Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

About to be fired, advice please.

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Give the €4k to your boss as a 'thank you' for employing me.

He/She will give you a great reference for your next job. Trust me, it worked for me once and failed once. One time the boss kept the money and told me to **** off. The other time I got a great job that I currently have and have a great return on my initial investment, minus the failed situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

If you're incompetent at 'monkey work' you may want to eh... cop on a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Magnate

It's like I've always said, better incompetence than impotence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Why would you not sign on?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭lulu1

Uncle Ben wrote: »
    How long have you been there?
    Have you done anything wrong?
    Have you a union?
    Are others being fired?
    The reason I ask is because in this day and age jobs are not plentiful and to be honest I don't think I could be as blase as your post appears. And I certainly would not walk quite as easy as you appear to be!!

I think the op is making the whole thing up he dosent even know why he is being fired for goodness sake

A load of incompetency if you ask me.

Caravan in Courtown for the long weekend

The rest of the dolers seem to love it anyway

Preceded by chips for tea at the red cow roundabout!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

this reminds me of george costanza

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Fossets are looking for a Human canonball after my mate got fired.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Holiday in Cambodia,myself and 4 mates went there a few years ago only 2 of us came back! :/

Do you know these guys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

bonzodog2 wrote: »

I most certainly do....one of my favourite bands :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Photo-Sniper

Know how you feel man, just keep your head up. Happens all of us.
    My first job was working in an orange juice factory and I got fired because I couldn’t concentrate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

what are your qualifications OP?

also, where do you live...

it may have an impact on things

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

A lot of the posts on here are how I remember after hours to be-real funny-if the op wanted real advice, he'd go to the travel forum, or advice on jobs-the employment forum.

But he posted here, which proves he is incompetent and only capable of donkey work, let's give him the respect he deserves and take the P**s out of him :)

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

So I've about 4 grand in the bank.

Any ideas where I should go and what I should do for a few months?

What would you do if you got fired and had some spending money.

500 in an absolute rainy day place, 1500 for the cheapest and longest holiday you can stretch it on...that includes picking grapes.

The remaining 2k.....short-sell or short spread bet every bank stock you can because September this year is going to make 2008 look like a lottery win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Give it to a Nigerian prince to invest for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭freddiek

why does nobody say "sacked" any more??

****in Americanisms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Go to your local Casino and hit the Roulette wheel.

€2k on red and €2k on black.

And out comes 00. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

what are your qualifications OP?
    also, where do you live...
    it may have an impact on things

This. What is your degree in. You may have a degree and still be un employable in Ireland. You may have to move abroad for relevant work in your field. 4k would come in handy for that? I will say I do like you attitude of "**** it, I'm blowing the money and to hell with the consequences". I can't do that. It physically hurts me to spend money frivolously when there's important **** to be paid for. I feel itchy not having a spare few bob in case my family gets stuck for something.
    **** IT, The roulette guys are right. All on red!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Cause I was told I was.
    Incompetency or some ****. :D

Literally one of the best replies I've read. :D

Anyway 4k aint going to get you too far, so can I interest you in my pyramid scheme? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

So I've about 4 grand in the bank.

Any ideas where I should go and what I should do for a few months?

What would you do if you got fired and had some spending money.
    I'd suggest you give back to the community and invest in a vasectomy.

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Reebrock

Don't spend any money other than essentials until you get a new job lined up.

Beer is not essential. Nice food is not essential. Beans on toast for dinner everyday. Cheap bread and cheap beans.

No new clothes. Cancel anything that is not essential (Netflix, Sky etc).

Not fun, but has to be done.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

strobe wrote: »
    [...] clad from head to toe in armour during a thunder storm while screaming "All the Gods are ****!".
    Terry Pratchett's Color of Magic if memory serves, though in his book, the suit of armor is made from copper; the thunder was lightning and the **** were bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Hello OP,

I run a fantastic course in 'Competency and the Worker'

Usually it costs 4,500 Euro.
    But for you only 4000.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,847 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I'm still laughing at "nothing to do with my degree"

The naivety of thse 21st Century kids who believe they will be working within their degree disciplines for the rest of their days!

4 careers changes is the new norm people, and to start you off, you flip a burger every 3 minutes........

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Don't mind all of these begrudgers OP. Every one of us have had jobs we weren't bothered about getting fired from at some stage in our lives. You obviously have little by way of responsibilities (no children, mortgage, etc.), so you can do whatever the **** you want with your own money. Just because some people don't have jobs or hate the ones they do have doesn't mean you can't have some fun.

You can live like a prince in Vietnam for short money. Definitely give yourself a holiday. Although it's not a bad idea to keep something aside as a rainy day fund, that doesn't mean you have to sit at home every day, counting all of your beans.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Head to Oz or South Africa, book yourself a cage dive with the Great White.

While underwater get out of cage.

Worries over.

This incompetency at cage diving will override your current incompetency crisis.

Win for you, win for Shark.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

Under 700Euro for return flights, not bad!

Or you could save some money and buy a one way ticket :)