Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

PTH2009 wrote: »
    What team started and what was the score ???
    e
    Team I heard in work was:
    1. Ray Sheridan 2. Charlie Chester 3. Barry Coughlan 4. Micky Wadding 5. Gavin O Brien 6. Tadhg De Burca 7. Conor Prunty 8. Eoin Madigan 9. Noel Crowley 10. Billy Nolan 11. Stephen Bennett 12. Brick Walsh 13. Peter Hogan 14. Eddie Nolan 15. Kieran Delahunty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

1. Ray Sheridan 2. Charlie Chester 3. Barry Coughlan 4. Micky Wadding 5. Gavin O Brien 6. Tadhg De Burca 7. Conor Prunty 8. Eoin Madigan 9. Noel Crowley 10. Billy Nolan 11. Stephen Bennett 12. Brick Walsh 13. Peter Hogan 14. Eddie Nolan 15. Kieran Delahunty.

😂😂😂ðŸ‘ðŸ‘ðŸ‘ðŸ‘👠Brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

cul beag wrote: »
    Apparantly theyve tried to entice Daryl Murphy back for a trial game, hasn't hurled in about 15 years but they said feck it hes only on the bench for Newcastle this season and has nothing better to be at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Deise Gael

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Apparantly theyve tried to entice Daryl Murphy back for a trial game, hasn't hurled in about 15 years but they said feck it hes only on the bench for Newcastle this season and has nothing better to be at

Heard Kevin Sheridan was due to come on at corner forward but was deemed unfit to play because he still had three chapters to finish of "To Kill a Mockingbird"

And apparently also John Ryan is not being considered at full back for the league campaign because he has not yet mastered the basic Latin phrases of "cum se cum sa"

Morrie Wadding however has made the panel for the League because he is seen to have a bright future having shown tremendous strength of character in raising 95 euro in a bake sale at his butcher's block over the past two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

so who won the fight in the Waterford Wexford game since no one can give us the score or team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,614 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

from this weeks news and star

Soky out for the start of the league with a arm injury. Mcgrath about the goalkeeping position 'We are going with a split decision anyway with the keepers.

On the munster league teams and squad selection 'We had a definte plan of two, two and one for games, we were going to stick with that process no matter what the noise from the outside waas or how we were going from game to game. Were going to continue to create harmony in our squad by using our squad'

on this years league 'were just really looking for good performances throughout the league, we think were psychologically able to take relagation if it comes or a quarter final or semi final if it comes. Were gearing ourselves up for june 18th and the process towards that will be giving it everything we can in every league match'

The league panel is getting selected this week and we are due to play a full scale match away to Limerick on sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

I wish managers would stop talking about what everybody else thinks. They shouldn't care but they just come across as really insecure.

Davy was the worst wih the whole siege mentality tripe but McGrath is at pains to tell us all about what other people think as well. Who cares? It's just irritating reading the back patting. I'm happy with the management of Waterford in the last two years but I don't need to be reading about how they're defying the odds or doing things no matter what "the noise" from outside the camp.

In fairness, theres gob****es spewing ****e but that's all they are, we give it so much attwntion?For every one person accosting Dan at a funeral, there's a good few hundred people that are supporting Waterford and fair in their judgement.

any word on the under 21 hurling management team for 2017 ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭The blue blaa

from this weeks news and star

Soky out for the start of the league with a arm injury. Mcgrath about the goalkeeping position 'We are going with a split decision anyway with the keepers.

On the munster league teams and squad selection 'We had a definte plan of two, two and one for games, we were going to stick with that process no matter what the noise from the outside waas or how we were going from game to game. Were going to continue to create harmony in our squad by using our squad'

on this years league 'were just really looking for good performances throughout the league, we think were psychologically able to take relagation if it comes or a quarter final or semi final if it comes. Were gearing ourselves up for june 18th and the process towards that will be giving it everything we can in every league match'

The league panel is getting selected this week and we are due to play a full scale match away to Limerick on sunday

Load of codswallop Soky played in Wexford the other night. More less starting 15 was our first team and half time both teams emptied the bench. Waterford won by few points possibly 5 in the end.

