Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Ask €1500 and tell him/her you won’t take a cent less.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭DukeCaboom

Fire up an old picture if you can for the crack.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭minerleague

Not too good with that sort, my IT specialist might do it for me sometime ! He said think about it and get back to him, If kept for beef I'd have her for best part of 2 years and make ( depending on price ) 1600-1700, suppose if got 1K wouldn't be too bad. ( he might have totally different expectations )

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Who2

Is she a full red and white roan or a lot of white with a touch of fleck, most of the real big money ones are u grade easily. 1000 is easy got for a decent 300 kg roan, regardless of grade at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭epfff

Mostly red with white along the back and speckled hind quarters, great grand dam shorthorn, granddam AI sim ( hillcrest king?) dam by lim stock bull, herself by present lim stock bull. Seemed the colour is what he wanted as I was pointing out animals that I thought would make nicer cows but no interest

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭tanko

Stick her on Donedeal for five grand and look very disappointed when when you end up taking three.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Who2

Sounds around the twelve hundred mark, the bit of shorthorn and si breeding should help.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,278 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Ask anywhere from 12-1400 euro. If he baulks ask him to bid you. If it makes sense let her off.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

Some money for non-pedigree stock. idk why lads like them heifers with muscle back ends, any stockman worth his salt would run a mile. Maybe they are giving away a free calving jack with them!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I saw one selling (online) in Carrigallen or maybe Granard a few weeks before Christmas in the normal sale. She was a SHx and on the laptop looked like a R grade. She was well marked/roan and from memory was 305kgs and sold for around €1350.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Any update OP? Or are you gone to Lanzarotte with the cash in the suitcase.....??

Only texted him today that i might sell ( Wouldn't be one for anything rash 😁 )

• Registered Users Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

I think Bass and Who2 are about right as posted above, ask him 1400.

Having said that you'd really want to see her in the flesh to make a right call.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

@DukeCaboom Did you venture to Gortalea today?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭DukeCaboom

It's the most boring cattle sale of the year for me , very little of my stock there.

I don't think there's any panic yet with cattle grass. I'm terrified of a wet spring the way it's shaping up.

Was looking at the prices in Kenmare yesterday evening. Small sale. There was good value in long keep cattle.

Slava Ukrainii

From the bits of it I watched there seemed to be little value of any colour in it. There was an orange CHx type cow near the end before the bulls announced as coming to the BA bull at €1480. She wasn't dirt cheap at it but she'd have made as much dry imo. I thought the general run of the FRx cow's were a serious trade, getting into €700-€850 for a middling store. There must have been a serious amount of lad's around the ring to keep that up all day.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

So I sold some decent looking yearlings last feb off the yard and they were for sale today in Ennis and I’m wondering what would it have taken me to get to that point. Or did I under price them or was I on target. all red Limo castrated bullocks and had nuts got.

1yo approx weight feb- 350kg-380kh-€900 off the yard.- weight today-600kg- sold for €1710

1yo approx weight 350kg-360kg- €900 off the yard-approx weight today:555kg sold for €1510

10month old- approx weight 330kg off yard price €800- weighed today 525kg- sold for €1410

its curiosity for learning. Am I better holding less cows and keeping calves for another year. I know it’s a mart price checker and this probably should be

The prices you received last Feb seemed decent enough at the time. This is a totally different year and heavy cattle are a better trade than average atm. If you had the equivalent yearlings to sell today I'd be expecting a bit more for them.

I seem to remember you're working with average type land. Would they have went to a better quality place with the purchaser? Holding them another 12 months is great if you can keep them thriving without lorrying meal into them. Otherwise you'd be better letting them off as before. The first bullock was the exception as he gained nearer 300kg where as the others only gained 200kg. In a different price year and with a lesser thrive the difference might not be as striking.

He would have better land near the shannon. Our land is very heavy and middling to poor alright.

I'm glad he got a good price. It more cemented the idea of selling at mart as a lad that was very poor and I wouldn’t sell for €650 ended up making €1060 8 weeks later.

but all guess work at times

Lads down in the Southern part of the country have a bit of grass at the moment. If you had a dry farm and you threw a few cows out on grass at present they've finished the end of May, early June, or she be a serious cow early August. Hard to beat grass with cows. A Friesian cow with a bit of growth could make 1300-1450 hundred euro depending on which senario you went for. And it could be all grass.

Slava Ukrainii

I want to look up prices i got last spring for cattle, i posted weights and prices here at the time, how do i do that on this site??

I think the only way of maximising sale value is to finish yourself, it's something i'm thinking of doing myself, cutting cows finish everything myself.

Your cattle might have made a touch more if you kept them for another few weeks, how much nuts were they on and for how long?

I sold before Paddy's day last year and as above, i would have made €100 a head if i kept them for another 2 weeks, but it is what it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Demand really kicks off when grass is growing, but space and finance can dictate

• Registered Users Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Was looking through the bullocks sales in Roscommon on line there, nice run of good quality lmx & chx cattle in 500 - 600 kg, some good prices too. Many were around €2.80 / kg. But anything black or with a whitehead face was €100 or more back on similar reds.. I can never understand that. You are paid in the factory on weight & quality, not hide colour.

Mousey gray colour is also another to take a hit in price, have one or two every year here and they are back in price on their comrades.

Roscommon is a town for top quality continental cattle, same with Elphin. There's no shortage of customers in either for the right sort of animal but anything outside of that always takes a hammering imo. Castlerea would be the best mart in Co. Roscommon for anything lesser quality, off colour ect. There'd be plenty of AA nd HE in Castlerea and therefore it gets the buyer's for those stock. That's not to say that there isn't plenty of quality stock of all colours on offer but it hasn't the same monopoly on real good cattle as the other 2 marts.

I definitely couldn’t finish myself. The silage probably isn’t good enough nor the land.

I had been giving them about 2kg/day having built up to it over the winter. I did reckon at the time, to keep them for a few weeks as they were about to be turned out to grass. but Mam was anxious to get rid of some.

Its a different story this year as I’m in the middle of the transfer so final decision is mine.

I reckon the big lad was worth around the €1000 mark in the yard but I took into account paying to bring them to mart, mart fees etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

Watching the calf sales this week I noticed a lot of Fr bull calves only making €10 and struggling at times too. These weren't the dreebs or narrow type but good square calves (for Frisians). Same day any beef type Calf be it WhX or Angus were making up on €300. Makes you wonder which ones are going to leave the most money to the farmer after