Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Delhi rapist says victim shouldn't have fought back

• 03-03-2015 7:11am
    Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭

Some of the quotes.
    "A decent girl won't roam around at nine o'clock at night. A girl is far more responsible for rape than a boy," he said.

"Housework and housekeeping is for girls, not roaming in discos and bars at night doing wrong things, wearing wrong clothes. About 20% of girls are good."

People "had a right to teach them a lesson" he suggested - and he said the woman should have put up with it.

"When being raped, she shouldn't fight back. She should just be silent and allow the rape. Then they'd have dropped her off after 'doing her', and only hit the boy," he said.

Chillingly, he went on: "The death penalty will make things even more dangerous for girls. Now when they rape, they won't leave the girl like we did. They will kill her. Before, they would rape and say, 'Leave her, she won't tell anyone.' Now when they rape, especially the criminal types, they will just kill the girl. Death."
    I spoke to two lawyers who had defended the murderers of the 23-year-old student at their trial, and what they said was extremely revealing.

"In our society, we never allow our girls to come out from the house after 6:30 or 7:30 or 8:30 in the evening with any unknown person," said one of the lawyers, ML Sharma.

"You are talking about man and woman as friends. Sorry, that doesn't have any place in our society. We have the best culture. In our culture, there is no place for a woman."

The other lawyer, AP Singh, had said in a previous televised interview: "If my daughter or sister engaged in pre-marital activities and disgraced herself and allowed herself to lose face and character by doing such things, I would most certainly take this sort of sister or daughter to my farmhouse, and in front of my entire family, I would put petrol on her and set her alight."

He did not disown that comment when I put it to him. "This is my stand," he said. "I still today stand on that reply.
    One of the men I interviewed, Gaurav, had raped a five-year-old girl. I spent three hours filming his interview as he recounted in explicit detail how he had pulled her knickers off but left her dress on, muffled her screams with his big hand, but left her nose free to breathe.

He described, in vivid detail, the child's huge terrified eyes and casually pointed out that "she didn't even know what was being inserted".

He was sitting throughout the interview and had a half-smile playing on his lips throughout - his nervousness in the presence of a camera, perhaps. At one point I asked him to tell me how tall she was. He stood up, and with his eerie half-smile indicated a height around his knees.

When I asked him how he could cross the line from imagining what he wanted to do, to actually doing it - given her height, her eyes, her screams - he looked at me as though I was crazy for even asking the question and said: "She was beggar girl. Her life was of no value."

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-31698154

Nothing surprises me anymore about this country. Absolutely pathetic people waste so much oxygen, not regretting killing a woman after raping her is just lowest of low. I wished that Interview person just shot him.

Person who has no regret killing a woman, person who thinks its ok to rape a 5 year old because she is beggar's kid and no value for her life and a lawyer who think it's ok to kill girl who roams around after 7.

Read about this elsewhere, the death penalty would be too kind for these evil rapists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

India is like many other countries in South Asia where there is a genuine belief that when women get raped that they're the ones that are responsible for it becuase of the way the dress or that they shouldn't of been outside so late. It's sick really.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Lesson one in "Why I Will Never Go To India".

They declared dolphins non-human people not too long ago. If only they'd do something similar for women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Zippie84

Disgusting mentality.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Not defending these scumbags but people here have very short memories, wasn't even a generation ago that Irish people pretty much thought the same way.
    Women who were raped were blamed and fecked into prison laundries with a life sentence and their baby sold off, wives couldn't be raped by their husbands, single mothers were shamed by their community, women were subjected to sympysiotomies lest a csection prevent them from having unlimited amounts of children, babies and mothers died from neglect and were thrown into a purpose made concrete disposal room rather than bury them properly (Tuam).
    Even today rapists get a slap on the hand and its not taken that seriously by the courts. I don't think we're in any position to judge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

^^ What tosh^^

We need to screen people coming from these countries more stringently.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Not defending these scumbags but people here have very short memories, wasn't even a generation ago that Irish people pretty much thought the same way.
    Women who were raped were blamed and fecked into prison laundries with a life sentence and their baby sold off, wives couldn't be raped by their husbands, single mothers were shamed by their community, women were subjected to sympysiotomies lest a csection prevent them from having unlimited amounts of children, babies and mothers died from neglect and were thrown into a purpose made concrete disposal room rather than bury them properly (Tuam).
    Even today rapists get a slap on the hand and its not taken that seriously by the courts. I don't think we're in any position to judge.

