Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your latest poison?

• 23-02-2015 1:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭

Think I've gone and gotten myself addicted to cans of Desperado's Tequila.

Savage stuff. Beautiful crisp beer flavoured goodness. Like some sort of Mexican shandy.

How's about yerselves. What's your current poison of choice.
    Disclaimer: alcohol should be dranken drunken consumed responsibly as it's the devil's nectar truth be told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

toilet duck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Flood

Floor polish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Nothing right now, been barely drinking at all these days. Though last thing I was drinking was White Gipsy's Ruby which is pretty damn tasty, a really nice malty red ale with a kinda Guinness-y creaminess.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Jonnie Walker Black Label.

Breakfast of Champions. Accept no substitutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,914 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

Desperado is very nice but expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Brockman's Gin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Savage stuff. Beautiful crisp beer flavoured goodness. Like some sort of Mexican shandy.

Is it just flavoured or is there really Tequila in the beer? Excuse my ignorance here now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Fentiman's & Hollows Ginger beer, often with an extra whiskey in it and I'm also rather fond of Old Fashioneds. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Botulinum toxin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭pollyannawins

painkillers: both a poison and a remedy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I brew my own special beer from the tears of elderly Chinese farmers who've no heir to pass their paddy fields onto.

It's super-hipster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

eternal wrote: »
    Is it just flavoured or is there really Tequila in the beer? Excuse my ignorance here now.

Oh there's Tequila in her alright. 5.9% vol. br />

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

Vodka and coke
    Rum and coke

Why use the word flavoured then? It should be mixed that they say instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 TheArtOfNoise

Cointreau straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Dreamy nighty sleepy snoozy snooze

Mc gargles a close second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I tried it for the first time few days ago. I really liked it, but I am not sure if I could drink a lot of it.

Other then that, I am boring fecker. Vodka shots.

Why use the word flavoured then? It should be mixed that they say instead.

No doubt to flight some advertising restrictions. In some places now advertising spirits is almost impossible. In France even advertising beer is difficult and they can't even call the Heineken Cup the Heineken Cup there.

It really is like a shandy though, wasn't kidding with that. Doubt anyone would like it if they didn't like the odd shandy. Would say the amount of actual Tequila is really not much more than half a measure or so. It's the prefect drink for the summer when you can't make up your mind if you want a soft drink or a beer, unless that is your reason for wanting a soft drink is because you are driving. Good God don't consume it before attempted to drive a motor propelled vehicle, or even a peddle propelled one.

You've sold it to me. I'll have to try a bottle just to see.

I tried it for the first time few days ago. I really liked it, but I am not sure if I could drink a lot of it.

Other then that, I am boring fecker. Vodka shots.

Typical crazy Russian mudder drinking straight vodka with blonde topless Slovaks on your knee.

Sounds about right, but you forgot to add pickles for snacking up after shots! Vodka has to come out from freezer too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

West coast cooler, wooo goes straight to my head.

Sounds about right, but you forgot to add pickles for snacking up after shots! Vodka has to come out from freezer too!

I love pickles. Prefer Sambuca to Vodka though.

KungPao wrote: »
    West coast cooler, wooo goes straight to my head.

Do you only drink that when you have your period and go dancing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭hank scorpio89

crabbies ginger beer mad for the stuff lately expensive stuff tho !

I love pickles. Prefer Sambuca to Vodka though.

I cant stand anise smell. I am honestly have gagging reflex when catch even a little bit of it. :(

I cant drink any kind of Brandy too. :(

I really like the Stella Cidre, it's got a nice taste and isn't bitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Ive been drinking grolsch of late, its a good solid brew.Spirits wise I'm alternating between wild turkey and Jack Daniels as I got those big spanish sized bottles for Christmas.I also take a flask of rum with me occasionally when walking the dog on a cold day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I don't drink much these days BUT the last time I did drink, I was drinking something called Kirin Ichiban. A really nice beer.

Last year, I was drinking Peroni

When I'm back in Ireland, I drink Guinness though...

Just can't get into the oul craft beer thing. All taste great at first but then awful with a strong after taste. I'm sure I just haven't tried the right ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

Ricin ain't half strong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Ginger Ale, addicted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

For the last 17 years I was drinking lager, was offered a pint of Guinness for the 1st time about 3 weeks ago, can't see myself going back to lager again

Guinness. I love the stuff so much.

And wine. I like most kinds of wine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Guinness. I love the stuff so much.

And wine. I like most kinds of wine.

Ditto to the above. My choice of poison hasn't changed much over the years really. I've always loved Guinness though prefer white wine to red.

The Peanut wrote: »
    Ditto to the above. My choice of poison hasn't changed much over the years really. I've always loved Guinness though prefer white wine to red.

I drink Murphys if I'm down your neck of the woods!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Red, red wi-i-i-ne. Stay close to me-e-e-eeeee.

And it does. Fair play to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

I drink Murphys if I'm down your neck of the woods!

Tipp man originally so the preference is still for Guinness; first drink in a pub was actually a bottle of Guinness. I'm far too well capable of a pint of Murphys too though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Hendricks gin
    Splash of tonic
    Cucumber (sliced using a veg peeler)

So refreshing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Glenlivet, 12 years old.

Never got into gin. Can't get the taste for it.

Whiskey is my newest drink I guess. Neat. I like the warminess of it which is taken away with ice.

Jesus. Guinness and whiskey.

When did I become an old man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I've very partial to a good German Riesling. There are some very fine examples of the variety that I'd class as being amongst the finest white wines in the world. The terroir comes through from the moment you first smell the wine.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Used to drink Guinness. Found it too heavy.
    Moved into Heineken. Found it too gassy (not as bad as bud though!)
    Moved onto Smithwicks and that's grand. Can have a few without a hangover.
    Love Desperados. Expensive though (although Witherspoon's do it for €2.35 a bottle).
    I enjoy Bailey's frequently and sometimes have a whiskey to spoil myself
    I brew all my own booze too, so I'll drink some of that on the cheap!

Ive been drinking grolsch of late, its a good solid brew.

Yeah, used to drink Grolsch many years ago when I was underage and it came in bottles with swing top stoppers. We used to hang the bottle stoppers off our army canvas school bags to look cool. We were crazy like that in my school. It worked though in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Wine, Pinot Grigio or Shiraz in particular.
    Baileys, so fricken versatile , over ice, over ice cream , in coffee.
    Quite partial to a tawny port, on its own or a hot port is lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Margarita's do it for me :D

I like IPA's & hoppy beers, but refuse to pay over the odds, so I brew my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

A single plum floating in perfume served in a mans hat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Gone off beer lately...

Becoming fond of red wine, Santa Rita Cabernet sauvignon when at home

Gordon's gin & tonic when I go out, usually once a month.