Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

blue note wrote: »
    What are people bringing for provisions for the journey? I was listening to a guy on Matt Cooper recently who climbed Mount Everest and he was saying that you might think you have variety, but you can get tired of everything you bring pretty quickly. I'd be going for nutritious foodstuffs, but very importantly it'll have to be lightweight. This should help cut down on the extra petrol cost of going to Limerick for the match.

Or else a bottle of water and some cold ribs.

I was watching your man Bear Grylls there before and he started drinking his own p**s. Meant to be a great source of vitamin and proteins for those on a journey of survival, what with the extra 'time, distance and money' being inflicted on some poor souls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Giveitfong

Directions to Gaelic Grounds Limerick

My first recommendation no matter where you are coming from is to go early and have a leisurely breakfast in Limerick rather than getting stuck in traffic.

The key to getting to the Gaelic Grounds is to get onto the M7 motorway which skirts around the south of Limerick City and merges into the N18 which goes under the Shannon in a tunnel (toll payable). Take the first exit (Junction 3) after the tunnel, turn left at the first (Clonmacken) roundabout (onto R527/Condell Road)), right at the next (Coonagh) roundabout (onto R445 – the old Limerick/Ennis road), then take the second next right (Elm Drive). This brings you to Na Piarsaigh GAA Club where you can park, have a pint and a sandwich and it’s only a ten-minute walk to the Gaelic Grounds.

If coming from the Waterford City end of the county, there is something to be said about cutting cross-country via Kilkenny and Durrow to the M7 at Borris-in-Ossory which will take you straight across the river through the tunnel. I would not attempt to go through the centre of Limerick. Even then, you will have a lot of Tipp traffic accompanying you.

Similarly, for the masochists coming through Tipperary Town on the N24, instead of going straight into Limerick, get onto the M7 at Ballysimon (Junction 24) and head for the tunnel. People coming this way will also be caught up in heavy Tipp traffic.

An alternative possibility is to take the Mitchelstown road (M8) at Cahir and get off at Junction 12 onto the N73 heading for Mallow. Turn right at Kildorrery onto the R512 to Kilmallock and take the R518 from there via Bruree onto the N20 (then M20) for Limerick. This brings you onto the M7 south of Limerick City at its junction with the N18, very close to the tunnel (follow the signs for the N18).

For those travelling from the west of the county the best bet might be to go to Fermoy on the N72 and then turn right off the N72 just west of Fermoy for Glanworth (R512) and then straight through Kildorrery to Kilmallock, Bruree and the N20.

The roads aren’t great but you’ll be moving along, there will be no Tipp traffic to contend with, and you come out on the west of Limerick City near the Shannon tunnel.

As regards seating at the Gaelic Grounds, I agree with the poster who says to avoid the Mackey Stand like the plague, as the sight lines from both ends of the stand to the other end of the ground are terrible. I don’t know how this stand was built the way it was, as the seating incline is far too shallow. The open stand gives far better views and is worth the risk of getting wet at this time of year. It has upper and lower sections. The lower section is numbered 114-125 from the west (Clare) end to the east end with sections 119-120 in the middle. The upper section is 214-224 with 218-220 in the centre.

The Mackey Stand only has one tier, and (perversely) is numbered in the opposite direction to the Open Stand, from 101 at the east end to 113 at the west end, with 107-108 in the middle.

With the compliments of the former Director of Directions on the old UpTheDeise website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

What match ups are people looking forward to seeing on the 10th of July? I know the way the game has gone especially around the middle you won't have 2 players marking each other for the full 70 min but id love to see Gleeson v Breen at some stage (although it'll more likely be Moran on Breen). Both players are physically imposing with plenty of skill and don't need much encouragement to cut straight through defences.

Giveitfong wrote: »
    Directions to Gaelic Grounds Limerick

My first recommendation no matter where you are coming from is to go early and have a leisurely breakfast in Limerick rather than getting stuck in traffic.

