Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shake my hand. No you Scumbag.

• 28-01-2015 11:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭

So I'm in the chipper after work, maybe 10pm. Sitting there in my suit and tie waiting for me fish supper. Two socioeconomically challenged gentlemen walk into the establishment and start being low level dicks. Not my problem I sit there on the stool minding my own business.

Clearly both of them enjoy the odd tipple of more than the few beers they have in their hands. Again absolutely none of my business, but you know that habit Dublin junkies have of believing they're Oliver Bond's answer to Oscar Wilde one of them tries to engage with me over what he believes to be the shocking price of chips. I just shake my head and say 'dunno'. He walks back up to the counter and I resume my staring into space.

His mate walks past me towards the counter and says "Don't be shaking your head at him" not referring to my previous encounter but that his mate is not on at the guy behind the counter. Being rather late my reply was rather blunt "I'm not shaking my head at him but I'll shake my head at who the f**k I like thanks."

Anyways much squaring up and me telling them to step back later I've launched one of the scrawny ****es across the chip shop. Few mutual digs his mate decides (probably because at this point their beers are spraying everywhere coupled with the fact that I'm 6'2 and 18 stone so by sheer weight I getting the upper hand) that he's going to break it up.

Anyway what's irking me more than the moron behind the counter not calling the guards is these Scumbags were giving out because I wouldn't shake their fecking hands. You've just assaulted (and by the way I'm fully aware of the legal definition) me because I'm in a suit and tie and you thought you could be intimidating.

If you got to the end of this well done. Fully looking forward to some closure AH p!ss take style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

So two junkies battered your sausage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

you're so cool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

MarkAnthony is Irelands version of Epic beard guy!!!! YAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

So I'm in the chipper after work, maybe 10pm...

I'm 6'2 and 18 stone so by sheer weight I getting the upper hand) that he's going to break it up.

You really shouldn't be ordering a portion of fish supper given the circumstances.

It should at least have been large curry chips with four quarter pounders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

At 18 stone you'd want to be staying away from chippers, tubby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Something fishy about this story op but they do sound like right Pollacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Why not just say "I wasn't shaking my head at him", and avoid all the unpleasantness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

At 18 stone you'd want to be staying away from chippers, tubby

You were beaten to that one though tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

You're sh1t at writing.

Read like you were the one who assaulted him first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Again absolutely none of my business, but you know that habit Dublin junkies have of believing they're Oliver Bond's answer to Oscar Wilde one of them tries to engage with me over what he believes to be the shocking price of chips.

All you had to do was humour him and he would have thought you a great lad altogether. "I know, man. Celtic Tiger prices during a recession, wha?"

I bet you were condescending as f*ck to the chap.
    Two socioeconomically challenged 
    Sitting there in my suit and tie 

You where not in the office. You where in a Dublin chipper late at night. Gotta act accordingly. Some head the ball engages you in conversation: humour them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

One of them was probably the driver of a red car on the Drumcondra Road this morning...

Why not just say "I wasn't shaking my head at him", and avoid all the unpleasantness

You're right of course but you're stuck between the devil and the deep blue sea. Say nothing they carry on. Say what you suggest they're likely to carry on. Tell um to feck off many get the message you're not scared and may actually feck off. Having lived worked in innercity Dublin for quite some time it's not as easy as just ignoring them when you're on your own.

Anyway that was way too serious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

With you're attitude it's a pity they didn't put you to sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm in local scoffing a single fish, a treat to myself after giving blood.

Not a scobe in sight, you need to change your chipshop.

You were beaten to that one though tbh.

Who cares? I fashioned the general portrayal of the situation more eloquently and less wordy.

How were the chips after anyway?

All you had to do was humour him and he would have thought you a great lad altogether. "I know, man. Celtic Tiger prices during a recession, wha?"

I bet you were condescending as f*ck to the chap.

You were not in the office. You were in a Dublin chipper late at night. Gotta act accordingly. Some head the ball engages you in conversation: humour them.

Why the feck should I perform for a couple of scumbags. I'm just home from paying their dole and as you can read from the OP I said nothing to them so how I can condescend them is beyond me.

Who cares? I fashioned the general portrayal of the situation more eloquently and less wordy.

How were the chips after anyway?

How do you think they were I'm 18 stone and live 3 minutes walk from the chipper! Pretty nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

How long did you sit there waiting for your fish and chips to realise that you have to order at the counter and not wait for someone to come along? Bet your monocle was severely disjointed!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

I'm getting my fish at home tonight off two scumbag junkie birds ;) up ya boyya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 The clunge plunger

Opiate his chips after that ordeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭NMB

chips are relative - but gorgeous in the Roma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭NMB

or macari

Why the feck should I perform for a couple of scumbags. I'm just home from paying their dole and as you can read from the OP I said nothing to them so how I can condescend them is beyond me.

Anything for an easy life. You wouldn't have got into a straightner if you humoured the chap. Might have had the ears waffled off you for a few minutes, mind. Still, better than getting into a fight wearing what I imagine was an expensive suit. F*ck it though. If you wanna get into unnecessary scraps, be my guest.

