Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Djouce trail run

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Car? I'm planning on running to the start , doesn't look that far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Murph_D wrote: »
    Even this is looking like quite a girlie event I was still going to join in, but it looks like there's no room left in the car. :)

Do hop in - I can take another car from the d3 direction. The more the merrier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Do hop in - I can take another car from the d3 direction. The more the merrier!

Laura, you booked your seat first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

annapr wrote: »
    Laura, you booked your seat first!

Well that's just true love on this "romantic" of days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭inigo

Hold on, is this ladies only??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

inigo wrote: »
    Hold on, is this ladies only??
    Haha I think Adrian might object to that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Haha I think Adrian might object to that :D

I was afraid to ask:D

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Well that's just true love on this "romantic" of days.

:D the fairview bus can take 5...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Hope the run went well. You're not the group when met another lone runner who slotted in with you for a while on the boardwalk-railway thingy are you? (If so, that was my husband!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

HelenAnne wrote: »
    Hope the run went well. You're not the group when met another lone runner who slotted in with you for a while on the boardwalk-railway thingy are you? (If so, that was my husband!)

The run hasn't happened yet (unless Dubgal has really perfected her time travel :D) but plan is for 1st March. All welcome, just bring cake.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    The run hasn't happened yet (unless Dubgal has really perfected her time travel :D) but plan is for 1st March. All welcome, just bring cake.
    Haha BG, I know I had weird dreams last night.... Hi HelenAnne, it would be great if you can make it on the 1st?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Haha BG, I know I had weird dreams last night.... Hi HelenAnne, it would be great if you can make it on the 1st?

It sounds lovely - but that day will be my last long run before Ballycotton - so I should probably do it on the road.

I'd definitely like to come sometime though. My husband has been doing his long runs in the mountains for the last couple of months and has seen deer, ravens etc - it sounds gorgeous!

It sounds lovely - but that day will be my last long run before Ballycotton - so I should probably do it on the road.

I'd definitely like to come sometime though. My husband has been doing his long runs in the mountains for the last couple of months and has seen deer, ravens etc - it sounds gorgeous!
    Oh good, we'll keep this thread going for future outings. And hopefully we'll meet in Ballycotton :)

Just bumping this up for anyone who may have been napping:

Djouce trail run, Sun 1 March,

Meet 10:30am (see map for car park meeting point) for easy introductory trail run, approx 5 miles, along this route:

https://www.imra.ie/events/maps/id/1266/

A precursor to harder stuff ;) future outings.

To recap:
    No one will run on their own, for this first outing the group runs together.

Bring a flask and cake (I'll bring fruit and nut flapjacks)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ray lanigan

Djouce jesus I ran straight up to it non stop.
    well I got to about 10 meters of the top and for the first time in my life my two legs shook.
    I no exactly what the meaning of jelly legs mean now haha.
    Most breath taking place ive ever ran

Djouce jesus I ran straight up to it non stop.
    well I got to about 10 meters of the top and for the first time in my life my two legs shook.
    I no exactly what the meaning of jelly legs mean now haha.
    Most breath taking place ive ever ran

It is gorgeous isn't it. Did you run around the back and up to the top and then down the front or....?See you on the first so, though I suspect our group will be running faaaar too slow and definitely not long enough for you :D Congrats on your run in Donadea btw, hope the toe/foot is healing.

not sure witch bit was the front or back but was following the Way signs,there was plenty of walkers going up the same route.
    I was getting some odd looks running up it in me tshirt and shorts,i ran up it and back down the same way and than around it and seen the other trail coming of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Did you go via lose rocky shale with a fence to your right, or did you come via the boardwalk side?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Djouce trail run 28 Feb/ 1 March

A bunch of boardsies are planning a trail run in Djouce on either Saturday 28 Feb or Sunday 1 March.

The first outing is planned as an easy and social outing, with more strenuous sessions planned for future outings. Bring a flask and more importantly, some form of cake :)

Any takers?
    Was up there today,weather was quite bad...if ye are going up get..a:someone who knows where they are goin and and knows how to get bsckand b:some one who knows Wat to to do if **** goes wrong..and c sort out how fast and how slow ye are goin and Wat yis are doin if someone is slowing down,who waits ,who goes etc etc...

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Was up there today,weather was quite bad...if ye are going up get..a:someone who knows where they are goin and and knows how to get bsckand b:some one who knows Wat to to do if **** goes wrong..and c sort out how fast and how slow ye are goin and Wat yis are doin if someone is slowing down,who waits ,who goes etc etc...
    Thanks UM, we're playing it safe for this first outing and sticking to the Earl's Drive route for Sunday. Also for this first outing we're all going to run together...even for future outings, no one will run alone. Good idea about the back up/something goes wrong plan. And did you just volunteer to be our guide for future assaults on Djouce and Maolin? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Thanks UM, we're playing it safe for this first outing and sticking to the Earl's Drive route for Sunday. Also for this first outing we're all going to run together...even for future outings, no one will run alone. Good idea about the back up/something goes wrong plan. And did you just volunteer to be our guide for future assaults on Djouce and Maolin? ;)
    If I'm off I'll go or can put u in touch with someone...

ultraman1 wrote: »
    If I'm off I'll go or can put u in touch with someone...
    Deadly :) Thanks!

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Did you go via lose rocky shale with a fence to your right, or did you come via the boardwalk side?
    yep as just stopped at that wire fence:eek:

Just bumping this up for anyone who may have been napping:

Djouce trail run, Sun 1 March,

Meet 10:30am (see map for car park meeting point) for easy introductory trail run, approx 5 miles, along this route:

https://www.imra.ie/events/maps/id/1266/

A precursor to harder stuff ;) future outings.

To recap:
    No one will run on their own, for this first outing the group runs together.

Bring a flask and cake (I'll bring fruit and nut flapjacks)

Just to add, I'd suggest bringing a towel and some dry socks/shoes for after. There's a couple of streams to cross en route and there might be one or two mucky bits!

.... and there will be no muck allowed in the fairview bus on the way home! :pac:

annapr wrote: »
    .... and there will be no muck allowed in the fairview bus on the way home! :pac:

Best bring a complete change of clothes so :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Best bring a complete change of clothes so :eek:

yeah I think that's the way to go :-) at least we'll be 'clean' and dry!!

Firedance wrote: »
    yeah I think that's the way to go :-) at least we'll be 'clean' and dry!!

And we won't be made walk home ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Trail runners got their first outing in a long time last night, will definitely not even be arriving in them.

So are we making and bringing cake or buying post-event all muck covered and hopefully happy looking?

aquinn wrote: »
    Trail runners got their first outing in a long time last night, will definitely not even be arriving in them.

So are we making and bringing cake or buying post-event all muck covered and hopefully happy looking?
    This time bring cake, another time maybe Poppy's in Enniskerry or something like that?