Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Every accomplishment starts with a decision to try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Well done FD.

What church altar did you rob that glass off :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Well done FD.

What church altar did you rob that glass off :)

TbL

Thanks C, not sure 'well done' is in order today tho :)

:eek: if I went anywhere near one of those I'd burst into flames :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

You forgot to mention you had a very strong finish FD (I forgot to mention that in the car) so another positive thing to take away.

Otherwise yes, I have to agree with you - what an awful race! Bring back Meath races, all is forgiven!

Onwards and upwards :)

Mulberry wrote: »
    You forgot to mention you had a very strong finish FD (I forgot to mention that in the car) so another positive thing to take away.

Otherwise yes, I have to agree with you - what an awful race! Bring back Meath races, all is forgiven!

Onwards and upwards :)

What a day! hope you've recovered??! onwards & upwards indeed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Gosh, that sounds horrific. Hope the hip will be ok. Meet and Train will be a breeze by comparison! That Munich Mile loop in the Phoenix Park is a perfect training ground, has a bit of everything, just not mucky enough at the moment :D

Monday 26th October: 10 miles, walking/jogging/shouting :)

Had an absolute ball out cheering on 15,000+ marathon runners, of the 30 odd people I was hoping to see on the day I missed 6. Great to get into McGrattans too and meet so many novices and everyone else, a good days work by all, well done again to everyone!

Tuesday 27th October 4 miles easy

Body feeling a bit tired after Sunday, hip/glute/lower back a bit sore. Headed to St Catherines Park, tired and 'slightly' hungover after a fantastic & v late night last night celebrating club mates marathon achievements, not unlike here, most had a super day, brand new shiny hard earned PB's and great marathon débuts. Inspirational. The problem with marathons is they are contagious....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU, HAPPY BIRTHDAY.

^^^^^thanks, aquinn as well as being 'super pacer in training', 'marathon training buddy extraordinaire' is also going for the record of how many ways you can wish someone happy birthday :D I'm contacting the Guinness world records now :p

Wednesday 28th October 5 miles 'steady' @ 9:36

As a treat I ditched the HR monitor (for today!), plugged in the earphones and just ran without worrying about pace/hr or anything else for that matter. Loved it, sun was out & its a beautiful day, I didn't go completely crazy as am conscious of the hip & not aggravating it so I was a bit surprised to see the splits afterwards, it didn't feel like hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Happy birthday! All the best birthdays are in October!

chickey2 wrote: »
    Happy birthday! All the best birthdays are in October!

absolutely! you have one of these I presume? The best women are born in October

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Firedance wrote: »
    absolutely! you have one of these I presume? The best women are born in October

LOL. Of course I have one ☺

Thursday 29th October 4 miles @ hr <135 (ish..)

Well that was an experience & a half!!!!!!! I'm pretty sure when Dubgal talks about naked running none of this is what she has in mind :D firstly in the park in Ringsend a aul fella walking his dog was, lets say, badly in need of a belt and had a definite builders crack situation going on, that on its own wouldn't phase me although I did speed up a little to get past him as soon as possible :p. Then I took a different route to normal, off the main road through a sort of industrial area along the river, no one else around but I wasn't paying any heed, until this guy stepped out from a sort of doorway and flashed me :eek: WTF? Have I stepped back into the 80's or something? I had my sunglasses on so he couldn't see my reaction and I pretended not to notice and jogged on, tearing off at breakneck speed when I turned the corner!! It certainly put an end to my low HR run!!

Before all that I was doing a good job of running tall, belly breathing and monitoring the hip & the back, which oddly seem to pain me more when walking or slow running than the faster stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

I could say LOADS but I won't!!! Fella doing that for years around there, he's known to pay a visit to Fairview Park from time to time to.

tang1 wrote: »
    I could say LOADS but I won't!!! Fella doing that for years around there, he's known to pay a visit to Fairview Park from time to time to.

:D:D I've no doubt you could!! Really? crikey but I suppose in fairness I'm never in around there, usually stick to the main road, have no idea what prompted me to go that way today. I wasn't frightened but it did make me think (when I got over the shock!) that if he'd been up to worse I was a bit vulnerable..

Swift kick in the chestnuts would sort him out!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Excuse me, we have more high class gurriers in Fairview park!!!

