Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Judge renames child

• 26-01-2015 11:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭

A judge in Valenciennes, northern France, took a tough stance against a couple who tried to call their child Nutella in September 2014, after a "shocked" registrar reported their choice to the local prosecutor.

La Voix du Nord newspaper reported that the judge said giving the child "the name of a chocolate spread" was against the girl’s interests, as it “might lead to mockery and unpleasant remarks”. He also noted that the name Nutella is the official brand name of the chocolate spread product.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/french-parents-banned-from-naming-their-child-nutella-or-fraise-10003146.html

Is he also changing the names of all kids called Muhammad who face discrimination in France?

I wonder if the girl was a muslim would he have changed her religion so as to avoid any "mockery and unpleasant remarks"?

We may aswell just scrap names and go by our social security numbers so situations like this won't arise and we can eliminate bullying and offense completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

K4t wrote: »
    A judge in Valenciennes, northern France, took a tough stance against a couple who tried to call their child Nutella in September 2014, after a "shocked" registrar reported their choice to the local prosecutor.

La Voix du Nord newspaper reported that the judge said giving the child "the name of a chocolate spread" was against the girl’s interests, as it “might lead to mockery and unpleasant remarks”. He also noted that the name Nutella is the official brand name of the chocolate spread product.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/french-parents-banned-from-naming-their-child-nutella-or-fraise-10003146.html

Is he also changing the names of all kids called Muhammad who face discrimination in France?

I wonder if the girl was a muslim would he have changed her religion so as to avoid any "mockery and unpleasant remarks"?

We may aswell just scrap names and go by our social security numbers so situations like this won't arise and we can eliminate bullying and offense completely.
    Nutella is a retarded name. Don't be silly OP.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Somewhere a boy named Sue is finally happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

They'd nickname the child Nutty

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Honey Monster

Wow. Stunning OP. You should apply for a job at the daily Mail because I think you'd fit right in.

Worst
    Thread
    Ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Nutella is a retarded name. Don't be silly OP.
    It's a great name. Don't be silly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Buzz Meeks

Good call there by Judge Kelkin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

So OP, what do YOU think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

What is it with these rhetorical questions regarding a scenario that probably won't happen? No and no.
    A religion isn't a name so not an honest comparison.
    Yeh, people taking offence is the problem rather than people being on the receiving end. And down with preventing easy targets for bullying.
    What about that Talula Does The Hula From Hawaii kid? Sometimes the child with the actual name is more important than the principle about nobody having the right to be offended or whatever.

Let's not scrap names/go by social security numbers, let's just not be selfish enough to give a small kid a name that they'll be ashamed to say is theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

I think Muslims would be more offended by the name of their prophet being compared to that of a chocolate spread.

Seriously OP, cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

Over react much OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

Your SSN should be kept private.Using it as your name is worse than calling your child Nutella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

Offended much OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Nutella with bananas on toast is Fcukin secks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Her brother Marmite is gonna be devastated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭VandC

Panthro wrote:
    Nutella with bananas on toast is Fcukin secks.

have it on a crepe! much better

Yeh OP how come it's ok for you to be offended?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Nutella is pants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Didn't someone call their child 'Facebook' 'hashtag' before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

For a chocolate spread. For a person it's a really terrible name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Yeh OP how come it's ok for you to be offended?

Shush you......leave poor Nutella alone......:-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Stupid analogies OP, you're really reaching to try and find offence.

Nutella is an incredibly stupid name and the judge was right to disallow it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Why so upset Kfourt? Don't you wish someone intervened when your parents named you Kfourt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

I blame Bob Geldof.

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Foggy Jew wrote: »
    I blame Bob Geldof.

