Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you play an instrument?

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Clarinet, recorder and tin whistle.

I haven't played the clarinet in years, and I've gotten really rusty at it, almost forgotten how to read music. I really regret not keeping up with it more.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Bodhran. I dont know if that even counts :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Play(ed) guitar. Got really fcking good at one stage, but play far too infrequently now and anytime I pick it up it just irritates me that I'm so rusty. Must just stick it out and get back into playing regularly. Used to happily play away for hours at one stage and feel as mentally refreshed as if I'd taken a good solid 10 hour sleep afterwards.

Would love to play violin. Bought one. It hurts my face though. The way you have to hold it. Gonna try and invent my own non-face hurting way of holding it I think.

Have a keyboard. But it's a cheapo one. Can play a little, but really want to get a proper one with weighted keys. I think I'll do just that.

Can play a couple of tunes on the recorder. What an awful sounding instrument. Who the fvck invented that thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

This is a thread about music.

So no. No it doesn't count.

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭ROAAAR

That's certainly one way to sex up the thin whistle!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,761 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I picked up the guitar once.

And put it back down again...

• Registered Users Posts: 22,233 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Classical guitar to degree level. Also rocky bluesy jazzy stuff on electric. Pro/semi-pro for quite a few years. Also bouzouki, and trad flute, although I'd be better described as a flute owner than a flute player. Tin whistle. Can bluff on piano. Mess about a bit on mandolin. Have recently acquired a guitalele. Sure I can play the tiny little fecker, but can't figure out how to hold it...

Nope. 'Fraid not. Marks for effort though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭AlteredStates

Not to harp on about it.. but I love sax, playing with flutes (seems to be pop here) and partial to a bit of fiddle / triangle. Fav tho has to be the French horn :rolleyes:

So yes I love playing with instruments.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Stopped playing guitar due to my g-string breaking while fingering a minor.

Was one of a kind.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Nope, but really wish I could. :(

What's stopping you?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

endacl wrote: »
    What's stopping you?

Ha, I think I'm prob past learning from scratch at 27!

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭obriendj

I have been playing Guitar on and off the last few years. I am ok but can't seem to step up to playing songs in full. perhaps i need some professional lessons but must say youtube is brilliant!!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,993 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Me hole. I've a student at the moment who picked up the guitar at 53. Three years in and he's flying along. Think about it. By the time you're the age he was when he started, you'll have been playing for 26 years.

obriendj wrote: »
    I have been playing Guitar on and off the last few years. I am ok but can't seem to step up to playing songs in full. perhaps i need some professional lessons but must say youtube is brilliant!!

YouTube won't spot the simple little change that's holding you back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Whistle, flute, uillean pipes (constantly learning, but getting there)

Guitar (badly)

Oh and the Banjo obviously.

I only started in my 30s

It's definitely never too late

endacl wrote: »
    YouTube won't spot the simple little change that's holding you back...

But if I go to professional lessons - I will be lambasted for all my bad habits.
    - Only use my thumb and first finger to play
    - Not using a pic
    - Also I think i move my wrist more than I should

If I had to correct that it would be like starting all again.

But if I go to professional lessons - I will be lambasted for all my bad habits.
    - Not using a pic

No it wouldn't. It'd be adjusting things as you progress.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Bass. Easier to play than a guitar, harder to master ;)

.....haven't got round to the master bit yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Magnate

- Not using a pic

I'm pretty much the same way as you, self taught but don't use a pick. Strum with thumb & first finger for chords but play fingerstyle normally. Nothing wrong with moving your wrist a lot, sure look at Rodrigo y Gabriela :P

My point is it's okay to have your own unique style and that may not necessarily be what's limiting you.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,501 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Bass. Self taught and been playing 14 years and am considered by my peers to be rather good. The reality is that I'm actually pretty bad and pretty damn talentless, but do the best I can to hide that fact. My knowledge of music theory is dodgy at best, overall technique has enormous holes and my ability to improvise is based on one simple blues pattern played in slightly different ways. I don't practise nearly as much as I should. My live tone is awesome though, but that's just down to the equipment I paid money for.

I really mean it when I say it; If I can play an instrument to a proficient level, anybody can.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Im either a very very talented musician or very very average.
    I can sorta play loadsa instruments but would only consider myself good on one -................... ukulele.
    Im an ok guitarist. Grand for crunching out sing alongs at a party...'Youre my wonder wallllllllllllllll!!!!"

Can bang out a few piano chords
    Can play harmonica about as well as Bob Dylan...so not great
    Can wrestle out a tune or a few chords on banjo and mandolin as they are tuned the same.
    Ok on bodhran in a pub session
    Ok on spoons...yeah...spoons.
    Can kinda drum
    Ok singer

National school level tin whistle...The dawning of the day...

But deadly on......ukulele;)

Oh yeah. Wonderful kazoo player!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Whistle, flute, uillean pipes (constantly learning, but getting there)

Guitar (badly)

Oh and the Banjo obviously.
    I still have my grandfather's full set of chanters stored away.

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    I still have my grandfather's full set of chanters stored away.

Get them out. Somebody should be playing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭Aphex

Playing guitar about 18 years now.
    I'm currently learning to play piano and read sheet music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

I play the classical & acoustic guitar, have done for years but I find the classical much better. Still learning as I go though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 936 ✭✭✭JaseBelleVie

Yep. Guitar (electric and acoustic) mainly. But I've also tried my hand at and been pretty ok at bass guitar, piano and the flute.

Have actually tried to relive my teenage years recently and formed a band with my friends again. It's a lot of fun, especially seeing as we're no longer relying on lifts from our parents to get to practice!