There's a lot more to communication than the spoken word, btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

How do you think they were I'm 18 stone

Why do you feel the need to tell everyone, multiple times, that you're 18 stone?

It's not exactly something to be proud of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Fair fcuking play to you. I genuinely love hearing stuff like this. The more wannabe hardmen get a few smacks in the gob, the less theyll be bothering and intimidating members of the public. Well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

AH: facilitating the pugilistic fantasies and torturous proletarian phobias of beleaguered students and neckbeards since, forever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

you should stole their heroin and shot up with your new buds in the hostel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

So I'm in the chipper after work, maybe 10pm. Sitting there in my suit and tie waiting for me fish supper. Two socioeconomically challenged gentlemen walk into the establishment and start being low level dicks. Not my problem I sit there on the stool minding my own business.
    I'm just home from paying their dole and as you can read from the OP I said nothing to them so how I can condescend them is beyond me. ....................

Ye see if you didn't make the remarks about your suit, them being "socioeconomically challenged" and being "just home from paying their dole" I'd believe you weren't being condescending at all. However.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

You pay their dole and they give you a bit of excitement on a Wednesday night. I bet you feel good to be alive after a bit of interaction with the proles.

Anything for an easy life. You wouldn't have got into a straightner if you humoured the chap. Might have had the ears waffled off you for a few minutes, mind. Still, better than getting into a fight wearing what I imagine was an expensive suit. F*ck it though. If you wanna get into unnecessary scraps, be my guest.

There's a lot more to communication than the spoken word, btw.

I'd been humouring people for 8 hours at work. Sometimes you're not in the mood. When he spoke to me I spoke back. I wasn't looking in his direction (except when speaking to him), as indicated it's none of my business what he was at until he started an altercation. Lived in the area for more than a decade never had an issue.

Why do you feel the need to tell everyone, multiple times, that you're 18 stone?

Because it's pure muscle from all the chips and fighting he does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

Read his post again, i'd doubt he was implying he's proud of it.

Nodin wrote: »
    Ye see if you didn't make the remarks about your suit, them being "socioeconomically challenged" and being "just home from paying their dole" I'd believe you weren't being condescending at all. However.

Suit remarks were based on why they thought I was going to be scared of them. My thoughts are my own, none of that was communicated to them. If they chose to imply it from the way I was sat that's really their problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

I just have to comment on how this thread is unbelievably unusual.

From my experience, people like the "scumbags" you were describing are looking for a reaction, to have a story to tell their junkie friends in the pub later. Just give short but sarcastic answers and they usually get annoyed and go away. Sure, its like your letting them intimidate you, but they have sad, poor lives and a few more criminal convictions for them is nearly something to be proud of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Nice one Mark, 'don't be shaking your head at him'... Was the moment there was no turning back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Suit remarks were based on why they thought I was going to be scared of them. My thoughts are my own, none of that was communicated to them. ........

I'm sure you don't think you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Maybe they assaulted you for staring into space without a telescope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

not sure which of the people in the story is the scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

So safe to say you battered them OP

Nodin wrote: »
    I'm sure you don't think you did.

Why is there any onus on me, minding my own business, to give a flying **** how I'm coming across to someone else? What you seem to be suggesting is it's fine to be intimidating and threatening because you don't like the way someone is sat and dressed?

While I'm 99% sure you're just engaging in some low level trolling, which I have of course invited, if you're actually in the 1% category please get some help. If for example you saw a guy dressed for prayer in a mosque and you had the impression he was looking at you funny, you'd get in his face yeah? think it was okay for someone to get in his face?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Well it wasn't the fella sitting there minding his own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

a fridge too far?

delw wrote: »
    So safe to say you battered them OP

I actually couldn't fight my way out of a wet paper bag, I wont say its the first punch up I've been in but certainly it's been a few years. All the more reason they thought fatty would be bullied by them. In all honesty I did lose the plot and should have defused the situation but as I've said above I wasn't in the mood.

I'd been humouring people for 8 hours at work. Sometimes you're not in the mood.

It's part and parcel of living in the city centre. People strike up conversations with one another. Blow ins don't seem to understand this.
    When he spoke to me I spoke back.

I've no doubt that you spoke to the chap in a gruff and condescending manner. Your posts reek of a sense of superiority.
    Lived in the area for more than a decade never had an issue.

That will probably change.
    Anyway what's irking me more than the moron behind the counter not calling the guards

Why do you think that was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

And that wraps up this segment titled 'Things that didn't happen today'.

Your posts reek of a sense of superiority.

Any yours of that sense of inverted snobbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Did they give you a free fish an chips or were you already finished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Did you read his story, he was 100% right to do 'what he had to do'... It wasn't a wee squabble at work with one of his sober work-mates, at least we'll not be reading in the paper tomorrow about a man viciously attacked in a chipper on the way home from work.... Anyway I know a lot of these comments are just trying to wind him up, deep down you all wish you could handle it like he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Op are you chuck Norris?

I know you are getting on a bit only a junkie would think they had a chance.

Ahhhhhhh heeeeeere leave it ouuutttt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

.....not referring to my previous encounter but that his mate is not on at the guy behind the counter....

I've re-read this sentence several times and still have no clue what happened.