He who has not sinned eh? What a load of bollocks. It wasn't our fault that stuff happened. A lot of it was a case of society being blindly led by a perceived elite. For the most part things are a lot different here in society for the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Right Turn Clyde

That's absolute rubbish. Yes, Ireland has a horrendous track record in some areas, and that should never be whitewashed, but read over those quoted remarks again and try arguing that Irish people used to think the same way. Sensationalist bollocks.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I think it's possible to think both situations are horrific. The fact that Ireland had a history of mistreatment of women in this regard does not mean that irish people cant criticise the culture in india which allows this to happen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

And to think of how many Irish girls go travelling India, some on their own

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

That's absolute rubbish. Yes, Ireland has a horrendous track record in some areas, and that should never be whitewashed, but read over those quoted remarks again and try arguing that Irish people used to think the same way. Sensationalist bollocks.

Agreed. There are many people who are still in 1800s. It would be much more useful if Government takes some measure to educate people, not just kids but also the grown ups/parents.

Also this mentality is more with backward people and uneducated ones which is huge in India. I live in Bangalore and don't encounter many people with such **** mentality.

The fact that Ireland had a history of mistreatment of women in this regard does not mean that irish people cant criticise the culture in india which allows this to happen.

I agree. And just because India has its own considerable problems, doesn't mean it wasn't entitle to condemn Ireland for the death of Savita Halappanavar (which it did do). Human Rights should always be aspirational. Countries should always be able to hold each to a higher standard, despite their own issues, because it increases the standard for everyone. I seem to remember some Irish people getting their knickers in a twist when the representatives of some Middle Eastern country were criticising our prison system, despite the standard of their own dungeons back home. But everyone missed the point. You must compare yourself to the best, not the worst.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

The caste system has left India a deeply fcuked up place where society truly views the lives of certain people having no value at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Do what that vigilante mob did to another rapist last year and mutilate his genitals...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

And to think of how many Irish girls go travelling India, some on their own

A friend of mine was travelling around Asia solo a couple of years ago. When she got to India (where she was intending to spend a month) she got out of there as quick as she could. She said that there was a menacing feeling to the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,918 ✭✭✭circadian

BeerWolf wrote: »
    Do what that vigilante mob did to another rapist last year and mutilate his genitals...

Gang rape with dildos. Let's see how much they enjoy being 'shamed'

Seriously though, if India wants to consider itself a major player in the world economy they need to get their act together. China isn't exactly a paradise but I'd be happy enough sending a female to work there compared to India and I've been to both places.

Granted they are huge countries but India just felt more aggressive, for want of a better word.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    ..."She was beggar girl. Her life was of no value"...

This. This is always the problem, everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Whingeing liberals.
    I suppose you are also going to condemn honour killings for such vile acts as dancing, acid attacks for having the audacity to not wear a veil, rape and murder for refusing to marry a man multiple times your age, which actually may not be that old considering you are only 6. And what is the objection to female genital mutilation? Its just like having your ears pierced and is morally recommended and pleasing in the eyes of God. And the cheek of these upstarts to actually think they are entitled to an education. Look what has happened in this country, it probably all started when we let them wear shoes.