The key to getting to the Gaelic Grounds is to get onto the M7 motorway which skirts around the south of Limerick City and merges into the N18 which goes under the Shannon in a tunnel (toll payable). Take the first exit (Junction 3) after the tunnel, turn left at the first (Clonmacken) roundabout (onto R527/Condell Road)), right at the next (Coonagh) roundabout (onto R445 the old Limerick/Ennis road), then take the second next right (Elm Drive). This brings you to Na Piarsaigh GAA Club where you can park, have a pint and a sandwich and it s only a ten-minute walk to the Gaelic Grounds.

If coming from the Waterford City end of the county, there is something to be said about cutting cross-country via Kilkenny and Durrow to the M7 at Borris-in-Ossory which will take you straight across the river through the tunnel. I would not attempt to go through the centre of Limerick. Even then, you will have a lot of Tipp traffic accompanying you.

Similarly, for the masochists coming through Tipperary Town on the N24, instead of going straight into Limerick, get onto the M7 at Ballysimon (Junction 24) and head for the tunnel. People coming this way will also be caught up in heavy Tipp traffic.

An alternative possibility is to take the Mitchelstown road (M8) at Cahir and get off at Junction 12 onto the N73 heading for Mallow. Turn right at Kildorrery onto the R512 to Kilmallock and take the R518 from there via Bruree onto the N20 (then M20) for Limerick. This brings you onto the M7 south of Limerick City at its junction with the N18, very close to the tunnel (follow the signs for the N18).

For those travelling from the west of the county the best bet might be to go to Fermoy on the N72 and then turn right off the N72 just west of Fermoy for Glanworth (R512) and then straight through Kildorrery to Kilmallock, Bruree and the N20.

The roads aren t great but you ll be moving along, there will be no Tipp traffic to contend with, and you come out on the west of Limerick City near the Shannon tunnel.

As regards seating at the Gaelic Grounds, I agree with the poster who says to avoid the Mackey Stand like the plague, as the sight lines from both ends of the stand to the other end of the ground are terrible. I don t know how this stand was built the way it was, as the seating incline is far too shallow. The open stand gives far better views and is worth the risk of getting wet at this time of year. It has upper and lower sections. The lower section is numbered 114-125 from the west (Clare) end to the east end with sections 119-120 in the middle. The upper section is 214-224 with 218-220 in the centre.

The Mackey Stand only has one tier, and (perversely) is numbered in the opposite direction to the Open Stand, from 101 at the east end to 113 at the west end, with 107-108 in the middle.

With the compliments of the former Director of Directions on the old UpTheDeise website.
    Or just goole map it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

Is there a round of football championship scheduled for this weekend? I'm nearly sure I saw it somewhere but hard to believe when the intermediate hurling games were called off last weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

Yeah on the Waterford News and Star they were previewing a few SFC games!

Lads has DJ Foran been called up to the Senior team? Surely deserves another crack after his last few games for club and the county intermediates. Why did he and Harney get dropped off the panel at the end of last season? Harney is another one I'd have time for, hopefully they get a good run with the u21s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

No the football was called off, any involving county players anyway so I assume all games.

Deise_2012 wrote: »

Lads has DJ Foran been called up to the Senior team? Surely deserves another crack after his last few games for club and the county intermediates. Why did he and Harney get dropped off the panel at the end of last season? Harney is another one I'd have time for, hopefully they get a good run with the u21s

As far as I'm aware both were invited to rejoin the panel when began training back in late 2015 but both opted out. Harney may have trained for some stage before pulling out. It doesn't seem to have done DJ any harm at all anyway. Doesn't seem to be a closed panel as such so would imagine he was extended an invitation to train with the panel again alright. I'd be amazed if he wasn't. Hopefully he can have an impact on the U21 this year.

