Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

About to be fired, advice please.

• 13-01-2015 8:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,242 ✭✭✭

So I've about 4 grand in the bank.

Any ideas where I should go and what I should do for a few months?

What would you do if you got fired and had some spending money.

• Registered Users Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Honey Monster

Keep hold to as much as possible of it. You don't know when you're gonna be working again.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

How do you know you're about to be fired?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Caravan in Courtown for the long weekend

The rest of the dolers seem to love it anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Is the 4 grand the reason for the firing?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,242 ✭✭✭Cody montana

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    How do you know you're about to be fired?

Cause I was told I was.
    Incompetency or some ****. :D

Keep hold to as much as possible of it. You don't know when you're gonna be working again.

And what fun is that?

• Registered Users Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Honey Monster

I can see why you're being fired. Not exactly the sharpest tool in the box.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Aww, I thought this was going to be a 'how to get back at unfair bosses' thread :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Cause I was told I was.

So you're the definition of incompetency?

Must be bad OP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

keep 2,000 aside and treat yourself with the other 2,000

if it comes to it you could always try a move abroad etc for work ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Go to your local Casino and hit the Roulette wheel.

€2k on red and €2k on black.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Straight down to the dole with ye. Collect your free buggy and keys to your free apartment.

Or you could you know get another job and try not to get fired this time. Although if your attitude towards work is as great as your attitude towards finances you might struggle.

You have a pretty careless attitude. You are about to have no income and you want to blow the little money you have (4K wont last feck all time)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Dropping a pre-emptive turd on the boss' desk might be an idea

It would make you feel better, and also remove all doubt about the firing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

Cause I was told I was.
    How long have you been there?
    Have you done anything wrong?
    Have you a union?
    Are others being fired?
    The reason I ask is because in this day and age jobs are not plentiful and to be honest I don't think I could be as blase as your post appears. And I certainly would not walk quite as easy as you appear to be!!

Tzardine wrote: »
    Straight down to the dole with ye. Collect your free buggy and keys to your free apartment.

Or you could you know get another job and try not to get fired this time. Although if your attitude towards work is as great as your attitude towards finances you might struggle.

You have a pretty careless attitude. You are about to have no income and you want to blow the little money you have (4K wont last feck all time)

I have no intention of drawing the dole.
    I wanted to go travelling immediately and then get a job when I get back.
    Looking at a career change.

Just need to rekindle my sense of fun and adventure.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

So I've about 4 grand in the bank.

Any ideas where I should go and what I should do for a few months?

What would you do if you got fired and had some spending money.

I'd be looking for a job if I were you. Wouldn't go anywhere. And try learn from my " incompetence "

Canyon86 wrote: »
    keep 2,000 aside and treat yourself with the other 2,000

if it comes to it you could always try a move abroad etc for work ;)

Sounds like a good, but I'm setting aside 2 grand already.
    The 4 grand was to be blown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Bollox. Splurge like you've never splurged before OP. Champagne, cocaine, those tasty chocolate covered macadamia nuts from M&S. This may be the last time an oppurtunity like this presents it's self until you reach retirement age. Blow it all. Blow it hard. Make some fvcking memories. Could have your face eaten by a chimp tomorrow, and then what's going to be more comfort? The fact that you've been sensible and saved for a rainy day, or the memory of that period of your life when you filled yourself full to the gills with all the nice expensive things and lorded round the place enjoying your time off and living like an eccentric modern day aristocratic playboy like the place was going out of fashion?

Keep hold? Life's for living. Be reckless. Throw caution to the wind. Enjoy your youth while your young enough to enjoy it. You'll never be this young and handsome and carefree and able to be this reckless ever, ever again. You're a man, not a machine. Piss into the wind clad from head to toe in armour during a thunder storm while screaming "All the Gods are ****!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Bootros Bootros

Sounds like a good, but I'm setting aside 2 grand already.
    The 4 grand was to be blown.

Go wild and pay 4 months rent in 4 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Just tell us why you're being fired in detail ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 16 Thomas_S_

deise08 wrote: »
    Is the 4 grand the reason for the firing?

"The money was just resting in my account"

I have no intention of drawing the dole.
    I wanted to go travelling immediately and then get a job when I get back.
    Looking at a career change.

Just need to rekindle my sense of fun and adventure.

I suggest you look at this chart.

http://splinteredsunrise.files.wordpress.com/2010/01/417.gif?w=477

Uncle Ben wrote: »
    How long have you been there?
    Have you done anything wrong?
    Have you a union?
    Are others being fired?
    The reason I ask is because in this day and age jobs are not plentiful and to be honest I don't think I could be as blase as your post appears. And I certainly would not walk quite as easy as you appear to be!!

Only 7 months, I'm doing donkey work though.
    Nothing to do with my degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Bit of a long shot but you could subscribe to Boards for the next 80 years.

Boom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Bootros Bootros

strobe wrote: »
    Bollox. Splurge like you've never splurged before OP. Champagne, cocaine, those tasty chocolate covered macadamia nuts from M&S. This may be the last time an oppurtunity like this presents it's self until you reach retirement age. Blow it all. Blow it hard. Make some fvcking memories. Could have your face eaten by a chimp tomorrow, and then what's going to be more comfort? The fact that you've been sensible and saved for a rainy day, or the memory of that period of your life when you filled yourself full to the gills with all the nice expensive things and lorded round the place enjoying your time off and living like an eccentric modern day aristocratic playboy like the place was going out of fashion?

Keep hold? Life's for living. Be reckless. Throw caution to the wind. Enjoy your youth while your young enough to enjoy it. You'll never be this young and handsome and carefree and able to be this reckless ever, ever again. You're a man, not a machine. Piss into the wind clad from head to toe in armour during a thunder storm while screaming "All the Gods are ****!".

Yeah. Although people who live like that drop 4k at lunch.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,411 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

There are laws against just firing people.
    They need to give you verbal and written warnings beforehand.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,395 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Only 7 months, I'm doing donkey work though.
    Nothing to do with my degree.

Go back to college and get a degree in donkey work, you'll still be incompetent but have a degree to back it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,747 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Cause I was told I was.

Fact you have a big smiley face after your post says a lot .
    You come across as someone who takes as much as they can for as little input as possible .

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭wardy2

Look on the bright side If you get fired Least you don't have to wait for your dole to come through :)