FD... Couldn't help laughing at your reaction :pac:

annapr wrote: »
    Excuse me, we have more high class gurriers in Fairview park!!!

FD... Couldn't help laughing at your reaction :pac:

what the tearing off at breakneck speed?? I'm not used to gurriers of ANY description* :D:D

*although given where my office is located and the csi stuff that goes down every day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

WTF? Have I stepped back into the 80's or something?

Couldn't help laughing at this bit, FD (sorry! I don't mean to be flippant). But the 80's really were the glory days for flashers weren't they ? I thought they'd have all retreated behind closed doors by now. Poor you to encounter the last die-hard who must not have wifi :rolleyes:.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Couldn't help laughing at this bit, FD (sorry! I don't mean to be flippant). But the 80's really were the glory days for flashers weren't they ? I thought they'd have all retreated behind closed doors by now. Poor you to encounter the last die-hard who must not have wifi :rolleyes:.

Lol that's exactly what I thought!!! Sure it was a daily occurrence back then :p unfortunately for this guy, behind closed doors is exactly where he should be....

Bungy Girl wrote: »

That was what made me laugh too. That 80's nostalgia :cool:

Friday 30th October 8.5 miles easy 'Runmute'

Physio last night to sort the hips out, no adverse affects this morning, everything feels much looser & less niggily. It seems the hip issue may be caused by too many hilly runs and there have been a lot of those in recent months and possibly the XC too. Will take it back a notch hill wise on the longer stuff and re-introduce slowly. Have some new stretches to incorporate and I really need to pull my socks up on the S&C side, once a week is not enough.

First ever runmute! I need to introduce 2 MLR's into my week so decided to try this as an option. Obviously its too far to run from my house to town (for now) so parked at Clonsilla train station and ran in via the canal having left a a bag in the office yesterday. Unfortunately the first 2 miles are a muddy mess with tree roots & rocks so was bit more obstetrical course than runmute and my new runners are no longer pretty!. As a result it took me longer than I thought and I was a little late for work. Otherwise I really enjoyed this, the canal is lovely, peaceful & quiet and despite aquinn's concerns, quite safe (apart from the slippy bits). Having said that when I do this again I think I'll run via the PP & down the quays.

Why the need for 2 MLR's.......

mileage building ;)

how's the chest today?

ha did you delete your post its gone!!

Quays nasty enough, maybe a street up and follow the Luas as quieter?

mileage building ;)

how's the chest today?

100% better thanks, not risking a run though till Tuesday at earliest. Finish the course of antibiotics first.

I'm surprised aquinn didn't jump in to point out the hazards of xc for your hip :p

It was considered but she obviously knows herself.

I should point out that physio also said XC is a super way for runners to build strength and highly recommends it to everyone, that includes you Anna :) you'll note that the only recommendation was to pear back on the hills in the long runs, not ditch XC..

That's not how we read it at all, I think you just didn't listen. He really said no Cross country!

Saturday 31st Oct 4 miles @ MP HR (148-166)

Marathon fever has swept the forum and it seems no-one is immune. Something truly inspiring from Monday was seeing clubmates & friends who had an awful marathon last year, completely erase the horror of 2014, if they can do it...!? Maybe.
    Having gotten some excellent advice on keeping up the HR training and also that you can do marathon training using HR too. The figures I found, and I hope they are right, are MP is 80-90% of your max HR (I still need to get my HR reserve which I'll do in the coming days and those figures may change my HR % completely). At the moment that gives me a range of HR 148-166 so for the craic I decided to run that range today and see what the pace came back at. Someone, somewhere has clearly got the calculations wrong because these were my splits and there's not a snowballs chance in hell 9:xx anything is MP for me, still, it was fun & very enjoyable run on a beautiful day.

avg pace | avg hr | max hr
    9:38 |139| 153
    9:16 | 153 | 160
    9:16 | 156 | 160
    9:29 | 160 | 167 (oops)

About 3/4 of the way through I realised I should probably be aiming for the lower end of the range as much as possible to allow for cardiac drift especially if doing longer MP sessions.

Edit to add in:
    Friday 30th PM: 30 mins strength
    Saturday 31st AM: 30 mins Yoga & stretches