On the topic of U21 are people expecting success this year? Between our rather large volume of U21's training with the seniors and playing Clare 3 days after the Munster final I wouldn't be so sure. We Aussie, Shane Bennett and Patrick Curran who will start the Munster final in all likelihood. Then there's Tom Devine, Stephen Bennett, Conor Gleeson who could all see action from the bench. Add to that fellas like Mikey Kearney, Colm Roche, Andy Molumby who are training with the seniors and probably not very accessible to U21 management.
    Not to forget the fact that the minor team also lost 2 games along the way as well as drawing one in winning the all Ireland. I hope I'm wrong but I wouldn't be surprised to see us not come out of Munster.
    Stephen Bennett is unfortunately not at the same high level as he was in 2013 just yet. Kevin Daly has done another cruciate. Cian Leamy is recovering from a broken leg. Has Gavin Power played in goal since that year? Billy Nolan being ineligible could be a huge blow.
    Thankfully we have talented players from other minor teams, Conor Prunty could possibly go in full back, Darragh Lyons could play anywhere in the backs or midfield. Andy Molumby could break into the team too. Jordan Henley another who'll be in and around the team, maybe even in goals possibly.
    Have they had any challenge game yet with the senior U21's involved?

If I was to hazard a guess at it I'd expect the team to be along the lines of:

Power

Hahessy
    Prunty
    Lyons

Conor Gleeson
    Aussie
    Harney

Mark O'Brien
    Mikey Kearney

Shane Bennett
    DJ Foran
    Tom Devine

Colm Roche
    Stephen Bennett
    Patrick Curran

Andy Molumby, Cormac Curran, Jordan Henley any of those 3 could dislodge someone there. The forward line does look very potent but it might be necessary to strengthen the full back line maybe by rejigging the team a little.

Have I any glaring omissions?

No the football was called off, any involving county players anyway so I assume all games.

Must have been pulled by management. The Dungarvan leader mentioned Colligan, Ballyduff and Shamrocks as playing in Western football championship but they would have players in and around the set up so are probably postponed too. Couldn't imagine Colligan playing without Dunford when others aren't forced to play without their county players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭seananigans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,614 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Tickets on sale starting 12pm on Mon 27th June on tickets.ie

Does anyone knw what way the seat numbers go in the Gaelic grounds ??? Have to try and get a seat on the outside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Tickets on sale starting 12pm on Mon 27th June on tickets.ie

Does anyone knw what way the seat numbers go in the Gaelic grounds ??? Have to try and get a seat on the outside

Which is Waterford terrace??
    I'm short for cash atm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Giveitfong

See my post on his at the top of this page.

DiscoStew wrote: »
    Deise_2012 wrote: »

As far as I'm aware both were invited to rejoin the panel when began training back in late 2015 but both opted out. Harney may have trained for some stage before pulling out. It doesn't seem to have done DJ any harm at all anyway. Doesn't seem to be a closed panel as such so would imagine he was extended an invitation to train with the panel again alright. I'd be amazed if he wasn't. Hopefully he can have an impact on the U21 this year.

On the topic of U21 are people expecting success this year? Between our rather large volume of U21's training with the seniors and playing Clare 3 days after the Munster final I wouldn't be so sure. We Aussie, Shane Bennett and Patrick Curran who will start the Munster final in all likelihood. Then there's Tom Devine, Stephen Bennett, Conor Gleeson who could all see action from the bench. Add to that fellas like Mikey Kearney, Colm Roche, Andy Molumby who are training with the seniors and probably not very accessible to U21 management.
    Not to forget the fact that the minor team also lost 2 games along the way as well as drawing one in winning the all Ireland. I hope I'm wrong but I wouldn't be surprised to see us not come out of Munster.
    Stephen Bennett is unfortunately not at the same high level as he was in 2013 just yet. Kevin Daly has done another cruciate. Cian Leamy is recovering from a broken leg. Has Gavin Power played in goal since that year? Billy Nolan being ineligible could be a huge blow.
    Thankfully we have talented players from other minor teams, Conor Prunty could possibly go in full back, Darragh Lyons could play anywhere in the backs or midfield. Andy Molumby could break into the team too. Jordan Henley another who'll be in and around the team, maybe even in goals possibly.
    Have they had any challenge game yet with the senior U21's involved?