Lads anyone else sick to their teeth reading the cringeworthy tripe coming out of Derek McGraths mouth.
    That interview 2 weeks ago was embarrassing and this week he mentions "We are going to create harmony in our squad by using our squad"
    On the ball boy..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 103 ✭✭ThaiTanic

Load of codswallop Soky played in Wexford the other night. More less starting 15 was our first team and half time both teams emptied the bench. Waterford won by few points possibly 5 in the end.

Lads anyone else sick to their teeth reading the cringeworthy tripe coming out of Derek McGraths mouth.
    That interview 2 weeks ago was embarrassing and this week he mentions "We are going to create harmony in our squad by using our squad"
    On the ball boy..

Derrick McGrath should give up the Management and become a Poet boy..........

ThaiTanic wrote: »
    Derrick McGrath should give up the Management and become a Poet boy

well he is an English teacher lol

English teachers and poets arent the same profession ;)
    Every time McGrath gives an interview he reminds me of Louis Van Gal and his bloody 'Philosophy'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Deise Gael

ThaiTanic wrote: »
    English teachers and poets arent the same profession ;)
    Every time McGrath gives an interview he reminds me of Louis Van Gal and his bloody 'Philosophy'

TT, did you not know, as per mien Fuhrer's interview with The Examiner, he invented Waterford hurling and is trying to bring about a culture change to us traditional Waterford hurling people?

The whole of Waterford hurling folk were really comforted to learn that Derek - unknown to us all - implemented four different game plans in the space of 20 minutes in the first half against Tipp in last years Munster final. Thank God for that. It really made that hammering more palatable for me anyway. I look forward to learning many more tactical nuggets as this year unfolds.

I have also deleted all my recordings of our All Ireland U21 victories last year and put my signed jersey up for sale on ebay at a knock down price as "Derek the Don" expounded in the same interview that it was the soccer equivalent of winning the Vauxhall Conference championship.

I have also read and re-read To Kill a Mockingbird, along with learning Latin, in an effort to become as intelligent as Derek so I can understand his progressive philosophy on that much misunderstood sport of hurling.

In addition my pals and I are also going on the lash in Newcastle next month. But in keeping with Derek's teachings we are not asking anyone for a bob to finance us in our endeavours. I can't wait for how good we all feel when we get back for the huge effort we will have made and I honestly think we will feel far superior to our lowly team mates when we return to clubs.

I also promise to keep you informed as to my daily travails in dealing with the paranoia that I am also trying to develop to help me in my day to day efforts to understand the most progressive and deep thinking Manager we have ever had in charger of Waterford hurling.

Many thanks for your understanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

On the ball boy..

Look I guess youve gotta take him or leave him. Personally, if I was a player I don't know how I could keep a straight face in the dressing room if he goes on like he does to the media. But then again some of these lads endured 4 years of Davy Fitz so I guess they've built up a tolerance to verbal diahorrea over the years.  everyone manager has their own way of dealing with media, half of of those premier league managers talk pure scutter half the time aswell. Then you've got the likes of Brian Cody who rarely gives the media an inch. Say the same thing whether they win lose or draw. I do agree that McGraths interview in the examiner a few weeks ago was bizarre even by his standards. Showed a man very much feeling the heat and knows the expectation for success is growing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

Great showing by the Waterford lads today. Probably won't see so many to the fore in fitzgibbon again. Shane Ryan brace a reminder of another one for the 21s this year. Bennets Curran Kearney DJ and MoB all scoring well. Aussie with only a point..pff. Prunty surely injured not to be seen.

Seniors play Limerick at half 12 Sunday in Doon. Might be a bit early for some of the Roanmore lads listed from earlier in the week

robopaddy2 wrote: »
    Look I guess youve gotta take him or leave him. Personally, if I was a player I don't know how I could keep a straight face in the dressing room if he goes on like he does to the media. But then again some of these lads endured 4 years of Davy Fitz so I guess they've built up a tolerance to verbal diahorrea over the years.  everyone manager has their own way of dealing with media, half of of those premier league managers talk pure scutter half the time aswell. Then you've got the likes of Brian Cody who rarely gives the media an inch. Say the same thing whether they win lose or draw. I do agree that McGraths interview in the examiner a few weeks ago was bizarre even by his standards. Showed a man very much feeling the heat and knows the expectation for success is growing.

