruts suggest the tractor was trying for a good bit before the film started.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,363 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

9935452 wrote: »
    Another thing to think about is the tank looks to have turned over in a stream .

All that came out of ours was a few gallons

• Registered Users Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭tractorporn

I think it was on this thread someone was looking to make up a set of wireless trailer lights.

I was in Shaws in Tullamore earlier this week and they were taking orders for wireless tractor lights. They were due in and the storeman reckoned they would all be gone on order by the time they came in. They're 110.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭tractorporn

9935452 wrote:
    Another thing to think about is the tank looks to have turned over in a stream . What happens pollution wise of it leaks or os burst

The tanker was full of water. The tanker had almost done the same in a deep rut a few seconds before the guy started filming. They were taking water from the Inny beside the brother in law.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Lucky it came off the hitch.
    Better a 6 thousand euro tanker on its back than a 60 thousand tractor as well!

I'd say it would be a few grand to replace the cracked left mudguard.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,057 ✭✭✭emaherx

I'd say it would be a few grand to replace the cracked left mudguard.

Nah, bit of metal bracing some epoxy, some fiberglass and fillers..... Be good as new

• Registered Users Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

emaherx wrote: »
    Nah, bit of metal bracing some epoxy, some fiberglass and fillers..... Be good as new

More than likely a few small lengths of roofing straps and some rivets!

But seriously, how much would one of those mudguards be? Would they hit the €1k mark?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Grueller

A bale fell off of a trailer onto the back of a TL90 on me years ago. It is only a bolt on section from the rear pillar of the cab back. That small section was €190 at the time. I think those T6/T7 mudguards are all one piece so would be a lot lot more.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,057 ✭✭✭emaherx

But seriously, how much would one of those mudguards be? Would they hit the €1k mark?

I imagine it wouldn't be cheap anyway, wouldn't be surprised if some sort of repair was done rather than it being replaced.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,400 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

1k at least

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Reggie. wrote: »
    1k at least

2k plus vat I think, brother mentioned it a while back is a fitter in dealership, their a disaster of a design to be fair, the new ones have reverted back to the older design with the plastic add on which is a lot more forgiving

jaymla627 wrote: »
    2k plus vat I think, brother mentioned it a while back is a fitter in dealership, their a disaster of a design to be fair, the new ones have reverted back to the older design with the plastic add on which is a lot more forgiving

Like the dini. Only held on by clips. Easy to pop on or off

• Registered Users Posts: 873 ✭✭✭mengele

What insurance would you need to govern this? I presume tractor insurance is only for the tractor?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,363 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

mengele wrote: »
    What insurance would you need to govern this? I presume tractor insurance is only for the tractor?

You'd have to have the tanker insured separately. We have our keenan feeder and slurry tanker listed separately on our policy

mengele wrote: »

Accidental damage cover would cover it I'm sure

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Are there hitches designed to break in cases like that, which would still be able to take the daily were and tear of pulling it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

I've been told of swivel hitches being fitted to the tanker side, never seen one mind, i suppose if worse comes to worse and the tanker goes over it wont take the tractor with it. On the downside i hear it leaves the tanker easier to roll over in the first place, whereas a solid hitch might just save it.
    6 of 1 half dozen of the other i think.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaymla627

I've been told of swivel hitches being fitted to the tanker side, never seen one mind, i suppose if worse comes to worse and the tanker goes over it wont take the tractor with it. On the downside i hear it leaves the tanker easier to roll over in the first place, whereas a solid hitch might just save it.
    6 of 1 half dozen of the other i think.

Swivel hitch on the tanker here, and it’s pretty stable would be on hilly ground, to be fair when fully loaded you wouldn’t want to be ploughing around/ turning tightly on steep slopes, you’d put her on her side handy enough....
    Saves serious wear and tear on the tractor hitch though, another great benefit is its easily replaced as a bolt and nut attach eye to tanker

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

9935452 wrote: »

Sh1t happens!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

The latest addition.

Some harm gonna be done with that

• Registered Users Posts: 10,741 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

The latest addition.

There'll be some rock moved with that. 'Ain't no mountain high enough'. :rolleyes:

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

There'll be some rock moved with that. 'Ain't no mountain high enough'. :rolleyes:

There was a 45 ton parked beside it when I was looking at it...was thinking of how useful it would be :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,311 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The latest addition.

Easy know you shop at Lidl..

(Well may she ware LC.) :)

Easy know you shop at Lidl..

Hyundai dealer not too far away. Would be popular enough around here, looked at a load of hitachis and they were all a few k more expensive and anything within my budget was completely wrecked.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

Hyundai dealer not too far away. Would be popular enough around here, looked at a load of hitachis and they were all a few k more expensive and anything within my budget was completely wrecked.

They're a grand machine,I've a 180 lc3 myself and wouldn't part with it. Had the same problems when I was looking for one. Haven't had no dealings with George but Alan is dead on in the stores. Cummins engine in them is bulletproof.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,741 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

The latest addition.

Do you plan to do contract work with it?

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

Do you plan to do contract work with it?

Not really patsy. Have an awful lot to do myself first between pulling scrub, pulling up stones, taking old Walls, levelling out moots, a few tracks to do, few walls to build and a bit of drainage work. It won't be idle for a while anyway. Saying that if I got a handy job beside me I'd do it but plenty of lads out on hire with machines. Would have spent a good bit of time driving them over the years with the contractor.