I blame Moon Unit Zappa

Yeh, people taking offence is the problem rather than people being on the receiving end. And down with preventing easy targets for bullying.
    What about that Talula Does The Hula From Hawaii kid? Sometimes the child with the actual name is more important than the principle about nobody having the right to be offended or whatever.
    Bullying will always exist. And people being offended will always exist. No law or ruling by a judge will ever change this. Who is to say the name Ella will not have very different connotations by the time this child is a teenager? Will she just have to change her name again? Or be forced to by a judge?
    Let's not scrap names/go by social security numbers, let's just not be selfish enough to give a small kid a name that they'll be ashamed to say is theirs.
    You, like the apparently all knowing judge, are assuming that 1) the child will automatically be bullied because of her name and 2) the child will be ashamed of her name. Are you both psychics?
    Offended much OP?
    Disappointed in a country that very recently was being hailed by the world as a defender of freedom of expression.

Who is to say the name Ella will not have very different connotations by the time this child is a teenager? Will she just have to change her name again? Or be forced to by a judge?
    I don't know?
    You, like the apparently all knowing judge, are assuming that 1) the child will automatically be bullied because of her name and 2) the child will be ashamed of her name. Are you both psychics?
    We're considering strong likelihoods rather than pretending they aren't reality.
    Disappointed in a country that very recently was being hailed by the world as a defender of freedom of expression.
    Freedom of expression that affects someone else who has no say in it ftw!

Some folks will resort to any auld rubbish to defend this "free speech" thing they imagine exists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

They should have called her Maxine Power.

Some folks will resort to any auld rubbish to defend this "free speech" thing they imagine exists.
    You only realise the most important things in life when they are gone.

#JeSuisNutella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

#JeSuisNutella

There has never been free speech anyway

And surely imposing expression on someone (in this case a name on a child that they're very likely to be miserable with) is the exact opposite to freedom of speech?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Had the parents tried to change their own names to those of delicious snacks, then that would have been an example of freedom of expression. Attempting to name their helpless child in such a ridiculous manner, however, is not much short of psychological abuse.

Such as (for example) a person's chance to go through childhood without being teased because of a ridiculous name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

My first name is a brand name. Childhood was bull****. Made me the narky bitch I am today. So the was a silver lining.

My first name is a brand name... silver lining.
    KitKat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

KitKat?

Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Someone once told me I couldn't please everyone, I wasn't a jar of Nutella. This poor kid has been denied their opportunity! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,411 ✭✭✭✭endacl

That judge did the child a favour. Nutella is a hazelnut spread. Or 'noisette' in French, which in turn is a slang term in France for...

... well, let's just say the French invented the bidet in order to deal with intimate 'noisette' removal...

And surely imposing expression on someone (in this case a name on a child that they're very likely to be miserable with) is the exact opposite to freedom of speech?
    Again you're making a massive assumption that the child will be "miserable" with that name. All parents impose expression on their kids. So she has a new, 'normal' name. Great. Say the child also had a lisp, should a judge order the child be given therapy to cure said lisp? Say the child is taught by her parents to use vulgar language, should a judge order the parents to unlearn their child of those words? Say the child is taught to write with her left hand, should a judge order the parents to teach her to write with her right?
    Attempting to name their helpless child in such a ridiculous manner, however, is not much short of psychological abuse.
    And what if they raise their child not to judge others by trivial things such as a person's name and to simply shrug off or ignore those who do? Are the parents of kids who would bully someone because of their name not in fact the ones who have engaged in some form of psychological abuse along the way?
    Such as (for example) a person's chance to go through childhood without being teased because of a ridiculous name?
    And what if the same child is teased anyway? What if she is bullied and commits suicide like so many young people with perfectly "normal" names have done? Do we celebrate the fact that at least she had an acceptable name? It'll look better on the headstone I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭liam24

They'd nickname the child Nutty

Nutty means beautiful in French.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

I'm going to name my next child panda after my favourite chocolate spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I'm not easily shocked, but that just seems really inappropriate. You're linking a child's name to a tragedy where people died, man.

It's satire. It's ok. Either everything's ok or nothing is! :P

Nutella is only slightly worse than all the Kayden, Jayden and Braydens running around. Little 5 year old lads with pornstar names.

