Shake my hand. No you Scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Why do you feel the need to tell everyone, multiple times, that you're 18 stone?

It's not exactly something to be proud of.

Because it's pure muscle from all the chips and fighting he does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

Why do you feel the need to tell everyone, multiple times, that you're 18 stone?

It's not exactly something to be proud of.

Read his post again, i'd doubt he was implying he's proud of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Nodin wrote: »
    Ye see if you didn't make the remarks about your suit, them being "socioeconomically challenged" and being "just home from paying their dole" I'd believe you weren't being condescending at all. However.

Suit remarks were based on why they thought I was going to be scared of them. My thoughts are my own, none of that was communicated to them. If they chose to imply it from the way I was sat that's really their problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,542 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

I just have to comment on how this thread is unbelievably unusual.

From my experience, people like the "scumbags" you were describing are looking for a reaction, to have a story to tell their junkie friends in the pub later. Just give short but sarcastic answers and they usually get annoyed and go away. Sure, its like your letting them intimidate you, but they have sad, poor lives and a few more criminal convictions for them is nearly something to be proud of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Nice one Mark, 'don't be shaking your head at him'... Was the moment there was no turning back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Suit remarks were based on why they thought I was going to be scared of them. My thoughts are my own, none of that was communicated to them. ........

I'm sure you don't think you did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Maybe they assaulted you for staring into space without a telescope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

not sure which of the people in the story is the scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

So safe to say you battered them OP

Nodin wrote: »
    I'm sure you don't think you did.

Why is there any onus on me, minding my own business, to give a flying **** how I'm coming across to someone else? What you seem to be suggesting is it's fine to be intimidating and threatening because you don't like the way someone is sat and dressed?

While I'm 99% sure you're just engaging in some low level trolling, which I have of course invited, if you're actually in the 1% category please get some help. If for example you saw a guy dressed for prayer in a mosque and you had the impression he was looking at you funny, you'd get in his face yeah? think it was okay for someone to get in his face?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Well it wasn't the fella sitting there minding his own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

a fridge too far?

delw wrote: »
    So safe to say you battered them OP

I actually couldn't fight my way out of a wet paper bag, I wont say its the first punch up I've been in but certainly it's been a few years. All the more reason they thought fatty would be bullied by them. In all honesty I did lose the plot and should have defused the situation but as I've said above I wasn't in the mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

I'd been humouring people for 8 hours at work. Sometimes you're not in the mood.

It's part and parcel of living in the city centre. People strike up conversations with one another. Blow ins don't seem to understand this.
    When he spoke to me I spoke back.

I've no doubt that you spoke to the chap in a gruff and condescending manner. Your posts reek of a sense of superiority.
    Lived in the area for more than a decade never had an issue.

That will probably change.
    Anyway what's irking me more than the moron behind the counter not calling the guards

Why do you think that was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

And that wraps up this segment titled 'Things that didn't happen today'.

Your posts reek of a sense of superiority.

Any yours of that sense of inverted snobbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Did they give you a free fish an chips or were you already finished?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Did you read his story, he was 100% right to do 'what he had to do'... It wasn't a wee squabble at work with one of his sober work-mates, at least we'll not be reading in the paper tomorrow about a man viciously attacked in a chipper on the way home from work.... Anyway I know a lot of these comments are just trying to wind him up, deep down you all wish you could handle it like he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Op are you chuck Norris?

I know you are getting on a bit only a junkie would think they had a chance.

Ahhhhhhh heeeeeere leave it ouuutttt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

.....not referring to my previous encounter but that his mate is not on at the guy behind the counter....

I've re-read this sentence several times and still have no clue what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

I actually couldn't fight my way out of a wet paper bag, I wont say its the first punch up I've been in but certainly it's been a few years. All the more reason they thought fatty would be bullied by them. In all honesty I did lose the plot and should have defused the situation but as I've said above I wasn't in the mood.
    Not sure if you missed the joke but a chip shop & batter etc...anyway whats done is done

Ush1 wrote: »
    Did they give you a free fish an chips or were you already finished?

I'd already paid for um! It was a take away - not having a go but a few wind up merchants are trying to make out this was 2am in Isklanders on a Friday night and I had a puss on (which I did) with a load of revelers. It was actually just a late shift home and 10pm in the local take away.
    Did you read his story, he was 100% right to do 'what he had to do'... It wasn't a wee squabble at work with one of his sober work-mates, at least we'll not be reading in the paper tomorrow about a man viciously attacked in a chipper on the way home from work.... Anyway I know a lot of these comments are just trying to wind him up, deep down you all wish you could handle it like he did.

TBH I know I should have just walked out, made out I was going out for a smoke etc. but I just wasn't in the mood to be messed with. Again I was lucky it was a couple of scrawny junkies. I know I'm not putting it across very well but what was getting me was they way they just thought this was absolutely fine. Here lets shake hands as you've not felt intimidated despite being threatened (to start with) about being knifed on the way home.

Another person (the majority of people that live round here are very decent) might have felt genuinely threatened, said nothing/humoured them and that's the mentality I just can't wrap my head round. Someone hit the nail on the head further up, they were just looking for a story to tell their mates.

Plazaman wrote: »
    I've re-read this sentence several times and still have no clue what happened.

I just shake my head and say 'dunno'. He walks back up to the counter and I resume my staring into space.

His mate walks past me towards the counter and says "Don't be shaking your head at him" not referring to my previous encounter (the one in bold) but that his mate is not has got on at the guy behind the counter.

i.e. he thought I was shaking my head at his mate who'd gone back up to the counter as I wasn't biting and started on at the lad behind the counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Did the scobes still order there battererd burgers or did they wander off like the walking dead saying brains brains we need brains.

Maybe the chipper person didn't call the cops because there fingers were too fat to dial.

Now who has a story to tell the op 1 some serious fecked up morons 0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I was at the LUAS stop earlier and someone in a tracksuit asked me had I got the time, so I told him to go f*ck himself. He looked a little taken aback and said something like "No need to be so rude", but I was wearing Armani, so I thumped him a couple of times. Also I'm 14 stone. And I had a tie on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

Didn't think you would eat out of a chipper OP, you seem way too snobby for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Chickentown

Thinly veiled; I can handle myself because I am a relatively large human being thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

You could of avoided the situation OP but sure what's done is done. Keep an eye out for them ****ers the next time your coming home from work/going chipper. Them lads don't like when people get one up on them. Just be conscious of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Someone needed to go home and have a little rage fap.

That whole situation could have been avoided fairly easily. No harm in a bit of banter with the local scobies.

Did you ever wonder if their attitude and substance abuse was somehow linked to the despair they might have felt their entire lives since the day they realised they were have-nots and were going to be left behind by an ever increasing level of snobbery and disdain from a thoughtless middle class anduntouchable upper class ?
    Most random rows I have seen involving drunks or junkies are down to someone treating them like they were a piece of sh1t, and there have been times when I was glad to see some stuck-up bellend getting a little reminder that there but for the grace of god go you or I.
    Treat people with dignity and respect and you usually get it back.

Maybe it's time that you started looking at the uncomfortable truths about that gap in society between the well-heeld and educated, and the track-suited negelcted(whether by themselves or society), Rather than slapping yourself on the back for being suited and tied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Would you not have 'egg and chips' for your tea , 'stead of a 'fish supper'? , you some kind of Geordie basted or what?