Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Me neither.

To me it's a perfect charge, or it was when it was pay for what you use.

Indeed. Part of the reasoning was that by linking usage to tax, you would make people use less water. If it's a flat fee: people use the same water as before...and they are seriously not happy about it. There is something ironic about Ireland having a water shortage I must say.

On a different note: if you're like me, your other half won't watch TV unless there's a bit of romance attached. I sort of stumbled upon a solution "Gran Hotel" - it's Spanish, and was supposed to be like Downton Abbey (stick with me lads). Actually, it's not like Downton Abbey at all. We've only done the 2 epsiodes so far, but in fact it's more of a murder mystery. And best of all: this

Almost as pretty as my wife...

The referendum, the death penalty, and water charges, it's been a heavy 24 hours in here. fair play to you Swiwi for a great suggestion.
    I'm upto date with Agents of shield so I can watch ultron now. And Flash is really picking up again

The referendum, the death penalty, and water charges, it's been a heavy 24 hours in here. fair play to you Swiwi for a great suggestion.
    I'm upto date with Agents of shield so I can watch ultron now. And Flash is really picking up again

We're all missing the Gridiron banter TBH. Me especially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,005 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Sexton on second captains rte2

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

How many breakfast roles do you eat before a match? :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Did the NCT at 3.45am this morning. In and out of the place in 20 minutes. If you don't mind having a little disruption to your sleep, the 24 hour options are pretty handy and far more available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Buer wrote: »
    Did the NCT at 3.45am this morning. In and out of the place in 20 minutes. If you don't mind having a little disruption to your sleep, the 24 hour options are pretty handy and far more available.
    :eek::eek: that's mad Ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

You know drink driving to the NCT centre is still drink driving right?

• Administrators Posts: 55,145 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I'd happily go at that time tbh. Anything to avoid the queues.

I got up at 2.50am, I was back in bed at 3.55am.

I've gone up there on Saturday mornings or the evenings in the past and can end up waiting anything up to over an hour. This was in and out the door in 20 minutes. I'll definitely be doing it again.

I'll definitely be doing it again.

Jesus if you're that excited about the whole concept you can bring mine in next week if you fancy.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,337 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Ah nothing beats christmas grocery shopping at 3.00 am in tescos ;)

I got up at 2.50am, I was back in bed at 3.55am.

I've gone up there on Saturday mornings or the evenings in the past and can end up waiting anything up to over an hour. This was in and out the door in 20 minutes. I'll definitely be doing it again.

What centre did you go to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Dublin Man found guilty of stealing 100s of cars overnight, getting them NCTed, and returning them to their original locations before their owners had even noticed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Lucky enough here, backlog isn't too bad - 2 week wait for appointment, got mine done recently on a Sunday evening and I only live half a mile from the test centre. Must be mental busy in Dublin if you have to go in the middle of the night... having to get it by a certain date is crazy too considering the front-loading of car registrations in Jan/Feb. They should just randomly assign each 12 new cars registered a different month, that would spread the demand out evenly over the year.

awec wrote: »
    What centre did you go to?

Northpoint (Ballymun). Not sure if the others have the 24 hour facility; it's only been brought in over the past couple of months.

Zzippy wrote: »
    Lucky enough here, backlog isn't too bad - 2 week wait for appointment, got mine done recently on a Sunday evening and I only live half a mile from the test centre. Must be mental busy in Dublin if you have to go in the middle of the night.

Went to book in March and the next available date that wasn't middle of the night was in July. There were only a handful of middle of the night slots free, too.

You can go on the cancellation list which will speed things up hugely and generally gets you something in the next 3-4 weeks but you have to agree that whatever you get you take so if it's 10am on a Monday morning and it clashes with a meeting, you've to cough up if you can't go.

The Dublin centres are mental alright. I go to Deansgrange for mine.

If you go during the day you pretty much can't pick a time. Just got to put your name on the list and go when they tell you to go.

For my previous NCT my car got selected for an audit too, which basically meant that once the guy had finished the NCT some other guy in a suit took it through again so he could make sure the NCT guy had done it properly. All well and good but practically doubled the time I was waiting :mad:

Two goes through and then 10 minutes of the auditor giving the tester feedback by the car before I got to fecking leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I booked mine a month a go and the earliest date available was June 22nd

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,859 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I don't have a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i've got two.

one of which just cost me 865 quid as they literally had to take the engine out to fix a 2 quid core-plug that popped and was threatening to empty all the oil...

****ing cars

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I don't have a car.

Me too. I don't even have a full license... I've always lived along the Luas. Now I live in town :pac:

RuggieBear wrote: »
    i've got two.

one of which just cost me 865 quid as they literally had to take the engine out to fix a 2 quid core-plug that popped and was threatening to empty all the oil...

****ing cars

Ha! They seen you coming a mile away! :pac:

So... Mayweather or Pacquiao?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,005 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I found the easiest way to sort out the whole nct waiting times is to buy a new car every week...

Or a bicycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭chupacabra

RuggieBear wrote: »
    i've got two.

****ing cars

Jaysus. And I thought I had t bad at 500 quid to replace a steering rack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

awec wrote: »
    Ha! They seen you coming a mile away! :pac:

oh trust me, i got as many quotes as i could. Problem is taking the engine out and seperating it from the gearbox takes about 8 hours.

i went to my local mechanic and he said he couldn't do it.

Recommended me another place and they said they didn't want to do it as it was too much hassle and they could service/mot 5 cars in the same time to fix mine.

Rang an independent specialist and he quoted £1200. Rang another a bit further away and he said £900.

Rang the dealer and they said 750 to 950...so i went with them.

here's the ****ing part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Went to book in March and the next available date that wasn't middle of the night was in July. There were only a handful of middle of the night slots free, too.

You can go on the cancellation list which will speed things up hugely and generally gets you something in the next 3-4 weeks but you have to agree that whatever you get you take so if it's 10am on a Monday morning and it clashes with a meeting, you've to cough up if you can't go.

Are you sure? I've asked for a cancellation before and got a subsequent call offering me a date/time and asking if I wanted to book it, there was no question of having to accept it or cough up.
    I heard all the horror stories of 4 month waits so I rang up in mid-March (NCT due end May), got a date for 29th of that month at 1845, handy time. Must be just in Dublin... ye've too many cars lads!