Again you're making a massive assumption that the child will be "miserable" with that name.
    I'm saying it's very likely, which it is.
    Say the child also had a lisp, should a judge order the child be given therapy to cure said lisp? Say the child is taught by her parents to use vulgar language, should a judge order the parents to unlearn their child of those words? Say the child is taught to write with her left hand, should a judge order the parents to teach her to write with her right?
    What's with all these poor analogies? A lisp is not imposed by parents, a judge can't know about swearing in the home, being left-handed is not imposed by parents, and isn't even a blip on the radar these days.
    And what if they raise their child not to judge others by trivial things such as a person's name and to simply shrug off or ignore those who do? Are the parents of kids who would bully someone because of their name not in fact the ones who have engaged in some form of psychological abuse along the way?

And what if the same child is teased anyway? What if she is bullied and commits suicide like so many young people with perfectly "normal" names have done? Do we celebrate the fact that at least she had an acceptable name? It'll look better on the headstone I suppose.
    No we don't. The rhetorical questions and putting words into people's mouths is poor standard. If a child is bullied anyway, then people don't think "Well at least they had a normal name" - don't be so facetious.
    Does this REALLY bother you? I don't think it does and you're looking for attention/arguing for the sake of it.
    Good luck!

I'm saying it's very likely, which it is.

What's with all these poor analogies? A lisp is not imposed by parents, a judge can't know about swearing in the home, being left-handed is not imposed by parents, and isn't even a blip on the radar these days.

No we don't. The rhetorical questions and putting words into people's mouths is poor standard. If a child is bullied anyway, then people don't think "Well at least they had a normal name" - don't be so facetious.
    Does this REALLY bother you? I don't think it does and you're looking for attention/arguing for the sake of it.
    Good luck!
    What I'm trying to say is that your name does not define you or come even close to doing so. How you are raised and how you behave towards others is what defines a person. A judge coming along and saying that a child's name is going to have such a huge impact on her life that it is necessary to use the law and his power to change that name to something that he feels is more normal or acceptable is ridiculous to me. And it astonishes me that so many agree with the decision, and the fact that he was allowed make it.

Would I call my own child nutella? Probably not. But I'd never want another parent to not be allowed do so. And I'd raise my own children never to bully another child. That is how society should work, and the society we should strive for. And we can get there, but not with decisions like this.

Fair enough. Sorry for the "you're looking for attention/arguing for the sake of it" thing.
    Yes, what you refer to is the ideal, and a judge making such a decision is overkill I think too, but calling your child something ludicrous for the craic is unfair on the child (nobody else) IMO. Even if it doesn't lead to bullying (which it may not) it could cause the child to feel self-conscious and embarrassed, no matter how much their parents have imbued them with values about how they shouldn't care what others think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I've never tried nutella

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Aubrey loves Joe

Can't see the name nutella spreading to here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Nutella, poor child!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Well my son Figroll hates the name Nutella.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I bought a jar of speculoos spread for my crepes. It's fantastic.

Fair enough. Sorry for the "you're looking for attention/arguing for the sake of it" thing.
    Yes, what you refer to is the ideal, and a judge making such a decision is overkill I think too, but calling your child something ludicrous for the craic is unfair on the child (nobody else) IMO. Even if it doesn't lead to bullying (which it may not) it could cause the child to feel self-conscious and embarrassed, no matter how much their parents have imbued them with values about how they shouldn't care what others think.
    Fair enough, but again you're making a lot of assumptions.

At the end of the day, this girl's parents went slightly against the norm and attempted to be original in the name they chose for their new born daughter. On the scale of crazy names, Nutella doesn't even come close to the extreme end of things imo. It sounds quite nice in fact and if you repeat it out loud a few times you can imagine a little girl in front of you rather than a jar of nutella. That to me is something amazing and displays the beauty of language and human endeavour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

I think this sh1t is bollox. Let the parents name the kids what they want. Maybe if they name it "Dirty Ugly Sh1tface Niggger*" then you can query it. But 'Nutella', or 'Lego' or 'Rose', go fvck yourself. Mind your own business. I knew a kid named Razor growing up and another named Gretta, they got on grand. Keep your fvcking nose out.

"Oh but they might get teased about it!??!?!?!??!!" So what? A lad I went to school with was called Simon. Got called Garfunkel til he was about 16 and asked where Mrs Robinson was.