Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is this 40 Shades thing such a big thing for the ladies ?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

My wife read the books and describes it as being as hardcore as watching two teenagers awkwardly grope and shift the faces off each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

OU812 wrote: »
    Two words: Moist Gussets
    Will many cinemas be sued I wonder for the amount of broken coccyx due to sliding off seats?

smash wrote: »
    The whole 50 shades thing got as many bad reviews as it got good ones but I guess there's no such thing as bad publicity and at the end of the day everyone wanted to know what it was all about.

Bottom line for me is that if you take away the fact that the guy is a billionaire, the majority of women wouldn't put up with his shít.

TL;DR = Women want money.
    And/or him being hot, and/or wanting to help him process his demons/change him, and/or him being a "bad boy".
    Not just about the money IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I'm partial to a bit of bdsm myself and nothing about that story seemed real to me. It is just a book/film. No need to get in a flap about about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21 Pig Ignorant Paddy

OU812 wrote: »
    Two words: Moist Gussets

It's been a nightmare for Sean. Bridget is now on about nipple clamps, double-headed dildos, paddles and swinger clubs. His brain is fried with all the poppers he has to sniff. All the fault of 50 Shades.
    He was happy enough with the ride after they got home from the pub on a Saturday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

And/or him being hot, and/or wanting to help him process his demons/change him, and/or him being a "bad boy".
    Not just about the money IMO.

Sure all women want to do that. No matter what you're like.

smash wrote: »
    Sure all women want to do that. No matter what you're like.
    And "mother" him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I'd say most lads will laugh at how 'hardcore' it is having seen so much more mad sh1t online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

It's like the year is 1982 & women have just discovered their first jazz mag scrunched up in a bush, it's a bit embarrassing really.

1982 was a crazy year wasn't it.

I couldn't believe it when, as a young girl innocently walking home from school one day, I found pages of a magazine strewn about a field which was nothing but pictures of Dizzy Gillespie and Benny Goodman brazenly blowing their trumpets.

More innocent times, more innocent times.

• Registered Users Posts: 909 ✭✭✭auldgranny

Never read it, never will.
    Too busy doing it to read about it;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Cathy.C wrote: »
    1982 was a crazy year wasn't it.

I couldn't believe it when, as a young girl innocently walking home from school one day, I found pages of a magazine strewn about a field which was nothing but pictures of Dizzy Gillespie and Benny Goodman brazenly blowing their trumpets.

More innocent times, more innocent times.

Nothing like a bit of Louis Armstrong or Miles Davis to make em wet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Saralee4

Recent visit to the cinema & I get subjected to the trailer for the new 40 Shades of Grey film, coming soon (snigger).
    Why did this phenomena just take off the way it did ?.
    Do women not realise there's porn on the internet now that caters for all taste ?.
    There's even erotic fiction wich could be downloaded discreetly to your e-reader if that was your fancy.

It's like the year is 1982 & women have just discovered their first jazz mag scrunched up in a bush, it's a bit embarrassing really.

A woman would not turn around to her pal and say 'oh do you know any good porn sites?'. I think a man would feel comfortable saying this to his friend. Its kind of more accepted or believed that men like porn more than women but women do like porn.

I suppose 50 shades of gray is like something that women are not ashamed to admit they like maybe because its milder like a playboy for women?

I don't get the "Women don't say they like porn/enjoy sex/masturbate" thing tbh.
    Thing of the past IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Saralee4

I don't get the "Women don't say they like porn/enjoy sex/masturbate" thing tbh.
    Thing of the past IMO.

I know lots of male friends who joke about masturbating, porn etc. but none of my female friends ever mention it unless they are talking about a man viewing porn, masturbating etc. Its just something we would never talk about really.

Although I remember last year I went for a meal with my mam, my aunt and her friend (in her mid 60s).

My aunts friend is widowed. She was talking about some movie where there was a mild sex scene, cant remember what the film was but she got all hot and bothered about it and start saying 'oh sometimes I just have to turn those things off, I cant watch them because I get the longing'

'the longing' apparently its called :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

While I had been told by girls before that they wanted to be tied up and pinned down when having sex I presumed that they were just sexually wild. Little did I know that many women do want to be submissive and want the man to take control of them. The power seems to turn them on.

Dunno that liking the book always means actually wanting to live it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Because it's a fantasy about having illict sex with an extremely wealthy, handsome alpha male who has a "tortured past" - ooh, if only someone could tame him!

Nailed it.
    He seems like a complete narcissistic chauvinistic piece of sh-t but a lot of women (particularly young women) are silly about men.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,452 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

It's the manic pixie dream girl all over again.

Obviously not but certain aspects are appealing it seems.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

It's just a book. Doesn't mean anything. The last book I read was about a serial killer, doesn't mean I have fantasies of killing people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

So true (puts away "Oral Sex that She'll Never forget").

• Registered Users Posts: 4,313 ✭✭✭Tefral

Saralee4 wrote: »

'the longing' apparently its called :)

You know the way people write LOL but bearly make a smile. Well.. reading this last line literally made me burst out laughing! Bravo!:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I read the first half of the first book but it enraged me and not in a good way. The main man was a total arsehole and the girl was a simpering moron.
    If that actually happened you'd be getting her to call the guards while giving her a bit of a slap for being such an eejit.

I don't even think it really represents S&M or submissive and dominant relationships. The girl was initially meant to be so much younger and much more naive that to me it came across as grooming.

Really don't get the attraction to it at all. It wasn't even well written.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

And they turn around and talk about objectification

Well possibly, or possibly not.
    Certainly not a guarantee, much as you like to think it is. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Well possibly, or possibly not.
    Certainly not a guarantee, much as you like to think it is. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,983 ✭✭✭conorhal

It's the manic pixie dream girl all over again.

I suspect that there is a female equivelant, 'the soulful sexy bad-boy' who just needs the love of the right woman to make him whole.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,452 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

conorhal wrote: »
    I suspect that there is a female equivelant, 'the soulful sexy bad-boy' who just needs the love of the right woman to make him whole.

The bad boy who has to be redeemed by the correct woman? Seems about right.

conorhal wrote: »

Apparently this character does exist, for example, Bridesmaids has Chris O'Dowd's character who unrealistically waits for Annie despite how she treats him. This male character assists a troubled, narcissistic female lead character in a movie.