If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

And you didn't even call in and say hi :P

Nah sure i was only out around the jack lynch tunnel and headed back :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Nah sure i was only out around the jack lynch tunnel and headed back :P

Sure that's where I fecking live ya gowl :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Sure that's where I fecking live ya gowl :pac:

oopsies :pac: ah sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Granted it's an old video looks like it's from early 2000's. Still they give these cars some serious abuse during testing.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=4PiwNWZsiM0

Covered approximately 750 kilometers in the last 36 hours (two days of 13hours constant driving, with a snooze in the middle) and not so much as a whimper out of her!

DSC_0015_2.jpg

All on a single fill of petrol, too. I didn't think it'd be able to. I think I love this car. I even had a comfortable sleep in the back in a makeshift bed. Is there anything it can't do!? :eek:

*Note: the figures here may be slightly makey-uppy, but I think they're pretty accurate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Nice, yet another estate!

What engine is in that wonder wagon KKV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Nice, yet another estate!

What engine is in that wonder wagon KKV?

Through the magic of interwebs, I got the answer for you. :pac:

1.6 Zetec 100hp, 145nm torque

That's some driving anyway.

If memory serves me 750km would be the width of Ireland twice and then some

Covered approximately 750 kilometers in the last 36 hours (two days of 13hours constant driving, with a snooze in the middle) and not so much as a whimper out of her!.........

26 hours to cover 750kms?
    That's some driving anyway.

If memory serves me 750km would be the width of Ireland twice and then some

Cork to Belfast return is more (nearly 850kms) and less than 10 hours including grub stops :)

Awful spin.

So they already tried jumping the 5 along with tapping the starter to see if it'd kick, no luck. I have someone coming down with INPA on Wednesday evening to plug it in and see if there's any codes as the non INPA computer they used didn't see any faults.

Is it the bodyshop that's trying to sort the starting issue?

As gvidor says, t'is the 1.6 petrol engine. I expected it to be a slight bit thirstier than it turned out to be (I expected it to be a lot thirstier, to be honest, so I'm relieved and delighted).

Augeo wrote: »
    26 hours to cover 750kms?

It was photography work, so it was going A > B > C > D etc. making stops along the route constantly. The longest "A > B" drive was 45 mins, I think, with the average being about 15-20 minutes. Mostly backroads and N roads.

I got the tints put on it there on Friday, and they make a world of difference (I needed them as I kinda knew I was going to end up sleeping in it). It's a comfortable car (in ever way). Can't think of much to fault on it (I'm sure the NCT will, though, in July! :( ).

My plan was to spend as little as I could on any old banger of a car, and then get rid after 6 months, but truth be told, i think I'll be holding onto this until it dies on me. I'm shocked at how much I've taken to it :D

Cork to Belfast return is more (nearly 850kms) and less than 10 hours including grub stops :)

Awful spin.

Ah I couldn't stick something like that. Hate spending long periods of time driving or even being in a car on motorways. Not so much on minor roads because there is usually stuff to look at, but motorways....don't start me.

I do North Dublin to Rosslare regularly enough and it takes a lot of will power to keep doing it :o

My plan was to spend as little as I could on any old banger of a car, and then get rid after 6 months, but truth be told, i think I'll be holding onto this until it dies on me. I'm shocked at how much I've taken to it :D

It's great when you can say something like that about your car. I couldn't imagine life without Bishop (my corolla estate) tbh

I plan on never selling it, ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

washed my car and put it up on donedeal, looking for an e36 next

SAM_1560.jpg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1998-toyota-mr2-factory-purple-taxed-and-nctd/8934495

any comments about the ad are welcome :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Pity no real tracks in the west, my idea of the perfect trackday car for the weekend, more reliable and less likely to bite your head off than the turbo

davycc wrote: »
    any comments about the ad are welcome :-)

...... TAXED AND NCTD

until when ?

...... TAXED AND NCTD

until when ?

nct this june and taxed til end of this apr;)

davycc wrote: »
    nct this june and taxed til end of this apr;)

There's a space for the NCT expiry that's currently blank in the donedeal add :)
    As it's blank people will presume the expiry is imminent, why not save people the hassle of asking you and inlcude the info in the add.

No interior pics would suggest the interior is less than clean imo.

The poor paintwork, short NCT and no interior pics make the asking price look very very steep imo.

Pity no real tracks in the west, my idea of the perfect trackday car for the weekend, more reliable and less likely to bite your head off than the turbo

yea very popular and cabaple trackday cars even make average pilots like myself feel like a driving god:D

The poor paintwork, short NCT and no interior pics make the asking price look very very steep imo.

Not so much for an original Irish if you ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Good to see the bangernomic Focus is going well. I'd heard from someone that the 1.6's were quite thirsty but I guess not!

Davy, can't really fault your ad, inside the all important sub €2k bracket too! :D

the interior is in very good condition i literally could not zoom the camera in enough i was using to today..
    the price is fair and im expecting a lot of hagglers so trying to counter that.

good point about me including the nct and tax expiry dates i will edit that info in

its an original dublin car from new in cosmos blue(purple)

a very very rare colour only available on revision 5 models like mine , only 2cars this colour in ireland ,

a mountain of main dealer service bills and every previous nct cert and pass sheet,

it will go to a mr2 enthuasist most likely who appreciates its originality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Is it the bodyshop that's trying to sort the starting issue?

It's in the bodyshop alright but there's a mechanic right next door that keeps taking a look, trying to keep costs down so trying to not make use of a Transporter :pac:

INPA is coming Wednesday evening so hopefully that'll point us in the right direction. Otherwise it's electrical nightmare time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

The euro/pound is dire at the moment. Would almost make bringing a car in unfeasible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

The euro/pound is dire at the moment. Would almost make bringing a car in unfeasible!

Yup was looking at goodyear eagle F1's for 320 sterling for a set of 4x 225/40/R18 earlier.

520+ euros Posted.

Still better than most places over here though

Paypal conversion rate is like 1 euro = 68 pence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I like the mr2. I don't think you are a million miles away price wise, provided you know you will be waiting a long time for a sale as interest in cars like that must be at an all time low.

If i were you i'd try get it in for an early test, easier said than done i know but if it had a years test it would make the car and price tag a lot more palatable imo.

I know when i was shopping for the celica recently i didn't even consider cars with a short test as i assumed and 15-20 year old 'sports car' with a small test was going to be trouble. I also new i could haggle the pants off of people because of their general undesirability, genuine buyers are few and far between.

it's a lovely car and i hope the sale is painless but do you mind me asking, why an e36?

u hear you lads about the short nct lads and as unbelievable as it sounds i have kind of lost interest in her and wouldnt be bothered putting the standard exhaust and cat back on for the next test..

went looking at 3 differrent e36s over the last few days all mtec 318is silver ,blue and turquise green colour..
    kind of have my heart set on the green one and all going well ill have it for the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

You'd be better off with a 320 IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Unless you need the seats you'd be better off with the MR2 tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Im after taking two chunks out of my BBS rear drivers side wheel....****ing roundabouts in my new apartment complex are tiny, and high sides rough stone yokes. Knew it had been tight when I've come in before, and now it happened.

Absolutely gutted.....:mad::o:(:(:(