If I was to hazard a guess at it I'd expect the team to be along the lines of:

Power

Hahessy
    Prunty
    Lyons

Conor Gleeson
    Aussie
    Harney

Mark O'Brien
    Mikey Kearney

Shane Bennett
    DJ Foran
    Tom Devine

Colm Roche
    Stephen Bennett
    Patrick Curran

Andy Molumby, Cormac Curran, Jordan Henley any of those 3 could dislodge someone there. The forward line does look very potent but it might be necessary to strengthen the full back line maybe by rejigging the team a little.

Have I any glaring omissions?

There are guys on the senior panel who probably wont even start for the u21s that's how strong we are at this grade this year. But not holding my breath for success. We fail to deliver at this level every year with some really strong teams in the past. With so many lads involved in the senior panel its hard to see how they have done any meaningful preparation as a group. And the game being 3 days after the Munster final its a big ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

I take it Kieran Bennett and Shane McNulty are overage? This is the team that won the AI minor three years ago so it'll be interesting to see if this group has pushed on since then.

The game v Clare could go wither way, if we win the Munster senior final the U21 lads should go into the game on a high but lose the Munster final and it's tough to pick yourself back up a few days later for another big game. For the first time in a good few years with our u21's, I'll actually go into this game not really expecting a win.

Any word on the minors? They're out next Wednesday at home to Limerick. Would be great to have them in on the big day with the seniors. A potential chance to get one back over on Cork who beat us in the first round too.

Gaelic-Grounds.jpg

Cake Man wrote: »
    I take it Kieran Bennett and Shane McNulty are overage? This is the team that won the AI minor three years ago so it'll be interesting to see if this group has pushed on since then.

The game v Clare could go wither way, if we win the Munster senior final the U21 lads should go into the game on a high but lose the Munster final and it's tough to pick yourself back up a few days later for another big game. For the first time in a good few years with our u21's, I'll actually go into this game not really expecting a win.

Any word on the minors? They're out next Wednesday at home to Limerick. Would be great to have them in on the big day with the seniors. A potential chance to get one back over on Cork who beat us in the first round too.

in the under 21 the munster winners will face the Ulster champions in the All Ireland semi finals with Galway vs Dublin (presuming they beat Offaly in the Leinster final) in the other Semi. brillent chance of getting to the All Ireland final if we can win Munster. Clare who may not be as good as previous years will still be a very tough challenge and will want to get revenge on us over the senior win

The minor has a similar draw with the losing Munster Finalists playing the Ulster Champions in the All Ireland Quarter finals while the Leinster runners up play Galway in the other QF. getting through a munster minor final will give us a good chance of playing in Croke Park this year. Dublin vs Wexford is the leinster final BTW. Limerick who beat Clare in the 1st round back in april are supposbly very strong and made up of a lot of Ard Scoil Ris players who won the harty cup this year

in the under 21 the munster winners will face the Ulster champions in the All Ireland semi finals with Galway vs Dublin (presuming they beat Offaly in the Leinster final) in the other Semi. brillent chance of getting to the All Ireland final if we can win Munster. Clare who may not be as good as previous years will still be a very tough challenge and will want to get revenge on us over the senior win

The minor has a similar draw with the losing Munster Finalists playing the Ulster Champions in the All Ireland Quarter finals while the Leinster runners up play Galway in the other QF. getting through a munster minor final will give us a good chance of playing in Croke Park this year. Dublin vs Wexford is the leinster final BTW. Limerick who beat Clare in the 1st round back in april are supposbly very strong and made up of a lot of Ard Scoil Ris players who won the harty cup this year

My fear with the U21 is we will come up against Limerick or Tipp, both of which beat this team at minor level. I don't know how many of Limericks all Ireland winning U21 side are underage this year but I have no doubt they would be a formidable challenge!
    So getting out of Munster could prove hugely tricky.

Shane McNulty, Kieran Bennett, Tadhg de Burca and Colin Dunford all overage from last years team, while Billy Nolan is ineligible as he is too young under the new rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

Gaelic-Grounds.jpg
    allocated seating i presume

There's nobody on the senior panel that won't start for the u21s. Not a chance.