I really cannot understand how anyone in any country can consider a human being beneath them and fair game for rape, murder, mutilation or whatever because they are female or for that matter, any other reason. It is simply unbelievable and says a lot about the males in that country/culture. Have we all not got mothers, daughters, sisters etc that we love? This **** is happening in half the world. Our good buddies in ISIS, ISIL really appreciate their women folk. We are lucky enough to live in a society which although has had a horrible history in its treatment of women, is hundreds of years ahead of these barbaric assholes. There are areas of the world that I will never visit, mostly because they are in the dark ages due to suppressive regimes, mainly religious led.

Anyway, rant over, just off to slam my knob in a door in praise of God, Allah, Bahá’u'lláh or whoever

galljga1 wrote: »
    Whingeing liberals.
    I suppose you are also going to condemn honour killings for such vile acts as dancing, acid attacks for having the audacity to not wear a veil, rape and murder for refusing to marry a man multiple times your age, which actually may not be that old considering you are only 6. And what is the objection to female genital mutilation? Its just like having your ears pierced and is morally recommended and pleasing in the eyes of God. And the cheek of these upstarts to actually think they are entitled to an education. Look what has happened in this country, it probably all started when we let them wear shoes.

I really cannot understand how anyone in any country can consider a human being beneath them and fair game for rape, murder, mutilation or whatever because they are female or for that matter, any other reason. It is simply unbelievable and says a lot about the males in that country/culture. Have we all not got mothers, daughters, sisters etc that we love? This **** is happening in half the world. Our good buddies in ISIS, ISIL really appreciate their women folk. We are lucky enough to live in a society which although has had a horrible history in its treatment of women, is hundreds of years ahead of these barbaric assholes. There are areas of the world that I will never visit, mostly because they are in the dark ages due to suppressive regimes, mainly religious led.

Anyway, rant over, just off to slam my knob in a door in praise of God, Allah, Bahá’u'lláh or whoever

Who are the whinging liberals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Irony my man, irony

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

galljga1 wrote: »
    Irony my man, irony

It came across more as a disjointed rant than a show of irony, tbf

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

"Now when they rape, especially the criminal types"

As I said elsewhere, I love how he distinguishes some rapists as the criminal type... not himself, he is a hard working decent rapist.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭qt3.14

I don't know why people are surprised. The only difference between the west and south east asia is that our sociopaths are better trained. Still, some of them still break out of the societal conditioning. I bet if you could sit Larry Murphy down and get an honest answer out of him he'd say something rather similar.

I'm shocked that rapists have such objectionable opinions.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Yet the many Indian people I have met and befriended agree that the attitude towards rape and women in their country is appalling.
    Is it easier to think the whole or at least, majority of a nation of 1billion people is behind these fckd up psychopaths?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

fatknacker wrote: »
    Yet the many Indian people I have met and befriended agree that the attitude towards rape and women in their country is appalling.
    Is it easier to think the whole or at least, majority of a nation of 1billion people is behind these fckd up psychopaths?
    Why doesn't the state crack down on it with unimaginable ferocity?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

It's a country made up of several different cultures/languages/differences and traditions, it appears to be difficult to govern at any level. Look at how much wealth and poverty there is for instance. It's difficult enough to change the ideology of the uneducated poor, when there are so many, and steeped in a particular thought pattern over a long period of time.
    Although in saying that, I don't know wtf a lawyer is saying there is no place for women. Some people are just fvckwits. Thankfully it's not the prevailing attitude I met among people from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

If the opinions of the lawyers are representative of the beliefs of the Government, then the State has an ingrained belief that rape is acceptable and the poorer citizens have no value to society.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Not one for revenge porn fantasies but the apparent delight as he described how a 5 year old girl's eyes widened as he raped her. I'm sorry but I reckon I would seriously seriously injure this motherf*cker if I was given half a chance. Beyond redemption.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Indian media disgusts me, now all news channels are attacking NDTV (the tv that was supposed to air the documentary) for getting this interview, saying NDTV provided platform for a rapist to air his view.

Such battle for TRP rating, ****ing hell. I just want to burn them all down to hell. At least with this interview, there was a good platform to build on, to educate society about equal rights, women rights and all that, but the media ignored everything and just attacked the news channel.