Brian Cody = Alex Ferguson
    Derrck McGrath = Louis Van Gal

There is more than just playing styles and ****e talk in common

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

3ships wrote: »
    Great showing by the Waterford lads today. Probably won't see so many to the fore in fitzgibbon again. Shane Ryan brace a reminder of another one for the 21s this year. Bennets Curran Kearney DJ and MoB all scoring well. Aussie with only a point..pff. Prunty surely injured not to be seen.

Seniors play Limerick at half 12 Sunday in Doon. Might be a bit early for some of the Roanmore lads listed from earlier in the week

Shane Ryan Fourmilewater that was. Definitely not U21.
    Great to see so many showing up well in this competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭whiteandblue

Shane Ryan Fourmilewater that was. Definitely not U21.

A lad that I feel McGrath should have looked at more closely, a very good club hurler and seems to be playing well with WIT now, only about 24

Definitely a good club hurler. Might lack a little for intercounty possibly. I don't think he ever played on minor / U21 teams. It's not impossible to break in without playing at these levels but it's definitely more difficult. With the amount of underage prospects coming through I couldn't see him getting a look in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

I obviously thought Shane Ryan DLS was the forward for WIT.

Shane Ryan 4mile I would have had as a Wing Back / Centre Field.
    He was on the 21 panel in 2013. He had a winter trial with the seniors last year

I think it is impossible in Waterford to break in now if you haven't been featuring in underage teams. From a managers point of view, harder to trust someone that thhose with pedigree at minor or u21.

And if you took a leap of faith and it didn't work out, people on this forum or elsewhere wouldn't be slow to slaughter the management for it. That's the reality of it unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

I think it is impossible in Waterford to break in now if you haven't been featuring in underage teams. From a managers point of view, harder to trust someone that thhose with pedigree at minor or u21.

And if you took a leap of faith and it didn't work out, people on this forum or elsewhere wouldn't be slow to slaughter the management for it. That's the reality of it unfortunately.

Didn't hinder Bull phelan

thesultan wrote: »
    Didn't hinder Bull phelan

That was what, 14 years ago? It's completely different now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

That was what, 14 years ago? It's completely different now.

Oisin O'Brien clare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 eastwestlad

Has the club u21 football championship being drawn yet? No East and West this year it seems. Should be interesting. Normally starts end of Feb.

thesultan wrote: »
    Oisin O'Brien clare

There's always going to be exceptions. The point is it's getting harder and harder and less likely as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

I think muller is famous for saying he wasnt rated at underage at all, imagine losing someone like him cos hes a late developer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭ovalu

Currently in Waterford, unless you played on Dereks De La Salle school team in 2008, its hard to make the breakthrough,
    9 of the 13 waterford lads on that team have started in championship under Derek, 6 are currently automatic selections and the other 3 might be but for setbacks. Realisticly only SOK, Noel and Paidi are there on ability.
    Given our current depth of talent (e.g running away with the U21 last year, 7 waterford lads playing fitzgibbon for UCC yesterday etc, etc)
    it's a pity Derek couldnt be a bit more balanced when it comes to getting our best 15 on the pitch ( which clearly isnt happening)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 950 ✭✭✭mickmackmcgoo

ovalu wrote:
    Currently in Waterford, unless you played on Dereks De La Salle school team in 2008, its hard to make the breakthrough, 9 of the 13 waterford lads on that team have started in championship under Derek, 6 are currently automatic selections and the other 3 might be but for setbacks. Realisticly only SOK, Noel and Paidi are there on ability. Given our current depth of talent (e.g running away with the U21 last year, 7 waterford lads playing fitzgibbon for UCC yesterday etc, etc) it's a pity Derek couldnt be a bit more balanced when it comes to getting our best 15 on the pitch ( which clearly isnt happening)

Name our best 15 so who you think should be the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

Looking at last years starting 15 i didn't see any glaring omission so it's more a matter of opinion than fact. Stephan Bennett was one player that i hoped to see more of but that could have been down to fitness/injury. What is evident in my opinion is that there are a lot of 50/50 calls on who starts and who warms the bench. Unless someone here has been to every Waterford training session and match last year then its hard to argue against who McGrath and selectors pick with any great confidence.