Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Djouce trail run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

folks I was just having a look on google maps to make sure I know where I'm going. Are there 3 car parks on that imra.ie map? I think this is the one with the Red P on the map?

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.155626,-6.186721,3a,75y,225.62h,74.97t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1s4Kz4aJP6go-3aUHBtnkktg!2e0?hl=en[/URL]

I'll bring some muffins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Firedance wrote: »
    folks I was just having a look on google maps to make sure I know where I'm going. Are there 3 car parks on that imra.ie map? I think this is the one with the Red P on the map?

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.155626,-6.186721,3a,75y,225.62h,74.97t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1s4Kz4aJP6go-3aUHBtnkktg!2e0?hl=en[/URL]

I'll bring some muffins.
    As far as I know, the second two car parks have been blocked off, can you confirm BG or Ultraman? It's a few years since I've been up there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    As far as I know, the second two car parks have been blocked off, can you confirm BG or Ultraman? It's a few years since I've been up there...

Which side r ye going up...blallinstioe or the other side

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Which side r ye going up...blallinstioe or the other side
    Enniskerry side, the long road where there used to be the three car parks....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Enniskerry side, the long road where there used to be the three car parks....

Don't know that entrance . I usually go fro balinstaoe of jonny foxes via crone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Mimojo

Sorry guys I cant make it, something has come up for this weekend unfortunately, will be dying to hear an update on how it went, and details of the the next scheduled date please! Enjoy :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

That looks like the right one to me. It's the first of the car parks on the right on what I think is called Long Hill road if coming from Enniskerry/Kilmacanogue direction. I haven't been up there in a while so I don't know about the other 2 car parks being closed or otherwise but to the best of my recollections it's called 'Djouce Woods' car park.

I'll bring some muffins.
    I think we're on the same page :) The first car park anyway on Long Hill

How do I get there?

From Dublin take N11/M11 south to the turn off for Enniskerry R117. Take the R760 and veer left to in the direction of the R755. Turn right up the Long Hill and the car park is on right after 1.6km. From Wicklow and south take the Enniskerry turn at Klimacanogue on to R755. Take the R760 after 1.6km and after a further 1.5km take a sharp left up the Long Hill. The car park is on right after 1.6km.

- See more at: http://www.coillteoutdoors.ie/index.php?id=171&rec_site=59#.dpuf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

If you guys are planning on heading via Earls Drive, then yes, that's the correct car park. There's a car park just inside the barrier to the left there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,837 ✭✭✭Enduro

And yes, the two later car parks are no longer open. The Long hill car park is the one to use.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    If you guys are planning on heading via Earls Drive, then yes, that's the correct car park. There's a car park just inside the barrier to the left there.
    Enduro wrote: »
    And yes, the two later car parks are no longer open. The Long hill car park is the one to use.
    Thanks lads, good to know we're on track. We won't get lost, promise :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭inigo

Does anyone need a lift from around Dun Laoghaire or somewhere along the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Over on the weather forum, they're predicting a cold spell from Sat night & Sunday, just FYI.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057387595

Over on the weather forum, they're predicting a cold spell from Sat night & Sunday, just FYI.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057387595
    Gloves and hats so :D Thanks!

I've just been 'asked' to work on Sunday so won't make the run now :(:( not to happy but not much I can do, look forward to hearing all about it and hopefully there will be another one organised :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

I've just been 'asked' to work on Sunday so won't make the run now :(:( not to happy but not much I can do, look forward to hearing all about it and hopefully there will be another one organised :)

Aww, too bad, firedance! Hopefully next time.

Mimojo wrote: »
    Sorry guys I cant make it, something has come up for this weekend unfortunately, will be dying to hear an update on how it went, and details of the the next scheduled date please! Enjoy :-)

That's a shame. Next time for sure!

Hopefully this will be a monthly thing so see you at the next one Mimojo and Firedance :)

Last bump before tomorrow. 10:30 am, we'll hang around for 5 minutes but then head off unless any of us has heard otherwise. I'll be there at 10:20 and will be the one with two kids (no Anna, they won't be coming with us, they'll be a bit tired from their ascent up Djouce ;) )
    The wind is blowing up nicely and I even heard rumours of snow. Our route is quite sheltered but wrap up anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Mimojo

Enjoy tomorrow all, let us know how it goes :-)

Mimojo wrote: »
    Enjoy tomorrow all, let us know how it goes :-)

Yes enjoy!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Been feeling fairly ropey this evening, ever since getting back from my run,

Hopefully I'll be grand in the morning but if not I'll have to drop out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

That's fear listening to the storm Adrian. We all feel ill at the minute thinking of the morning on a mountain in Wicklow!

aquinn wrote: »
    That's fear listening to the storm Adrian. We all feel ill at the minute thinking of the morning on a mountain in Wicklow!

Folks don't worry it's not a mountain !! Just an 'undulating' trail through the woods. Less than 5 miles and maybe a total climb of 120m.

aquinn wrote: »
    Would you believe me if I told you our route is quite sheltered.....? Help me out here BG :)

It's a beautiful morning in Fairview! No wimping out anyone! :D

Would you believe me if I told you our route is quite sheltered.....? Help me out here BG :)

She's not fibbing, it's really not exposed to the elements, in fact it's practically indoors ;-)

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    She's not fibbing, it's really not exposed to the elements, in fact it's practically indoors ;-)

Haha... You should probably stop now :)

annapr wrote: »
    Haha... You should probably stop now :)

Too much ? ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Too much 😆
    Cake is made so I'm not backing out.