Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Live Manhunt! Escaped Prisoner

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

Omackeral wrote: »
    Attempted murder of a Prison Officer? Not out of the realms of possibility.

Until it gets to the DPP and then it will become assault causing serious harm, then in court his barrister will offer a plea to assault causing harm and the DPP will accept it. He'll get 5 years 2 suspended and he'll be out in 2 years on good behaviour cause he'll have no one to fight with in solitary confinement!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

what an eejit

wouldn't you think he would have headed straight for the port at rosslare pay off a HGV driver hide in the trailer then off to the uk, and then down to Dover do the same again and then onto the continent and then head down to sunny spain where he could lay low with rest of criminal fraternity

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

philstar wrote: »
    what an eejit

wouldn't you think he would have headed straight for the port at rosslare pay off a HGV driver hide in the trailer then off to the uk, and then down to Dover do the same again and then onto the continent and then head down to sunny spain where he could lay low with rest of criminal fraternity

You've done this before, haven't you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

what an eejit

I think he should have gone directly to the nearest costume store. Acquired himself a false mustache, a monocle and a top hat. Then he could saunter around Grafton Street with his walking cane bidding good day to fellow shoppers whilst laughing away on the inside. One step ahead of the system.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,075 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Amazed he was caught. Fair play to the cops for hauling him in. He has a long sentence in the UK to finish up.

I wish he could be brought back to Portlaoise for a while. I would be happy enough for my taxes to pay the prison guards there to keep him company for a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

what an eejit

He has 22 life sentences in the UK. He robbed a grand total of £1500 in a string of robberies from Glasgow to London. Without wearing any form of disguise. He'd have made more on the beg. This guy is not a member of the criminal "elite". Just a violent little man of limited intelligence.
    Can't they keep him now that he's made it back home. I'm sure a Facebook campaign of sort would raise the ferry ticket money to ship him back (steerage) to Wormwood Scrubs or whatever hole he belongs in.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

I wish he could be brought back to Portlaoise for a while. I would be happy enough for my taxes to pay the prison guards there to keep him company for a while.

and how many would they need this time ? 4, 5, 6, 7 ?

if the three were doing more like this :
    Omackeral wrote: »
    Any toilets, exam rooms in hospitals etc should be searched prior to a prisoner using them. That's not to say something could be missed though. False panels in a ceiling could be an example there. I'd always check the cistern on an escort.

maybe he wouldn't have escaped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

You think with the amount of planning that went into his escape he would have at least had a plan to keep his fcuking head down somewhat after that. Sitting outside a bloody pub.

Mother of God. What was he thinking? That he was Ronnie Briggs in his Brazil days or something. Bloody muppet.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,553 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Joke of a prison service, joke of a so called police force, joke of a country. Takes a properly resourced and trained police force to catch him.

Well, in fairness, the Guards caught him in Dublin after he had been on the run from the British cops for a few years.

Now the UK taxpayer have him. Let them fund him. We are not a ****ing bargain bin for the trash of the UK. Belfast is as much in the UK as Oxford Street. I see no reason why we should accept his return until he has served his life sentences out there. In say, 20 or 30 years...we'll have him over for a trial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Us or the Brits?

Now the UK taxpayer have him. Let them fund him. We are not a ****ing bargain bin for the trash of the UK. Belfast is as much in the UK as Oxford Street. I see no reason why we should accept his return until he has served his life sentences out there. In say, 20 or 30 years...we'll have him over for a trial.

Well, he has to serve his time for this first:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/bank-raid-suspect-is-on-uks-most-wanted-list-28818089.html

Plus, he stabbed two prisoner officers. I'm sure their fellow colleagues would like to tuck him in for a few more years here yet.

Well, he has to serve his time for this first:

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/bank-raid-suspect-is-on-uks-most-wanted-list-28818089.html

Plus, he stabbed two prisoner officers. I'm sure their fellow colleagues would like to tuck him in for a few more years here yet.

I'd imagine they want rid as much as I do. He's the kind of twat that'll butt his head off a wall and claim "they hit me". It strikes me nobody wants this loser.
    Finders Keepers should be the rule. They pawned him off on us. now he's back with Her Majesty. Let Dave Cameron adopt the maggot.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I hope he literally shat and pissed himself when he was tazered. Then give the scumbag over to off duty prison guards in an empty carpark

• Registered Users Posts: 9,932 ✭✭✭dodzy

Whatever sliver of credibility he may have had in criminal circles will surely be gone now. He'll be a laughing stock among his own.

Initially I would have been on the "let our neighbours across the pond finance his keep" side, but on the back of recent events I'd be keen to see him back in PL for a while. I'd say he'd be quite popular with the guards there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Devise complex and daring escape plan, stab two prison guards and escape in blaze of publicity.

Do you:

A) Lie low until furore dies down and restrictions are eased on the exit points from the country

B) Head straight to popular tourist bar in Belfast city centre - situated beside BBC NI headquarters and near a few major police stations - and have a few pints, still carrying your knife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

What a gimp

• Registered Users Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

dodzy wrote: »
    Whatever sliver of credibility he may have had in criminal circles will surely be gone now. He'll be a laughing stock among his own.

Initially I would have been on the "let our neighbours across the pond finance his keep" side, but on the back of recent events I'd be keen to see him back in PL for a while. I'd say he'd be quite popular with the guards there.

The guards probably won't do it themselves as it's expected, more than likely get a few inmates to give him a hiding and be slow to break it up. Give them a few extra perks for their troubles.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,932 ✭✭✭dodzy

Caliden wrote: »
    The guards probably won't do it themselves as it's expected, more than likely get a few inmates to give him a hiding and be slow to break it up. Give them a few extra perks for their troubles.
    Popcorn...... and front row seats though ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,436 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Of course no one has been wrongfully arrested by British police or escaped from British prison have they?

Ridiculous post.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Just heard on the news that he robbed a place then went to the pub down the road. What a fcuking muppet.

Tho its good he has so few brain cells, got him back off the streets quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

Are ya long out?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Oryx wrote: »
    Just heard on the news that he robbed a place then went to the pub down the road. What a fcuking muppet.

Tho its good he has so few brain cells, got him back off the streets quickly.

It surprises me that many people seem to be surprised by the fact that the likes of this fella is a bit thick. In general, people who wind up in clink for rampaging around the place like deranged chimpanzees robbing and beating people up are not renowned for intellectual prowess. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Vex Willems

While good at escaping, I get the feeling he's not a very good robber

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Maybe he wanted to be back in a UK prison.

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

While good at escaping, I get the feeling he's not a very good robber

He just needs to escape a few more times until it all evens out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

Poor chap couldn't handle the outside world, missed his pet crow.

"Brockwell was here"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

what an eejit

I did mention he didn't appear to be the brightest...