Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Djouce trail run

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,308 ✭✭✭✭beertons

*awaits Yeti sightings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

It's not really a climb, they said. It's very sheltered, they said... And they didn't mention the water hazard...

Muck, snow, crossing a raging river on slippy tree trunks... That was just the first mile...

:D thoroughly enjoyable trail, expertly guided by DG and BG, who no doubt will both have to go and run another 15 miles today to break a sweat! :D

And the cake! Lots of hardy mountain runners in the car park looking at us enviously. We did offer to share.

That was great, big thanks to Dubgal and Bungy for organising the inaugural outing. Looking forward to the next one already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

I think it was too cold for the yetis!

No doubt there will be a report up soon. I am committed to 'arts and crafts' for the afternoon so no report writing for me until later. Lovely run and great to put faces to names.

Ps crossed posts - report up already, cheers annapr!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭inigo

Great to meet you all! I really enjoyed running through muck and rivers and under the falling snow. Hopefully only the first of many! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

annapr wrote: »
    It's not really a climb, they said. It's very sheltered, they said... And they didn't mention the water hazard...

Muck, snow, crossing a raging river on slippy tree trunks... That was just the first mile...

:D thoroughly enjoyable trail, expertly guided by DG and BG, who no doubt will both have to go and run another 15 miles today to break a sweat! :D

And the cake! Lots of hardy mountain runners in the car park looking at us enviously. We did offer to share.

That was great, big thanks to Dubgal and Bungy for organising the inaugural outing. Looking forward to the next one already!

Sounds like a great outing altogether, roll on the next one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Thanks to my lift givers, co-ordinators, bakers, and company. A very enjoyable morning. Trail runners washed and dried and ready for another muck onslaught tomorrow evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Sounds lovely :). Hope the cake was good too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

I think we can call today a success? Despite the rain, the cold, the torrential river crossing, the mud and the snow, we finished in one piece (automatic success) and smiling. Thanks to everyone who turned up and of course the Fairview Bus :)

I'm going to throw the first Sunday of every month out there for future excursions. I feel that every six weeks will get messy and every two months is too long. Of course not everybody will make every month but as long as there are at least two, we can call it a TRQ (trail running quorum :D )

So far we have Howth, Bray Head and Glendalough for future outings and of course let's not forget an ascent of Djouce.... any more suggestions on venue and frequency? Beep beep has mentioned Killruddery demesne in a past post, that's in my neck of the woods so I can always go explore...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    I think we can call today a success? Despite the rain, the cold, the torrential river crossing, the mud and the snow, we finished in one piece (automatic success) and smiling. Thanks to everyone who turned up and of course the Fairview Bus :)

I'm going to throw the first Sunday of every month out there for future excursions. I feel that every six weeks will get messy and every two months is too long. Of course not everybody will make every month but as long as there are at least two, we can call it a TRQ (trail running quorum :D )

So far we have Howth, Bray Head and Glendalough for future outings and of course let's not forget an ascent of Djouce.... any more suggestions on venue and frequency? Beep beep has mentioned Killruddery demesne in a past post, that's in my neck of the woods so I can always go explore...

When yis are down Glendalough direction run the spink route, it's nice and handy with a few little climbs....
    You just volunteered as tour guide there Barry ;)

No problem. You did detect the sarcasm in that last post, didn't you?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

You can ascend Djouce from the Balinastoe side where the MTB place is along the Wicklow Way. It's handier than approaching it from the north and you have great views on the return leg, weather permitting.

Yup, we'll sit at the bottom eating cake as you show us the way up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

I think we can call today a success? ...

Definitely a success. And that was before you produced the flapjacks. The mental Chinese wall separating hiking and running in my brain is already starting to crumble. :)

ThisRegard wrote: »
    You can ascend Djouce from the Balinastoe side where the MTB place is along the Wicklow Way. It's handier than approaching it from the north and you have great views on the return leg, weather permitting.
    Thanks and you've just reminded me to add Ballinastoe to the list (I can hear annapr screaming at me now! :D )

Yup, we'll sit at the bottom eating cake as you show us the way up :)

Tis a run from hell but the view at the top is like looking down on heaven.....

is that the route with the two million steps? well worth it!

Yep that's the one.....

Sounds lovely :). Hope the cake was good too!

Definitely a success today, and from reading other logs tonight I think the best weather conditions were in the mountains even with rain and snow and cold!

...turns out one of the (dis)advantages of driving is that you come home with a car full of cake... eating yet another slice of aquinn's lemon cake now... and dubgal's flapjacks were devoured this afternoon by our vegan daughter who decided that they were so good she didn't care about the butter in them! :)

Yep that's the one.....

I've hiked it... bring it on!!! :eek:

Holy feck we're in trouble now!! We'll use the Djouce ascent as prep for this, right?!

Ps just had a right giggle at your daughter's expense, sorry :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Might be the first step to an easier cooking-schedule at annapr's house :)

Holy feck we're in trouble now!! We'll use the Djouce ascent as prep for this, right?!

deffo...

I know, she's gas, she usually falls off the wagon for a chicken roll so I guess your flapjacks are more virtuous than that... I didn't detect any meat in them :D

Yep that's the one.....

https://www.strava.com/activities/255407315

2 weeks ago... :D

inigo wrote: »

Did you enjoy it?

We definitely need to add this to the list, although from what I remember coming down was not easy underfoot at all... the last time I did it was in conditions like today, very slippy with hailstones, etc.

Inigo, you keep scouting great routes like this for us :)

Did you enjoy it?

We definitely need to add this to the list, although from what I remember coming down was not easy underfoot at all... the last time I did it was in conditions like today, very slippy with hailstones, etc.

Inigo, you keep scouting great routes like this for us :)

I loved it. Walking up those steps was breathtaking in every sense of the word! :D Good thing was that after reaching the top, everything else was downhill with spectacular views of the upper lake. That and the burger at the Hotel after the change of clothes...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

inigo wrote:
    I loved it. Walking up those steps was breathtaking in every sense of the word!  Good thing was that after reaching the top, everything else was downhill with spectacular views of the upper lake. That and the burger at the Hotel after the change of clothes...

Burger? I'm in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Raging to have missed it! fellow (non running) work colleague yesterday 'I bet you're glad now you're not out running the mountains in that weather' :rolleyes: great idea to have one once a month.

Thought I'd post these here rather than on my log:
    1. The group half way around the trail, the camera didn't quite pick up the snow swirling in the background
    2. The post run footwear, it'll take some scrubbing to restore them to former glory!

First Sunday of the month sounds good to me. It won't suit everyone all of the time but you could say that about any date. I won't make the May one because of my goal 5K race that day. So, how about Howth on Sunday 5th April ? I know it's Easter Sunday but what better way to work up an appetite and free up some calories for all that chocolate :D Only proviso would be an early start otherwise it's likely to be too crowded. Can't promise any Yetis (or frogs even :rolleyes:) but can offer some spectacular sea views, mixed terrain and a few ups and downs ;). So who's in ? Post up and then I can start a new thread. Get me and the Monday morning enthusiasm!