Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bellator/WSOF/One FC etc events Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Asus X540L wrote: »
    Surely they have enough money to be not accepting bribes to laud up Gallagher as the new McGregor.

If you were offered an extra 20% on top of your regular pay next week for a couple of hours overtime, would you say "no thanks, I've got enough money".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭akelly02

kiefer thinks hes the dogs aswell and also sounds like mcgregor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

I don't see Gallagher screaming for the Bandejas rematch anywhere? All I hear is him saying about how he's "back". Don't think anyone ever doubted he could beat a hand picked sacrificial lamb really. Even if he called for the Bandejas rematch he'd go up in my estimation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

dulux99 wrote: »
    I don't see Gallagher screaming for the Bandejas rematch anywhere? All I hear is him saying about how he's "back". Don't think anyone ever doubted he could beat a hand picked sacrificial lamb really. Even if he called for the Bandejas rematch he'd go up in my estimation.

It's probably the one thing he hasn't copied from Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,931 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I was shocked at some saying he was robbed. Guy got absolutely schooled and he said as much himself. Myles didn't take a step back all night keep on front foot and being the aggressor.
    Only got round to watching the card now and the commentating for the first two rounds was so biased to Queally I almost had to mute it, I was delighted Price won and shut them up (which they literally did, barely even acknowledged his win)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Southdubin6

Only got round to watching the card now and the commentating for the first two rounds was so biased to Queally I almost had to mute it, I was delighted Price won and shut them up (which they literally did, barely even acknowledged his win)

Was literally the only one in my section cheered. Rest were screaming for Queally( but called him Keeley.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Some actual wit from Gallagher. Pretty funny.

Check out @StrabanimalMMA’;s Tweet: https://twitter.com/StrabanimalMMA/status/1100849859823878147?s=09

Some actual wit from Gallagher. Pretty funny.

Check out @StrabanimalMMA’;s Tweet: https://twitter.com/StrabanimalMMA/status/1100849859823878147?s=09

Thing is he's taking piss thinking people saying I'm a McGregor wannabe

I know he is. Shows he can at least have a laugh at himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Maybe he's been an intentional parody this whole time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

DJ 4th billing on a card. When was the last time that happened?

Interesting debate here about the role/ethics of the role JK played in Saturday's promotion.

Check out @PetesyCarroll’;s Tweet: https://twitter.com/PetesyCarroll/status/1101109076707233794?s=09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

Sang is an animal, that card is class and even better it'll be on at a normalish time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

everyone has issues with everyone. this a mad auld time in the sport.

dashoonage wrote: »
    everyone has issues with everyone. this a mad auld time in the sport.

People have issues with people calling a monopoly

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Interesting debate here about the role/ethics of the role JK played in Saturday's promotion.

Check out @PetesyCarroll’;s Tweet: https://twitter.com/PetesyCarroll/status/1101109076707233794?s=09

What role? He's asking Bellator to stick on another fight. What's the big deal?

The implication is that his (undue?) influence worked to the detriment of non-SBG fighters.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

The implication is that his (undue?) influence worked to the detriment of non-SBG fighters.

What did he do to get the extra fights put on? Did he just ask?

I've no idea - the tweets I've linked to are literally the only thing I've seen about it. I said it was interesting, nothing more.

Regardless of what's going on/went on (no matter how big/small/innocuous/nefarious), Kavanagh is a coach. The promotion shouldn't be taking a lead from him, for appearances' sake if nothing else.

He admitted he'd a role in the card being expanded. No joke should have any role or sway to move a promotions cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

I presume he asked instead of saying put on another fight, do you know who I am etc. and Bellator said ok.
    I doubt it's the first time he's tried, also doubt he's been successful each time.
    Chancing ones arm, and all that.

Haven't the UFC padded out European cards with local fighters before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭EoineyM

Mellor wrote: »
    Maybe he's been an intentional parody this whole time.

Could this actually be the case? Rather than trying to make a name for himself by trying to be MCGregor, he is actually trying to make a name by being the plonker that is making a piss poor attempt at copying McGregor. If it is the latter, then fair play to him, it has worked. It would also explain the cringey McGregor impersonations and why his circle arent telling him to cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭vkus6mt3y8zg2q

ASOT wrote: »
    Sang is an animal, that card is class and even better it'll be on at a normalish time.

Will it be on TV here? One used to be on Eir Sports but haven't seen it in the listings in a long while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

Will it be on TV here? One used to be on Eir Sports but haven't seen it in the listings in a long while

I'm not sure about the telly but they have it for free on there YouTube channel which is great.

Love watching Garry Tonon

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lads a reminder of the charter as some of you seem unaware of it or are choosing to ignore it...particularly rule 7

Axwell wrote: »
    Lads a reminder of the charter as some of you seem unaware of it or are choosing to ignore it...particularly rule 7

DgXaxd1WsAAaYlO.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Regardless of what's going on/went on (no matter how big/small/innocuous/nefarious), Kavanagh is a coach. The promotion shouldn't be taking a lead from him, for appearances' sake if nothing else.
    Belator match makers aren't going know much about local guys. It's pretty standard for the international promotions (Belator, UFC) to approach local teams when the are in these new markets. Look at the UFC returning to Dublin for the second show. I've no issue with a promotion approaching a coach to put a few local guys forward for the undercard.

But they should only be putting forward one side of the match up.
    Tazzimus wrote: »
    Haven't the UFC padded out European cards with local fighters before?

They still do tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

The issue is, they only did post fight interviews with SBG fighters who won. They didn't do an interview with the winner of the co-main, or Redzer even though he's the most acomplished fighter on the card, but had plenty of time to inter every SBG jobber who beat a binman.

The commentary was ridiculous, you'd swear PQ was a world class fighter and not some part time dole artist who's blessed to be Conor's mate.