My fear with the U21 is we will come up against Limerick or Tipp, both of which beat this team at minor level. I don't know how many of Limericks all Ireland winning U21 side are underage this year but I have no doubt they would be a formidable challenge!
    So getting out of Munster could prove hugely tricky.

Shane McNulty, Kieran Bennett, Tadhg de Burca and Colin Dunford all overage from last years team, while Billy Nolan is ineligible as he is too young under the new rules.

Think there's 12 or something ridiculous from last year playing for Limerick's starting team this year. The worry for them though is that the senior setup is inctedibly poor, and a lot of them are involved in that this year. Woukd be better off under the stewardship of the 21s management Id say.

Cake Man wrote: »

The minor has a similar draw with the losing Munster Finalists playing the Ulster Champions in the All Ireland Quarter finals while the Leinster runners up play Galway in the other QF. getting through a munster minor final will give us a good chance of playing in Croke Park this year. Dublin vs Wexford is the leinster final BTW. Limerick who beat Clare in the 1st round back in april are supposbly very strong and made up of a lot of Ard Scoil Ris players who won the harty cup this ye
    Antrim actually have a really good minor team coming. Wouldn't even be looking down that route in terms of losing. Just get behind the minor lads Wednesday night and let what happens after happen

Just someof the forwards the u21s have to pick from,

Shane Bennett
    DJ Foran
    Tom Devine
    Colm Roche
    Stephen Bennett
    Patrick Curran
    Andy Molumby,
    Mark O'Brien
    Mikey Kearney

All part of, or have been part of the senior setup this year. Not considering some lads not on the senior panel who will be looking for a spot; Peter Hogan, Cormac Curran. Sure not all have to play in the forwards but 9 Into 6 doesn't go. There will be huge competition for places

Just some of the forwards the u21s have to pick from,

Shane Bennett
    DJ Foran
    Tom Devine
    Colm Roche
    Stephen Bennett
    Patrick Curran
    Andy Molumby,
    Mark O'Brien
    Mikey Kearney

All part of, or have been part of the senior setup this year. Not considering some lads not on the senior panel who will be close to a starting spot; Peter Hogan, Cormac Curran, Shane Ryan. Sure not all have to play in the forwards but 11 Into 6 doesn't go. That's assuming the likes of Austin Gleeson, Harney and Conor Gleeson aren't deployed as forwards. There will be huge competition for places

Obviously they won't be. They will be shifting it around to make room. Harney will be doing well to start anywhere other than corner back Id say. Molumby might not start, he's the only one I think you might be right on. The rest will all start.

Don't think Harney has ever played corner back for Waterford. Would imagine he is likely to feature as a wing back.
    As for your assertation that no senior panellist will be on the bench for the U21's; Mikey Kearney was a sub for the game against Cork last year despite having been on the senior panel all year. So it certainly can happen.

Don't think Harney has ever played corner back for Waterford. Would imagine he is likely to feature as a wing back.
    As for your assertation that no senior panellist will be on the bench for the U21's; Mikey Kearney was a sub for the game against Cork last year despite having been on the senior panel all year. So it certainly can happen.

There was 14 lads on the Senior panel though last year, is it 10 this year? Might be totally wrong but did he get injured not long before that game?

No no injury at the time as it was a little surprising at the time. He did start against Clare the next day and I'd be pretty confident he'll start this year but there will be some big decisions to be made like that. Molumby could lose out, or Mark O'Brien who is also training with seniors. Hard to call without having any idea where they see certain players playing. I'd be amazed if Aussie and Conor Gleeson weren't in the backs. They'll be vital in protecting what could be a weak full back line potentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭thesultan

Welcome to the Waterford GAA discussion thread.

Is it only Marty og and Austin Flynn left from 59 team?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭crottys lake

If Molumby loses out we must have some team !!!!! I wonder will Jack Fagan be back from injury, looks a cert to start by the way he was going with the seniors before his mishap, some prospect.